224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Rye Patch State Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (775) 538-7321
CGID8720

Rye Patch State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   8   9   8   7   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$14
This is a nice rustic campground. We spent one very quite night and would stay again. If you want out of the way quiet place this is it. Not far off I-80. Excellent place to spend the night if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$14
This park has very easy access from Interstate 80. It is listed as being in Lovelock but is actually about 25 miles east of town. There are two separate camping areas, one on the reservoir’s west side with 25 units and one below the dam with 22 units. The west side campground is above the lake with most sites having little or no lake view. They are very close together. Each site has a covered picnic table and fire ring. Below the dam there are sites along the “river” which have some trees and are well spaced with vegetation for privacy and ones in a gravel area above the “river.” Most sites have a picnic table and fire ring. When we were here the lake was very low: there was no water to supply water to the “river” so it was only slightly damp. The campground was almost empty when we visited so we had a nice site below the dam. Overall the park looks like it has been neglected and could use some TLC, repair, and cleanup. We saw no official presence of any type during our visit. The fresh water was off at the dump station, but there were taps throughout the campground for filling a tank. We were able to get satellite at our site. We had no Verizon service for phone or data. This is a good park for an overnight passing through on the Interstate. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$14
Scenic campground, along the river just below the dam. Some sites have excellent cover and good separation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
We stayed here one night on our way to Utah. We were in the "upper" camping area. Kind of disappointing. Lake was very low - heard it hadn't filled in almost 10 years. The sites were OK. Close together and we had some problems maneuvering our 5th wheel into the space. The pathetic little tree and patio covering were an issue. Had to pay to use the showers, but we didn't use them. Probably wouldn't stay here again. We did go out of our way. We could have/should have stayed in Winnemucca and saved ourselves 100 miles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
We had a great time camping here. We stayed in the lower river campground right on the water. The sites were very large and we had a lot of privacy. We have a 36 foot rig with a tow car and sometimes have problems getting in and out of camping places. We did not have this problem at Rye Patch. It was very easy access for our large rig and it is very close to the freeway. The rangers were great and even delivered wood to our camp site (for a small fee of course). We will return next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
We have stayed at both campgrounds at Rye Patch. We favor the lower campground that is down on the river. There are more trees and it is a little more private there although there was nobody else there when we were. I imagine the place fills up during the peak season. It's just a few miles off I-80 on a good paved road. Easy access for a big rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
We stayed at the River Campground (the lower one of the two). The dump station and water fill are adjacent to this campground. Paved interior roads and sites. Roads are wide enough and most sites are long enough for big rigs. Some sites are not level, but most are. Very weak Verizon data signal, but good voice reception. Even though we were there very early in the season (May 8), most sites were taken by Saturday afternoon. This seems to be a popular fishing destination. There are no official generator hours or quiet time. Most of the campers seemed to be families with small children. There isn't much privacy between sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$10
We were pleasantly surprised to find the Rye Patch campground, while returning from Wyoming. It was in the AAA campground book, and we decided to give it a look. We stayed next to the river, and the campground was quiet, due to after July 4th weekend. I would definitely stay there again, en route to or from our journey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
Nice oasis in an arid part of Nevada. There are two developed campgrounds here (no hookups), each with around 22 campsites. Lower campground is on the Humboldt River with shade trees; upper campground in at the boat launch with less privacy and no shade. Though the address is in Lovelock, the recreation area is between Lovelock and Winnemucca. Highly recommended for a relaxing overnight stop. No cell service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$12
I agree with the prior review. This is a very well run State campground! The rangers were quite friendly. Well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com