220367 User submitted reviews online!!
Merrill Campground at Eagle Lake was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (530) 825-3450
CGID8683

Merrill Campground at Eagle Lake

Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   10   9   9   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Rate cited reflects the Senior Pass discount for a full-hookup site. Sites are paved, reasonably level, and wide. Easy access for big rigs. The sites in the two loops closest to the highway have full hookups. The next set of loops have water and 50 amp power. The two loops closest to the lake have no hookups. Power pedestal and water/sewer hookups were in like-new condition. Good water pressure, strong 50 amp power. There is a dump station across the highway from the campground. Even though we were in the loop closest to the road, it was very quiet. We were in a site (#1) that permitted Dish Network reception. On a Saturday, when we arrived, only a small minority of the sites had reservations. Verizon 3G data service varied from outstanding (1.5-2.1 Mbps) to poor. No Verizon 4G service. Excellent Verizon voice service. There is Wi-Fi at the campground host's site, but it doesn't reach anywhere else in the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
This was our 3rd time at this NPS campground. There were other people there that we had met last year, too, so we aren't the only ones who come back here. It's like coming home. We love it!!! Once again we stayed in a loop with full hookups and as they had in the past, everything worked as expected. We were in site #6 this time and leveling wasn't difficult, although it took most of my Lynx leveling blocks. Basically just had to raise the rear. Wi-Fi was available at the campground host's site. AT&T and Verizon (air card) worked well here. There is a paved bike path that goes about 2.5 miles each direction out of the campground. Westbound, the path ends at another campground and eastbound it ends at the marina and store. Nice easy level walk or ride. The campground hosts are terrific. Delivered firewood to my site and at $5.00 per bundle, it was a real bargain! We'll come back next year if the stars are lined up correctly! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
This is a nice campground on Eagle Lake. We stayed in a non-hookup site nearer the water, but it looked as though most had power/water. The sites are huge. What really was bizarre is that the restrooms did not have showers - bizarre. The beach was nice, but no formal trails to the beach. The water is very shallow so fishing without a boat isn't really feasible. The dump is across the street. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
OMG this place is fantastic. We had such a great time. It was quiet and not real crowded. The campground host was by far the nicest camphost we have ever met. We shall return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Terrific campground! Second time there and will return. Had full hookups in site #10. All paved roads and sites. Camp host was great. Brought firewood to our site when we needed it. (Reasonably priced, too.) Rate reflects Senior Pass. Wi-Fi was available at host's site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
This is a great family camp. It is clean, quiet and without exception full of courteous and respectful campers. The camp hosts are quite adept at keeping the place orderly and organized. This is not a place for the rowdy or party crowd. There are lots of families with children, older adults and lots of activity during the day and quiet at night. It is a special place and you have people there who have camped every year for many, many years. It is a step back in time as far as the camping goes to that "better place" we all talk about when camping was innocent, not real crowded and just fun. There is a nice beach area (no real sand), bike and walking trails. There is a store close by at the Marina should you need a staple item or you can drive to Susanville and restock. We plan to repeat this experience again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
Merrill Campground is the only one with full hook ups (W & E & S) on the south shore. We received a $10 rate discount, per day, with our National Park Senior Card. Sites are asphalt, some level some not. Picnic table, fire ring are included. The pull-through sites have hook ups for two RV's. No TV reception, but the Campground Host had free WiFi at his site, and firewood for $5 a bundle. Showers are at the Marina, tokens give you six-minutes for $2. Best to gas up in Susanville, as it's a bit expensive at the Lake. Fishing is the thing to do here, but there is an Osprey nest viewing area, with binoculars, near the Ronald McDonald House. You have to hike up the hill a short distance, but there was a baby Osprey in the nest when we were here. Family camping, with a five mile bike trail from Cristie Campground to the Marina. We stayed four nights and had a great time! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Very crowded with families but not noisy. Hosts kept good control. Great access to the Lake and swimming, fishing, sunbathing. The trail is great for biking and walking. I recommend this campground in the fall when its not so crowded. The Reserveamerica website is not very user-friendly. We were unable to get reservations but did get 1st come site. Also have great campground - Eagle, just down the road but no hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
Fairly expensive considering there were no showers, but seems to be on range with other Cali parks. Very clean with a nice paved trail down to the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
This is a Lassen National Forest campground located at the southern shore of Eagle lake. Sites are level, shaded and paved, with the best ones having 15 amp, water & sewer. Flush toilets, but showers are located at Marina (3 miles away) where you buy tokens. Fire pits, family campground. Susanville is 15 miles away, so it's mainly fishing and relaxing here. There is a 5 mile paved bike trail. We enjoyed out stay with a group of 4 rvers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com