223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Royal Gorge / Canon City KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (719) 275-6116
CGID8757

Royal Gorge / Canon City KOA

Camp Information
Sites
142
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   9   7   5   4   2   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
Very nice KOA. Friendly people. Clean and maintained sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$41?
This was pretty much just a place to park the RV. Nothing special, nothing to make it stand out. Restrooms were clean, laundry area was good, staff very friendly. Sites are extremely close together. wouldn't stay there again. The only reason we chose this park in the first place is because of the creepy place we initially were registered at across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$52
Read reviews and had concerns, but purchased a double site and thoroughly enjoyed the campground. Staff was courteous and very helpful. Kids loved the pool and slide. Would recommend Royal Gorge KOA consider an all inclusive price for the amusements. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
The nightly rate includes the 10% KOA discount for being a KOA rewards member. This was our first trip to the Royal Gorge area which is absolutely spectacular. I rated this park a 7, but if the park has been fully occupied I would have rated it about a 5. There were only about 8 of us in the park. The sites are extremely close together but it didn't bother us as there were so few RV's there. The roads in to the park were rough and the site was extremely unlevel. The people working at this KOA seemed totally clueless. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. The Wi-Fi had a strong signal but the speed was horrible. I can't imagine how bad it would be if the park was even 50% occupied. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
This was our first KOA - actually our first commercial campground, as we've always stayed at state parks and national forest campgrounds. So while we like the rustic wilderness, trees and privacy of NF campgrounds, we wanted to try the conveniences of an RV park. The sites were close together, with the back of our camper about 3 feet from the slide out of the camper behind us. At least we did have a tree in front, and no one in the spot in front of us either. The pool was run-down, with weeds growing up around the fence, cracks in the concrete, etc. Our kids (7 mos & 2 yrs) loved the pool, but I was concerned about its cleanliness. The water was cloudy, with numerous bugs & other floating debris. Worst of all, there were large sticky orange spots on the walls and steps, and when touching them, the "goop" transfered to one's skin. I am unlikely to camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We (family) were expecting a lot, because there is a nice description at the "Directory of KOA." In fact there is a big slide and a park, but everything seems old and used. The pool is OK. The campground is dusty and very uneven. Our bench was old and kind of ugly. They have some patio sites, they do look a little better. The "Royal Gorge" is worth a trip. There´s a park around the bridge, it opens at 10 a.m. (RV parking possible). You have to pay an entrance fee ( $ 24,- for adults). It´s nice for adults and kids and worth the money. You can cross the bridge by tram, feet or car (no RVs), do several rides, watch a movie about Royal Gorge, eat and shop etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$49
The rate reflects a 10% discount for KOA card. The sites are very close together and look like they are not cared for. The staff was rude. When we spoke to them about some of the issues we were having with our site, it was obvious they could care less. There was no cable or local tv, wifi was very weak, all roads are dirt and mud, and the attractions looked run down. The bad rating is a result of poor grounds and a rude staff who wouldn't help us as they were too busy arguing about internal KOA issues in front of us. It was too much money for the service we received. With all of the other great parks in this area there is no reason to stay at this location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Great location and great views. There are some attractions near by for the kids and the campground is quiet. Basically it is a huge grass field with hookups. A picnic table and propane grill is at most sites. This is a good place to spend the night after a day of rafting or sightseeing. Overpriced as most KOA's are but a helpful staff and a well equipped store with reasonable prices, help offset the site price inconvenience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
We rated this campground as "fair". It sits in a great location near major attractions such as the Royal Gorge Railroad, Royal Gorge Bridge and Buckskin Joe's. Campground is a little run down in comparison to the website. Sites are fairly level, but all are gravel and close together. Trees were small and very sparse with little to no shade. Lots of dust and very dry. Electrical power is adequate, but we did trip the breaker box once with the A/C and the microwave on. Water pressure varies from low to medium pressure. Wi-Fi worked well from our site #39, but we were close to the office. Pool was clean, but no hot tub. Office small, but well stocked. There is a go-cart track and a large slide along with an ice cream store on site. These attractions were looking rather run down. There are also horse stables on site. Scenery of the mountains is great, but the wind can come up suddenly and usually does in the afternoon, don't leave your awning unattended! We did notice some recent improvements such as semi-patio sites with bbq grills. All sites have new tables, but no fire rings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com