224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Cincinnati South Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 51 user reviews. Phone: (859) 428-2000
CGID8746

Cincinnati South Campground

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   2   6   4   9   1   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
We read all the prior reviews on this campground prior to booking. All the talk about the train was slightly off putting. I'm not a fan of being awakened by a train whistle at night. We stayed 4 nights at this location. All I can say is who cares about the train noise when you are within sight of I-75 that has traffic noise of all kinds Non Stop! The trains at least blow through quickly. We found the interstate to be much more irritating. I ran a white noise generator app on my phone, a box fan on full speed, and had the camper fan running nonstop at night to drown out traffic sounds. All that said, the campground is OK. I'd have liked more gravel to differentiate my site from the adjoining grass. The pool area was neatly maintained. The fishing lake is small, but what I found the most annoying with it was the stupid Canada geese droppings everywhere. We base camped out of here to do activities in Cincinnati. It was utilitarian, but definitely not some place I'd go back to on purpose. I'd use it as an overnight stop, but certainly not as a destination location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
Management was outstanding and helped get car disconnected and allowed us to use empty site next to us for car and dolly. They gave our daughter, who lives in Dry Ridge, a pass to come in to visit! Some noise from highway which is right down the hill and the trains going by across the road but did not wake us up. Stayed a week in site 60 with nice view of the lake since lower camping area by lake was still closed. They could use some electric up grades to bring voltage up a little more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
At first, we thought we had found the perfect campground - the site was easily accessible and quite large. It had everything we look for - large very level site, nice shade, large area for picnic table, firepit was far from the front door of the rig, lots of space for the dogs to stretch out. Sites are gravel, no cement patios. The list of rules includes being forbidden to put rugs or carpets down on the grass, because it "ruins" the grass. We could have lived with that, I suppose, but what you don't see - or hear - until you're parked is that there are train tracks less than 50 feet from the edge of the property. After we were set up, the first train went by... we asked the owner how often they run and received a laconic "I'm not sure... I don't even here them anymore." Which may or may not be true, but I will tell you they run every 20 minutes or so - ALL NIGHT LONG. I don't think this campground gets much business anyway, because a closer look the next day showed that most of the sites had as much grass growing through the gravel as the actual "grass" part of the sites did. I would not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
Pretty park. Owner is very nice and helpful. Too bad he had to park most rigs right next to one another even though there were lots of empty spaces. Laundry room is small and cramped, but adequate. Too bad that this is so close to I-75 and the most active railroad tracks we've ever experienced. Appreciated the Escapee rate. Stayed a week, but probably will only stay here again for a night or two due to the road and train noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
Very big rig friendly. The pull-through lot was huge and we had plenty of space left over even with the tow still hooked up. No auto level needed. The staff was very friendly and nice and gave us driving directions. However, the bad news. I was very surprised that this was a Good Sam Park. I imagine back in it's day, this park was a real beauty. However, all the gardens were grown over. It just looked tired. Also, and this can't be helped, it was the noisiest campground that we have ever stayed in. It is located between a railroad track and a very busy freeway. The train didn't bother us one bit but the noise coming off the freeway prevented us from staying outside very long. This seems to be more of a one night, passing through kind of place and not the place to spend a weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
As stated by others – there is noise from the expressway and trains, but it is not that bad. Some of sites near road leading to campground can hear the trains more than others. Overall it is an older campground, but it has a beautiful lake at the one end. It was a pleasure walking around the lake enjoying nature. It is a catch and release lake. Found the restrooms to be in good shape and clean. Other amenities were not open yet for the season. It was so neat to be sitting in the travel trailer; look out to see a deer strolling through and wild ducks in the lake. The owner was very kind and helpful. Wi-Fi was one of the best we have experienced. We will return more times in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
Both Woodalls and Trailer Life web sites show they are open until Dec. 1. However when we pulled up late on Nov. 10 it was closed and had a sign saying they would reopen March 1. Since it was late in the day this was not a good sign. Fortunately we found another campground a few miles away which was open. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
Sites are mostly level and easy to get into. Staff was friendly and Wi-Fi was just about the best I have ever had in a campground - of course, there were only 4 units in the campground. I gave the campground a 6 rating because of the TRAINS, TRUCKS, and the acorns. The campground is about 100 yards from train tracks - 2 of them which is a major line into and from Cincy - and about 200 yards from I-75 on the other side - and trucks were constantly running over the rumble strip on the edge of the road. We stayed here at the end of camping season and our site was directly beneath a big oak tree which was shedding leaves and acorns which sounded like golf balls hitting the roof. Finally, when leaving the campground, visibility of road to the left is very short and anyone pulling out with a big rig like ours takes a risk to pull out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
This RV Park is a small to medium full service park. The sites are very nice and condition of park is good. Easy to get around in the park with a large RV. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is a nice setting. The only problem is the trains coming nearby that really sound their horns loudly. It seems from 11 p.m. to about 5 a.m. there was little train traffic. I like trains and during the daytime hours it is fine, but can disturb sleep. Also, there is noise from the highway, but not noticeable once in the RV. It is a great overnight stop. I don't know the area so don't know about tourist activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Camped here on our way to TN from Illinois. Close to I75. Sites are close, park was clean, water and electric are fine. Noisy train traffic through most of the night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
We stopped here overnight on a trip north to Ohio. The owner checked us in and a staff member escorted us to our site. The site sloped upward slightly but well within range of our leveling system. It was the end of the Memorial day weekend so the park was sparsely populated. There is a lovely lake and the overall appearance is that of a well kept park. The park used to be a KOA but is now a Good Sam franchise. The KOA "feel" is still present in the layout, amenities and service but at a lower price. We will certainly stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
Rate reflects discount. We made it into a pull through with our 43' motorhome and tow, but it was a tight fit. We were directed to exit contrary to the posted directional signs because of our size. All sites with sewer were taken so if you need a sewer hook up, it's best to call ahead. Electrical service was 30 amp only at pull through sites. As mentioned by others, train noise was significant and continued throughout the night. Highway noise is also noticeable. It's not a bad park, but difficult access, noise, electrical service and no sewer hookup available mean we won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
Have stayed here three or four times over the years (when it was a KOA) but first time under the current owners. Park was very clean and staff (especially the owner) was courteous, friendly and very helpful (told me about an "unknown" route to Kentucky Speedway). Only reason I didn't give it a "10" was because of train tracks across the street but they really weren't that bad. I highly recommend this campground to anyone visiting the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
Older KOA convert. It is situated between I-75 and train tracks. Tight interior roads. Ground was quite soggy. Entrance/exit is on a hilly county road so get in and out with safety. Owner & dog escorted me to site. The owner very friendly despite other comments elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
Rate includes our Escapees discount. This is an overall nice campground, with fairly level sites and well placed hookups. Big rigs are a bit tight on the access roads, but it's doable. Our 33' coach with a toad was not a problem. The train noise is quite loud, but the night we stayed here, there were only two trains through during the late night/early morning, so our sleep wasn't disrupted too much. The WiFi was solid, and there were a number of local TV stations to watch. We would stay again for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
It's an older campground with narrow roads. Tight fit for larger motorhomes. There is a lot of noises as reviews have stated. The owner must be moody as some people have found him helpful, while we did not. We would not recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This is a beautiful campground - nice setting except for the constant noise from I-75 and then the train comes every few hours - these are the only negs - or I would have rated it higher. We had a nice treed site - great Wi-Fi with good digital reception and over 15 stations. Easy to find and in/out. We would stay here again as long as we could close up to eliminate the noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
Rate is with Good Sam discount. Office staff very friendly and helpful and, with one big exception, the park is fine: would otherwise have rated it an 8 or 9. Our rig is a 40'MH towing a mid sized Dodge Dakota and we had a very nice pull through. However, when exiting (I think I went the right way), we encountered a right turn with a big tree on one side and a very high concrete curb on the other. No way we could make it with tow attached. I had to disconnect tow, remove aux brake system in tow and back up several times to make it. I noticed fresh big tire tracks (not mine)in the grass beyond the high curb so others have had the same problem recently. That curb should go: no need for it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
I would love to rate this park more favorably as the facilities are clean and well maintained. The owners obviously try very hard. However, there are jut too many negatives for a high rating. Sites are OK size. Road noise from I-75 is constant and loud. Regular train passage on the nearby tracks adds to the din. Park is very wooded, which made SAT TV troublesome. Wi-Fi was not working at our site during the night we were here. Sprint air card and voice reception was awful, Verizon was good. No AT&T 3G Coverage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
Very nice campground. The only reason I gave it a six was the I-75 interstate traffic. Otherwise, I would have given it a ten. It was so loud we could not sit outside and have a normal conversation. Other than that, we enjoyed the park. Staff is very nice and informative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
Older campground with shade trees. Gravel pads and interior roads. There is train and road noise. Water connection is on opposite side of site. Power is OK. Fairly easy on/off from I-75; a little tight for big rigs. Over air TV signal is strong. Trees may block satellite antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
The area had lots of rain for several days before we arrived, and it was still early in the season. However, the owner escorted us to our site, was quite helpful, and friendly. For being early in the season, we were pleased with all we found. As per the site, there are gravel pads vs. concrete, but the setting is quite nice. We were transient and stayed only one night, but will again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
The host was very nice. He escorted us to our site and helped us park. Water pressure was great. Very clean facilities. Only disadvantage was that it is near railroad tracks. Trains ran all night. If we need to overnight in this area again, we would camp here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Clean, attractive, well laid out. The sites where we were are gravel, but level. We arrived late, after the office was closed, but still got an escort to the site, which was welcome in the dark. Staff and management were friendly, flexible and helpful. The train and interstate noise others have mentioned was there, but not a problem in the hum of our air conditioner. Pet friendly, the owners dog was with him and welcomed our two dogs to the site! Rate was a Good Sam rate, they will also honor the KOA card for discount. We will come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This campground was nice and the grounds were lovely, however the sites were not very level. They took us to our site and we had no problems with the owner. Didn't have to disconnect for the night, which we appreciated. We could not get onto Wi-Fi and got no help from staff: the reply was "Ours works just fine here in the office." Our biggest complaint was the noise: from the train and interstate. It would be really bad in a pop-up without an air conditioner to drown out the noise. When you first exit the interstate, you wind around for several miles through a small town and think you are going out into the country. Actually you are circling around and are right beside the interstate, although there are trees blocking the views, just not the noise. The train is right across the street from the park entrance. We would probably stay here again for a overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
I'd read negative comments on owner but try to assume the best. Unfortunately, they're on target. I suggested this campground to our son, who was in Cincinnati area, having just been granted late admission to the law school. Student housing full. We were considering having him use our new RV for temporary housing. Although our son stopped to check in and explain he was considering a stay there, the owner would not permit a look at the campground. Our son is tall, clean-cut, not a party person. He was driving late model car, not a jalopy. Owner's peculiarity exceeded his self interest. This could have been monthly rental with new clean modern RV and trouble-free paying RV-er. We'll "ease on down the road!" We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
I would have rated this campground a bit higher except for the constant, rather loud noise from the neighboring interstate, and a busy RR track. Also, many sites are quite off-level. Otherwise, it appears to be an older KOA that is gradually being improved. Very cute murals painted on wooden outbuildings by the pool, rec room and on the bathroom privacy screens. The pool looked clean & inviting and was being used by some of the kids staying there. Most sites are shaded and some have a nice view of the small lake; fishing is allowed but a license is required through the campground office. Utilities varied from old to newer - again, probably a sign of some upgrading. Decent overnighter, but from the noise standpoint, I wouldn't recommend it for soft-sided rigs or very light sleepers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
We had reserves about this campground due to unable to locate with GPS, but the directions on the Good Sam web page were dead on. Once we got there we were vary pleased. The grounds were clean, the staff went out of there way to show us to our site, and when my son and I rented a paddle boat they even wiped out the inside. We would stay here again if back in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We used this campground as an overnight stay on our way to Tennessee. The staff was friendly and accommodated our request for a pull through campsite that was long enough that we would not need to unhook for the evening. The pool was heated and clean. The campground has easy access to I-75. The only negative to the campground is its close proximity to I-75 and to a very busy train track provide a constant background noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
I have stayed at this campground more than once and believe me that says volumes. We went to the Kentucky Derby and rented a cabin and then came and stayed for the Fourth of July holiday. The resort is clean and the owners are exceptional. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
At this park they actually use golf carts to take you to your site, we really thought this was great. But make sure you park neat and straight and not on the grass or he will kick you out. Would I stay here again? I don't think so. They were friendly enough but the owner was just too picky. Everything had to be perfect. The lake was beautiful though. But you could hear the traffic from the highway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Wonderful overnight stop before Cincinnati. Hosts are more than accommodating, even in inclement weather. The restrooms and showers were VERY clean and nicely decorated. They even smelled wonderful! We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
This Park is now Cincinnati South Rose Gardens. Look on that site, it is on this same page. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
This is a nice overnight campground but you do get a some noise from the train tracks on one side and the interstate on the other. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
This is the old Cincinnati South KOA. Another KOA that has gone Good Sam. Staff is friendly and helpful. Highway on one side Train track on the other. Leave a vent fan or AC on and it should not bother you. While it is clean, the camp needs a little TLC. We should see what the next few years bring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$27
Nice good Sam Park, They have a fishing lake (no swimming) and there are sites right on the water, not now while we were here, probably during the summer. Clean, neat and level sites. The only thing wrong is the constant noise from the freeway, and a train now and then. It's alright for a one night stay. I do recommend the place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$28
Stayed only one night but found campground very pleasant. Management very nice and helpful.The only downside is the trains.We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$28
Clean park. Friendly staff. Host led us to site. Water had heat tape so we had water, temp was in upper 20's. Visited in late November over Thanksgiving. Would go back again.. in warmer weather. Easy access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$30
Very clean well laid out. Friendly staff checked us in and showed us to our site. There is a far amount of noise from both the Interstate and a very active rail line across the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
The campground is well maintained. We were in the campsite for approximately 12 hours and 21 trains passed by, blowing their whistles. It was very difficult to sleep. We gave this a low rating because of the trains. We will not stay their again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$33
Very friendly staff. Restrooms were clean. Shady and level sites. Grounds very well taken care of. Being so close to the expressway, there was some traffic noise, but nothing that would stop me from going back again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Real nice looking park but my 30 amp power voltage dropped real low. It was hot. Train noise wasn't too bad but you could hear them come by. Will stop again. Stayed here going north and south this trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Very clean campground. Very friendly staff. Shady level sites. Close to I-75, so it was noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$26
Friendly staff takes you to your site. Poor low voltage. Meter was always in the red. I changed poles, was a little better, but still boarded red. When I told the office they told me that I had too much hooked up. I checked at the pole BEFORE hook up. They wouldn't listen. Would not stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$28
This campground is no longer a KOA, it's a Good Sam. I actually work-camped here for one month while relocating to the Cincinnati area. I was supposed to stay at Oak Creek Campground in Walton, but that is another review. (Reader's Digest version: Ewww). When I told the owner about my disgust of Oak Creek, he just laughed; he had heard worst stories than mine. I had a nice clean site and yes, it is between a very active rail line and I-75. However, I never had to worry about my trailer or my stuff. The owner's were always on top of who should be there and who shouldn't. The campground stayed immaculately clean and when I needed to extend my stay due to a home closing, they were very accommodating. Our kids opened the pool on Memorial Day weekend! No, it's no resort destination, but this campground was safe and clean and that's more than you could say for the other aforementioned campgrounds in the vicinity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
Not a destination park but good enough if your passing through. Easy to get to from the highway, hosts were very nice, grounds were very clean and looked nice. However, the sites were a bit small and the campground is right next to I-75 with an active railroad on the other side and above is airline trafic from the nearby Cincinnati airport, peace and quiet is one thing you will not find. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
$35 a night for four people. Just above average restrooms. Smaller grass area in the sites. $5 a day to fish. Visitors are allowed only 2 hours. The train can be annoying. Swimming pool was nice. Pretty well shaded sites. We stayed there for the Nascar Busch. Not the best place to go, but the staff was friendly and we had a great time. We will be back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2005
$27
Close to I-75, and train tracks. Sites are small. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$23
If you are just over nighting then this place isn't bad except maybe for the railroad track that runs just across the road from the park. If you plan on spending a weekend or extended holiday, then I would reconsider. You are not permitted guests or vistors, weekends or holidays, so if you have family or friends in the vicinity they won't be welcome. Some of the staff were rude. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$25
Nice maintained park, nice staff If your just passing thru and don't want to unhook, specify that when you ask for a pullthru. We stayed one night for an early departure but had to unhook and move the car, all hookups are at the rear of the site and unless you want to unlimber the 20ft sewer hose, depends on what your towing. Would go back in a pinch. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
1999
$22
Average KOA with tight movement for big rigs. Sites not level, many low hanging tree branches. Fast freight railroad track VERY near campground WILL disturb your sleep. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com