223474 User submitted reviews online!!
John Tanner State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (770) 830-2222
CGID864

John Tanner State Park

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   7   8   3   7   7   8   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Park area is well kept and it has a lake with a paved walking trail around. It also has a beach and many shade trees. The RV area is somewhat rundown. The sites are not kept up and you can get a large rig in there, but you have to be careful of low limbs and tight turns. Not all sites will fit a big rig. The bathrooms and showers are old and need to be updated. They are mostly clean except on weekends when they tend to get dirty. The staff is friendly and helpful; they sell ice at the check-in office. There is a laundry, but it has only one washer and dryer. The staff said that they were working on improvements. Hopefully it will get better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This park was a very nice park to stay in for a weekend. It was very quite, and a nice place to swim. The playground was very nice and the kids loved it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
A popular swimming area, some sites are tight and the roads are a little difficult to manuver, very steep entrance. Almost NO mosquitos! The two spaces on the north and south end are tucked into trees and very desireable. No WiFi in the parking space, only at the office. Voltage is low. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$24
While I agree with the previous review that the $5 Georgia pass should not be charged to paying campers, that's their policy and would not deter us from visiting again. We had reservations at a park further north but with the snow, we changed to this one and were very happy. We lucked out and got site #27 which I believe is the best in the park. It is secluded with enough of a driveway to park a camper plus 3 cars. A waterfall is behind this site with the creek alongside it. The flowing of water is extremely relaxing and they have numerous walking trails surrounding the waterfall area. The pictures we took were breathless. Bathrooms and showers very clean and short walk away. Miniature golf available along with 2 or 3 pavilions for rent. Large beach area for summertime use. Will probably return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
We camped here one night as we came through GA. The park seemed nice enough and the sites average. Our low overall rating is a reflection of the price paid compared to other state parks and private parks. We were charged $24 to camp plus $5 for the park entrance fee! We never been "double" charged in other states. Earlier in the week, we stayed at a very nice park in Mississippi for $17. It had level, paved sites. This park's sites were not level and not paved. Only 4 of the sites were occupied. Maybe the price is keeping people away. We will not stay at this park again (or other GA state parks) at this kind of price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
We were only here for one night due to driving schedule, but would definitely stay again. Lake swimming. Walking trails around both lakes. Large sites with picnic table, camp lantern pole and grill. Miniature golf course. The only minor complaint is that the day-use area is quite close to the campground. Verizon broadband and cell phone worked adequately; about 5 channels on the antenna. Very good campground for families. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
We live close to this campground so took advantage of camping near home. It is small and rustic, but everything we needed. The campground hosts were wonderful, and made us feel very welcomed. The site was level. The trails were good. We would have run out of things to do if it were not for such a short stay (2 nights). I think the biggest attraction is the summer with the lake, but it was too cold for that during our trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
An older campground with gravel sites. Some sites are pretty small and there is not much privacy as all the sites are stacked in one area. Very nice paved walking trail around lake and putt-putt golf right next to campground. Staff was very courteous - let kids play golf for free! Will return if needing a campground west of Atlanta. Our pull-thru site did not require unhooking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
We camped here for the first time this weekend. The camp sites were level and clean. The campground roads were a little tight but manageable. The beach was very nice. I definitely would recommend this campground. I did not use the camp restrooms so I can't comment. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
A recent visit to this state park was not as good as prior visits. Four of the nearby seven sites had multi-family. multi-generation, daytime visitors. People cut through sites, children actually came into our site 3 times, and CG users left litter and shoes around the common areas. The comings and goings of the daytime visitors made for a noisy, crowded and un-peaceful visit. On the weekend, the beach area was left so littered (leftover rafts, paper products, shoes, etc.) by daytime users that it resembled New Orleans after a parade. One morning a big charter bus idled its engine for 45 minutes. This was very different from prior visits, so I hope things go back to the way they were. A nearby VFW park with swimming looked closed so maybe that is causing the overcrowding. The physical part of the park is still good, the staff - as always - is fantastic. I hope the "atmosphere" changes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
This was our second stay at this campground. We were surprised to find it was almost full when we arrived. The campground was kept neat and the staff was friendly. The lots are gravel and fairly level. The campground does have pull through sites but we had a back-in. Some of the sites are narrow and hard to back into for us rookies. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$22
Very neat and clean state park. Sites easy to get into and out of, level sites, heavily wooded, cable tv very good, fishing lake, canoeing, playground equipment. Rangers, campground host very friendly and helpful. Great value and memorable experience in Georgia We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
This is a beautiful park. We loved the volleyball nets and the paved walking track. The park seemed very well maintained. The turns inside the campground were very tight. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
My wife and I have camped at John Tanner 6 times in the past 9 years and it does not have a lot of activities but that is why we like it. We enjoy walking with our two dogs on the 1.1 mile long paved walking trail around the main lake and in the campground area. It is a 15 minute drive to restaurants and shopping at Carrollton or Bremen and less than an hour from western Atlanta, which includes 6 Flags over Georgia. The restrooms and grounds are kept clean and we've always been treated courteously by the staff. It can be very busy on weekends since it is a gathering place for family get-togethers and reunions. We've never had a bad time there and will be camping there two more weekends this year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$20
This is a good campground to take children for beach swimming, renting pedal boats, fishing, and hanging out at your site. The beach is in the day use area across a small parking lot from the campground. There is a vendor in the beach house that sells food, ice cream, and even swim rafts of all kinds. In the summer, the park has brief, fun activities for kids. The activites are nature based. In the evening, try going for a walk to spot the many fireflies. Trails are not remarkable. There is generally a quiet, state park atmosphere. I would give a ten except that there can be visits from bees while cooking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$20
The campground is nice enough but rather ho-hum. There's not much else to do besides the beach and the camping area is right by the main gate, and doesn't have it's own separate, locked gate. We look for places with good trails to hike & bike on. John Tanner only had 2 small ones and not much to see on those. Even though this CG is only an hour away from us, there's another one an hour away in the opposite direction that we'll go to instead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com