206924 User submitted reviews online!!
Crow Creek FamCamp (Military Camping Only) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (307) 773-3874
CGID8771

Crow Creek FamCamp (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   10   9   8   7   5   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Stayed overnight. Agree with the previous review that the military needs to crack down on "homesteaders". Staff was very friendly. Will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
This is 5 minutes from downtown Cheyenne which is great. Also a nice base with new playgrounds, aquatic center, and lots of nice green space. We were between several campers that are living there. This creates a lived in look and different atmosphere. I wish the military would crack down on this. The grass needed cutting. We use military bases for over night pass throughs. This was extremely convenient, but not our favorite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
We stayed here while teaching some of our fine military personnel on base. The rate reflects winter rates with no water or sewer hookups available for the off-season. The electric worked well and the park was quiet (with the exception of the occasional train rolling through nearby. We had a long, wide pull-through spot that accommodated our 40 foot rig and toad quite nicely. Restrooms were fairly clean and convenient. The office was not open, but it was easy to find a spot (we shared the park with about half a dozen people) and payment by envelope was a breeze. This park would rate a 10 had the water been on and if possible to hook up the sewer. We would definitely stay here again. The Prawn Horn Antelope, Geese, Squirrels, and resident Great-Horned Owl were a nice addition. Be aware the bridges on base are low (about 11'6" so if you have a taller rig you will have to drive a bit out of the way to make it to the park. That said, it is still a great place to stay while in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$21
We stayed here while TDY (temporary deployment year). No water in winter, but the showers and restrooms are clean, bright and warm! I don't understand how people can complain about the facilities here: they were great. We found the site to be quiet, level and it had great power. I can see how it might get tight when full, but it has easy access and lots of room to drive through. I love that this famcamp is in a quiet, secluded location. Big bonus is the herd of antelope who are permanent residents. We have a 40+ foot rig and found the camp easy to maneuver. The sites are gravel and have "islands" of grass with small trees in places. This is a great famcamp on a beautiful, historic base. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
Military only. Very nice campground away from the runways. Very nice base, an old Army Post with all the old housing and barracks. Campground staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
A pretty, wooded and private little FamCamp. We are here in the off-season, so no water or sewer available, but only $10 night. Our motor home comes equipped with big fresh and waste water tanks, so several days here would be no problem. Level gravel sites, some pull throughs for big rigs, brand new 50/30 amp pedestals. Close to the commissary and exchange, the gas station near Gate 1 is large and an easy in-and-out for our Class A gasser. The campground has a resident herd of antelope grazing among the sites- what fun to watch! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
We were here for almost a month and enjoyed our stay. They were short-handed in the office, but we worked around it. We understand that they are going to "upgrade" the park, but I don't know what that means. The Missile Drive entrance is the best. The road to the park is unpaved and was a little rough. We walked a lot and the base is beautiful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
The Famcamp at Warren AFB could be one of the military’s finest but it slightly better than mediocre. They have a great office complex, shower, laundry area and pet walk area and the on base location is kind of remote but that’s where the good news ends. The gravel road entrance to the park was so much of a washboard that it actually caused one of our ceiling light covers to vibrate loose. Because of tax laws the person in charge claimed they can’t afford to have a camp host so when we arrived there was nobody to tell us about the campground, the base, to inform us of the restroom codes or that the Wi-Fi would only work while sitting at the office. When we finally found where we thought we could pay, we were asked if we had just arrived. We informed them that we had already spent one night. No real oversight here. We were told we could not pay at this office and we had to wait for someone to show up at the campground and pay them. One other camper described their organization as a real free for all. The park itself needs a good mowing and trimming, something that a host couple could/would accomplish but no couple so it looked ragged. We did hear trains in the night but that occurs with western campgrounds so no big deal. The camp itself is close to the BX/Commissary and the golf course and the golf course is in wonderful shape. For some strange reason the campground might go to electric only starting on 1 September and we heard that the golf course closes on or about 1 October. Both of these decisions make no sense as there will still be a couple of good camping and golfing months remaining here in Cheyenne. The rumor is that on 6 Sept all the sites will be upgraded to 30/50 amp. That will certainly be an improvement. Perhaps putting a camper in charge of the campground rather than a bean counter would make this Famcamp a much more profitable and better appreciated facility. If in this area we would use the Famcamp again because of its proximity to the golf and the BX/Commissary and not necessarily for the campground services. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
The full hook sites are very level and right now, gravel, but in September the park will start renovations and the sites will be paved. The base is very interesting and we wish we could have stayed longer. The only reason for the lower rating is that while they said they had Wi-Fi, it didn't work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Even though the rate is cheap, the grass is knee high at sites and they are very close together. Poorly maintained park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
What a nice FAM Camp, new showers/bathroom, Wi-Fi only works at office, but works great. Laundry is 75 cents. The base is beautiful with all the old buildings from the late 1800s , early 1900s, well maintained. Wildlife was a pleasure, antelope roamed freely everywhere and were in the campground everyday. Nice place to visit for a couple of days, right off I-25. Can't beat the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
This is an AF Family Camp intended for military personnel and related personnel. The base was originally an army frontier fort from the Indian wars and has some great history. It is mostly red brick and very laid back. It must be accessed through Missile Drive as the main gate side of the base has several narrow tunnels with less than 10 ft of clearance. The camp is shaded but the trees are leaking a sticky sap that coats everything in June. Not sure how long this lasts. There are a small Commissary, Bx and Gas station. No Diesel. They observe all the military traditions and this can get inconvenient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com