214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Calhoun KOA was rated 4 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (706) 629-7511
CGID863

Calhoun KOA

Camp Information
Sites
87
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   1   7   5   5   2   5   4   1   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
The thing we liked best were the peacocks - they have several adult and young peacocks, including relatively rare albinos as well as normal colored ones. If you don't like their unusual cry, that could be a bit of a shock! There was an extra charge to enter the pool area but at least one family was enjoying it - it was rather small. Sites were gravel and rather narrow. It's a hilly campground. There is an average playground. The people working were very nice, the store was well-stocked, including local souvenirs, and freshly made pizza is available on site. There was a fishing pond and a 'petting zoo' on site with a couple of goats and an awful looking animal - maybe a sheep? So, there's an attempt to be family-friendly but it just needs a little more care. Wi-Fi was OK. The flier lists miniature golf but we didn't notice that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Small spaces. Neighbors 3 feet away. No really level spots. Not much road to maneuver a large motorhome. Lots of mud. Extremely noisy peacock at all hours of the night. Park needs to be cleaned up and modernized . Overpriced at $35 per night for conditions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Rainy, rainy night so things were muddy but this campground was just fine. Loved the sound of the peacocks. Nice warm cookies delivered by Hostess on our arrival. We didn't feel like venturing out or cooking so we ordered the Park specials of chicken wings and pizza delivered to our camper. Can't beat that type of service! We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
The wife and I camped here for three nights with a larger group of RV'ers. Our site was on the very soggy back loop and only had 30amp: no sewer or water hookup available, for a discount rate was $33/night. The grass only site did not have a fire ring or picnic table when we arrived, but both were promptly delivered when requested. There was a very courteous, young staff assisting the evening we checked in and they also brought us warm cookies after we had settled. We were within "smell" range of a four-to-five horse corral that was very unpleasant when the winds were calm. The bathroom on the rear loop was never cleaned in the three days we were here, and a lack of sidewalks or gravel driveways only promoted a constant layer of pine straw and leaves on the bathroom floor. The bathrooms were also up on a 15-foot incline, not suitable for older campers. The railroad tie steps were super slick when wet. The new "rally center" was our hub of activities and featured a full kitchen, screen and projector and plenty of seating for probably 65 people. There was a large fire ring outside that was used by the group both nights, as well as a very large BBQ/smoker rig available to all campsite users. Since we had brought in over twenty RV units for camping: almost 55 people total. The campground hosts provided a dinner on Saturday night for the group. The meal consisted of one helping of pork barbecue or a charred/burned chicken leg quarter, a choice of two sides (grocery store potato salad, cole slaw or pork-n-beans) and a slice of white bread. Some folks managed to get a second round of side dishes, but not everyone. Dessert was budget ice cream with canned toppings. The campground had a nice pool & game room, a miniature golf course, a very small pond (catch and release only) as well as a petting zoo that featured goats, pigs and very loud peacocks. The location was convenient to a grocery store and several restaurants. Overall, the place simply needed a good cleaning and some T.L.C. in order to become an above-average KOA site. Hospitality was a solid "A", but the site condition came it at a "C-" at best. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Site was small and cramped; neighbor's awning was 12" from slide. Lots of construction workers staying there. People kept coming through our site for showers, laundry, pool, and generally anywhere they wanted to go. Site was filled with mud after a rain. Wi-Fi didn't work at our site, and we were close to the registration building. One thing that was nice was the meeting room as it was great. Peacock was loud, and goats smelled. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
Office help very friendly. Park in very poor shape for an expensive KOA. Weeds over 2 feet tall around the pool. Sand in the pool. Bathrooms and showers needed fixing. Sites narrow and not level. 30 amp service kept tripping the breaker, so we had to plug into 50 amp. Saving the best for last, they have some sort of children petting zoo where the roosters start crowing at 3:30 in the morning. Unbelievable. Would not stay here again, even for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$48
This was our first trip to a KOA. After talking to other campers we should have chosen another. The good thing is after this terrible experience, it can only get better from here for other KOA's. The utilities worked good on our site with no issues. But the overall atmosphere with the gruff owner made it undesirable to go to ever again. The Wal-Mart parking lot is a much better spot! The workers were smoking pot on a picnic table the night we came in so that should have told us something! The rooster was so ready to leave he was plucking his self hoping someone would cook him! The peacocks were pretty but the rest of the petting zoo was about 40 feet in diameter with too many animals in there. Our kids did get a good workout with all the unlevel ground in the area. Had to use all the blocks to get it close to level at best. Woke up every morning with a headache from the blood rushing to my head while sleeping. The kids met some friends, got bee stung while putt putting, got some good scars from falling down the gravel hills with the bikes, and picked up a lot of peacock feathers. So i guess it wasn't a total loss for the kids but they didn't know any different. Just chalk it up as experience. Just hate to know drove 550 miles for that!! BEWARE OF THE CALHOUN CATASTROPHE! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2009
$38
We were here for an overnight visit. It had rained the day before and there was a ton of mud but since there was no grass there for starters than I am assuming they are pretty skimpy on the gravel to help with the mud. There was a time-challenged rooster somewhere near the site which started crowing non-stop from about 4 am, long before sunrise. The campground is almost 2 miles off the Interstate, but when you are heading south through Atlanta you don't have a lot of choices. I would skip this campground although the staff was quite nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
Upon arrival we asked about our pizza and wings and were told we had to choose either/or. The ad plainly says pizza and wings not pizza or wings. The pizza was no more than a cheap Walmart pizza and we also purchased another for over 8 dollars. In the Walmart store those pizzas cost $4.50. A Little Caesar's pizza is 5 bucks. We constantly had to protect our toy dog against the many dogs that roamed the camp groud. Though we glady obeyed the rules of keeping our dog on a leash, the owners dogs roam the campground all day long and all night long. One night our trash was not picked up because the owners were too busy playing Wii in the pavillion to get it, and their dogs tore our trash up and my husband had to get up in the middle of the night and chase away the dogs and clean up the mess. All day long on Saturday of our trip we listened to a chain saw cutting down trees only a few yards away from our site. Though the speed limit in the campground is just over 4mph, the golf carts driven by employees and owners drive much faster than that and they are gas powered so they make allot of noise. This is a very noisy campground, if you are coming for quiet don't come here!! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We live at this campground and it is great. The people who own this park are wonderful. They have lots of activities going on throughout the summer months. There is always plenty of things to do for the whole family. Wish more campgrounds took the time to set things up like that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
Site was uneven and muddy. Motorhome next to us is two foot from our awning. No grill. Before I even brought my motorhome in, I asked for my cash for two nights back and the teenage girl, instead of giving me another spot called someone and then called 911. Cops showed up and chewed her out for treating a grandmother that way, but said she would not give me my money back, I would have to take them to court. I live in Florida. People here told me they were low class and trouble. Cop told me I would never get my hundred dollars back from them, and to stay the two nights. So I'm afraid to go out of the motorhome. Can't use any of the muddy things to do here. I wonder if the owner knows how the kids running things here are running off customers. I usually stay just over two weeks. In my whole life, no one has ever called the cops on me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2008
$40
We stayed overnight on our way home from Florida. We were only there from 1:30 am to 7 am, and we didn't use the bathrooms or other amenities, and didn't use the water or sewer hookups either. Our site was none too long for our 45' motorhome, but we did fit. There was only one available site in the park that worked for us (a couple sites didn't work only because an inconsiderate camper had his car hanging into the road, and we knew we'd never get out). It was pouring rain, and the site and the gravel roads were quite muddy. The site we had was reasonably level, but we were here once a couple years ago and had a site that wasn't anywhere close to level. We only stayed here because Harvest Moon in Adairsville was full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Not at all worth considering. The place has a nice pool, but they let in locals (for $) so it's always crowded with loud trailer trash moms and wild kids. Meanwhile the "petting zoo" is a cruel little crowded pen, pitiful. Owner is scary-looking biker dude who doesn't care. And worst of all, although it's not directly their fault -sometimes that's just camping- we got a SEVERE infestation of ants (like a bad horror movie!). The girl at the desk just laughed, saying, "Wll, that's just Georgia." (Funny we were at the Stone Mountain GA campground for a week right before this, and had absolutely no problems there!) Guess we should have listened to the guy who is staying at Calhoun KOA long term who was out that evening spraying for ants. Avoid this place like the plague! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2007
$41
We stayed only one night and that was too much! Site was unlevel could not even get close to level.Young girl working behind desk was not very friendly or helpful . For a KOA this one is the worst one I have ever stayed in will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
Gravel and dirt. Not level and muddy. Good one night lay-over at best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
We spent several pleasant days here while 'going and coming'. The new owners are steadily working to improve this formerly run down campground and have plans to continue to upgrade facilities to accommodate big rigs. Limited number of full hookups, be sure they know you require one. Restrooms/showers are spotless. Activities on weekends. Very friendly and accommodating owners on site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2005
$35
Just an OK park for passers by. Park itself is an older KOA.Sites are extremely unlevel. We stayed in a pull thru just long enough for our 35 ft and tow. One forth of park is homesteaded by permanents. Would look elsewhere if you have a larger unit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$22
We did not want sewer and were put on a barely adequate site. It was not level in any direction, had not been mowed for a few weeks, had a large bush right where the door opens and another that rubbed the other side of the MH. We had to back out because there was not enough room to pull forward. The staff was very friendly, tho. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$22
my rating system 1-10 y or n, highway ez off-on 5, site ez in-out 6, dog-rated 6, site electric=water-sewer quality 5, passport america n, host friendliness 5, camp internal roads 6, nearest "big" city Chattanooga 45 Atlanta 65 miles We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com