224079 User submitted reviews online!!
Erie Islands Resort & Marina was rated 6 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (419) 734-9117
CGID8800

Erie Islands Resort & Marina

Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   4   3   5   6   8   2   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$1
Very nice RV resort. Private membership park that allows ROD and Coast to Coast. Paved main roads with gravel loop roads with level gravel sites. Only a few large trees. Large grass areas between each site. Park well maintained. Weak but usable Wi-Fi signal, full hookups, good Verizon 4G, DirecTV satellite and TV antenna signals, no cable TV. Very small laundry area only one washer. Outdoor and indoor pools, large rec center, video game room, exercise room racquetball courts, and snack bar. On site hotel, condos, rental cabins, and weekend restaurant. Several fishing ponds and access and marina directly into Portage River. Staff friendly but sparse. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
Stayed here on Resort of Distinction (ROD) membership for 7 nights in B section. Lots needed repair including electric and water. Was told water was city, but could not drink or cook with it - heavy chlorine. The rest of park was great. They also were in off season mode. Would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$10
Main road is very good. Camp site roads are gravel and need to be graded. Large drive thru sites. All hook ups worked but are in need of maintenance. Site slightly off level about three inches side to side. We were there 5 nights and every day had a sick acting skunk wonder around the RV's. Brought the skunk info to the maintenance attention and they could care less. The park could use some TLC. Would probably use again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
Stayed for 10 weeks during the summer of 2012. The website makes the resort look more luxurious than it is. A good listing of attractions in the area. They are not connected to social networking. I found most of the online reviews pretty accurate, and would average them out to a two-star destination. Membership resort, so rates vary from member to member. Confusing! They do try to get members to upgrade, but a negative attitude flows, due to the resort going downhill. Close to RT 2. Port Clinton is a water town, and about five miles away. The only thing missing from town is a laundry facility. Went all the way to Fremont for that. The entrance to the resort is beautiful! Problem is security does rounds a few times a day which creates a long line at the entrance. RV sites need a lot of work. Grass kept cut. Nice lakes. Roads good. Facilities are hotel, marina, RV area, recreation building with two pools (in and out), game room, racquetball courts, playgrounds, pool tables, snack bar, store, rental boats, laundry facilities, cottage rentals. Everything is looking run down. Terrible laundry facilities. Dryer out of order the entire stay, in both the RV area and hotel. Pool is nice, but they’ve started a new policy where guests have to go to the entrance every day to get a wrist band. They are also charging $5 for guests. When I asked why the bands were not available at the pool area, I was told, “Too many people were complaining to the employees, so they moved it to security. It was not to inconvenience guests.” Unfortunately, it does! Marina is sadly empty. RV area is run down and electrical units need repair. Putt-Putt area ripped up, non-functional. One racquetball court not up and running two years in a row. Playgrounds okay. Community feeling within resort is non-existent. No activities to bring guests together. Something is wrong here. There does not seem to be communication among the employees. The overall attitude is it’s all about making their job easier, not treating the guests with professionalism to encourage return visits. It’s also odd when making a reservation, they always give the impression the place is full, but in reality it’s empty. No pet parks, but also everyone seems to do a good job of cleaning up after their pets. Great walking areas. It’s free wireless with several towers. Way too slow over the weekends! Otherwise, I was able to watch a video with few slow downs. I have T-Mobile; husband Verizon. Lost a signal every once in a while, but overall no problems. My lasting Impression is something is wrong. Either owners are just not involved or don’t care. I have never seen the manager out and about in two years. Members are as a whole, not happy. They don’t seem to know how to generate profit without hitting their current members. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
Rate is Coast-to-Coast. The sites are all gravel pull-throughs. Sites are spacious - both wide and long. I needed 2 full inches to level side to side. There are few trees and no shade. Laundry consisted of one washer and one dryer. Both cost $2. Restrooms were clean, but they had insufficient heat. The showers were cramped and there were no hooks. Water temperature was impossible to control and the hot water was exhausted after 3 minutes. There was no hot water in the sinks. The water tasted OK, but the hot water did have a faint sulfur odor. Both water spigot and electrical pedestal were in need of maintenance. Free Wi-Fi was so slow it was useless. Guards manned the security gate except in the dead of night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
Nice campground, but had to decrease rating because their electric melted our 30 to 50 amp plug, due to electrical problem on the power station. All the 50 amp sites are taken by annual/seasonal campers, so all that is available for travelers are 30 amp sites. There was a bag over the power station when we arrived to our assigned campsite. We called for maintenance, and their electrician assured us after testing that the power was fine. We hooked up, and it seemed fine, but when we went to disconnect a week later, found that damage resulted to our power converter plug. It was melted and took lots of effort just to remove it from the power station. Thankfully, we have a surge suppressor on our RV, and it protected our RV from damage, so we only had to buy a new 30 to 50 amp plug. Also the water spigot handle was broken; told the maintenance staff about it when they were checking the power when we checked in, but they did nothing. When we left, the water would not turn off, so there was a gusher when we disconnected our water line. They then fixed it for the next camper. The pool complex at this resort is very nice, they have adult only time 9 to 10 AM daily at the indoor pool, spa, and sauna. Very convenient to Lake Erie parks and ferries, also there is a Kroger and Wal-Mart within 10 miles. Seemed to me that maintenance, security, and recreation staff did not really care about serving campers, it was just a "job". Overall, the facilities are much nicer than other campgrounds in the area, so they do well. We stayed through our ROD membership. Would stay here again, with reservations about the electrical. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
Nice. Has large sites with lots of space between rigs. Good facilities: well maintained. One of nicer parks in the area. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We stayed in our Motorhome at this park just after the FMCA Rally in Bowling Green, Oh due to proximity and desire to explore. The staff did not return 2 different calls for reservations till next day. Upon check in, they assigned us a 30amp spot when 50amp was asked for but denied. While hooking up, found several empty 50amp spots in same location and asked guard shack if we could change and we were allowed to do so. Wi-Fi is available but seemingly only at clubhouse. To be fair, the facilities (what we used) seemed very nice. Close to town & Lake Erie activities, but will not return due to attitudes of schedulers and reservation problems. Too many other RV facilities in area for them not to be proactive with traveling campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$1
Nice ROD park. Came closer to deserving the "Resort" designation than many we've seen. The staff was friendly and helpful. Amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, tanning bed, golf course and marina. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
Many of the sites do NOT have sewer connections - we were assigned one of those sites at first and went to reservations to get it changed. We could NOT get a 50 amp site - so suffered in 90+ degree heat with one ac. We would go back because there is so much to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Beautiful park with large sites. They have Wi-Fi even though they do not advertise it. 24 hour guard at gate and pool has lifeguard. Great maintenance and a pleasant staff. This will be a target park for us! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$6
This park is part of the ROD membership system. While the entrance makes a good first impression, the ranger at the check-in station was rude and had their car parked in a spot that made pulling over to check in very difficult. The campsite roads were in poor shape and the campsites were not very well maintained. There are a lot of untidy seasonal sites there which give the campground a very cluttered appearance. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com