206527 User submitted reviews online!!
Campground by the Lake was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (530) 542-6096
CGID8576

Campground by the Lake

Camp Information
Sites
174
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   8   7   7   6   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
This campground (city owned) does not look as good as the website shows, but it is okay to stay in. What does this site have going for it?...location, location, location. This is right in the middle of South Lake Tahoe (about 100 yards from the lake) and a great place to use as your traveling point to go in any direction. Most of the sites do NOT have hookups, but a few have water & electric. There's a dump station on site. There are paved roads to dirt sites and lots of trees. No cable TV, but we somehow got our DISH satellite to work through a small opening in the trees. Rustic and basic, but due to the location, I might stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
Stayed here for a week, right in the middle of town across from lake. This is run by the city; nice staff & check in gate for security but closes at 6pm for on site staff. Traffic is loud, and sites are close together. We had lots of tenters around us. Nothing against tents, but after a few days you get tired of looking at towels hanging on makeshift clotheslines. Also, each site has a fire pit, can get a little smoky with them all going at once. Our site had electric only and a community water faucet which was OK, but some people just hook up their hose and leave it like it's their own. There is a "honey wagon" that will dump your tank for $10; make a reservation for that at the front gate. They do have a dump station you can use on your way in or out. This park is old and could use a remodel on the facilities. Would not stay here again unless we could get a space with full hookups which appeared to have more privacy. We were able to get our space at the last minute so we couldn't get too choosy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
First, they are now on an internet reservation system that allows you to reserve a year in advance. If you want to see the amazing "Lights on the Lake" fireworks, reserve now. Using the old phone system, we were able to get one of the last two spots on the day reservations opened; and it was no hook-up. There is a dump station inside the entrance. I assume you could fill up with drinking water at one of the many faucets: we brought our own in. The site (C24) was spacious and right next to the bike path and just a short walk to the lake. We were in "C" loop which just had a small restroom and no showers. A nice shower house was located in another loop (one that I believe had hook-ups). The staff was excellent and the Park was clean and quiet. Verizon cell and data worked well. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Overall, a decent park set amidst beautiful ponderosa pines. Our site was huge. Staff are very friendly. We were disappointed though to find that CalTrans was doing construction adjacent to the campground, so there was no beach access. The other drawback was the washrooms, or lack of: inadequate for a campground of this size. Every morning there were lineups, and in the washrooms there was clothes washing and all sorts of activities, kind of like a third world country. There are no sewer hookups but you can arrange with the office for a mobile RV dump to come to your site for a $10 fee. Nevertheless, if beach access could be guaranteed we will probably be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
Large forested campground. Older but central location in South Lake Tahoe. Staff friendly and accommodating. Great for kids with playground and roads to ride their bicycles on. Tent sites and RV sites. RVs can have one tent also on site. Laundry is very POOR for a campground of this size. Plenty of washers and dryers but mostly broken and needing repair. Hard to call it a resort due to this sorely lacking feature. Wi-Fi available at a charge per day, or week. Fire rings also available at some sites or rented for $2.00 per day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Overall the park was "nice", but a bit pricey for what you actually get. When we pulled up to check in, there was a traffic director to make sure that they don't miss out on a dime of revenue. We paid a total of $40.00 per night, but be very aware that no matter what spot you get, you will hear a very busy and noisy hwy 50. We would go back again, but not with the high expectations that we had on our first visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
The access road to the B loop was very tight due to numerous trees along the road. The B loop has electricity in each site and water faucets for roughly every three sites. The camp ground staff asks you not to hook up to the water faucets. The A loop has water and electricity in each site. This loop is much more big rig friendly. All of the rest of the loops have no hook ups. There is a dump station available when leaving that is free to campers. Our site was flat and level. The site was a combination of dirt and fine rock. A mat kept the inside of the trailer clean. The site was so flat I did not have to level side to side. The site had a picnic table, BBQ and fire pit. There was a good combination of sun and shade. It was very windy the last two days. The tops of the trees were really blowing but the camp ground had minimal wind. The Wi-Fi worked well at our site. AT&T cell phone service worked well. We were only able to get three TV channels using an antenna. The bathrooms were old but clean. Lake Tahoe was across the street from the camp ground and two traffic signals provided easy access to the lake. There was a nice dog walk / bike path that provided good walking and site seeing travel. All in all, this is an old camp ground with a good location that is staffed by friendly camp hosts. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This was a very nice park. Campers were all quiet and respectful, within reason. Many bike trails/rides within immediate proximity. You can rent pedal boats and kayaks just across the street. Wi-fi worked smoothly for us. We had to wait in line a while to dump, upon checkout. The only negative was the water tasted awful! We used bottled! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$41
Paid $35 base rate for E/W site, then another $1 per day for having a dog, and another $5 a day for having a tow car. They nickel and dime you to death, but it's a beautiful spot. There are lake-view sites, but they are right on Hwy 50 which is pretty busy so we wouldn't be interested. Sites are densely shaded and mostly level. The surface you park on is a combination of dirt and fine dust, and it sure does stick to one's shoes. We checked out the showers and refused to use them due to the community dressing area. The showers themselves were not large enough to bring one's clothes in and have them stay dry while showering, so that isn't an option. The showers were very dark, and while I won't say they were dirty, they gave me the creeps. Another option in the area is the NFS Fallen Leaf campground which we will try next time, although we liked this one enough to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Great location! Lots of rules. Some don't make sense. Example: My wife drove our towed vehicle into park and had to pay $5.00 per day to park vehicle at our site. If we had towed it into the park it would have been free. Staff seemed very friendly. Also, very strict on 11:00 am checkout time, even when the camp was half full. We saw the park staff writing notes on campers that were as little as 15 minutes late to check out. We stayed in loop B which had only electric hookups. Water was shared between every 2 sites so it didn't cause any troubles. Also a honey wagon was available to pump out your black and gray water tanks for $10.00. The B loop is very tight to navigate with 35 foot class A. The pine trees are very close and make it difficult to drive around the loop, however with care it is possible. Overall a very good experience only improvement would be a little more flexibility on some of the rules especially if it doesn't negatively affect anybody's camping experience. We would camp here again if in the South Lake Tahoe area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
This is a great campground, run by the city of South Lake Tahoe. All shaded under huge pine trees. Our site was level. Only E/W, but the dump station was convenient. We never heard any noise from the highway. As someone said, the WiFi was slow, but worked. Would definitely recommend and return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$34
They have only water and electric, but there is a general dumpster station. Leveled site. Large trees and great view of Lake Tahoe. Free wireless internet is slow, but works. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
The campground is clean, surrounded by large trees and had a fantastic view of Lake Tahoe. The roads in the park are paved with well packed sandy pads to park on. Our site was a little too close to HWY 50 (Lake Tahoe Blvd) and was a little noisy at night. We will definitely be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a reunion. This turned out to be a wonderful location. In the past we have stayed at Tahoe Valley Campground where they do have full hookups. In fact we have driven through in the past just to check this place out. We had thought it might be too close to State Highway 50, but the trees kill so much of the noise you don't notice the road noise at all. Yes, the bathrooms could stand to be updated, but for the price you pay, they were very clean and functional. The electrical was solid and the water pressure was good. They only have electric and water hookups. There is a dump station with two ports in it, so traffic through the dump station moves at a pretty good clip. The sights are much larger than Tahoe valley, and much easier to get into. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
This campground would get a higher rating if the bathrooms were ever clean and had a soap dispenser. Also no sewer hookups- this is an older campground that looks like it might have been an old Forest Service campground, with a fire tower, so facilities are dated.Very popular with families in the summer; they were playing ball in the streets but quiet at night. Lake is across busy street and you'll hear the traffic if you're stuck in a site right there. Otherwise, location is great. Free WiFi (didn't use) and some stations on tv antenna; Verizon aircard worked okay. Too bad they charge $31- it's not worth that except that it's Tahoe and there are private RV "resorts" nearby that cost $45-55 and are a really bad value. If you can get a quiet site, this is a good place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$31
This very shaded park is operated by the City of South Lake Tahoe. Beautiful with views of Lake Tahoe in the distance. Lots of rules by snippy people, but for what it is, where its located, it was a good value. There were a number of large 32 feet plus fifth wheels and motorhomes in the 34 plus feet, but a lot of huge pine trees to negotiate. Electricity in only 50 of the spaces, which costs $8 more. Base rate is $23 plus $8 for electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com