218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Homestead Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (215) 257-3445
CGID8667

Homestead Campground

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   5   8   6   7   8   9   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
This rate is the weekly rate for a 30 amp plus we had to pay electricity for the site. The campground is quiet and the owner is helpful and responsive to problems. However, the campground is in need of maintenance, painting and general clean up work. It does have a run down and tired look about it although flowers have been planted and you can tell some effort has been made to make the campground attractive. The bathrooms are tiny but clean. The cable channels are quite extensive and the WiFi was reliable and quick most of the time. On a few nights it was slow or unavailable. There is a pool which people were using, but I cannot comment on it since we did not use the pool. You are only 15 miles from a train station to catch the SEPTA rail into Philadelphia which was convenient. You are about 20 miles from Valley Forge National Park and King of Prussia Mall. Whether this campground is for you depends on your priorities. For us, the quiet was worth fewer amenities and a few inconveniences. I am not sure if we would stay here again. I would definitely explore options before staying again but I would not rule it out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
This is the very best Campground! We have full timed for a year now. Their isn't a bad spot here. I never leave a review but for a great place to relax quietly safely and very cleanly we haven't been to a better place.The feel to this place is just like it's name Homestead with the large spaces when your outside cooking kicking back feel like you own backyard out in the woods.We will be back next fall too! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This campground was one of only a few we found with full hookups (water, sewer, electric, cable) within a reasonable distance of Philadelphia area attractions (1 hour +/-). The sites are highly varied with some being small, level areas in the open (mostly near the front of the campground) and others being rocky, undulating areas in the woods. The campground owner/host gave us a nice, level site near the playground with paved areas on both sides of the camper. We did not see another site like this and suspect this site was originally intended for handicapped guests. The playground is extensive, but antiquated. Even though the setting is fairly rural, there is solid cell phone service, including data (for Verizon at least). During our stay, we were away from the campground all day. The most significant negative we experienced was that someone appeared to have tampered with several items at our site while we were gone, primarily the thumb locks on our exterior storage compartments. For what it’s worth, we noted that many of the guests appeared to be seasonal/long-term as opposed to vacationing. As others have stated, there is limited site distance to the left when leaving the campground and vehicles tend to exceed the speed limit on Allentown Road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Don't use you GPS to get here. Close to Philadelphia yet in a country setting. Extremely helpful owner and helpers. Avoid entering from the North as the turn is most difficult, except for smaller units. Good cable TV. Very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
What I’m looking for in a campground is easy big rig access, full hookup at 50 amp, level sites, secure area, and clean restrooms. Drive-through, Wi-Fi, and cable TV are bonus features which are much appreciated. I have no interest in a pool, a dog run, or kids' activities. I’m here to see sights in the area and the campground is simply a place to park my 37‘ trailer. I had no trouble with the roads to the campground but be aware that they are county roads and NOT interstate highway width. There are no shoulders or emergency stops lanes. Regardless of which direction you come a one lane bridge must be crossed. It is sound and plenty wide. Exiting the campground is a bit sporty as most locals do not adhere to posted limit and fly over the hill to the left when exiting. I posted my wife at the top of the hill when we left to give me an all clear before pulling out. The owner is a friendly, helpful gem! With her guidance we made a safe trip into Philly on the train and saw other sights in the area. Very helpful! On the down-side, I'd agree with a previous review that the restrooms are dated. That's my only ding for this campground but since that's one of the primary things I'm looking for, it's a big ding. The Wi-Fi is solid and fast! The cable TV is clear. The electric is solid and the water is good. The interior roads are fine as well although since I had a site at the front I didn't travel the back part of the campground. Yes, I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Rate reflects a weekly rate. Older campground but everything worked. Coming from the north you have to descend a long hill and then cross a 1 lane bridge. Leaving the campground could be a challenge as when you pull out, there could be someone coming up the hill around the curve. Roads could use some work. Pretty convenient to Quakertown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
One of the few campgrounds in eastern PA that are open year round. Friendly, helpful owner; beautiful walking trails; peaceful. Perfect as a base to visit relatives and take a nice train ride into Philly for the day ($1.00 for seniors). Also within minutes to the Q-Mart, a large flea market with many inside and outside stands…and delicious Aunty Anne’s soft pretzels. Playground for kids; pool was closed for the season. Upper bathrooms were closed but lower ones, while a bit dated, are clean. Store doesn’t have much of anything but it could have been due to the time of year. No Laundromat but there is one next to the post office in Trumbauersville, a 5-min. drive away. We’ve stayed here before; will stay here again and would recommend this to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Very nice park. Owner is extremely friendly and accommodating. Large playground and great hiking trails. Had a really nice site in the trees. If you're looking for a bunch of organized activities, this isn't the place - but if you want a well kept, quiet, relaxing campground, you've found it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Quiet old fashioned campground with mature trees and lots of grass. Boulders the size of an elephant's back are sprinkled throughout where the glaciers left them. Small clean pool which was too cold to use. Every kind of store you can imagine is within 5 miles. Good place to kick back and unwind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
This is great find. About 45 minutes to Philly and 10 minutes to tons of shopping and dining out. The owners are really friendly and helpful. The full hookups and Wi-Fi worked great. The big rig access is limited but there are a variety of sites for every need. Peaceful and quiet too. There are a few musty old seasonal units but otherwise the campground is beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a fantastic campground! It's very quiet, a great place to relax with no planned activities. Has mostly seasonal sites, but several sites are available for weekends, etc. Sewer sites are mostly in open, but many, many sites available for tents and travel trailers: big motor homes, and large travel trailers are mostly in open areas. Tents and 'normal' travel trailers have a great choice of sites. Sites are very large and very private: electric, water, cable TV, and wireless at almost all sites. If you camp here, do not planned to be entertained. You are on your own. There's a small playground for kids, swimming pool available, and a small store with minimum supplies. The office is not normally open as the owner is nearby. Many attractions are nearby. A great place to sit back and enjoy. Showers and baths are small and old, but very clean. It's an old campsite: with the way camping used to be. Will definitely return here any time we're in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
We camped here one night. The place is a little old but very nice and clean. Nice private, level, gravel sites. Bath house is old, but clean with free hot showers. Staff was very nice to us. Nice big pool; half the pool is roped off for children and is only 2 1/2 feet deep. My three year old son had a ball ! No planned activities or anything like that; just a nice place to relax and have some family time. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Stayed here at end of July because it was near family. Went to Jersey for 3 days and returned here because we like the peace and quiet, and general overall feeling of being "home". Pool is a bit of a walk away from the campground area; huge play structure for the kids; store not very well stocked but it appears most people here are seasonals and Wal-Mart is only about 10 minutes away as are a complete compliment of grocery stores and other shopping. Sites are gravel and level. Free, good Wi-Fi and cable. I would definitely recommend this to others and will stay here the next time we're in this section of PA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
The previous reviewer has described the campground perfectly and we agree with all they said. We shall camp here again as it is the nearest campground to our family. The bath houses are old and need updating, especially bath house #2 in the woods, the floor of which looked as though it had not been cleaned for ages. Our site got a bit muddy after some rain. Owner was friendly and very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This is an older park that has been a family run business for 41 years according to the owner. The owner and staff are friendly and very helpful. Most of the sites are water and electric. Cable TV and Wi-Fi were free. There are a large number of beautiful wooded sites that are best suited to pop-ups and small travel trailers. Sites for larger RVs are in more open areas closer to the office and road. The local road gets traffic during the day and some noise from trucks pulling the hill up to the campground, but there is very little traffic at night and we did not notice any highway noise. The swimming pool is larger than most campground pools I've seen. There is a nice playground area and recreation center building. The buildings are old but clean. The Wi-Fi worked well as long as you are within line of sight of one of the transmitters. Like many campgrounds, the more RVs that got between us and the transmitter, the more problems we had keeping a signal. We enjoyed our stay and will stay here again when visiting family in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com