221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Southgate RV Park of Fayetteville was rated 6 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (479) 442-2021
CGID8775

Southgate RV Park of Fayetteville

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   7   5   9   6   8   7   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$29
Rate included Good Sam discount. Entrance (downhill). When leaving, you are directed to another exit which is easier. Gravel lots; long enough. Grass mowed, utilities worked good. Payment cash or check. No one worked in office; owner out and about in park most of the time. Were given lot assignment over the phone (were asked to call ahead when were approx 60 min out). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
There weren't many options available in this area. We chose this as it seemed near the interstate. We got there near dusk and had a very difficult time finding the place and once there had difficulty figuring out the sites available. Once parked, it was a muddy mess. The owner was friendly enough but we'd rather park at Wal-Mart than be in this mess, once a mobile home park in process of converting to RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
Sites are mostly gravel, or old asphalt. Full hookups, but some of them look as though they could use some TLC. Ours worked fine however. There is shade, but mostly for seasonal rigs. Plenty of grass if your dog behaves well and can be off leash to chase ball/frisbee. Next to a Tyson plant, but we didn't notice much in the way of bugs or odor. We didn't use the laundry or showers/restrooms, but did check them out. Pretty basic, could maybe use a bit more cleaning. The owner/manager was very friendly and helpful. We were there 2 nights so we could see some of Buffalo National River and Ozark National Forest. We would probably stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
No one at office. Had no idea if rates on sheet in pocket includes discount. Way overpriced for what you get, but it is the only thing available in the area. Sites poorly laid out, especially the sewer connections. Fortunately we did not need sewer tonight. About 5 of the pull throughs are long enough to keep the toad connected. Bathrooms are painted a dark tan; floors dripped with paint. Cleaning supplies stacked around the water heater. No towels or dryer for your hands at the lavatory. In general, I was not impressed. We would plan to stay elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$29
This small private park sits alongside a state highway in a small urban environment so has a fair amount of road noise. We did not use the bathrooms but they looked decent. Our site has a level paved area for our trailer. Water, cable, electricity and sewer are on the left side of the trailer so work well for us though the sewer is towards the front. Both WiFi (no password) and the cable TV worked very well. The guy in the office was very helpful. Sites are generously spaced. Verizon 3G cell coverage was good. We had something like 80 channels on Cox cable with excellent quality. Many sites are drive through. Big rigs should have no problem with the drives or obstacles. There is an incline when you enter the park, but if you come in the main entrance that should not be a problem. Southgate was just fine for an overnight. It was easy to get in and out. The services worked great and the price was reasonable. We paid $29 with the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
Great owners! We stayed here during Bike, Blues & BBQ ($500/site during the event), but stayed on afterwards for a week with full-hookup for $23/night. Basic gravel parking lot of a campground with not much going on for it. Bring a raised fire ring if you wish to have a fire. Convenient location, but in an industrial area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
This is a fairly bare bones park but it is quiet (in spite of being next door to a Tyson plant) and the owner is very nice. The Wi-Fi and our cell phones worked great. The laundry left a lot to be desired (we went into town) and the restrooms are pretty dilapidated. There is a nice grassy area for pets and areas adjacent to the park for walking our dog. We felt that the pull through sites were fine in size. We would return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$52
This park is a fairly nice no frills park conveniently located close to I-540. Can be a little tight for big rigs and water pressure is rather low. The park has a nice grassed in park type area that is a nice view from some sites. The owner charges up big time when U of A athletic events are in town, there are almost no other RV parks around! I don't blame the owner for his pricing policy, if it was mine, I would do the same. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2011
$29
This is basically a bare bone RV park. The inside road is gravel and most of the sites are gravel; the rest were on grass. Most of the sites were pretty leveled. The electricity is on the low side, and I had to watch my electrical usage. Note that the park was ¾ empty and A/C was not needed. The one washer ($3.50 per load) and one dryer (free) was in one of the two bathrooms. The two showers were clean but not appealing. We opted not to use them. Verizon air card and cell phone worked well here. This campground also had free Wi-Fi, but we did not use it. Tyson processing plant was next door and a prison was about ½ mile away. There was very little noise at night. We would probably come back again because there were very few campgrounds in this area. We thought that $29 per night was a bit steep for what we got. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This is a simple, no frills park, convenient to the interstate and to town. We really liked it here as it had large grassy areas around the edge of the park and it was very quiet. We stayed briefly as an overnight stop so did not explore the park, and only spoke to the owner/manger on the phone as he was not at the park that particular day. It was nice that he always answered the phone and was very friendly and helpful. We would like to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
The owner is very nice and helpful. A lot of the sites are full-timers. The pull-through site was mostly grass mixed with gravel and a little wet due to all the rain recently in AR. This is an overnight park. But, you do need to see "The Castle" in Wilson Park Fayetteville! This is cash or check only park. Restroom and laundry are combined; clean but definitely in need of repair. Would stay here again overnight due to low price for full-hook ups and free Wi-Fi that works and cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Very nice place to stay: previous to this we had been volunteering and were staying in a forested area. Opening the door to a wide spacious meadow and able to see the sun rise was a treat. Friendly staff, showed us where our site was, and asked if we needed any help. He gave us the history to the park and that helped us to see why the park was laid out the way it was. He was out and about for a couple hours and visible outside the following day. I can see it could be a problem if it rained very much, however, was very, very nice, and for me a 9 is almost impossible to achieve, so I rated it very high. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
This park bears little resemblance to it's website photo and description! The cable TV didn't work and the sites looked generally uncared for, with several rather old trailers that appear to be permanent residences. Although we had ample room on the pull through for our 39ft 5th wheel and Volvo 610 tractor unit, nothing inspired us to stay more than just the night. I would not use this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
Friendly staff and very low-key approach. You just drive in, pick your site, put your cash in an envelope and drop it in the "rent" box at the office. While the surrounding area was rather industrial and run down, I never felt that unsafe here. There's a huge grassy area behind the park that my dog absolutely loved. About 1/2 the sites were newer and gravel-paved, the other 1/2 were a bit run down, small, and lumpy (gravel no longer level). I never went in the bath/laundry house as it didn't look that appealing from the outside. Hookups and CATV worked great, and the Wi-Fi was always strong and fast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
Nothing special and a bit over-priced at $28, but the park offers easy access to Fayetteville and management is very friendly. The bathrooms were clean, but could use a little sprucing up since the concrete floors and cinder block weren't very inviting (we were happy to use our own self-contained facilities). Wi-Fi works very well and we weren't at all bothered by any road noise, barking dogs or the Tyson plant next door (don't worry, there's no noise and no smell at all from the facility). Be sure to check out Mrs Deen's Southern Food just down the street; it's a Fayetteville institution and a great place to sample real Southern Home Cooking at very moderate prices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
This is a clean, mowed park built in a pasture. It is not a beautiful park, but we were happy with our pull through site: long, wide and level. If the office is closed, a form is provided with rate information where you pay, then select your site. Our Verizon broadband card and satellite dish worked very well. The park has free high speed wireless, but we didn't use it. Also a laundry room but we didn't use that either. Our 5th Wheel has two drains: one for the black and gray water, and another for the galley. Our site has 2 sewer drains, so it was convenient to hook up both. The park is within a couple of miles of University of Arkansas. Our site was in the back and we didn't hear any road noise. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
This park is OK but nothing special. The grounds were clean and the park wasn't overly crowded during our stay. The pull-through site we had was acceptable, but could have been a little more level. The location is good, but next door to a Tyson plant and a county jail is approximately 1/4 mile away. The driveway getting in is a little tight, but we negotiated it with no problems. My father-in-law's 5th wheel was a little tighter getting in. The park has excellent wi-fi and we were able to connect with no problems. The park is fairly quiet and not a bad place to stay, but nothing special. I felt the park was slightly overpriced. BUT, we would have no problems staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
This park was a real disappointment. After reading the other reviews, this park sounded OK for a stopover to see Fayetteville. It is a grassy field with some gravel and asphalt areas to park. The sites have no rhyme nor reason to the layout, the power was awkward to find, which went to which site. Some have cable, some not. It has a self check-in process and only takes cash or checks made out to the host's name. It is on a main street, and not very quiet, complete with barking dogs. The bathrooms have one each for male and female, and can only be used by one person at a time. They were not particularily clean cinder block structures. We could not find anything else close by, but next time will stay at the beautiful state park a little south of here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
We tried to find any park in the Bentonville / Fayetteville area that our big rig would fit into and allow satellite dishes to work. Most in the area are small public parks with trees. This one is terrific: nice owner, huge sites, 30/50 amp service, open area for our satellites, but they have trees and wireless also. We'll be here several days as we explore NW Arkansas. The campground apparently don't advertise in the big books; I found it on this site - thank you! Don't know how the other camper got away with $15 - ours was $28 as on their website. No credit cards. We'd come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
This serves as a park for some seasonal campers, but they were all very clean and the grounds were well cared for. We just pulled in for an overnight stay, had a very long pull through site that was level and we didn't have to unhook. It's a little tricky to locate, but is very close to the town center so the town of Fayetteville is accessible. There is a good sidewalk for walking and the park is off the road enough so that it's quiet. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com