223589 User submitted reviews online!!
Indy Lakes Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (317) 888-6006
CGID8798

Indy Lakes Campground

Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   3   1   9   7   6   6   8   4   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$26
We stayed one night in a 40 ft MH. There is a very large sewage plant across the street, although it didn't smell the night we stayed. The sites are all back in and are gravel. The park is older and is located next to a busy road. The park has two stocked ponds that allow 24 hour fishing by the general public for a fee. There are a lot of non-campers driving thru the park at all hours. The staff is friendly and the fishing / office is open 24 hours a day. Not a park for small children because the ponds are open and have high banks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
The managers are very friendly but sites are short and tight. Sites are level and gravel and close to a busy road. Sites face 2 large stocked ponds. If you love fishing - you will like this park. Note - your campground fee does not cover your fishing permit. You do need to pay extra to actually fish in the ponds. Many locals do come in and set up chairs and poles. Great for fishing - not so much for a relaxing stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$29
We didn't actually stay at this campground. When we pulled in, the campers were too close to each other. One site you could sit at the picnic table and lean your head onto the tipout on the other camper. There were people fishing, as they have ponds, the whole place was very tight. It was clean for the most part, but no room to move. The video online is very deceiving. The luxury suite had campers hooked up all around it. There were a lot of older campers in there that look like they have been there for many years. Over all, we didn't like the "feel" of the place, so left. We found a different one a few miles away that felt safer. Also not sure if it is mentioned, but it costs extra for the Wi-Fi and the cable TV. It's not where I would stay with a family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Indy Lakes is all about the owners. They go out of their way to make sure every one of their customers are taken care of. James is the kind of owner who will come over and help if your rig is having a problem. It's clear many improvements have been make at this parks recently. 50amp service, water, and sewer all functioned very well. Wireless internet signal is very good and their cable is also very good. Great location to the Indianapolis area and would recommend the park to anyone. Big rig access is no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We stayed here on our way back from purchasing our new trailer in Iowa. This campground seems to be geared towards fishermen. The bathrooms were clean, and the staff was friendly. This is a good one night stop. I am not sure if we would stay for multiple days. Location was close to restaurants and interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Just a gravel spot with a lot of monthlies. 2 big fishing ponds. (I would not consider them lakes.) The staff was friendly. There were no fire pits as you are in the city. Locals come there for the catch and release fishing. Competitions on the largest fish run regularly. Would stay if in Indy for a short time. Not what I was expecting from some of the reviews. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$24
This urban park has easily accessed level gravel sites with concrete patios. Utilities, including Wi-Fi, are good; AT&T phone and data service is good in the area; local TV is available by antenna. There is a lot of traffic on the road bordering the park so noise is constant. Many, many non-campers frequent the facility for fishing and add to the congestion and lack of privacy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
A small park, well maintained with many long term residents and many fishing activities in season. Most sites are close to road (but only local traffic, so not too bad). All sites back-in on concrete. Very good internet (T1). Nice walk around ponds. Rate based on weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
It's adequate but I think it's a bit high priced. The check-in staff was pleasant and competent. There is little greenery except trees. The entire area is crushed rock but there are concrete pads at the spaces. The wind was blowing from a sewage treatment plant across the road about 250 yards and it is unpleasant. There is a pay fishing lake in the center of the park that brings in some folks who made us uncomfortable. There are lots of kids but they were well-behaved. Based on stored junk, it appears there are lots of long-termers. Call me snobbish or elitist but based on my three years ov RVing, I'd say it's a "lower class" clientele (and I'm a retired NCO). We wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
We spent 2 nights here. Very convenient to downtown. All spaces are gravel, a bit too close to the neighbors and the road. Most sites are permanent residents. Lots of kids without much room to play. Our coach was hit twice with a softball. The staff was efficient. We will look for another campground next time in Indy. This place was a bit too noisy and close for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
Nice park close to many services. Owners do a great job of maintaining the property. We were able to find space here during the Indy 500 weekend. A big surprise for us. We stayed here five nights and would do it again. If you are using a dish for TV reception, request a site with a clear shot at the southern sky. Beautiful mature trees may block your dish angle. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
We were here in the fall, the campground was sufficiently nice. We were staying here with our 5th wheel while in town visiting our son. I did only a little fishing in the lake and had good luck. I saw many people catching several fish. This park was tidy. It is inside the city limits, since we do not usually camp in the city, the noise was a little more than we were use to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$21
If you like tournament fishing, this is the place for you. There are two small lakes and the campsites are situated around those lakes. The bait shop is also the office and is open 24/7 during the summer season. The sites are mostly back in gravel. Ours was fairly level. Sites are situated in various directions to accommodate as many sites as possible and of different sizes. Some can be fairly close together. The laundry is in the bait shop where there is a pool table. In other words, it is not in a separate building. There are three separate bathrooms which contain a shower in the bait shop. There is a fee for the shower. Wi fi is available for $2 a day. We received a free trial connection good for 24 hours. People fish all day and night. On weekends it is busier and there is a loud speaker that you can hear, but not at night. It is on a fairly busy road and there is traffic noise. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Overall, it was an o.k. park. I'm not sure if we would stay again, but there isn't much to choose from in Indianapolis so we might. Many sites are filled with long term residents I think. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com