206534 User submitted reviews online!!
Bluegrass Music RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (270) 586-5622
CGID8596

Bluegrass Music RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   4   6   3   2   4   8   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Quaint RV Park not far off of the Highway. We stopped here on the way to Memphis. We only stayed one night. Park could have used a little more attention to detail, T.L.C. Not bad for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
This is the same park listed as Franklin KOA. Sites are gravel and not very level. since we were there overnight I didn't want to unhitch. I couldn't get the rig level while hitched up. The site width is OK, but the gravel portion is narrow. Wi-Fi is poor. Could barely connect and performance was erratic; mostly poor. Manager knew this and said I could come to the office if necessary. Couldn't find the dumpster. It wasn't where the map showed it. Park could use some signs indicating path to exit, site numbers, etc. A little pricey for the quality of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$21
We were very glad it was dry, else it would have been a muddy mess. Many sites are big rig friendly, but few are level, and none have sufficient gravel. Same for the roads. They really aren't great for PA as you must see the staff during check in for discount and they state they are open only from 2PM to 6PM. After that it looks to be first come first come on the honor system. WiFi was poor - they say they will get a new repeater soon. No cable, as advertised, but few trees to interfere with a satellite dish. The park is for sale, so there may be big changes in the future. All restaurants, save Wendy's and Subway, are at a different exit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
Rate is PPA; otherwise the park is too expensive. Narrow grass/gravel/mud not level sites. We were lucky it was dry; wet weather would make setting up miserable. Park was clean and utilities worked. Lots of areas for dog walking. Internet was sketchy and slow. Would stay again (if weather dry) as long as PPA discount available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$37
Did not read the review for this site before we stopped but definitely should have. We were extremely tired and simply wanted a place to pull in, eat, and sleep which is all I will recommend it for. The price is far too high at $37 and the sites are grass and mud and very close together. For an emergency stop or just can't go any further, this is your place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
This CG is vastly overpriced. We checked in after hours and were greeted with a $37 rate. The sites were narrow, deeply rutted (makes it difficult to use levelers) and dirt when dry and mud when it rains. After looking around I now understand why they don't publish their rates. This should be your CG of last resort. Look elsewhere, for the money you deserve better. No way would we stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$23
Easy on/off from 65. Passport rate was $23 cash only; IRS please note. Envelopes for those checking in had the rate at $37 so not thinking the 50% rate being given to Passport America members. Seems like my rate should have been $18.50 by my calculations. But I was never good in math. Ate at the Franklin steakhouse in Franklin (converted waffle house) and it was an excellent meal for the price. The rib eye very good. Will look for another Passport America spot next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$37
This was the 3rd time we've stayed here - although it's a pricey overnight stay at $37, we at least know it's clean, safe; and for being right off the expressway, it's fairly quiet. Late-night check-in is easy, and the sites are relatively level and well-maintained. I'm sure this place is fun in the summer, with all the invitations and cozy spots for those who enjoy Bluegrass music to "sit and pick". We'll continue to use it as an overnight as we travel from Michigan to Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2011
$23
Over priced for a one night stay. This is a half price Passport rate. Might be good during summer when pool and music available. Park should reduce price for off season limited facilities. The sites not very level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
Great location, just off interstate 65, easy on/off. Beware of access road between truck stops, there are HUGE potholes, and if it's been raining, you may miss the 4' across VERY deep holes if they're filled with water. Very open sites, little shade, fairly level graveled. The connections were a bit quirky, as they were vintage, and the water hookup on our site (#4)did not work at all. Thank goodness we had extra water hose and could tap into the site next to ours' water tap. Small pond on site, lovely well-maintained pool and laundry areas. Didn't use the showers. They have bluegrass music available on Thursdays. Lovely cabins and tent sites are on the property as well. They are 13 of the 118 total sites available. There were a few semi-permanent looking residents, but nothing that concerned us. The cabins would be an excellent option to those traveling with pets in lieu of a hotel that accepts pets. Large playground and life-sized chess set are provided as well. This is a good stopover, or home base, either one. Comfortable, safe, clean and well-maintained, plus priced right with a Passport America rate. Notes: unlimited stay with PA discount, if staying 3 nights or less, cash only. PA not valid during holidays and for charter groups or rallies. $3 additional for RVs 34 - 40 feet, $6 extra charge for RVs 41 feet or longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
This is a very nice park. The staff is friendly, laundry was reasonable, and the pool was great. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$17
This is a former KOA that was purchased and is under renovation. They hold Bluegrass Music Festivals at the park. The facilities are in excellent shape. Showers, restrooms and laundry facilities are very well maintained. We would camp here again. We camped here on a PPA rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Overnighted here. Easy access off the interstate. Pull throughs are fairly level. Water pressure is high. The guy in the office was nice. Great Wi-Fi reception. Far enough behind the Pilot so truck noise is very minimal. Would stay here again. Price paid was 'Good Sam' rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
We used this park for an overnight on our way from the south. It was handy to the highway and quite adequate. An auditorium is being built to host the blue grass festival in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Great Park! Glad that we found it. It was easy to get in and out of. The lady checking us in was very friendly. Pull-throughs were easy to park in. Would recommend this park to anyone traveling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$36
Came in after dark, office was closed but they had material available to register and pre-pay. This park is listed with Passport America and the pre-pay only quoted a rate of 37.00 where as Passport America rate is 16.50 plus tax. We opted to wait until morning as we did not know how much tax was applicable. We were about to go to bed, and there was a knock at the door. A man stated he was one of the custodians and wanted to know if we had paid. We stated we weren't sure of the tax on the passport rate so we were going to go to the office in the morning. He got very belligerent and stated we weren't entitled to the Passport America rate as we had come in after hours and more or less accused us of intending to skip without paying. He stated the office would only open at 2:00 the next day; therefore we must pay the full rate immediately. I asked for proof that he actually was associated with park and he pulled out some money out of his pocket saying he just had collected from another unit behind us. We paid but insisted on a receipt which he did go and get. Needless to say this won`t be a park we will use in the future. Located behind a Pilot just off the exit next to Interstate 65, the noise and the rumbling from the big rigs at the pilot also added to the disappointment with this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
We stayed as Passport America at $24/night. That would be "all of the money" without the discount. It is your typical old KOA that someone is trying to revive. A work in progress at best. I did give extra credit for the creativity displayed in their PA page; embellishment to say the least; must have been used car salesmen in the past! Would look for other options in the future if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
This is a very nice park. Big rig sites are very tight. Water pressure is very high. Facilities were well maintained over all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
First impressions can be deceiving. First impression of this park is that it is pretty bland and not very up-to-date. After a couple nights here, it has most everything. Pool. Very clean restrooms & showers. Sites are long and reasonable width; all gravel but mostly level. Every site has a picnic table. Good power and water. Although the office hours are unpredictable and erratic, the staff is very friendly. Good place to use as a base camp for a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
A previous review mentioned it was by a Flying J, I believe they meant a Pilot. We spent 6 nights here visiting relatives in the area. They gave us the Passport America discount even though I didn't think it was a PPA park. Pull-throughs are long and level. Sites are close but there is plenty of room between sites. Staff was very friendly. Really not many other places in the area. We would definitely stay there again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
We paid the PA rate. Agree with earlier post that the turn for this CG is easy to miss. But I strongly disagree with the #2 rating. (It is telling that the #2 rating was by somebody who has not rated other CGs.) Sure there is no shade and the sites are a little tight, but they are perfectly level pull-throughs with good water pressure. They escorted us to the site. Had very good wireless internet. The night we stopped, there was a bluegrass jam session, but after 10 hours, we were too tired. This time it was just an overnight stop as we had to head north quickly. Next time in the area, we will stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$32
Nice park, level gravel sites. During peak season, sights would appear to be a little close together. New owners are making many improvements. Very convenient to I-65. Note that the road to park is adjacent to the west side of the Flying-J. Signs exist but in the clutter you need to look carefully. If you pass the Flying-J you have gone too far. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
We stayed here one night. Nice park and has a nice dog run. The staff was very helpful we would stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This place is a joke and i do mean a joke. There is no game room, the so called club house is locked , no rv wash or repair on site, no bingo on site,noopen jam sessions, no concessions stand, no dog playground. The dogs are restricted to your site and only allowed to be walked in the yard they call the playground. Everything seems to be under constructiion and even that was shut down by the building inspectors here, no doggie walking service, no outside movies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This park used to be a KOA and has been bought out by a private owner. As the previous ratings state, the park was in bad shape due to lack of maintenance. The new owners have the place looking very nice, and they are still making improvements. There a couple of holes where they are working on plumbing but they are working on them. The lots are all gravel with grass, not perfectly level but not too bad. The pool is very large for a park this size and well maintained. They also have a store and video arcade. It is located behind a truck stop, but far enough that the noise is not a problem. It is next to I65,with very easy access, but far enough away that that noise is not a problem either. The pull through lots are long enough to leave the tow vehicle hooked up. We camped here for 1 week and the price is at the weekly rate of $175 w/tax. The nightly rate is higher. It would be a very nice park to bring the kids for a swim vacation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
This park was the Franklin RV Ranch and before that it was the Franklin KOA. It is badly in need of repairs and upkeep and the new owners are doing them, they are working very hard to get it back into a first class operation. New water lines have been completed, the restrooms and showers are remodeled and very clean. The sites are not level, however they are working on them and this should become a very nice park. The management is very helpful, friendly and concerned for their guests. Getting into the park requires one watching the road closely as there is a extra turn required due to road construction, but worth the effort as the staff at the campground is trying hard to please the guests. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$37
We stayed here for one night on our way to Florida. We arrived in the dark during a big rainstorm. The campground was difficult to find, the driveway is down a long lane between a gas station and truck repair shop. The owner was very nice and helpful. I filled out a night registration ticket with amount due to the next dollar and dropped it into the slot. The owner came over, after we pulled into our site, to bring me my 30 cents change. I was shocked, considering most places wouldn't have bothered, especially in a torrential downpour. He also pointed out where the facilities were, and told us which site he was at in case we needed anything and gave us his cell phone number. The showers and restrooms were very nice and clean. The showers all had a dressing area and were enclosed, which is always a plus. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$28
I'm surprised by some of the other responses, because the woman who greeted us at the front counter was warm, friendly, and helpful!!! (Pointed out a nice open field next door where we could run our dogs for a bit, after being on the road all day - that was VERY much appreciated!) We found the park to be just fine for our overnight stay, and the facilities were very nice. We will stay here again the next time we pass through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
This park is no longer a KOA We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$31
You can see where there is some work being done on this campground, but it is a long way from being competitive with other area campgrounds. Before we actually camped here, stopped by to check it out only to be rather rudely greeted with "well we are the new owners"! I asked what types of improvements they would be making to the campground (ie. pavements etc.) only to be very harshly responded to with "well we have made improvements". The person I was talking to was very VERY defensive and the staff that I encountered was not friendly at all. This campground would be fine if you were traveling late at night and just needed somewhere to stop for the night, but this is not a keeper by any means. There are very few trees, most of the campground is out in the blazing sun, gravel roads throughout the campground and rather difficult to navigate in to as the entry road to the campground passes in between a gas station (truck stop) and a truck repair shop, very difficult to see. I would not recommend this campground to anyone. This campground would be almost tolerable, but when you add on top of it the very rude people that either own it or work there, its not worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$32
A pretty much ho-hum park, gravel and grass sites, some level, most not. Small trees dot the landscape, not much else to comment on. Staff was also pretty ho-hum. WiFi available for a fee. Hard to figure out which is the road to the park and which is the truck stop entry. Too pricy for overnight stops, won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$22
This appears to be primarily an overnighter park, charging regular rates. There is none to very little shade, sites are fairly level and graveled where the coach sets. No patios, can be muddy in wet weather. The staff didn't seem to have much interest in campers or travelers. Caution when entering, the road into it looks like a truck entrance to a filling station. There are signs, but when you are crossing on coming traffic on a four lane, they hard to see. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com