214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Mendota Hills was rated 6 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (815) 849-5930
CGID8774

Mendota Hills

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   3   2   5   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$15
Rate reflects monthly rate. This is no longer a Passport America park. This is a get-away park for Chicago folks. Most sites are seasonal most are well kept and nicely landscaped. The residents are neighborly. The owners are on-site and accommodating. There is a restful, bucolic atmosphere here, especially during the week. Things ramp up a little on weekends and there are many activities. Big highlight for my sons was the weekly Sunday morning frog jumping contest. The fishing is good, catch and release for cats and bass; keep panfish if you like. The laundry is adequate. Showers/restroom a little dated but clean and serviceable. Like most of Illinois, there is high iron content in the water - you'll want a new filter when you leave. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
This is a Passport America park that is very popular with locals as there are mature trees and several lakes for fishing or swimming plus themed activities for kids and adults. Families come here for generations from what we were told. Interior roads are dirt/gravel and the sites were mainly grass. Some sites are very unlevel. We were near the office so had a back-in site with FHU and a decent WiFi signal. The owners are extremely nice and very helpful. The grounds in no way compare to modern RV parks we are accustomed to. Showers and restrooms need major work and cleaning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We stayed for 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend. Yes, they have pull-thrus, but they go to dead ends so getting out was interesting. Pull-thru sites were nowhere near level, and even with my extensive blocking capability I couldn't get the 5th wheel close to being level. Wi-Fi was a joke - I had to take my computer outside the office to have access. No Wi-Fi signal at all in the pull-thru area. Bathrooms, toilets and showers were filthy. Saturday morning two of three toilets plugged. Sunday morning three of three toilets plugged. Fortunately they left a plunger outside for community use. Illinois health department should shut this place down. I will never return to Mendota Hills! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Wi-Fi was OK. Gravel roads with lots of dust. Even the golf carts created dust. Kids everywhere so drive with both eyes open. Very poor electricity with 104 - 106 volts during the day. It did finally get up to 110 volts in the evening but still would not use AC because being afraid of ruining the compressor because of low voltage. Had to use fans all night and couldn't open windows. Did I mention DUST. They did have a couple of lakes for fishing and a golf driving range for the older folks. Would not return to this campground if I'm in the area. I would look for another one with better electrical power. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Reserved a full hook up pull through and when we checked in, we were moved to another lot without sewer as the other lot was not available. They gave us the excuse of the people extend their stay one hour before we pulled in. There were other smaller lots they could have moved the small TT to as we were much longer and could not fit on the smaller full hook up site, but they did not care to do so.I will give the guy credit for bringing his honeypot out on Saturday to empty my tanks for free though. Only one shower location at office. The bathrooms throughout campground are port-a-potties. The website does not do this campground justice. Riding our bikes through the campground, we said hi to eleven seasonal sites and only one responded with a hi, the rest just stared. Not many activities for kids, unless you think old video games and an old pool table in bad shape are activities. I have seen worse, but this is just an average campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
This is a nice campground. We had a spacious lot and it was very relaxing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Not too much to do, but the frog jumping contests are wonderful for the kids. Two fishing lakes, one lake w/beach. Lots of land to run around. We will be back. Quiet place with lots of trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com