206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Pegasus Farm Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (304) 637-1818
CGID8722

Pegasus Farm Campground

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   10   9   9   9   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We became full time rvers this year and this was our 5th month choice. Wow! What a treat. The owner welcomed us "home" upon arrival. Spacious level gravel site. Did I say spacious? The grounds are luscious and beautiful. All kinds of grasses, loads of sunflowers and even a organic garden that we were told we could pick from. The owners really have done a great job with this serene location. Water was good with nice pressure. Dish satellite available at most sites. Wi-Fi was good. A stream runs next to the grounds and there is also a beautiful pond. Beautiful! They have the Highland Jam every August and as a player, it was one of the reasons we selected this for our stay for a month. I have never attended a better run festival in my life. We heard some great musicianship while making many friends with no troubles whatsoever. One thing that really surprised us was that the day after the festival, the campground did not show any signs of a festival. This attests to the friends of the owners which are many. I am proud to say that the owners are now on our true friends list and we will be returning before the next festival. We already booked our site for next year's festival. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
If you are looking for a campground that brings you back to nature....this is the place! This campground is located near everything you can think of, but is secluded from the hustle and the bustle. The host made me and my family feel so very welcomed. Our dog was so happy and was encouraged to be a dog and explore. The farm offers views of the mountain, as well as a stream or river (depending where your site is). My children 9 and 5 did not need Cable TV, a pool or an arcade...they played like children. They hunted for frog, went fishing in the amazing pond that has "the big one". We then danced with the fireflies!!! The horses are a majestic site and you can visit them and see them do their thing. The resident dog "Zenny" is as sweet as can be! I cannot say enough great things about Pegasus Farm. I almost didn't want to post fearing that the farm would get to popular!!! We will be going back again...and again. Host, you have a great place and thank you for making us feel like family!!! Oh and one final note. The restrooms are immaculate. They are freshly painted and have the "pretty" features of home. GREAT PLACE!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Peaceful and serene campground nestled among the hills, with spacious open grassy sites and trees at the back. Very clean country-theme bathroom/shower building. Narrow unpaved single-lane road to access campground. Gravel RV pads and road inside campground. No children's activities, pool or beach. Free internet and firewood. Owner/host was friendly, helpful and regularly made his rounds to ensure everybody was happy. Good location for visiting nearby attractions. "American Mountain Theater" show was great: a must see! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
We really enjoyed this campground. Large grassy area, and peace and quiet! The evening we were there, there was local musical entertainment, with food provided. It was like a happy family potluck. The campground host was very welcoming. We really enjoyed our stay! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
If you like to be entertained with pools, and structured activities you may want to go elsewhere. If you like peace and quiet, genuine nice folks (both owners and fellow campers) and life off of the beaten path, you will love Pegasus. We did. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Great park. Friendly owners and staff; really try to make you feel at home. Very clean restrooms. Quiet and peaceful. Does have shaded tent sites; not much shade for RV sites. We paid for one night at check in and then ended up staying five more! Will definitely return. Call ahead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
If you are looking for a luxury campground, Pegasus Farm is not for you. We chose this spot which is basically a big field with hookups. We were hoping to get to hear the resident "band," but alas, it was too late in the season. We weathered that disappointment by enjoying the peacefulness of the farm, taking the opportunity to let our little dog run off-leash, and experiencing the wonderful funkiness of the facilities. Make sure to ask about the "zen" (translation: hippie) bus/motorhome conversions that are available for rent.. Owner and his wife make you feel very at home, as if you are part of their farm family, and they have great tales to tell about their very interesting lives. We happened to stay there the weekend of the annual "Forest Festival" in Elkins. If you can arrange to be there next year for the festival, we highly recommend it. The parade alone was fabulous! Would definitely stay here again. A very relaxing and unique experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
This is a nice campground very clean. They have no office at campground so make sure you call before you arrive. It is run out of the owners house which is located as soon as you turn onto narrow road to campground . I didn't and he chased me down and lightly scolded me for not calling. So make sure you call. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
Found this after a bad state park experience in the area. This is a wonderful little park in a farm field just outside of town. Don't let smallish entrance road fool you it opens up to a nice meadow where the campsites are. The sites are level gravel surrounded by lush green grass with new modern utilities. Shower/Bath house was new and spotless. It's obvious the family running this take pride in customer service. If you are looking for swimming pools, spa's and workout rooms you won't find it. If you are looking for peace and quiet, wildlife and a fishing pond this is your place. Free firewood, fire ring, and picnic table at each site. They encourage you to let your dog run free and unleashed. Open sky for satellite and strong free Wi-Fi. Our Verizon air card worked well-not broadband but fast enough. I highly recommend this park and have found a place to stay when visiting family in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
We intended to stay at the Pegasus campground for a day or two but ended up staying 8 days. Staff were just the most wonderful hosts that you could want. The campsite in itself was great. Spacious, clean and in the middle of the nicest mountainous countryside. But it was the people there that did the magic. We would gladly return to the US just to stay at Pegasus once more. And it's a long way from where we live... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We stayed longer than our initial plans. We would have stayed even longer if we could have. The delightful hosts make you feel like a guest rather than a customer. We weren’t there for one of their music events, though they sound like great fun. With no event the campground has more space than you would imagine. The sites, all 20, are as large as any we’ve seen, and we’ve seen many. There is plenty of room to unwind and relax and plenty more room to wander through fields and meadows visiting streams and ponds. The abandoned railroad tracks make an interesting walk with deer and groundhog sightings. I didn’t see the beaver, but I caught a fish. Saw a hawk chasing a duck. Felt like I had returned to my grandmother’s farm. A great place to reeeelax! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
As others have noted, this is a rare find. Located very close to Elkins and a lot of "Wild and Wonderful" West Virginia activity. Very quiet, except when the owners and their band (ZEN) crank up the music. They are very good musicians. With full hookups and Wi-Fi, you could stay a long time. Only drawback is one lane, 500 yard dirt road into "The Farm". Will definitely stay here again when in the area. Limited shade, but then there's great satellite reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This campground is located on a working farm complete with vegetable gardens, flower beds, horses, lots of deer and a fishing creek with an active beaver lodge. Owners Mark and Bonnie are native West Virginians who have put a lot of hard work and love into this campground. The long, level, gravel sites overlook a meadow and it is very peaceful here. Power and sewer are good, but at 110 psi the water pressure is high so make sure you bring a regulator. The entrance road from the county road is a typical gravel farm road. It's narrow and one lane but we made it easily with our 40' motorhome and Mark's escort. Make sure to call him before you get into town; he'll meet you across from the local Super Wal-Mart and take you to the campground. He says that folks get lost when they follow the GPS directions as they are not accurate. We came to Elkins to attend Augusta Heritage Music Camp, a week long intensive program taught by highly qualified instructors. Upon leaving the campground we learned that Bonnie and Mark have been playing guitar, mandolin and harmonica since they were teenagers and they hold four music festivals at their campground each year. We hope to play together when we return for a month next time. Elkins is home to a Branson-style family music theater, four train rides, Wednesday night bluegrass music picking in the park, several neat restaurants and great outdoor adventures. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
This is a rare find among privately run RV parks. When I saw the park on Google I was a little worried as the park is adjacent to Elkins airport and railroad tracks. However, the tracks are not utilized and the airport is also not a problem. During the week the place is so peaceful and quiet. Memorial weekend was Jubilee time. There was a new stage where local groups performed into the night. It was great great fun and we met many wonderful people. There are several weekends through the summer packed with musical programs. Even though the park was super busy the bathrooms were kept immaculate. There are not a lot of trees but it is nice to be on grass and the mountain nights are cool. Firewood was provided. Be sure to follow the directions on the web site. The actual road into the campsite runs directly past the owners home so they keep a watchful eye on everything. Elkins is a fun little town with lots of history and several scenic train excursions. At Pegasus Farm you can set a tent up on soft grass and spend a quiet week or enjoy a fun packed weekend. Call or email as you may need reservations We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Even though the weather (for the most part) was very dreary, we had a very warm welcome from the owners of the CG. It's in a lovely setting. The only negative is the one lane road getting to the sites. It's difficult since it has so many holes. Other than that I'd give it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
A spectacular mountainview wonderland with flowing creeks; wild life, hiking trails and secluded from nearby town. Immaculate condition on the grounds, restroom, showers. The owners are friendly people; they take pride in this jewel-like setting. We loved it here, we will return and we give them top score in rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
We are currently traveling the US and have visited 27 States, stayed at 44 different campgrounds so far. We have seen it all...the good, the bad, the ugly! We have not stayed at a more serene, peaceful and scenic campground, complete with impeccably clean showers and bathrooms, lush, green grass where deer roam freely, running creeks and full view of the Appalachian Mountains. Mark and Bonnie, the owners, could not do enough for us. They even called us on our cell phone a day after we got set up to make sure we were all right and to see if we needed anything. Firewood is free and Mark also brought us a package of fire starters for our fire as well as fresh homegrown ramps (an Elkins favorite vegetable). We went to town one day and when we returned he had placed a plastic trash container complete with a plastic bag by our 5th wheel. We rate this Campground a ten! Thank you Mark and Bonnie for a wonderful experience, we will never forget you and your marvelous Campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
We stayed here 2 nights and it was wonderful! There are veggie gardens all around and lots of flowers. Mark took us to a big potato patch and let us dig potatoes and onions. SUCH FUN! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
WOW!! What a peaceful place to stay. Very close to town, but it feels like you are way out in the country. Mark and Bonnie and two of the most genuine people you will meet. They are the real deal. Don't expect glitz and glamor, but do expect peace and tranquility. This is the place you need to stay when you need a break from the rat race of the world. You will feel like you are visiting friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com