206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Markham Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (954) 357-8868
CGID8802

Markham Park

Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   7   9   3   9   7   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$40
This park was a one day layover in route to CB Smith Park. I was assigned a Pull thru site in section F. The first issue I had with section was signage, like other places I have gone, a consultant should be hire to make sure the signage is correct, the entry sign for section F should be placed at the entry of the section, not the exit. This correction would prevent unnecessary trips around the section to get into your assigned site correctly i.e. with the utilities on the correct side of your RV. More attention to trimming the trees in order to prevent damage to our expensive gel coated body paint jobs, don't ask how I know. This appears to be a good job for a volunteer to handle at no expense to the park or county. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
We chose this park due to its proximity to our son's home while visiting for 5 days over the Christmas holidays. It wasn't bad, but there really is not much to do if you aren't there visiting friends or family. The sites are arranged in a circle (5 per ring) and are large, some shady. The biggest problem we had was that the utilities hook ups are spread very far apart from each other. It was a stretch to reach the sewer when the water is hooked up as it was quite distant from the power/water pole. Very awkward set up. The park itself is clean and nice although except for the dog park and the shooting range, nothing else was open. Security is virtually non existent as anyone can come and go as they please through the campground at all hours of the day and night (and camp out) except on the weekends when there are security personnel at the gates. Found this to be odd for the area. There really is no camp store. The registration office only carries ice and firewood and nothing else, so you need adequate transportation to get to groceries and restaurants. Not an unpleasant stay, but we will not be staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
Generally positive experience. Fenced off-leash dog park. Sound of firearms from the target range in the park. Weekends, if there, is an event you have to wait in a sometimes long line at the gate to drive back in to the park. Park office said to make reservations which can be cancelled. That means that even if they have reservations the people may not show up so you never really know about availability. Make reservations and just cancel what you end up not wanting. Secluded, which is both good and bad. Long drive to beaches or Ft. Lauderdale. Pretty good part of town. Right outside the gate is a very affluent area. Still had a rash of car break-ins at the dog park when we were there. Carnies flood the place once a year in winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
This is a wonderful campground within a wonderful park. There is lots of shopping just outside of the gate. They now have a campground host in the winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$40
Found this park not to be really good for anything except for the people of Sunrise using it as a dog park, bike riding or shooting their guns. Pool was not open because the city didn't want to pay for a life guard. The camp sites were not cleaned of excess tree branches etc. Should be used only for scouts maybe, as long as they don't want to swim. We only stayed 2 nights and really wanted to stay in this area for 2 weeks. But for the cost of the site, there was nothing worth staying for, so we moved on farther south. Would not recommend this camp to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$40
This is an excellent park for snowbirds. Just outside the main gate is anything and everything you could want. The campground arrangement is a bit unusual. 9 circles each consisting of 8 - 10 campsites each are arranged along the campground road. Each circle has one paved campsite, the rest are grass. All roads are paved and there are no low hanging tree branches to look out for. Three full service restroom/shower houses are arranged along the campground road. This park is better arranged for RVs but tents are accommodated well. A very friendly campground host is present during the snowbird season to arrange various activities for the campground. Security service patrols the entire park throughout the night. We would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$40
Nice campground with older facilities, but recommend people avoid sites E-6 and E-7 due to the overwhelming quantity of bird droppings. At the moment E-7 looks to have a long term resident. If you choose E-6, try to position your rig as close to the front of the site so that you minimize the number of limbs your rig is under. The earlier warnings of tight turns and unusual entry should be heeded, but they are manageable. Strong air card & cell phone signal here. You can hear the firing range, but it's not bothersome. Great entertainment watching the radio controlled aircraft. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This is a nice park. It has a very unusual entry, which is paved but makes very sharp bend to the left. This is just a caution not a problem. Sites are paved asphalt, are level. Lot of space between sites. They have a great dog park. One for large dogs and one for small dogs. This is open to all the public, not just the campground. They have a lot of things you can do here. They have a mountain bike trail, a place to fly model airplanes, soccer fields. No problem with shore services, no trees so no problem for Directv. Enough room to park the truck by the trailer. No problem with AT&T Cell and Verizon air card worked well. Only thing I would like to see improved is the way the sites are arranged in a circle and improve the asphalt in the sites. Some places are hard to get around and the asphalt needs to be improved. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
Large, multi-use park, spread out nicely. Has wide paved roads, but mostly grass sites. Ours was rough with trash from previous campers. Not much landscaping. Nearby shooting range and channel with speed boats can be annoying. Price is very high for amenities. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$40
This is a well run County park and the $40 fee reflects a non-resident. Our site was L5 and was heavily treed, no satellite reception here. The roads are paved with sand parking areas which have a picnic table, grill and fire ring. This is a big facility with lots of walking areas. The one caution is the very active shooting range which goes on until about 8 PM. No problem with guns, but it is a bit on the noisy side. The park is very convenient to the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$41
Not a lot of scenery for the RV area, but it met all the needs. We stopped over night to visit family. it is a 666 acre park at the edge of Everglades Conservation Area. It has a model airplane field, tennis/racket ball, biking & jogging trail, swimming pool w/ mist pool, snack bark, lockers & showers. Lakes for fishing and boating. Nature & equestrian trails. Picnic areas w/ tables & grills. Also a large dog park, and a target range. The pictures show a "green" park, but it was rather barren when we were there. But close to Ft. Lauderdale and easy on/off the freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
We are staying here now and will be here 3 months. Rate is $30 for county residents. Pets are $1 more per night per pet. Two vehicles per site are allowed. Full hook-ups with nice large sites. Would have rated this a 10 if they had more trees, but thanks to hurricanes the last 5 years, lots of sites have no trees. But you are on a canal and we get lots of breezes from the west. The Everglades are just other side of the berm. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
A very nice campground with tons of amenities including an enclosed dog park/walk, hiking trails, boating/jet ski canals, and great views of the Everglades (if you hike up the dike). In the off season you can stay here monthly (which we are doing). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
$20 rate is for Broward County residents, otherwise $25 per night. This is a gem of a county park. Too bad 2 weeks is the limit. They do have some sites for longer stays but we were just visiting friends in the area. Very quiet and daily trash pickup. We had a back in site with a view of the canal. Levee blocks the view of the Everglades but there is access to the levee you can walk on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
We were pleasantly surprised by this state park. Although we would have liked more trees, the park was nicely paved with level sites and full hook ups. The park was quiet and felt quite safe. the dog park was an added bonus. We'd camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com