223200 User submitted reviews online!!
Buckboard Crossing - Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (435) 784-3483
CGID8808

Buckboard Crossing - Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   9   8   6   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$13
This is a national forest campground adjacent to a privately-owned marina right on the Flaming Gorge/Green River. Wind break/shade shelters; some trees for natural shade. We paid $13 per might with Golden Age Passport. Great value. Ranger station on site; but not manned during the two days we were there. Campground host available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$13
This can be confusing. There are TWO options here: a privately run RV park known as Buckboard Marina, and the Ashley National Forest Service Buckboard Crossing Campground. We selected the FS site, (the first one you see on your right) with electric only, for $13 per night, using Golden Age Access card. The private park appears to have more amenities for a higher price, but we only needed a level place with elec for one night. This is an older cg, but each site has a table in a wind shelter. CG host greeted us with a friendly smile and offered info about the area. Showers and bathrooms are very aged concrete structures but as clean as possible. Sites are gravel and fairly level, with plenty of space between. Beautiful views, not many trees. We would stay here again. Below is the description from the USDA website, for clarification. Buckboard Crossing Campground: Located 20 miles from Green River, Wyoming on Highway 530. 68 single units, shower building, some electrical sites, potable water, restrooms, paved road, cabanas with picnic tables, fire rings and grills. Access to lake via boat ramp. High desert terrain, few trees. Rates $18-$22/single site. Reservations taken by www.recreation.gov or by calling 877-444-6777, some 1st come 1st serve sites are available in each loop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
Nice campground with electrical and water only. I think this campground could be dusty when busy, but if people would slow down that would help. Then again, I think most of them live on dirt roads anyway. Oh yes I would come back to this campground. Was very pretty with the Gorge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$8
Buckboard is a US Forest Svc / Bureau of Reclamation CG, operated by Flaming Gorge Corp., and reservations can be phoned in or via internet for 68 sites, both tent and RVs. CG located on west side of Flaming Gorge reservoir, more or less in the middle of nowhere, and each site is a few minutes walk from the lake. Sites are $16.00 or Golden Access $8.00, plus $4.00 for electric. We chose non-electric, and use a 45 watt solar panel kit to keep the TT battery charged while dry camping. Two loops, one no electric and one w/ half electric and water. CG built on level desert meadow, some pull-through sites (off the road), some with nice long back-ins, all level with fresh gravel. I was able to leave my TV connected to TT for a short 1 night stay. Each site had picnic table, lean-to (to shade from west sun), and fire ring (impossible to use with the constant wind). Sites were well-spaced, no crowding. Grass around the sites, no bare dirt; some scrubby trees (it’s a desert environment), and beautiful views of the nearby lake. Elevation is 6,100 feet. One loop had an older bathroom with flush toilets, cold water sinks, and water faucet (threaded) in front, electric heater and hand drier. The newer bathroom had the same, plus very nice hot showers (free for campers). Cell phone reception was poor (Verizon), and there are no pay landlines. Was very quiet. Saw a herd of mule deer grazing in the morning. Note that there is no nearby access to groceries, gas, or Starbucks; but there is a marina. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
This was a lovely forest campground with friendly hosts and large sites. Our rate was with our National Access discount with $4 for electric. The water and dump station is at the entrance. There is a marina and boat launch nearby. Cell phone service was spotty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$8
The rate reflects a non electric, senior pass. This gave us a chance to explore the area, and our 10 day stay was enjoyable, but there are some things that need to be addressed. The signage is confusing. The Marina has a full service campground, and the Ashley Forest campground entrance is confusing. The signs all say register at the Marina, but that is for the full service campground. Also, the Forest service hosts are not in the campground, but about 600 yards away. If you want any information, it requires a drive to their site. They only patrol the campsite a few times per day, and you can ignore any rules. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Very confusing. There are two Buckboard campgrounds. One appears to be operated by Ashley National Forest. It is the first one on the right. We drove through it and there appeared to be no hookups. We called the phone number in our directory, and they said to come by the store. A completely different concession operation is run from the store. It is full hookup and behind that location. Staff was, well, all business and out to make money. We were led to our campsite, and the host was friendly. Showers were, if I recall, $4, or $3 with your own towel. (I wonder if they charge for brushing my teeth, with a discount for using my own toothpaste?) Sites were gravel, but leveled. Appeared to be many people there for the summer. Adjacent to the marina. Desert setting. Many rabbits. We would not camp here again because it really had nothing to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com