217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Pines RV Park and Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (706) 561-9675
CGID875

Lake Pines RV Park and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   3   5   5   7   6   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
Despite some reviews that I think were not great, our experience was very good. The setting is very nice with a picturesque lake. The management was super friendly and helpful. Everything was very clean and everything worked. The only very slight negative is that the sites are gravel instead of concrete but I don't think this is much of an issue. We definitely will go back. Highly recommended. Rate is Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
Power and water is good. Not that busy now so not real close together but because of the trees is will be hard getting out of the site. Gravel roads could use some work. Quiet so far. Wi-Fi not that great. Could not hook up my sewer hose because the drain is so far back i could not reach it. Not very smart. Better have a 30' hose. Not bad for overnight. Not sure if I'd stop again. RR tracks close hope no trains tonight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
This park is typical of Passport America parks located close to cities or major military bases. It is filled with working people who live here semi-permanently and (I think) military personnel. It has practically no amenities. The rest rooms are minimal, the women's was locked so my wife could not get it. There's no cable TV and, surprisingly, over the air TV in Columbus is minimal. The sites are very close together. Fine for a night, but we're both eager to get away this morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$37
Stayed one overnight, which was fine. Would not have wanted to stay any longer. Rules were quite extensive and attitudes of the office staff were not the most friendly. OK for a overnight, but you don't want to pick as a camping destination, in my opinion. Sites close with no privacy. The ground was level, gravel and had a cement slab for picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
This park advertises lots of facilities but most were not useable for campers. There is constant traffic on the gravel road on both sides of most of the sites that one night people are assigned. It causes dust to cover short term rigs. Along the exterior of the park are long term sites in some shade, but many are in need of upkeep. Trains run by periodically. Wi-Fi works well but no cable for the $$ charged. No one answers the phone regularly and the office has some closed hours in the middle of the day. This could be a great park, but it is not at this time. Good location. If you have Passport America they get fair price, not the regular price. Did not see owners on site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
This park caters to long term people. Many workers and monthly campers here. Still, they are very friendly, but their rigs should be allowed to be washed to help the park look better. They have several pull through sites for daily or weekly RVers. Gravel roads need some help, pull through gravel sites were long and level enough with concrete patios, which make it nice. They do not have cable TV, only network channels over the antenna, so FOX NEWS and CNN are not available. Wi-Fi was iffy depending on location and time of day. But, if you take your laptop to the laundry room, WiFi is strong there. The air conditioner in the laundry room is on a timer and in the dead of summer, it did not come on until close to noon, which is way too late. They said to open the doors for the breeze to go through, but the air outside was still, so that didn't help. They have 3 washers and 3 dryers and keep them fairly well maintained. The swimming pool was busy, but we noticed on Sunday (when the office is closed) the pool filter wasn't running. This is the only park in town so they are always busy. And over the years they have done many improvements to the park. We have family in the area so we've been here several times and will continue to come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
Friendly family park. If you pull in late, just pick a spot and hook up. There wasn't anything posted outside of the office, but if you call ahead they will tell you the same thing. Not very shaded in most of the park considering it was an old pecan orchard. Met our needs for an overnight stay and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
Nice comfortable park with some inherent problems. Gravel roads are badly potholed, sites are way off level, and the noise from railroad. Fort Benning target practice is annoying. That said, the staff is friendly and helpful, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
$17.50 for Passport America (one night only). Gravel driveways are somewhat potholed, so the 4.6 mph limit is no problem. Nice long pull through sites such that the toad can stay hitched. Railroad did not bother me, but the daily sites are as far away from the tracks as possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
We camped here for a week. Level site with concrete pad and grass. Lots of long term residents. Very quiet park. Infrequent freight train nearby. Several nice areas for pet walking including two trails into the woods. Friendly and accommodating office staff. Close to Wal-mart and the Columbus Mall. Excellent value. Office closed on Sunday requiring a self-registration for which ample forms and instructions are provided. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
PA rate is $17.50 for 2 nights; also GS for 10% off. A nice RV park with most everything. I liked the nice long 70 foot pull thru but they are only about 20' wide. Still easy in/out for big rig. Family friendly with playground and large pool (in season). Many sites were good for satellite. Camp Wi-Fi worked well as did Verizon & ATT. Friendly staff. Gravel sites with concrete slab for picnic table. Negatives were no cable but you can get networks OTA, Tains passing 3-4 a day and sometimes late at night. I slept through them but my wife woke up. We'd certainly stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
There are really no choices for campgrounds in Columbus Georgia. The staff here is friendly and fellow long term campers have created a nice community. I stayed here by myself and always felt safe. However, the campground does border the RR tracks and there is a crossing, so the engineers must blow their horns. You can hear the Fort Benning artillery firing but never at night. This is not a destination campground but adequate if you are just passing through or need to be in the area long term for work & they seem to try and keep the overnighters separate from the longer stays. Walmart, grocery stores, and eating establishments are within two miles. Roads are gravel and they have speed bumps on steroids. There is a little path in the back of the campground to walk the dog and a grassy area as well. Columbus is a wonderful, hospitable mid size city. If I return to Columbus again I would stay here. I would have no other option. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2012
$18
$17.50 PA rate seemed a little high for the off season. We didn't check out the facilities like we usually do, but the sites were nice enough. Everyone mentions the trains, but I didn't see anyone emphasize that they sound like they're actually traveling through your rig. We were also treated to the sounds of tanks firing on the target ranges early in the morning. There was always someone in the office (during the adequate office hours), and they were extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We would return and try to enjoy the CG during peak season when we could better enjoy what it has to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
Just returned from a Good Sam Chapter camp out at Lake Pines. We found the owner to be most accommodating and helpful. We were allowed free use of the Rally room (full kitchen) and had a nice fire every night in the fireplace. The train does go by a couple of times a day but not issue to me. There is a wedding chapel available and a barn available for large parties and such. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
This is a convenient overnight stop if you want to be in Columbus. But everything is gravel and the train tracks are right next to the park and can be quite noisy. Once a week you are treated to artillery practice from Fort Benning. There is no where in particular to walk your dog. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Overall, this is a nice quiet campground. Few amenities (average pool with nice wadding area for children, older playground equipment, very small store) but nice place to stay if you are in the area. Convenient to Fort Benning: about 20 minutes. As others have mentioned, a train does pass near campground twice daily, but not an issue in our area. Gravel roads with good concrete patio pad. Site was fairly level and pull-through. Good Wi-Fi signal. Restaurants and shopping nearby in town of Columbus. We'd stay here again if we were in the area, but would not seek out as a vacation destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2012
$32
This is a perfect park if you enjoy trains going by at 8 am and 11 pm. Expect to wake up at night and don't expect to sleep in because you will be up by 8 am. The train horn will make sure that you are up! Then there is the pool! It's a lovely shade of dark green. We for one night and won't do so again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$35
Nice park with good facilities and helpful management. Good clubhouse for use by clubs. Close to Columbus Ga. offering lots of interesting places to visit and good restaurants. There are several long term residents but they are off to one side and present no distraction. The occasional train did not bother us so I consider it a non factor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Very clean park and nice folks. Very strict rules, though. No alcoholic beverages allowed in the park. No outside TV's. We are a family, and we keep things quiet and reserved, and we had no problem. However, I just felt like it is a bit unreasonable to prohibit me from sitting out under my awning watching a ball game at low volume; and prohibiting me from enjoying a beer while doing so. I chose not to do either of those things, so not a problem for me. But, I would have enjoyed the freedom to make those decisions for myself- as long as my neighbors weren't impacted. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
We have been staying here for the last few years for soccer tournaments. This year they added the paved pads for the picnic tables which was very nice. The only reason I didn't give them a 10 was the fact that they didn't have cable TV. Hosts were very nice. We arrived late and they had an envelope on the door directing us right where to go. We even filled up our propane tank while we were there. Only issue is the location right next to the train tracks other than that, very well maintained campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$31
This is a Good Sam Park and they rated the restrooms a 9. Don't know how they came up with that high of a number. The restrooms get the job done and are relatively clean, but they are not a 9. There is a train track very close, but there has only been 1 or 2 trains per day for the 4 days that we have stayed here. Gravel roads and level gravel sites. Nice new concrete patio with new big picnic tables. Big rigs will easily fit in the long pull throughs. No cable TV, but the antenna pulls all of the local channels just fine. Laundry is a very nice facility and $1.25 to wash and the same to dry. Be sure to get down to the River Walk in Columbus. Also make the 30 mile drive to Warm Springs to see the FDR Little White House. This is a great location to see the sites in Columbus and surrounding areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$32
We stayed there again for the 5th time. This is the only campground near Columbus. They are constantly upgrading the sites, with concrete pads for the tables new this year. Friendly staff but not many sites for travelers. Many permanent sites. A train track is close, but not too noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$31
The last couple times we came through the area, we stayed in Opelika AL, about 35 miles away. This time we changed our route to head a little more eastward toward clearer weather and to get us "off the Interstate" for a while. We were very happy with our overnight stay here. The showers and the laundry are modest but adequate and clean. The Meeting Room was being used by a friendly group of card players and I felt like we could feel comfortable staying here for a while. Lack of cable TV is a negative, but not enough to keep us away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$16
Nice Park, gravel roads and sites. Very clean well maintained quiet park. Rate is Camp USA, (1/2 price). Satellite friendly on selected sites. Fishing lake. RV storage. Laundry. Friendly staff. Train about 1/3 mi. away but few trains, not a problem. 8 miles to Columbus, GA. Close to 185 Exit. Would stay here again. Good Sam Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Campground was very nice, had an appealing entrance, grounds were nice and the pull throughs were nice and long but basically out in the open with very little shade. There were alot of work campers, but they were more to the back of the campground. Was quiet except for the occassional train that ran close by (125 yards away). Had limited office hours and no store. Located about 14 miles away from Ft. Benning, but a nice back way to get there. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$32
Park entrance sign was a bit hard to read as the letters didn't contrast well with the background and the turn into the park is a bit tight for big rigs, but adequate. Entrance road is not friendly for 2 motorhomes to pass, but that issue didn't arise when we were using it. Gravel roads and sites with grass between sites. We had a pull through site for an overnight stay and it was adequate. Didn't use the Wi-Fi but Verizon air card worked well. Open space for satellite TV. Would use this park again for a short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$26
We used this park for an overnight stay and picked it based on the comments on this site. I made my reservation over the phone because I knew we were going to arrive after hours. The people on the phone couldn't have been nicer. It was easy enough to find and quiet enough for a good night's sleep. The park itself shows some age and has quite a few permanent residents. But there is something about it that is quite charming. It has a lot of trees but was satellite friendly and I'm sure it is very pretty in the spring/summer. We had a long, level pull-thru and would stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$24
Price reflects weekly rate. Its far enough off the road where highway noise is barely noticeable. There was a train or two per day: during the day, never at night. The noise was not too objectionable. Sites were level, gravel, partially shaded. They were plenty long but a little close side-to-side. The whole park drains pretty well in heavy rain. Full hooks worked fine. The Wi-Fi was very slow at times with a few drop-outs, mostly reliable though. Our dog needs to be walked about 5 miles a day. We liked this park because we could walk out Garrett road to a small secondary road with light traffic. Although the park is in Columbus city limits, downtown is about 12 miles away. Shops, post office, services are about 3-4 miles away. The River walk in Columbus is absolutely beautiful and worth the drive. This is a nice park. Not any real amenities, but not any negatives either. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Easy access into sites with large fifth wheel. Entrance road is one lane and can be a problem if two RV's meet. Grass needed mowing. Some sites have picnic tables and some do not. Very low water pressure. Easy access for visiting Columbus, GA. Staff friendly and helpful. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We stayed here while our son was undergoing outpatient surgery. This is a nice park with very accommodating hosts. They even welcomed our dogs with a "goodie" bag and a biscuit. (Nice touch). When our son's recovery took longer than planned the campground hosts courteously accommodated our brief extended stay. Thanks so much! We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Nice spot with friendly hosts and employees. Very quiet park with some rules that may or may not fit your desires. I'd suggest going elsewhere if you want to party. Cards not accepted, but checks were not a problem. LP on site. All sites are pull throughs. WIFI worked flawlessly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$28
My husband builds CVS Pharmacies so we usually move every four to six months. This is by far, the best campground we have stayed in since traveling. The owners are constantly making upgrades. The property is beautiful. They have a prayer chapel they rent out for weddings. I asked if I could use the chapel to pray. The owners let the office know and when I wanted to pray it would be unlocked. I would let them know when I was finished and they would lock it back. This is over and above excellent customer service. They have plenty of information regarding local attractions in the area. It has been an excellent experience. The dog and I really enjoyed the walking trails also. The company my husband works for asked if he would stay and build another store here. We were thrilled. So, we have been here almost a full year. The place is very clean and pristine. I have been more pleased here than any place we have ever stayed. It has been a wonderful stay. I pray the next stop is just as nice, as we are moving on to the next job soon. I would strongly recommend you stay at this campground if you are visiting the Columbus area. Although, you need to call ahead. They seem to be full much of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
We loved this park. We only stayed here for about 10 days, but we wish we could have stayed longer. The pool was awesome. It's 'L' shaped with the short end being very shallow for kids and then a ledge for a drop off where it begins to gradually deepen. We have 3 little kids, so our entire family enjoyed spending all day in the pool. There's also a nice playground area for the kids near the pool. The sites are out in the open for the most part, so there's not a whole lot of shade, but the grounds were clean and neat. The staff was friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
Nice campground. Great, friendly, helpful management. Love the laundry facility. Room to sit and work on things while doing laundry or by pool so can swim between loads. Nice folding/hanging area. Pool has a side section for little waders (old or young) besides the main area for laps/playing. Bathhouse is nice and clean. Playground is great for all age kids. Ours spent a lot of time here. Nature trails. Lots of photo opportunities. Great set up with event centers for weddings, reunions, outdoor concerts, rally, etc. Close to Wal-Mart and other stores. Near train tracks but trains didn’t bother our family at all. Would definitely stay here whenever in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$27
Nice park close to the city. Well maintained with friendly office staff. Easy access for big rigs with ample side room for slides. We would stay again if in the area. Rate included the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$28
We enjoyed our stay at Lake Pines Campground. Sites are large,park is clean,staff is very helpful & friendly,large pool,new laundry room they have a lodge for club functions. We have had 3 Rallies here & it was great. They have an Event Center next door,they have several weddings here,the park is beautiful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Nice family park. Long pull thru sites for bigger rigs. Staff was very friendly. Although there were some long-term residents the campground was well organized to accommodate both overnighters and monthly guests. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
This is a small family owned park. The sites are adequate, but we had to do some maneuvering to get out of our site. Wi-fi is free, but you must be in sites close to the antenna to have a "good" connection. The owners were friendly and there was good room to walk the dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Very nice park. Quiet. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
We were very disappointed in this campground. Our camping books were misleading. There are quite a few permanent and long-term residents here. The pool was not open and the deck was all cracked. The laundry room floor was sagging and dangerous and electrical wiring was left exposed. We would have preferred a WalMart unless it had been the middle of summer when we had to have 50 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$28
We just needed a place for one night. The men's restroom was padlocked with an "out of order" sign on it. Didn't go in the womens as it had a note "knock first" it is co-ed since the men's is not open. The pool will not be open till May so there has been no maintenance on it since it closed for winter. The laundry room is being replaced with a new addition to the bldg but don't know when it will open. The entrance is only one lane so approach carefully. They do have spaces for big rigs but call ahead there are not many. There are train tracks nearby, one of us slept through the night, the whistle woke the other. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2005
$22
This is a rustic little park on the edge of Columbus with easy access to the historic villages just north of there. We found the price right for a basic unimproved park, and management very warm and helpful. This park is not the Taj Mahal west, but certainly is not what the foregoing review suggests. We used this park as a base for exploration of the area and loved it. The grounds are beautiful, especially in the spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
$22
This whole place is rundown and the bathroom is a disgrace. The pool was 'out of order' for the whole hot and humid month of August. There is absolutely nothing to do here, especially for kids. Unfortunately it's the only campground in Columbus, GA. It really is nothing more than a trailer park and the owner is not a very friendly person. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com