223083 User submitted reviews online!!
McKinney Campground COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (678) 721-6700
CGID867

McKinney Campground COE

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   2   10   7   10   9   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Almost all sites are shaded, and many quite large. Some of the waterfront sites are smaller, but with the lake view I doubt anyone cares. Camped here with 40 ft motorhome and toad, no problem accessing our site. Stayed at two different sites and both were level and clean. Definitely will return. And yes, there is train noise, but we didn't find it bothersome. No louder than the boats on the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Great park and great waterfront large sites. We like to hike in Red Top Mountain State Park and it's really close by. We choose to camp here for the lakefront views. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Our RV site was fairly level and clean. We were not advised upon check-in of the gates locking at 9 pm. It is not a key code access on the gate so you are literally locked in/out depending on which side of the gate you're on. I arrived at 10:10 pm with my children in the car with me only to discover we had been locked out. I phoned my husband who walked from our campsite (about 1/3 mile) and politely knocked on the campsite host's RV door and asked if he could open the gate for us. From his RV, the campsite host could see our vehicle at the gate. He refused to unlock the gate. My husband even offered to run down as he watched and unlock it for him. He refused. So, in a chilly 37 degrees, we walked our kids about 1/3 mile to our campsite in the dark. It was so cold, my eyes kept watering as the brisk wind chilled us to the bone. As guests, we were not accommodate or helped in our moment of need. He had the ability to help us and let us thru the gate, but he didn't care. We camped near the marina and was forced to listen to the blaring music of a party cruiser docked there. We could easily hear the music while inside our RV until early morning hours. You can also hear the train that runs thru periodically on the other side of the water, but it's tolerable. There needs to be a sign as you are leaving to alert you to the gate closure time. In addition, our hope is that a keypad is put into this location. It's a lovely campground, but the staff is inhospitable and you may have to deal with noise outside of the campground. Don't stay here unless you don't mind a curfew! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
Top notch Corps of Engineers park. Paved sites with electric and water. Dump station on the way out is easy to use. The park is really beautiful with miles of trails, a swimming beach, nearby marinas, wonderful wildlife, and friendly folks who run it. Really a super place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
We stayed at site 92, which we selected online. It is a 55-ft. back-in site overlooking the lake, and it's a lovely site. We have a 43' MH with toad, and arrived as it was getting dark. This was our first visit here, so we did not know what to expect. The road to get to the site was very narrow and windy, with lots of trees on either side. The site was located on a tight curve of the road, and we had to back in up a hill into the site - challenging with a 43' MH in the dark. Across the lake is a railroad track, with trains crossing frequently throughout the day (and night), and blowing their horns to let you know they are there. (We got used to it.) It's a good location, overall, if you don't mind train noises. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$26
We love to camp throughout the Southeast. This campground is our go-to spot when we're just wanting to get away for the weekend. I thought I'd share our pleasure. We are locals in Atlanta and if we need a weekend away close to home, for whatever reason, we choose this place. The mainly large sites, the safety of locked gates at night, the wooded sites many with wood decks are why we continue to frequent this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
First time staying a weekend at McKinney. Not at all disappointed with the staff or grounds or site sizes. All sites had plenty of vegetation between them that you need not see your neighbor's child peeing in the woods. Fishing was nonexistent. First I thought it was me. Next I blamed the location in a cove. Then several boats with several fishermen did not get a strike so I did not feel so incompetent. Restrooms were clean and working order. They are a bit away from campsites, but you can go to their reservation site and choose how close you want to be to bath houses and Lake Allatoona. We will return next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Our families all time most favorite campground in Georgia. We can't wait until the summer comes for our week long vacation at McKinney campground on Lake Allatoona. We camp right on the lake shore and have awesome views all day. The only down fall is one set of campground hosts are not that friendly. On the other hand the other hosts are great and make you feel welcome so we just overlook the others. Deer just roam the campground and will even walk right up on your lot. Our kids love it since we can walk right into the water from our lot and swim and dock our pontoon right at our campsite lot. We have rode through the surrounding campgrounds and nothing can top McKinney. Great Place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$26
This is beautiful park. Very nice level sites. Lots of room with cement pads, picnic tables. Loved it. Park host and hostess were so nice! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$24
Sites are very large, and there's plenty of space between them. My site was along side of the lake with a steep drop down to the water. Steps were available but it would have been a straight up climb. Lake level is very low - most swim beaches are all beach and no water. Hopefully this will change by next season. Site was level so no adjustments needed. I wasn't prepared for the train noise - frequent trains with whistles blowing through out the day and night. It didn't take long though to get used to and enjoy the sound. TV air reception is minimal if that's a must have. Good location to enjoy downtown Atlanta - the aquarium is fantastic - as well as the mountain areas. Lots of apple orchards near Ellijay - a fun town to explore - plenty of state parks in the area to enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$14
Love this campground! We took a month long trip to view the Fall foliage and stayed in eight campgrounds on this trip and McKinney was our favorite. Many large sites right on the lake. Could not take a walk without seeing several deer. The Allatoona Dam Overlook area, about 15 minutes from the CG, was very pretty. Wi-Fi is available at the McDonald's in town. The only reason it was not given a 10, is the bathhouse facilities could be updated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$12
Wow! What a gorgeous place to camp with your RV! The scenery was terrific, the sites were extremely roomy, and easy to get into and out of. Our site, #61, was level and very comfortable. It's a short drive to "civilization" if you need groceries, firewood, or fuel. This was our first COE camping experience, and we'll be back for more! Verizon cell phone service worked perfectly. Wish we could have had internet access, but "civilization" is not far away! (McDonald's, Walmart, etc.) The price was $12.00 a night with our National Parks Senior Pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
We love this park. It is woodsy and the sites are fairly private. Every site has a nice fire ring. We went during the week and had the park virtually to ourselves. We stayed in site 44, a level pull-through right on the lake. We even had a small trail down to a small, quiet cove where we could go swimming every day. There is also a sandy swimming beach that is roped off for safety. This is a very relaxing place for a long or short getaway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
Once again, we're thrilled with our stay at McKinney. Because we live about 45 minutes away, this is our favorite campground which is close to home. It's very shaded, with huge hardwoods. Many sites have little trails down to the water. We stayed in site 103 which was great and off the beaten path. Gates close at 10pm, so make sure you're on the inside. We'll definitely continue to use McKinney! Oh, bathrooms are too far to walk to if in a hurry. This might not be a great place for little ones if you need to use their bathrooms. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
Narrow paved roads, tight turns and steep grades can make maneuvering tricky for large rigs but the reward is a wooded natural site with some privacy. The paved pad was very narrow but the gravel patio area was very generous with a fire ring, grill, table and lantern pole. Restrooms and showers were very clean. Water and electric utilities were good, AT&T phone and data signals were good. Boat and train noise intruded occasionally. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$24
Excellent gravel sites with 50 amp electrical hookups and good water pressure. Plenty of good gravel on the sites, with asphalt back in lanes and interior roads. Well cared for and excellent rates. A very good Corps campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
Interesting drive in, about 8 miles or so off interstate, but a good road. Large park that will require some leveling because it's on a hillside, but altogether a very nice COE park. Great park hosts. It fills up on the weekends so if you plan on going there from Friday-Sunday, you might want to reserve ahead of time. During the week there are plenty of sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
very nice, quiet, clean COE campground. Premium sites include decks and in many cases lake access. No cable and the number and size of trees may impact satellite usage. However, found 48 local over the air (OTA) channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$12
This is the nicest COE campground we have camped in. Roads and pads are asphalt and in very good condition. Sites are well spaced and most are shady. Wi-Fi was not available at the park. Had it been available, I would have given this a 9+ rating. Rate reflects Golden Passport rate. We would definitely stay at this park again when in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
This is a large, well maintained park on the lake. The restrooms were clean, but there were no shower houses close to our site. We'd be willing to return, but next time will choose a site closer to a shower house. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$12
Great park. We have Golden Passport so rate was 1/2 price. This is our 2nd time here and will stay again. Best site is #112, overlooks the lake and has a deck. It fills up fast and although they have a lot of walkups available they let people come in, pay, but they don't have to put anything on the site. Tough to find anything around a holiday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Excellent campground. The only negative I can report is just the lack of full sewer hookups. Tons of reservable lakefront sites that are private. Bathhouses and restrooms are clean and spacious. I have camped at McKinney on three occasions and have noticed a deficiency at check-in. The hosts/check-in staff are extreme rule followers, and there are no exceptions. The family of five in front of us wanted to visit with their grandparents who were camping here: since you are only allowed 4 visitors per campsite, one of them had to stay at the entrance and not visit. It took me almost an hour to checkin with only 4 people in front of me. Since there are always two staff in the check-in station: my suggestion is to have two lines. One to check in campers with existing reservations, and one line to assist campers without reservations and visitors to the campground. The hosts/staff were very friendly and helpful once I finally got to speak to them, but they seemed to struggle with technology and anything out of their normal routine. Thus said: this is a beautiful campground with lots to offer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
This is a very nice COE campground. The sites are very spacious and wooded. The grounds were exceptional. We also found the camp hosts very friendly and hospitable. It was conveniently located to stores and shops so we didn't have to travel too far for necessities. If the campground had Wi-Fi we didn't notice it although we did not try it at the camp office. The campground has constructed brand new "family style" bathrooms. They were very basic; I personally did not like them. The lay out was odd and even though they were supposed to be very low maintenance, they could have been a little cleaner. There were still a couple of the traditional bath houses there that I thought were much better. Overall, we loved our stay at McKinney and would stay there again if in the Atlanta area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
We had a very nice stay. Sites are level and parking areas are paved. Lots of woods, fishing and wildlife. Bath houses are brand new and very clean. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
We do agree with the previous reviews - this is an extremely nice camp ground, but everything is not perfect unless you are a "boating person". We arrived on a Sunday, and the noise from jet skiers and large power boats drowns out the peace and quiet. There is also a train that sounds like it is passing 10 feet behind your rig while hooting "the familiar sound". Unfortunately we found that the noise was to much for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$13
Off interstate 75, exit 278. Fabulous COE park. Beautiful lake and thick woods. Sites are large with paved parking and pea gravel. Site includes picnic table, pedestal grill, fire pit, and lantern pole. The site was perfectly clean when we arrived. This park is well maintained. Extremely friendly, helpful, and courteous park contractors, park attendants, and uniformed personnel. My compliments to the people working in the park and thank you for making our stay more pleasant. It’s the people that can make the difference, and they truly made this beautiful place great! The view of the lake is breathtaking in the morning and at sunset. Some sites are close together, but many sites have plenty of space and privacy between them. The gates are locked at 9pm or 10pm depending on the time of year, and vehicles can not enter the park after the gates are locked. This would be a 10 if it had sewer and Wi-Fi and we could enter after 9pm. Will definitely stay here again. AT&T had a one bar connection (UMTS). No Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
This was our first visit to the park and we loved it. The campground was beautiful. The lake access at our site was a little difficult. There were large rocks that made it difficult to access the lake. We were able to do a little fishing here. There was abundant wildlife around the campground with deer, rabbits, ducks and geese. The front attendants were courteous and pleasant. No complaints from me. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
We really loved this park. The sites were shaded with plenty of room for extra parking. You weren't right on top of anyone. The sites were well kept and very clean. Level paved pads with gravel area for fire pit and table. The gravel area had enough space for our bikes and for the kids to play. The laundry was OK, fairly clean. The same for the rest room, just OK. I got to see the cleaning people. They walked in with a rag and a bottle of spray. They were in each bathroom less than five minutes. The staff at the front gate couldn't have been nicer. Full of information, always had a smile. The beach area was nice, they provided life jackets. And they raked the sand. I wish they had full hook ups and full time camping sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$13
Actually, even though the mailing address is Cartersville, this is closer to Acworth, GA. Anyway, there are some nice pull-through sites but ours was not one of them. There was room for our ATV and 40' fiver but the lot dropped down to the lower level about 2' from our bottom step. Plus, upon leaving, you have to go up a very steep hill which some people had a little trouble pulling. If we get back in this area, we will choose lot 120. And the dump station is also on a hill. That aside, our lot, though too narrow, was level and water/electric convenient. Peace and quiet abound in this park (once the barking dog left) and each lot has a large, level sitting/grill/picnic area. We were about 25' above the lake; some lots are closer, vertically. We would stay here again (on a different lot) and would recommend this to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2009
$26
Beautiful park with large sites. Very noisy with trains tooting at all hours. Verizon cell phones worked great. Some sites with satellite reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
We spent one night at this campground which is a welcome oasis close to Interstate 75. We were well rested before facing the Atlanta traffic. The only problem was the bathroom was pretty old but the park is well maintained and beautiful with our pull-through campsite right on the lake. We don't have Georgia fishing licenses but we could have dropped a line right from our camp spot, and the evening fire reflected on the lake. We would stay here again and recommend to all friends travelling on I-75. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
We stayed at McKinney for 4 nights. The first night we parked our diesel truck with a locked topper on the back, out in the overflow parking lot. Someone broke into the topper and stole our First-Up Canopy, an electric-air compressor, an ax, a bow saw and a set of Lynx Levelers, all totaled approximately $700, including repair to our truck. We called Bartow County Sheriff. He said there had been break-ins in autos each night that week and several over the previous weekend in the overflow lot. The sheriff also said they could not patrol during the night because they did not have the staff. This obviously is a problem here, but the Corp of Engineers will not allow signs to be put up on the windows of the registration booth warning people of break-ins in the overflow lot or to warn people to take all valuables with them. We have been camping here for 18 years and still will because it is a great campground and they have wonderful attendants at the registration booth. However, we won't leave out truck out in the overflow lot anymore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$12
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. It is rustic with very nice sites that are large and private. There are plenty of trees for shade and you have many opportunities to see deer come right up to your campsite. If you enjoy and nice campfire, privacy and the view of a nice lake, I recommend you visit this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$10
Nice, wide and mostly private sites. Train whistle nearby is sometimes ill timed. Quiet, clean and good workers. Restrooms a tad dated but pretty clean. Overall a great trip. Better during the week when it fills to capacity with children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
I loved this campground and would give it a 10 except for a few reasons. 1. The Campground Hosts were not very accommodating and didn't seem to like people. And don't even think of stopping near the gate house. "You had better park in the check in area, and leave your dog in your car!" 2. The Trains were very, very loud. I don't usually mind hearing trains, but even across the lake, your camper would vibrate. 3. Those darn ants! There were ants everywhere. They invaded our camper and about run us out at 2:00 in the morning. (I will note that this is not the fault of the Campground.) Overall a great campground, however, with some small improvements could be fantastic! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
This campground is one of our favorites. It is a large campground with big sites, many on the water. The campground has many sites that are non-reservable so you can almost always find a nice site even at the last minute. The campground stays open all year too which is nice because we like to camp in the cooler weather as well as when we can use beautiful lake Allatoona. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
This was our first visit to McKinney but it won't be our last! First the Con's. Their "first come first serve" procedure is really unfair. You should be able to mark an empty space to reserve it, then proceed to check in. Possession is 9/10ths of the law, correct? The trains can be a bit loud in the evening, and there's lots of speedboat traffic, some boats being very loud. Anyway, the Pro's far outweigh the Con's. Spots are carefully maintained, some are huge, many are right on the water. There's lots of privacy between most sites. Since the lake is back up to full pool, the lake was gorgeous, and the water was beautiful. This campground is very close to our home, but it seems like we're in a different world once inside the campgrounds. Shopping is conveniently located several miles away (i.e., Wal-Mart and Ingles Grocery). We plan to return again soon, and often. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
My family has camped here numerous times over the past year. There are several private sites to choose from many being on the lake which gives us the opportunity to tie up our boat to the site. Hosts are nice, but are rarely seen making rounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
This park was one of nicest we've ever stayed at. Nice paved roads and sites. Very private, wooded sites. Feels like you are in the middle of nowhere but very close to city. The lake was still very pretty even with the low levels due to drought. Can't wait to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$12
This is a pretty COE park, but there are a lot of little, tiny ants. Be prepared to spray your camper before and after you leave. The lake was way down due to the drought in the South, but our grandsons did enjoy throwing rocks to see them splash when they could get close enough (due to the mud) to throw them into the water. We much prefer Red Top Mountain State Park. They have some full hookups, too, that the COE park does not offer. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$10
This was our first stay in a COE Campground. What a pleasant surprise. We arrived Labor Day evening and found the campground almost empty. The sites are spacious and the setting beautiful. The mangers were helpful and friendly. We would have loved to have been able to have spent more than one night there and will keep it mind for future use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
Would give 10 but campground does not have sewer at each site. We stay there several times a year as we pass through the area and feel it is the best campground NW of Atlanta. They have several handicapped sites with 50 amp available. Recommend reservations May - September. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$21
We have camped at McKinney several times, with and without the kids. The front of the campground is geared more to travel trailers and tents; the back half is mainly for self-contained units. There is a large collection of first-come,first-serve sites with many being right on the water. If you want one of these sites, better get there early. Don't even think of driving up on a summer Friday and getting a site! There are several bathrooms sprinkled about which are old and worn. It is not unusual for them to be closed for repairs, not something one wants to deal with first thing in the morning. However, there are two very nice big bathhouses on-site which have laundry and showers, and are completely handicapped accessible. McKinney is set back on the lake far enough to not hear any road noise. You will hear plenty of railroad noise, however, so get used to it. If you hate the sound of jet skis and speedboats, this is not the place for you. But if you think that fishing, duck calls, campfires, and deer walking down the middle of the road is your kind of thing and you can live with a train whistle in the evening, this might be the place for you. Oh, and if you forgot something, you can run straight up the road to the Dollar General Store. They carry everything from candy bars to bleach to milk to pajama pants, and then some. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
We loved this campground! We were at #89 and were right on the lake front. My kids loved the boats that passed by all day and we would set and eat lunch and watch them. I wished they had a playground, and a place to ride bicycles, but our campsite was so nice that it made up for that. Great distance between us and neighbors, seemed like we were out there all by ourselves. We loved the fire pit, one of the best we have ever seen and the pea gravels were great, I didn't have to worry about the kids bringing dirt and leaves into the camper. We had fun fishing right below our camper, caught a few little ones for the kids. This was a great campground and we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
This campground continues to delight me. This weekend we had site #134, that, although not on the water, has a good view of the lake. This particular loop of the campground has sites that are well spaced with lots of vegetation between them to give good privacy. Most of the sites in this campground have paved pads and many have paved aprons for the picnic table and fire ring. My site had a gravel apron which was just as nice. This is by far our favorite Atlanta-area campground, significantly better than the adjacent Red Top Mountain State Park. Because the campground is on Lake Allatoona, there is some boat noise during the day, but it is refreshingly quiet at night. Campground hosts are very friendly, and I saw the maintenance/host vehicle pass through the campground several times during the weekend. It's a very well maintained campground - highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
I read the reviews here before staying at this campground and sort of overlooked the comment about the train noise since we are not typically very sensitive to outside noises but I was shocked at how often the trains went by, how loud they seemed, the vibration they created in the coach and how really long many of them were. Maybe it was our site. We had site #102 which was wonderfully separated from neighbors but seemed to really catch the sound waves from the train and the water craft in the area. Maybe the sites on the other side of the ridge are better. The lake was very low and looked rather brown, almost muddy in places. Some of the sites had rather severe slopes for backing-up before reaching the more level part of the site but most were level and spacious. Folks at check-in were very friendly and capable. Gate locked at 9 pm with no access even for campers. We absolutely love COE parks but this one is not a favorite. A different site and some time for the lake to fill might give a completely different experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$22
I would have rated it higher except for the trains ran often and were loud. Then there were the black walnuts and acorns that fell on our RV regularly with a bang. Beautiful campground though, very scenic, and the waterfront sites are only $2 more. Got good cell phone service here with T-mobile but not with Verizon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$22
Probably the best campground on the NW side of Atlanta. The only thing keeping us from giving it a "10" is that the showers are located quite a ways from many of the sites. But this is a great campground, very well maintained. Lots of different sites to choose from. Ours had a huge deck overlooking the lake, with a perfectly level large concrete pad for our motorhome. Fishing, boating and swimming are the things to do here, but Red Top Mountain State Park is a short drive away, with hiking, boat rentals, Saturday night Bluegrass (summers only,) and a lodge with a really good restaurant. We'd heard good things about McKinney, and we'll definitely be back again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Very nice Corp Of Engineers campground on Alatoona Lake just north of Atlanta. Our site overlooked the water and when sitting on our patio we could not see another site. Very private. Some sites have wooden decks out over the lake. Clean swimming area on the lake as well. We will be back to this one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com