218149 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Mountain State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (706) 422-1932
CGID869

Fort Mountain State Park

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   10   10   9   9   8   9   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
Don't waste your time if you are bringing a 38-plus motorhome or fifth wheel. Sites are poor at best, very unlevel and not maintained at all. Roads in camping area horrible. If you are coming in a class C or smaller trailer and tent, more options. Bathrooms need re-do. Staff was friendly. Park seemed very run down. Too bad, because it is located in a nice area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$29
Perfect setting. Immaculate sites and bathrooms. We were in a site next to the lake. Very pretty and quiet. All the sites were very spacious. However, a larger rig might have trouble getting around some of the turns. Hiking paths were very nice. We will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Had a fantastic time here. Spent 3 wonderful days in this lush forest. Staff very friendly and helpful.The only slightly negative problem were the steep uphill climb though the mountains. But my motorhome came through like a champ. The roads were wide, and well maintained. I just would be nervous to do the climb in the winter months. Fantastic value for the $28. I recommend it to all. The sites were really first class, under a lovely forest canopy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This is our 2nd stay at this park and once again we had a wonderful visit. There was plenty of room between us and our neighbor. It is very quite/peaceful all during the day and night. The Park rangers patrolled the park regularly and the trash bins were emptied daily. The bathrooms were clean but we prefer to use our rv facility's mainly. The only problem that I have is the fact that I have yet to catch a fish in the lake. I have tried everything in my tackle box - plenty of fish in the lake though - they swim all around my lure!!! Oh well I guess that's why I will stick with burgers and hotdogs when it comes time for dinner. Happy camping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
This was our first time staying at this park. We had a wonderful time. There is so much to do here. We enjoyed biking, hiking, fishing and of course plenty of good food and fellowship with friends and family. While fishing we seen deer playing in the water on the other side of the lake. Our daughter and one of her friends seen a bear!!!! They thought that was pretty cool. The sites in this park are plenty big and you have plenty of room between you and your neighbor. There are several miles of hiking and biking trails. The scenery is beautiful. The park also offers putt-putt golf, paddle boat and jon-boat rentals. Other than not having good cell phone reception (which that could actually be a positive) this is a wonderful family friendly park that we plan on visiting a lot more often. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
This was our second time staying at Ft. Mountain State Park. We continue to enjoy this park so much that we will be returning again in October. The sites are fairly level, or as level as you can expect given the terrain there. There is plenty of shade at each site. The park has a beach area on the lake for people to swim and while the water was fairly cold, there were quite a few people swimming. There are also paddle boats and John boats for rental there ($5). There is a putt putt course here as well. The park has plenty of hiking trails that are fun to hike on. The ranger station has a few items for sale, TP, firewood, some food items, ice, etc. The only drawback I see to the campground, is there are quite a few mosquitoes and gnats around, so bring bug repellent! The park is family and pet friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
This is a wonderful campground. Sites are nice and big. Has easy access and friendly staff. One of our favorite places to camp. We met folks who came as far away as south Florida. We live close by and many of our friends camp at Ft Mountain too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
We camped in 2 sites here. We brought our pop up and 6 girl scouts camped in a tent. This park has a lot of trails and things to do in season. The sites were nice and roomy and level. Would definitely stay here again. The men camping beside us said that the park is never full and many times nearly empty, and they pick out their favorite site every time they come with no problem. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
We are blessed with beautiful, well-maintained state parks in GA, and this one doesn't disappoint. It is worth the steep mountain climb up. Has very pretty overlooks, scenery, etc. Only a handful of sites are waterfront on the lake, and you can't reserve specific sites, so it might be hard to get one in peak season. It was chilly in early spring, and we went on a Thursday, so we had our pick. The multiple gray water dump areas are very convenient since there is no sewer hookup. Has a nice playground, and it looked like it would be nice in the summer with a beach area and boat rentals. There were several benches lakeside for fishing. Bathhouses are pretty clean and updated, and have a laundry area. The hike up to the ancient fort wall and old stone tower was very cool, and do not miss the very enjoyable tour of the Chief Vann house nearby. It is bear country, so you have to be careful with trash. We were annoyed that the bear-safe trash bins near us were full, and there was an issue with a broken hot water tank or something. I wrote the state park site about it and received a very prompt, informative letter in response. I really look forward to visiting here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
Another wonderful Georgia State Park. Quiet, plenty of hiking and nature trails. A little tricky getting into with a 35' motorhome but not too bad either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
This state park was beautiful. You do have to drive up a winding mountain road to get there and back down of course, so make sure you have good brakes! There were quite a few things to do without having to actually leave the park...fishing, swimming in the lake, renting paddle boats and hiking. The views from the overlook at the top of the mountain were simply amazing, although there is a 1/2 mile hike to get there. We have small children and they enjoyed playing on the playground, which was in pretty good shape. We saw lots of deer and were told by the park ranger that there are black bears in the park, although we never saw any. The sites were fairly level and spacious. We plan to visit this wonderful place again and would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
We have read glowing reviews of the campground at Fort Mountain SP, and eagerly add ours to the mix! Everything about the two loops in this campground is excellent: spacious campsites, level pads, clean restrooms. Water pressure and electric service were trouble free, and most of the sites are nicely tucked in among the trees. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We loved this park. Great spacious wooded sites. Great hiking trails and picnic areas. We took both the lake loop trail and the big rock trail. The former was flatter and easier to walk. The latter was steep and rugged in places, but led to a beautiful waterfall. We stayed for 2 nights and will return for future camping. The only item that would make this campground better is if it had sewer hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
The weekend we were here, the park was full. I went with my grandson with a church outing. There were a lot of children in our group. Saw a few small black bears and a lot of deer. Sites were small and tight but level. Great views from top of mountain. Will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$24
The pull up mountain with my 6.0 Yukon was not as challenging as i had expected. The campground roads (sect. 1) were a little tight for my 37' TT. Sites were level and well shaded. We were lucky to find a Lake front site on Easter weekend. The campground area is on top of the mountain and was cooler and windier than expected. This campground would be a great campground to visit during the warmer part of the summer. Hosts made a ride through frequently and were very friendly. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
Terrific place! There are two camping areas and we stayed in #2 which is closest to the lake, but section 1 looked very nice as well. Our site is a lake view but none are at the waters edge. The view is partially obstructed by trees and vegetation but is still very nice. The park seems to have left the plants to grow mostly as nature has intended and it looks great. The sites vary a bit from level to not so level but all are in good shape with decent privacy. The nearest store of any kind is 8 to 10 miles down the mountain so be prepared with your supplies. Also, the pull up the mountain was tougher than I expected and my transmission temperature actually went into the yellow area of the gauge. It was 55 degrees outside and I was towing with an F250 diesel (7.3L), trailer weighs approx. 7000 lbs. We came in through the town of Ellijay. If you have the chance it is a much shorter pull if you come in through the town of Chatsworth. Tons of hiking and mountain biking in the park. Saw several deer and wild turkeys. If you come here you must visit the overlook near the stone tower. It's about a 15 minute hike from the parking area and the view is one of the most breathtaking you will see anywhere. Would have given this park a 10 but I can't because of Ga's outdated non-site specific reservation system. Other than that the place is awesome. Oh yeah...they don't list WiFi but I picked up a weak signal from somewhere, but had to pay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
What a great place to spend a fall weekend. Although this was a crowded time at the park, the campground was very quiet and peaceful. This State Park has everything you need for the outdoor enthusiast. A great 8 mile hiking trail around the park, heart busting mountain bike trails, and horse trails. Though the park has cable, there are only a few channels. However, with all the activity outdoors you really don't have time for TV. You can spend a week here and never get bored. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$23
The WiFi is available but not complementary. The roads were fairly drivable with a large rig, a couple of places to slowdown and be careful with. There is plenty for a family to do here and the trails are great around the lake. Good spots for dogs to enter and play. The sites are nicely kept. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
Very beautiful camping grounds, sites easy to get into and very clean. Had friends staying in one of the cabins and they were just so big and roomie and Clean!! loved the back decks. We will be back come spring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
We had a nice camp site, clean restrooms, very quite and peaceful. No sewage and the cell phones do not work. A great place to get away from it all. We camped in a travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$21
WOW! This park was awesome. The site was the best we've ever had and we wished we had time to stay longer. The site we picked was a large back in site with a split level stair way down to a picnic table landing. The entire park had heavy shade cover, even though we were here in June, the temperature under the mountain canopy never got above the low to mid 70s. The park was quiet even on the weekend. The view from the lookout atop Fort Mountain is breathtaking. You do have to travel up and down the mountain to get to most other sites and activities, but the park is well worth the trek! On the down side, I was hoping to see a bear, but was told only 7 have been spotted in the area over the last 2 years. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
We stayed here with some friends that live in Georgia. This was our first stay in a GA State Park. I must admit that we were impressed. The site was level and well spaced from other sites. There are no sewer hook-ups. However, we used the "new" looking bath-house, which is unusual for us. The scenery is very nice, including the crystal clear mountain lake that was only a block or so from our campsite. Some sites are direclty on this lake. The park was quiet at night. This park really gave us a good feeling for GA State Parks. We'll definitely try to visit others simply because this park was so nice. Like stated elsewhere, the road to the park from Chatsworth is pretty steep. But, that never bothered me - especially since the scenery along the way is spectacular. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$22
By far our favorite Georgia state park! This area of the North Georgia mountains is beautiful, and the campground itself is wooded, quiet, and spacious. There are miles of hiking trails and mountain biking trails (which require a $2 permit, but that's OK ... they're worth it). There's a great lake (outboard motors prohibited ... which again makes the area quiet) (and many of the sites, although not "on" the lake, are separated only by a few feet of woods). The stone wall (after which the park is named) is one of those great mysteries of history that is worth seeing. We highly recommend camping area #2. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Nice CG. Good little pull up the mountain but worth it. Hiking trails really make this park. The wall loop gives the recreational hiker a nice little workout but the views from the overlooks are worth it! Sites are shaded & pretty well spaced. We'd camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This is another example of the fine State Parks Georgia has to offer. We stayed for a week with two children and enjoyed every moment. The campground hosts were some of the most helpful I have been around. The only reason I did not rate this park a 10 is the incline on the road leading to the park is a little difficult. We pulled a 30ft. fifthwheel and did not have any problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Great family park. Lots of shade and Clean bathhouses. Nice beach on lake, good hiking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com