223354 User submitted reviews online!!
The Refuge on Roanoke Island was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (252) 473-1096
CGID8707

The Refuge on Roanoke Island

Camp Information
Sites
59
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   7   8   9   8   9   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2014
$60
This park was quiet and had a nice view of a lake. Sites were not too close together. Unfortunately when on the Outer Banks you do not have a lot of choices for RV parks, and this park was quite expensive for what you got. There is no cable TV. The Wi-Fi only worked for a brief period of time while we were there.The woman manager that checked us in was very nice and helpful, but when I went to inquire as to the problem with the Wi-Fi she was not there and the man who stuck his head out the window of their RV was very rude, grouchy, and told me to come back when she was there. We have been traveling from RV park to RV park. This is the first review I have written. Would not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$60
Nice campground but quite pricey. The wifi wasn't working but when I spoke to the lady at the office she was able to get it running and it worked fine for the rest of our stay.Cable and phone service worked well. Looks like lots of seasonal campers here, the waterfront sites are used for short term visitors so that was very nice. We would stay again if in the area but would opt for at least a 4 nite stay which lowers cost $10 per nite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$65
This park is a good spot to relax for a night while on Roanoke Island. The park staff are nice folks and the full hookups are very welcomed. All the sites are crushed stone and I had to do a little leveling to get my rig leveled. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
Nice quiet place. Peaceful. Not a lot to do but very scenic. Pool and boardwalk to canal. Well kept and clean. Not really for kids but was perfect for us, just looking to unwind. Central location between peace and things to do. Bugs are brutal especially when the sun goes down. Either stay in or come heavily prepared for the battle! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
We stayed here in May, our first trip to the Outer Banks. Loved the campground and the site next to the lake. Sites were clean and level enough for us. Never noticed the dog manure problem. Had to supply my own cable jumper from electrical panel to trailer, but no problem. We were in site #1, a little far away so Wi-Fi was on/off, but worked most of the time, and for all we needed. Staff was friendly, park was very quite and clean. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
First: about the dog waste that previous reviewers have complained about. The culprit is not permanent residents, but a neighbor's dog from across the street who is allowed to run loose. There are no leash laws in Wanchese and there really isn't anything one can do about it. This owner runs a tight ship, couldn't have been friendlier. She has her ground crew cleaning up regularly. It is unfortunate that the problem exists, but it is not her fault. Second: this is a lovely park. We were here pretty early in the season. The weather was not cooperative but the view is lovely and the walking areas very enjoyable. Were I to stay in the area for any length of time, this campground would be my choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$40
Stayed here for it's closeness to Nags Head and OBX Marathon. What a great little campground. It is very open, absolutely no shade which mean it can get very hot in the summer. The only complaints I have about this park is some permanents let their dogs run loose allowing them to do their business anywhere. We had lots on our site when pulled in. That being said the manager cleaned it up right away. Secondly, the check in sign needs to be better. I see everyone looking for the office when coming in. Here's a hint: go right not straight once you turn into the park. The manager is the nicest person in the world. She runs a tight ship. Very helpful with what you want to see and do. The road and sites are hard packed gravel. You can back in or pull in to face the lake. This time of year the sun comes up further south therefore backing in is nicer, but that's my opinion. The lake is brackish water with no smell to it at all. Saw a small ray swimming along the shore. Cable was great, lots of channels. Wi-Fi was occasionally slow but great for a campground. A bit of a drive over the bridge to the amenities. Close to lots of interesting things to see and do. They have done an amazing job of cleaning up after Hurricane Irene. All hookups are within reach and in great working condition. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
A little out of the way but worth the drive if you want to be away from the beach. We used it as a central point to visit the Outer Banks sights. Park facilities are as listed. Sites were on the water. Nice boardwalk around water and into the marsh. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Only paid $20.00 CampClub USA Member. Our fiver was backed up to within 6 feet of the lake, which made the view absolutely beautiful. Far enough away from the Outer Banks (10 minutes), but close enough to good restaurants and shopping. Staff was very nice and helpful. Nice catwalk across the salt marsh to catch a few crabs, if you like. We enjoyed this park very much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Lovely park with nice lake. Restrooms immaculate. They are small but more than adequate in size. The only drawback to this park is the highway noise, especially on weekday mornings. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
Campground is definitely setup for big rigs, however, there are no paved pads. The Wi-Fi was intermittent and the bathhouse/toilet was clean but very small. If you are using your own self-contained facilities the park is fine, but for my small travel trailer I would expect much better bathhouse facilities for $60/night. I stayed 3 nights but would look for another campground if returning with my small rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
We spent 12 nights at this unique and pleasant RV park. Most of the sites are seasonal, but there are 15 transient sites available surrounding a picturesque pond in the marshes. The manager could not have been more friendly or accommodating. Laundry facilities were minimal, at best - one washer and one dryer for the entire park. Although hot during our visit there was an almost constant refreshing breeze. Located somewhat off of the main route through the Outer Banks this park is not hard to find and is only minutes from Rt 64, 158, and 12. We had a most enjoyable and relaxing stay here. Without a doubt we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$60
Small, mostly permanent campground with dirt roads. Transient sites back up to the pond with nice views. Water pressure, electric and cable TV were fine. Wi-Fi was hit and miss at best. Manager tried to reset the Wi-Fi numerous times with no result. I would advise you to try to reserve a site starting from site #6 to site #15 to get as far away from the traffic noise which can be almost unbearable. The Wanchese Seafood Industrial Park is located at the end of the road and big trucks as well as 18 wheelers travel this road from early morning until late afternoon. Overall, it's an ok campground albeit too expensive for what few amenities are available. They know they are the only campground in the Nags Head area, unless you want to head down to Hatteras Island, and they can get away with their ridiculous prices. I don't think we would return, opting instead for Hatteras Island campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$60
We were somewhat disappointed by the location of the campground, about 5 miles from the beach and most activities. The staff is attentive to their duties, and the manager went out of her way to take care of things. We enjoyed our 3 day stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
This park is perfect. Sites are large, well spaced. It's only about 3 years old and the owners have done an excellent job of setup for maximum enjoyment. Restrooms are amazing. They actually have some style built in. Manager is super friendly and helpful and the setting is wonderful. I highly recommend this park and we would definitely love to return some day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$60
Nice enough place and friendly manager, but not a $60.00 value. You get crowded gravel sites and spotty WiFi. Our site had the sewer connection in front of our door, very strange. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$60
This is a very nice park, only a few miles from the Outer Banks and Nags Head. Many sites front on the lake and are open for satellite signals. The WiFi is good. The only drawback is the resident Canadian Geese Population (about a dozen geese) occasionally "deposit" near your coach, forcing you to be cautious when walking around it. We will definitely return to this park in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
Pros: The campground is fairly new; it is in a very nice setting and conveniently located to the outer banks area (much nicer than the alternatives in the area). Cons: The shower water pressure in the bath house was extremely low. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
This is a nice, clean, well kept campground with friendly staff, but we thought it was really overpriced. The single washing machine was broken during our stay. We did not receive a Wi-Fi signal and we would expect a paved or concrete pad for the price we paid. The permanent sites are well kept. All of the overnight sites are waterfront, but you might find that you can't take advantage of the view since the hookups are in the extreme rear of the site. We would rate this park much higher if the rate was about $40 a night. Unfortunately, there are not many options with full hookups in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
In the old fishing village of Wanchese, NC is the Campground Refuge on Roanoke Island which overlooks a private pond. The campground offers full hookup sites and offers overnight sites that are limited but most sites are becoming yearly sites. There are boardwalks to walk out on, swimming near by and places to kayak and canoe. It is a nice campground with many year round rentals. During the week, there were about 5 over nighters and only about five of the rental sites filled. It must fill up during the weekends. This campground was very quiet, clean and friendly. The walks out into the refuge were very nice and it was great having the pond behind our site. The pool was closed when we were there. We met one man who said the fishing was the best from this pond and you didn’t need a license to fish. Restaurants can be found in Wanchese, as well as over the bridge on the outer banks. The woman who checked us in was very nice and gave us a lot of information about what to do in the area. We would definitely camp here again if in the outer bank region! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$60
Pros: Nightly spaces surround a lovely pond with a concrete walkway leading to beautiful boardwalks into the salt marsh. The permanent spaces are well-kept. The cable offers lots of channels, and although Wi-Fi from site 5 was iffy, once we found the right spot inside our rig, we had pretty quick access once we were online. The park feels quite remote, but is only minutes from the great restaurants, galleries, and historic areas of Manteo and the beaches and shopping of Nags Head. Charming park hostess. Cons: Sites 1 through about 7 or 8 are right by the highway, so there is a lot of noise from trucks driving to and from the Wanchese Seafood Industrial Park. We could not walk from our car to our rig without getting nasty little sand spurs. They stuck in our dog’s feet so bad we carried her from our door to the gravel roads after the first few outings. There was goose dropping everywhere! That’s beyond the control of the park, but they could have at least made some effort to sweep or hose off the walkways and boardwalks. Although the view of the pond through our front windshield would have been gorgeous, as suggested by the park host, it would have required running everything under our motorhome and still likely would not have reached, so we backed in. Finally, the pool was still closed on May 22. At the peak-season rate of $60 a night, especially since they stop accepting CampClub discount cards on May 1, I expect all the amenities to be available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This is an excellent park, but with only 15 overnight transient spots all located right along the pond's waterfront edge (spot numbers 1 through 15). The others spots are on year leases. Transient spots are all full hook ups, with 50, 30, and 20 amp outlets with cable TV. Internet is a strong signal Wi-Fi and fast. Outstanding pond view, a covered pavilion, a pool, boardwalks, and a bath house. Park is open all year round (pool is not). When this park first opened, the office was not co-located in the park (a big pain). But for over a year now the office manager lives on site. One day the Wi-Fi signal strength became weak, but only needed to reset it to fix it. To appreciate the beautiful morning sunrises over the pond, hopefully your RV trailer has a large rear window to face the pond. If your motorhome doesn't have a rear window, it might be worth the hassle of pulling into the site, instead of the normal backing into parking. This way your windshield will face the pond, but now the hook ups will be on the wrong side (bring extension cords and extra hoses). The Bath house has a coin operated washer and a drier with super clean bathrooms and showers. Great park, very close to all the beach activities yet far enough to be away from all the hustle! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
This park was reasonably priced and offered full campground hookups, with a nice view of the marshes off Croatan Sound. The manager on duty was very friendly and helpful. It serves as a nice basecamp to access the beaches and activities of the outer banks, however there are very few things to do within and immediately surrounding the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
Lovely park, well laid out, nice walking area on the bank and boardwalk. Friendly staff. Wi-Fi was spotty and worked best if outside. Ask for a site towards the back as there is considerable road noise if you are on the front sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
We've stayed at a few campgrounds with our pop-up camper and I have to say Wow!!! We stayed here for the weekend while we were exploring the Outer Banks. It was nice to have The Refuge to come back to each night. The place was very clean and organized. I've never seen such a clean bathhouse ever. The owners were very friendly. We would certainly stay here for our next visit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
This is a wonderful park with only a dozen overnight spots. The rest of the spaces are taken by long term lease by the folks from Virgina who come down on the weekend, holidays, etc. It is close to most of the sights on the Outer Banks and a great place ot use as a base while exploring the sights. The lady who manages the place was super nice and friendly. We were the only campers in the park beside the manager and her husband. We stayed here four nights while exploring the Banks. Would stay here again if ever back in this area. I highly recommend it. The park is part of the Camp Club USA network but has a two night limit for the discount. We loved the area. Lots to see and do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
Great location for the Outer Banks. You must reserve in advance. Nicely spaced and easy access for North or South Beaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Could not ask for a better first camping experience. Park manager was very helpful and even directed us to fresh seafood just off the boat. Sites were level and bath house was very clean. Will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
We enjoyed our stay. We come down a couple times a year to the OBX. We have a timeshare in Kittyhawk which we use in June so we planned a trip to the Refuge in August. There is a great seafood market not far. Located in Wanchese. The seafood is straight off the boat and you can't go wrong. Plan to come back next summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$60
Brand new campground. Great little getaway. Within seconds of local grocery-hardware store. Cable hook-ups are in the power posts, though it appears that cable service is yet to be installed. Campground has +/- 25 sites folks who wish to set up as seasonal-year round rates. 15 +/- lake front sites for weekenders. Very peaceful place. New bath house, nice walking bridges, and a calm lake. Excellent sunsets and rises. Bad mosquitoes in the dusk-evening time of day, due to lake. It's nature, so deal with it. Very large sites with ample room. Mostly all back in, but with ample room that is provided it was gravy. No golf carts to bother you either. Near all the beach attractions, yet removed from all the hustle and bustle. We are returning in several weeks and this will be our summer get-away for years to come. Excellent place. Office located off site, so use the web-site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com