223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Grand Portage Lodge and Casino was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (218) 475-2401
CGID8721

Grand Portage Lodge and Casino

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   5   7   6   5   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
This park is in a very remote part of Northern Minnesota and overlooks a big bay on Lake Superior. Walking distance to the casino, trading post with a full selection of groceries, restaurant, boat launch, and use of indoor pool at Grand Portage Lodge. The wifi signal worked great which was a surprise. No cell phone service. Near GP State Park which has a great 1/2 mile trail to Pigeon Falls. Near Canadian border. Quiet place to relax for a few days! A fisherman's paradise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$23
The price reflects the weekly rate. Since the last review the campground has added wireless Internet. It isn't the greatest, but it is enough to do e-mail and surf. No video streaming and only spotty Skype, which is too bad as there is no cell phone coverage here. It helps if you choose a site next to the Wi-Fi antenna. Currently there is one antenna, though two more are planned. Sites are very large. Water pressure is strong. The grass and lake views are quite nice. The trees are still little so there isn't shade yet. Gravel roads, grass sites. The pool is over at the casino. Looked nice, though we didn't use it. It was a quiet campground, and a great location for catching the boat to Isle Royale. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
It is the only campground in the US North of Grand Marais, so it is very convenient if you are taking the boat to Isle Royale. That said, we found 3 issues with the site we were on. 1. The sewer connection was over a foot above the ground. We did not use the sewer at our site but moved to a more suitable site to dump before leaving. 2. The water connection threads were stripped making it very difficult to connect a hose. 3. The gravel interior roads were very dusty, try to get a site at the back of the campground to minimize the dust. 4. The air handlers from the Casio roared day and night, which sounded like we were camped beside an industrial plant. The view of Lake Superior was very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Nice campground at the casino and near the marina. Great views of Lake Superior. Close enough to Canada for day trips to Thunder Bay. The sites are gravel and grass and are well spaced out so you don't feel at all crowded. The big drawback is that there is NO cell phone service, no Wifi including aircards, and no over the air TV reception. Some Wifi service at the casino lodge, but it is very slow. You are truly "off the grid" while here. Reservation store and gas station are also convenient to the park. We camped here in a 5th wheel toy hauler and would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Big grassy sites at the Marina and Casino on Lake Superior near Canadian border. No amenities, but good spot to visit Grand Portage National Monument, a great historic living museum. No Verizon cell or hot spot. WI-FI at casino VERY slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Fairly decent campground. The Marina check-in guy is nice and helpful. We were here for two days visiting the National Historic Site and Heritage site. The tallest waterfall in Minnesota is at the border on the Pigeon River. The Wi-Fi is available at the Casino and Lodge and I was told sometimes at the park. The walleye plate in the restaurant is really good. I would stay here again. We had a pull-through site and it seems all the sites are grass. Fairly level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
We were here about 10 years ago and the RV park has improved. There are 29 FHU sites. Some are pull-through and some are back-in. The remaining sites are more suited to tents. Check-in is at the marina office (hotel during off hours). We were able to get one of the last FHU sites on a Friday night with just 2 days notice. The park sits on a rise overlooking the casino and the marina. There is no cable TV or Wi-Fi. Sites are satellite friendly. I did not asked if the hotel pool (indoor) was available to RVers. Area attractions include the Grand Portage National Monument and Grand Portage State Park. Grand Portage is the northeastern end of Minnesota's North Shore Scenic Drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
I'm not sure on exact number of sites this place has since I did not count them, I believe it was more than 40. Web site states 10 but it is definitely more then 10. We stayed here one night in a van in a non hook up site since it was cheaper. The showers/restrooms were clean but lacked the maintenance needed such as refilling TP and paper towels hand soap at sinks. Otherwise showers were wheelchair accessible bring your own chair. The non hook up sites had a nice view of the marina where there was a small hand full of boats. Some playground equipment but nothing spectacular. Sites were level but if you are a wheelchair user don't take the short cut to the restrooms or you might take a fly out of your chair cause there are some ruts in the grass that can catch you off guard. Some picnic tables were falling apart and there was a dead critter near a fire ring that may have died some time ago and it looked like someone was poking it with a piece of pipe for some reason but never removed the critter. But hey this is the great outdoors now isn't it. The store down the road has pretty much everything you would need if you forget something and even some things to make a emergency repair of some kind. The main casino lacks the ventalation needed to get the smoke out and make it good for everyone. I couldn't last 30 seconds in there before I wanted out. The store has a small selection of machines to play on and it is smoke free. Now I would have rated this place a 5 or 6 for the critter and lack of maintenance in the restrooms, but since we got there late office was close with sign "pick a site and make good in the morning". "Ok I'm good with that." But I guess the early birds like us get the deals morning comes and office closed so we got a place to park and a couple free showers. I wouldn't mind coming back here if it wasn't so far from Duluth up 61. The only reason we stayed here because we took the 61 drive for scenic views and to drive trough Thunder Bay which is a somewhat interesting place to see from the from Mount McKay. One last thing neither of us had cell service here, Verizon, sprint/nextel power source phone and sprint aircard. But once again great outdoors right? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com