206928 User submitted reviews online!!
Davis Lakes & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (757) 539-1191
CGID8612

Davis Lakes & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   7   9   6   8   9   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Nice campground relatively close to many things--Yorktown, Jamestown, VA beach, Norfolk, Kitty Hawk. Good gravel & paved interior roads and offers long, gravel pull-thru sites (mine was at least 75' long) and back-ins. Much of park has large trees while parts are out in the open. Easy in/out. Sites around lake filled with long-termers. No cable and satellite coverage will depend upon site. No park Wi-Fi, but both Verizon & ATT got 4G. Great park for kids with beach, swimming, fishing, and room to play. Not much traffic on adjacent road so park was quiet. Restaurants available and Walmart about 15-20 min away. Good destination park for this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
This is a very nice campground that we used to escape from Hurricane Sandy. Our site was large and the people in the office were very friendly and helpful. They led us to the spot and helped us back in. The following morning the manager came to our spot to let us know the latest in the weather and road reports. She went the extra mile to help us. We will recommend this RV Park to others and we will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
We were visiting friends in the area and this was a convenient location. We were surprised to find out on arrival how nice it is! We arrived at 8 pm and even though we have a 23ft Roadtrek, they guided us to a large, fairly level pull through site. Sites are gravel, with picnic tables on nice wooden decks. Grass and grounds are lovely, and there's a pavilion, sandy beach on the large lake, and picnic areas. The bathhouse is very clean, with nice showers and private dressing areas. Some sites are near a road, but there is a large noise abatement wall that muffles the noise effectively. A staff member alerted us that our water connection was leaking, and another staff person quickly offered help. These are nice folks! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$28
We stayed here for four days while transiting to South Carolina. The campground was well maintained. We arrived on Sunday when the office was closed. A call to the campground number brought help very quickly. Not only did they check me in, they opened the propane area so I could get my tank filled. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Short stays were parked in an area with many trees. All of the pull-through sites are 30amp service. 50amp service sites are all back-in. We had a 50amp site. While this site may have been wonderful for a 5th wheel, we had a horrible time getting our coach level. Our front wheels were off the ground. We also had a hard time positioning just right to get satellite because of the trees. The campground is convenient to US 58. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
Do you like the quiet, serene and friendly? This is it! Staff is very friendly, bath house is clean and sites are immaculate. The CG hosts different weekend activities and everyone has a great time. Great weekend camping! Lake sites are seasonal/permanent only and there is a waiting list. The security guy is gruff and not really helpful except for parking your rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$27
There is not a playground for the kids here, which is why I gave it a 6 instead of an 8 or 9. The sites were level and the camp host was very friendly. There was a security guard on a golf cart that started to get on our nerves after a while, but he was doing his job making rounds. There are 3 fishing ponds which do not require a state license to use. All of the lake front sites are taken by permanent campers, however, we stayed at the top of the beach area, so we had a nice view of the pond. The campground is set up on a three loop style setup with no real walking trails but the roads are decent sized. As stated previously, this is not a destination campground, but is nice for a quick weekend get away. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Nice enough place. A lot of permanent, or at least seasonal, folks. All the lakeside spots are taken by them: so don't plan on that! And they have quite a few people here to work in the area. But all of these folks seemed tidy and friendly, so no issue. Our site could've been a bit crowded, but one side remained vacant and the other side had a very friendly inhabitant, so that worked out fine too! They will redirect you if they find you walking your dogs anywhere near the lake, but they weren't mean about it. Not necessarily a destination cg but was a nice stopover and probably worked as well for a hub for our long day drives (to Chincoteague, Kitty Hawk, etc.) as any there would have. Nice laundry facilities. Our Verizon aircard had enough signal here. We'd stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We stayed two weeks at this very clean park with friendly management. Great water, load your fresh water tanks here. Verizon broadband stick works OK. Kids will like the fresh water lake and clean sandy beach for swimming. I did not have a chance to try the fishing, but will make plans for it next time I am here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$27
I needed a campground on the southern side of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel on my way back home to NJ after 6 weeks on the road in the southeast. My Trailer Life directory showed this campground as open all year. I called to verify they were open and availability. What a gem this campground is. Three lakes with a beautiful very clean beach and what appears to be full timers or seasonals nicely spaced around them. The transient sites are up high and overlook the lake. I had a lovely site with just what I asked for: a lake view close to the bathhouse. The interior roadways were paved or hard gravel. My campsite (a large pullthrough) was level hard gravel. Sewer, electric and water with a heater wrapped around the faucet! The office personnel couldn't have been nicer, and asked if I was Good Sam or Triple A for a discount. The bath house was sparkling! There appears to be a large area for groups or rallies. There is a covered pavilion and rec hall, closed for the season, but seemed to have refrigerator, microwave, etc. I have seen other reviews of this campground regarding the US Route 13 Bypass built right behind, and taking over 100 sites from them. What a shame. There is one of those long and tall cement paneled privacy fences right behind the bathhouse I used. You should not be concerned about highway noise, it is off in the distance and almost out of hearing. I wish this neat campground was closer to home, as I surely would bring a group here. Gas, Wal-Mart, grocery stores are all nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Clean, quiet place with several small lakes and plenty of water view sites. No Wi-Fi, no cable TV. They have no plans, according the the staff, of getting either. But local Norfolk stations come in fine on antenna. Very attentive staff. Some sites are really muddy when it rains (it rained several days of our 10 day stay.) Excellent (though a bit rough-hew) clean showers and bathrooms. We'll be staying here again when visiting our relatives nearby. [By the way, the little beach looked clean and water clear to me, despite the other reviewers saying to beware of the leaches!... Hmmm...] We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
This is a really nice campground and highly recommended. Some of the turns are a little tight, but we managed to navigate the campground with a 41' RV without breaking or scraping anything. Roads and campsites are all gravel and very level. The campground is huge with several lakes to enjoy, including very nice lakeside camping for those who want to enjoy an extended stay. Most of staff was very helpful and all the shopping you could need, including Wal-Mart is just a couple miles down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
This is a very well maintained CG with 3 lakes. You can fish in any of them & there is a swimming beach on one of the lakes. However, you can't really swim there due to the Canadian Geese that seem to use the beach, they really leave a mess. The fishing is restricted to certain areas, not sure why though. The roads are gravel and very dusty, it was cool enough one day to leave the windows open but couldn't due to the dust. A security guard patrols the grounds and creates a lot of the dust with his golf cart, he also takes his job just a little to seriously. He loves to blow his whistle. Didn't happen to us, but saw him several times getting after people. Due to having relatives in the area we would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
Davis Lakes Campground in Suffolk, VA was a very nice campground. It was the quietest campground we've stayed at so far. We have 2 children (ages 8 and 5) who really enjoyed the large areas for play. They have a "beach" for swimming which leaves alot to be desired. Be aware of the "fresh water leeches" when swimming. This campground would get alot more business if it had a pool and an accessible playground for the kids. Overall nice camping experience, just make sure if you have younger children, bring lots for them to play with. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$28
I stayed here for Thanksgiving & Christmas. It is a great campground since I am traveling east on 58 and I can stop, disconnect, setup, and drive the tow vehicle into the city to visit family. It is a good price and yes, they keep a close watch on things but it didn't bother me! An excellent place to stay if you want to visit the big tourist attractions without towing your rig through the city traffic. It is family oriented and the person that cleans the bathrooms does an awesome job. I have only stayed at one other campground in my life that had cleaner bathrooms. There are some things to do at the campground but I spent my time visiting family. I will come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Park has the basic needs in many spots and many are nice spots under trees. Lakes for fishing and swimming. Access is a little less than perfect going through a residential neighborhood. Security ? Yes, 25 rounds per day, every day. Sounds nice but they want to report each and every little move you make back to office. I travel a lot and stay in about 40 parks per year. Never any problems but not so here. Managers are unfriendly and very demanding of what is proper for their park, including but not limited to, not being able to put down a small door mat. Kills the grass they said. Security follows you on golf carts to make sure you pick up any dog droppings. Key word here is follows you as you walk! Park rating is a 7 and management rating would be a 2. Only one is Suffolk, VA, but my advice would be for overnight necessity only and move on to friendlier parks for any extended stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com