221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Amicalola Falls State Park & Lodge was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (706) 265-4703
CGID881

Amicalola Falls State Park & Lodge

Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   2   7   7   9   8   8   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
This has to be one of the prettiest state parks that I have visited. The waterfalls, hiking trails, visitors center and even the lodge were great. I would fully recommend that you visit here on a day trip or experience what this park has to offer. When you arrive at the campground you quickly realize that this is not run by the state of Georgia. It is run by a private company. They are obviously not spending money on the campground. The roads around the campground are washed and rutted badly. Many of the water valves at the campsite are leaking and will not shut off. Customer service at check-in is marginal at best. There was a mix up with our phone reservation and when I got there to check in they would not honor what they had said. They were very unresponsive and uncaring about their mistake. Its too bad. This could be one of the nicest campgrounds around if they took care of it. Also, please note that the drive up to the campground is steep. There are warning signs of a 25% grade. If you are not confident in your tow vehicle I would recommend you find another campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
Pro:Trails, Forest Cons: Minimally maintained, no camphost, 24 HR security not true, very unlevel sites, bathrooms sub par, electrical power at sites inconsistent 20-50amp, only 1 site 50 amp, #23; road in campground in need of major repair; If you come in with 35'+ motorhome or trailer, only 3 sites leveling doable. Private Company took over management a year ago and are doing nothing with campground; Actually had a family shooting pellet gun at bottles in middle of campground. Too bad, I have been a regular at this park, no more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
I didn't stay at this park but did a drive through just to check it out. The park looks nice but I won't be camping there because of the road up. There's are signs warning of 25% grades and they aren't kidding. If you're pulling a trailer I'd suggest dropping it somewhere and driving up to the campground for a look. I did see one Class A up there but it was the camp host's and had the first site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
I usually rate state parks in general an "8" but this one needed maintenance to the sites. The gravel needs to be attended as it has deep ruts on the pads...kids & my parents tripped several times. Otherwise, the state park trail system is one of the best I have ever used and the restaurant at the lodge was very good. Not excellent, but very good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Nice campground, and the scenery is nice, but it is small. The lodge restaurant is a little pricey, if you were to consider eating there. The visitor's center staff were very helpful. The park was very busy all weekend and this is the season for the AT Thur Hikers beginning their hike. Trails were very busy. The only downside to this campground on this visit was the shower drains were not draining properly and the hot water did not stay hot very long. We told the staff about the shower drain, but it wasn't fixed when we left the next day. All in all, great park though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
The falls were beautiful, as were the trails leading to them. The campsite was clean and only slightly crowded. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
This was a very nice park we were surprised at how nice it was. All the sites are large and very nice back in's but with plenty of room to maneuver. The main activity is hiking but the hiking views were very nice. People were very friendly and everything was kept up well. It rained (actually poured) while we were there and the campsites drained impressively well. There is one area on the trip up the mountain where the campsites are that I began to wonder if my 37 foot V10 was going to make or not and several people I talked to said the same thing about the same area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
The campsites are very well developed with very wide spaces and privacy supplied by retainer walls built with railroad ties. It was hard to pick out the prettiest site. The picnic area is as nice as anyone would want their own patio to be. Even though it was March and it snowed, there were some tent campers there and it surprised us that they stayed. But the park is designed in such a way you can set your tent to be away from the elements. The hotel, restaurant, and gift shop at the top of the mountain are beautiful. We loved this state park and we're from Texas! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
Yes, the entrance road is very, very steep. Also, the road in the campground has a sharp and steep curve at the end. But, once you get up there, it's great! We stayed in site 5 and had to go around the loop backwards to be able to back in. That site is near the cabins and hangs off the side of a hill, like many of the sites. Just a short walk to the falls. Staff is extremely courteous. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
Beautiful camping large lots clean gravel areas with grill and fire pit.We sat outside until 11:30-12:00 and enjoyed the fire and know one bothered us.Dogs loved it ! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
First and most importantly, there is a 25% steep grade going up to the campsite. Take note if you are concerned with your transmission or ability of your rig to pull up the mountain. It is a beautiful place. Sites are well maintained. All in all a nice place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$24
This park is one of the most beautiful in the state of Georgia. There are only 24 sites and each one is very private. All sites have a grill and a fire ring and they are very roomy. The bath houses are spotless and the Park Rangers plan a variety of activities on the weekends. The park is very quiet and the hosts are friendly and helpful. There is a field where kids can play and you can get a basketball or horseshoes from the hosts. The campground is part of a state park with a lodge nearby and picnic facilities and a playground at the bottom of the mountain. While you can reserve a spot at the campground, only one specific site can be reserved and you must be handicapped to reserve that site. Otherwise, you pick your own site on a first come first serve basis. The only thing this campground needs to be perfect is sewer connections. It is a hike to the dump station from most sites. Be sure to explore the nearby towns of Dahlonega and Ellijay if you stay at this park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
One of the most beautiful campground I have seen. Each site had to be created on the site of the mountain, has a treated wood fence and is fairly large. Restrooms are old and could use a refreshing, but were adequate. Pleasure camping there and would return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2004
$19
This park is in the north Georgia mountains and the beginning of the Appalachian Trail. It has a very steep incline (25% grade) at the entrance. We have a 36 ft. motorhome and were able to enter and exit with no problems. The campground has been recently completely remodeled and now offers larger sites for big rigs. All of the sites have wooden patios and sit on the side of the mountain with beautiful views. There is a lovely lodge that has a very nice restaurant. The falls are beautiful and offer several hiking options (easy to very difficult). We were here Thanksgiving weekend and the weather was not very cooperative (rainy, windy, and very cold). Although there was no cable hookup, we were able to use our satellite and also got several stations with our antenna. We will definitely return and plan to do so during October to take advantage of the lovely fall foliage. Sewer would have gotten this park a 10 rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com