214822 User submitted reviews online!!
Buck Creek State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (937) 322-5284
CGID8781

Buck Creek State Park

Camp Information
Sites
111
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   8   9   4   8   7   6   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
The roads and sites are paved with a large grass area in between. Our 35 foot RV just fit the length of the site. We had to park the car on the grass next to the RV. Power and cell (AT&T) were good. OK for a short stay with no sewer or water. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
We stayed here overnight in a fifth wheel while traveling. Nice clean park. Bathhouse was clean, but fairly long walk from site. Feral cats and raccoon frequented picnic tables. Great flat areas to ride bikes. For those staying several nights, looks like great water activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
Very clean and wide open camp sites. The sites are all paved, back-end pads. Rate is Passport, internet price. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$13
Some sites really are close to the lake. The place is kept beautifully. There are hosts, but not sure what they do. The office was not open at all during the 2 days that we stayed. You are on your own, but not bad as you may pay with cash, check, or credit card. It's a huge park with an abundance of grass. Ohio parks are members of Passport America during the week, so it is a real bargain for 30 amp power for 1/2 of $26. Ohio advertises that there is a 35 foot limit, but when we called we were told at 38 feet there would be no problem. Since there were plenty of sites open, no problem, but it might be on a busy weekend. We would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
This is one of three OH state parks that I have stayed in, and all are about the same. The sites are big and spaced far apart. The landscaping is well done. The electric box is in need of updating but power is reliable. As has happened in other OH state parks they close the restrooms around November 2nd with no notice or warning. All water in the loops is turned off in October. The only fresh water is at the dump station 1/2 mile away, but you have to drive around checking the water faucets to find that out because there is no one here to ask. The restrooms when they were open, were dirty and in need of repair. The only time I saw any employee go in with a broom, they came back out in less than 2 minutes. I know that the states are hard pressed to fund the parks, but if you are going to keep them open you should take care of them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
A nice state park with big sites. Plenty of room between sites and easy to get in. Plenty of shade. Bathroom facilities were good. Good walking trails. Easy check-in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
CG is easy to access. Sites have view of and access to lake. Staff was friendly. Overall the grounds keeping was better than anything else. Restrooms weren't very clean. Store was out of everything two weeks before their end of season. Seems to cater more toward locals who come for the weekend fishing. OK for a night or two on the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This is an OK campground for an overnight stop or a couple of days. Most campers seem to bunch up near where there is a very remote view of the lake, so we were able to get a pretty nice spot away from the crowds. The campsites are fairly level. The spots to get fresh water are in strange places so a little hard to get to for filling a tank. The electrical was OK but could sure use some upgrading. The folks we met in the park were helpful and friendly. The park is very poorly maintained. Not in the campground but it you walk a little ways down the trails there is trash all over. Down by the lake there are trash containers with trash overflowing. This park could use some TLC. We would stay again for a quick overnight or two, but certainly not a destination park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Amazing place for the money. Self registration sites available but limited. Well worth the drive from South Charleston, Ohio. Friendly people and family oriented place. Highly recommended!! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
We live only 30 minutes from this park, so we do come here often for fishing, picnics, or just to walk on the beautiful paved bicycle paths. The lake and the park are lovely. However, my least favorite part of the park is the campground. It's not that there is anything terribly wrong with it, but it just seems that more thought needed to go into its design. The biggest problem for us is the lack of shade. There are some sites with nice shade trees, but very few. Most of the sites are nice sized, and some are quite large. A few sites have a nice view of the lake, as well as some nice large trees on them. Our only other complaint is the lack of toilets. The campground is divided into 2 areas across a road from each other, and there is only one restroom per area. We always have to bring a portable shower tent and toilet with us since we have none in our pop up camper. Our campsite was too far away to walk to the restroom in the middle of the night. There is only one shower house in the area, too, with 3 stalls. There never was a problem with having to wait for one when we used them. And the restroom/shower house was very clean. There is a very nice camper's beach nearby. The lake is beautiful, and the park is very well maintained. You just want to camp here in the spring and fall. The summer heat can be brutal with the lack of shade. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
It has nice size lots. We thought rates were a little high for no water or sewer hookup. There are lots of bugs because of brush. We couldn't get satellite in first spot because of trees. The camp office was very slow because of computer problems. We are staying for six days. We will stay here again because of visiting friends and relatives that live in the area but hope the state will add at least water to the sites soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
Nice average park. Sites are fairly large and level but not a lot of shade available. Some sites have a nice view of the lake, though none are really "waterfront" sites. There is a nice new camp office but the 6YO DD says the playground area could use some TLC. We use this park as our wring-out trip every year because it is so close to home (20 min.) but if it weren't for that, I'm not sure we make a long trip to stay here. It's not a bad park, it's not an exceptional park by our standards. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Freshwater swimming, fishing, and boating in the state park plus shuffleboard, horseshoes, playground and planned activities in the campground. Paved roads with paved pads 20' to 24' long (some with steep drop offs along edge). Nice showers and flush toilets. Every site was filled during our visit - significant outside traffic cruising through the campground areas. Quiet lake - mostly fishing but lots of room for speed boaters. A nice, quiet campground especially with so many people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com