214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Oakzanita Springs was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (619) 445-2515
CGID8696

Oakzanita Springs

Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   6   5   5   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$3
If driving North on 79 beware of the sharp turn leading into the park. The campground is divided up into two sections, Area A and Area B. Area A has the pool, clubhouse, no sewer, store nearby. Area B has the mini golf, horse area & laundry area nearby. The camp has very few 50 amp campsites and those were filled. The roads in the park are narrow so moving our 33 ft motorhome around wasn't easy. We finally found a nice spot with 30 amp power near the pool. I was surprised how level the dirt pad was. I saw several pads that would be nice for a Class B or a tent. If understaffed the activities are canceled. I was looking forward to a staff lead nature walk but there wasn't enough staff to lead the walk. I was given a map and lots of friendly help finding a trail. The trail was not marked well and filled with red fire ants but had some good views of the area. The staff is friendly and accessible to the campers. Would I come back here? Its tough for me to be without Wi-Fi and my cell phone. The rural atmosphere and friendly staff make it very tempting to come back here. Yes, I would come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$1
Enjoyed our week long stay here in site A1, nice shaded site very near pool and lodge. This was a full hookup site with good 50 amp power. Easy driving to near by market, casino, and nearby attractions. Be careful if your making a right turn into campground, the angle is not the easiest to manage. We are TT members hence no cost(even for the 50 amps). We will be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$1
This park is just like camping. Lots of wilderness, hiking trails, trees; It has a fun little miniature golf course and a dog run. Only one section has sewer hookups. It has a nice little store, rec center, pool and hot tub. There is no AT and T service here but the Verizon tower is within sight and is very fast. When we arrived the ranger took the time to help us find a spot and park. We really enjoyed this park. Lots of wild life. Turkeys wake you up. We are TT members so we stayed for free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
There are things to like about this Thousand Trails park, but also quite a few to not. Yes there is Wi-Fi, but it is weak and even at the clubhouse it was not strong. But my Verizon phone worked great with four bars. There are some 50 amp sites (10), however they are always full. A number of the sites do not have sewer. Yes big rigs can get in. I did, but you better be a good driver. I almost cut a sharp corner too fast with my back wheels. If you do not have a sewer in your camp site, the road to get to the dump station is narrow and windy. There is a small lake here, but also 10,000 frogs. And many herds of flies. Many many. This is a country RV park. If you are a hiker there are trails right from the park. Right down the road a very short distance is Cuyamaca State Park. The road getting here is narrow. Big rigs are going to be on both sides. But not a lot of traffic so doable. The people here are quite friendly. There are quite a few outdoor games like horse shoes, boche ball, miniature golf and so on. Also fishing. Grounds are clean, but worn. Clubhouse and store are pretty new, likely built after 2003 fires. There used to be a lovely log and stone clubhouse that is gone because of the fire. I like this area. This park is sort of like a lot of TT parks, passable because the cost is low. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$8
Narrow roads, steep grades and lots of obstacles to maneuver around. Very nice people. Thousand Trails membership park. Wi-Fi was weak but usable for e-mail etc. Not for the faint of heart with a big rig. We were in a 30 foot fifth-wheel and it was scary, but bigger rigs than ours were in here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$48
This park is older, and needs some work. Not all the sites have electrical working. The sites that do on the B loop have brownouts when it is hot. This is a known issue, and they warn you about it. The pool is okay, a little small and needs concrete work. The hot tub just looked bad. Didn't even think about getting in. The staff was great! Easy going and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$1
This Thousand Trails Preserve is excellent for folks who want to get away from it all. There are no planes, trains or freeways to annoy, only the chirping of the birds. We were disappointed not to have any cell phone or air card service, at least until my sharp eyed wife noticed a strange looking tree on an adjacent hilltop which turned out to be a cell phone tower under construction so we would expect to have services fairly soon. There is a free wi-fi in or around the lodge/store building and a pay phone in the B-section (north) bath house/laundry. Even with the many trees in the area there are still many sites that are satellite friendly. Thousand Trails and the staff have done a great job of restoring the preserve after the devastating fire of 2003 destroyed the beautiful old timber and stone buildings. A 20-mile drive North on Hwy 79 will still show many areas of fire blackened trees arriving at Julian, a small mining town noted for apples, restaurants and quaint shops. We especially liked the Julian Pie Shop. This is a great place to stay if you are in the area and we will return whenever we can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$0
This is the fourth Thousand Trails park we have stayed in. We rate it number one of the four! Not all the sites have sewer (most do, so I asked the ranger at the gate which would be a good site with sewer. He said, hop in the electric cart and I'll show you. He took me to one that was across from the pool, and close enough to the lodge to get WiFi. By far the best service so far in TT. I like the cleanliness of everything here. The employees are proud of the park, you can tell. they have been very friendly and helpful. The mini-golf, the horseshoe pits that include rakes and brooms, the RC car track, all clean and in good shape. The only negative for some would be that it has tight corners, coming in, and also within the park. No problem for my 28' travel trailer. We will be back.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$42
Nice park but due to recent fires, many of the trees are gone. It was a bit hot with little shade in June. They were planting new trees while we were there. The park is currently being renovated from the fire. We had no real problems and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I was in a 39' diesel pusher MH and we saw a 45' MH as well. However, be prepared to make 10-point turns to get in and out of the park if you have anything over 34'. It simply was not designed for today's larger motorhomes. Camping sites were hard packed dirt but fairly level. The pool, hot tub and kiddie pool were all very good. The store was well stocked. A little pricey for what you get but still it is a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com