214822 User submitted reviews online!!
La Mesa RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 52 user reviews. Phone: (505) 215-0712
CGID8834

La Mesa RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   10   5   8   8   5   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
Basic campground. Pull thru sites. Friendly owner. Weekly rate cash only. WIFI OK. Tree shaded sites. About half the sites are long term workers but we had no problems with them. Good spot for four corner exploration. Mesa Verde, Hovenweep, Monument Valley, Goosenecks SP and so on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$19
Park is a decent value at the Passport America rate, though you will be assigned to the "Overflow" area, in our experience. Had a fiasco day: Upon arrival, told to wait or go sightsee til load of gravel could be brought and spread for this "site". Came back much later, not ready. Sent to a shaded site that was going to be given to TWO campers coming in later. (Most of the park is for residents.) It was 93 degrees, we hooked up electric, then were told about 6 PM to move to the overflow,which we discovered had no promised hookups...so pulled nose in, and stretched cords to neighbor's power box. Site was in full sun, though level. Manager was a nice lady but not juggling things well. There is a nicer park closer to town ,with large shade trees, and a WalMart as well. Won't be back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
This campground was a wonderful surprise to us. The owner was very pleasant and helpful during registration and our entire 9-day stay. The owner/manager continues to upgrade and improve the park which includes wide spaces and parking for the extra vehicle we were towing behind our 40' 5th wheel. This is a very quiet campground right on the edge of town and close to the Four Corners, Mesa Verde and numerous other sites for the entire family to visit. We will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
The owner wouldn't accept Passport America because she was busy and didn't need to discount 50%. This is a $20 a night campground with 50% long term workers/travelers. Electric and cable were good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
Good location on the edge of Cortez, quiet and private. Wi-Fi and AT&T phone service was excellent and the staff went out of their way to help me since I had to stay a few months. I didn't give it a 5 star because they don't have a pool :) but the bathrooms and laundry were clean and the sites are pretty level. I will definitely stay here again if I return to Mesa Verde! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
The rate is an average of PPA for one night, then Escapees for the second. The lady who checked us in was friendly and efficient. Both nights of our stay in Cortez saw temperatures drop below freezing – not unheard off, but unseasonably cold. I'd call this park “handy.” The Walmart is a couple of minutes down the street. There are many restaurants and other businesses quite nearby. There are lots of scenic and historical places nearby but the biggie is Mesa Verde National Park – the entrance is just nine miles to the east. We'd be glad to stay here again (and hope for warmer weather)! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$38
My rates - Passport America (2 nights only) $20 each - 3rd night Good Sam $34 - regular rate $38 (all tax incl.). Without the discounts it's a bit high for a bare bones park but good location for Mesa Verde and museums. Cable only at some sites and I got no discount for a non-cable site. WiFi worked well and hookups were fine. Directly next to a service station with bright lights but sites are level and host is pleasant. Will have some nice shade in the summer with leaves on the trees. And careful, don't miss the entrance - it's small. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
We stayed at La Mesa from November 11th through the 19th of 2013 while visiting Mesa Verde and the Canyon of the Ancients. I stayed in the park back in 2006 as well. The park has upgraded power to all the sites (50 Amp everywhere) and has the best Wi-Fi I've seen in any park. Additionally the park owner redesigned the park making many large pull-through sites on one side of the park. They've really put a lot into the upgrades. The park owner / manager is extremely helpful and if you're looking for things to do in the area she has a list of suggestions. It's a small family run park, and family oriented (no loud neighbors, etc). We will visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
A small park, price is with Good Sams discount, includes an extra $1 for 50 amp...only cash or check no credit cards accepted, but that wasn't a problem...gravel sites but very spacious. The owner is lovely and is very, very helpful and friendly. Good Wi-Fi. Convenient for local shops and for Mesa Verde National Park. Would certainly recommend this campsite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
Nice small park, very friendly and helpful lady in office. We had a large back in gravel site. Wi-Fi and cable TV were very good. Quiet well kept park, we would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
All of the previous reviews speak the truth. The only thing I can add is that the promoted discounts (GS, AARP, etc) do not apply to the advertised weekly rate. A quiet, yet busy park, so make reservations. Rate based on weekly price of $191 and change. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$16
Small RV park – not a resort. Entrance on Hwy 160 at east edge of town. Paved roads and gravel sites with tables and trees. Campground nice, quiet with wide sites. Has partial and full hook up sites and new upgraded electric. No game room, no club house, no pool, has a small kids playground and small laundry. Free protected Wi-Fi. Good Verizon cell and 4G signal in the area, cable TV with 50 channels. Direct satellite dish signal only ok at most sites. Owner friendly and very helpful and park accepts pets. Good place for a base to explore area. Would stay there again. Cost listed is for Passport for only two nights then accepts GS but not C2C, RPI or ROD. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
The woman in the office was very friendly and helpful. The park was clean and quiet. TV reception with an antenna was very good, and the Internet connection was good. Cable TV is available at most sites, but not ours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
The lady who checked us in was very helpful, friendly and personable. This is a very clean park with gravel roads and sites. There is green grass and trees next to the main road leading into the park. We had a full hookup with electric, water, and sewer. We were amazed at how many TV channels we could pick up with an amplified digital antenna. There were lots of pull-through sites, which were long and wide. It is very quiet and close to numerous restaurants. We plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
This is a very neat, well-kept RV park. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Good shade. Quiet place. Even long term units are kept neat. Very convenient to town and Mesa Verde National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$17
Passport America park. Gravel sites are nice and level. Utilities have recently been upgraded and are solid. Management has four work campers for 38 spots and is working hard on upgrades. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$23
We stayed here for several days. Edge of town, convenient to shopping, Mesa Verde, etc. Management was wonderful, site was level and it is quiet. No TV but everything else was find. Enjoyed our stay, would go again. Passport America: we had a back in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
Small, quiet, clean, nice park. Close to town and the many surrounding attractions. The owner was very friendly and helpful with any questions. Shower facilities were excellent. Sites were large and a picnic table was provided. Overall, we'd stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
The park is newly refurbished, large pull-thru sites, office staff very friendly. Quiet and conveniently located to all town activities. Would stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
We stay here on our PA discount for two nights and extended an additional night to finish viewing the Mesa Verde Park. This is a quiet park, clean, and friendly owner. The facilities were being updated during our stay. We did use the toilets and laundry and it was very clean. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$26
Nice clean park on the edge of town. RV park is quiet. Sites were large & level with plenty of room to maneuver the RV. Restrooms & showers were very clean. Owner was very nice & helpful. Will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Restrooms and laundry now open and clean. Only one washer and dryer. Very friendly and helpful staff that knows the area well. Very convenient for visiting Mesa Verde NP and other sites. Rate reflects Passport America (2 nights only), but they also have a weekly discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$19
Very small park at the east end of Cortez. Some pull-throughs that can accommodate big rigs. Sites are not too wide and so rigs are very close to each other. No showers or toilets. Owners in the process of rebuilding. Close to all the local attractions. Sites are gravel and mostly level. Rate reflects PA discount. Lovely views out our back window of San Juan mountains. Adequate basic campground, no frills. We would return and would recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$17
Bathroom and shower facilities were under construction and not available. Sites were fairly level. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$19
This park is small, but a nice quiet park. It has all gravel with shade trees, picnic tables and wide sites. The park put in new gravel and 50 amp service this summer. Wi-Fi and Verizon were great and we were in the site farthest from the front. It is an excellent park for visit Mesa Verde, Hovenweep, Four Corners, Durango and Telluride. We stopped for two nights with Passport and then decided to stay a week on their weekly rate--a great stop to visit Southwestern Colorado. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
This is great park to stay while touring the surrounding area. The owner will take time to fill you in on the many attractions. The park has all new 50amp electric, sewer, and water lines. The sites are level, large, and shade if you so desire. The trees are cut plenty high, so you won`t scratch your rig. No cable, but we got over 80 channels using the antenna. Verizon was good, and no problem picking up Direct TV. We have a 42ft motorhome and no problem parking. Rate is Passport America. We were there 2 days and will sure stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$19
A nice little park on the eastern edge of town nine miles from Mesa Verde National Park entrance. Owner is very friendly and helpful. Knows the area and shares what is worth visiting and doing. The town has a couple of really good (and affordable) eateries. The park itself is basic. Water pressure in the showers is great. Restrooms are spotless. Sites are plenty wide enough and WiFi was generally responsive. Had trouble with TV reception, but I know others had no problems. Overall a good, clean, safe place to stay for a few days. Pull through sites fine for 38 ft RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
Large level gravel sites with shade trees to the side. Very clean bathrooms and laundry (one each washer/dryer). Bath/laundry has not been renovated like the rest of the park, it sort of 'primitive'. Lots of over the air TV. Strong WI-FI signal but often slow throughput. Friendly owner who provides lots of information about the area. Great city dog park close by. Groceries and Walmart nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
This is a great small park with level gravel sites. If you visited in the past give it another try since the utilities were upgraded this summer. The park is clean and near a super Wal-Mart, Safeway, and Walgreen's and only 9 miles from the Mesa Verde turn off and about 40 miles from the Four Corners monument. The rate reflects the Passport discount with FHU and internet. Antennae picks up some local channels. The entrance is next to the Conoco gas station, so don't miss it. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
This is a small, urban RV park with little in the way of amenities. They have clearly done some upgrades because the pull-through sites are new gravel, large and flat and the electric is new. I looked inside the bathhouse and they could really use a new one, but we didn't need it so it wasn't a problem for us. Nice shade trees on each site. For being so close to the road, it was very quiet. The location is excellent if you are going to Mesa Verde NP (8 miles to entrance) and there's plenty of shopping available in Cortez. We'd definitely stay here again on our way through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
We really enjoyed our 3 nights here. The manager couldn't have been more pleasant. We had a long pull-through with some shade. Quiet nights in spite of main highway. All hook-ups & Wi-Fi worked properly. Park was very clean and a lot of work was being done to make this a more comfortable location. Nothing fancy or I would have rated higher. No credit cards taken but there are banks and ATM'S all over the town. Wal-Mart of course. Some very scenic drives to the west and to the north. We would definitely stay here again. Price was Passport America. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
This is a basic RV park that has just been updated with 50 amp service at all sites and now has long pull-throughs. The back-in sites are also long enough to handle a big rig. Easy getting in and out of park. Awesome lady in the office that is so helpful and very informative regarding the town and knows the area very well. This park is a good location to see Mesa Verde National Park and the surrounding Indian ruins. We compared all the parks close to this one on our first day in town and decided to stay here a month because this park rates right up there with all the other parks but this one has lower rates and nicer front desk people. Select a site in the back of the park and it will be very quiet for sleeping. Only thing this park lacks is a pool and more laundry machines. Wi-Fi was good. We recommend this park and will definitely return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
A very friendly check-in by the new lady manager. This park is a no frills park, but evidently has had some major renovation in the last few months according to some folks who return on an annual basis. A nice turning lane to enter the park from either direction. Long enough level pull-throughs for our 43' MH with toad. Water pressure,new 50A electric and sewer location were fine and it was quiet at night. There are some nicely shaded sites. No playground stuff or swimming pool, but clean and neat and the new young couple running it seem to be be working hard every day to constantly improve things. New free Wi-Fi only covers the front half of the park at this time. Laundry was small, as were the showers, but very clean. There is a camp host, as the owners don't stay overnight. Check or cash at this time, but said they would be set up to take credit cards in a few weeks. We also found diesel fuel 10 miles south on Hiway 160 at the Native casino truck stop 40 cents a gallon cheaper than in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
Nice folks at the desk, but the park could use some work. I would not let my dogs into the dog run for fear of them getting lost in the overgrown brush. No Wi-Fi at the sites. It was very muddy when it rained. We used PA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
Price reflects PA discount. Small park- nothing fancy-right in town, close to Wal-Mart, restaurants, etc and close to Mesa Verde Park and other attractions. We stayed a week- spaces were large enough for our 38 ft fifth wheel, and there were several large MH's there as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
The sites were level. There were trees for shade at each site. A picnic table and fire pit were at each site. There were a few permanent RV's. but most were like us - just there for a few nights. It is centrally located for visiting the local sites: Mesa Verde, Lowry Pueblo, Hovenweep. Shopping was convenient. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$19
Nice, no frills campground. Easy back in site was level, with nice view out back window of our rig. Lady in office was very friendly and helpful with information of area and Mesa Verde National Park. Campground is close to Walmart, Walgreens, grocery stores and Mesa Verde National Park. We camped here 2 nights and will return when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$19
Nice front desk rep during the daytime-- very helpful with tourist information. However, that was really the only thing positive about this park. It's a dump. Dated and poorly maintained. Trashy trailers at a few sites. Many sites not level. But the topper is that no one appears to be on duty at night. I returned to my site after nightfall to find 2 homeless men sitting at my picnic table and they spent the night in their truck next to my site. They were gone in the morning before the manager arrived. Unless you have PA and will only be staying 1 night-- try the other RV parks in town. They are in much better shape than this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$16
Very helpful and cordial owner. Nice, simple RV park. Wide sites. Can't put a finger on it but we just felt comfortable there. We stayed 2 extra days because we liked it. We used Passport America for the discount rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Rate reflects weekly price. Campground is on outskirts of Cortez and is very close to Mesa Verde National Park. There are many other things to do in the area. We had a full hook-up site with 30 amp. Free Wi-Fi, but it works only close to office. Sites are spacious with some shade. Has gravel with a concrete pad and a vinyl covered picnic table; nice extras. Woman in office was very friendly and helpful with area information. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$19
We had a very pleasant, quiet stay at this park and would probably stay here again. Good value for the PA rate of $19. Good location for exploring Mesa Verde NP. It's a family run park and the manager was very helpful with local sights and gave us good suggestions for our route. The park has shared 30 amp hookups. Our power cord wouldn't quite reach the 30 amp plug at the adjacent site, but the manager loaned us an extension cord which worked fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
We stayed at LaMesa as a result of a route change. Yes the sites are a bit close but the staff was wonderful. Thanks to her we saw dancing and a pottery display at the Cortez Cultural center. The park is certainly as nice as some of the Good Sam parks that are twice the price, our rate does reflect Passport America. There is so very much to do around Cortez, with Mesa Verde and its museum. We would definitely return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
This park is a little run down, but we stayed here because it is a park on the Passport America campgrounds. The sites are all gravel, pretty close together and not really level. We never saw who was actually running the park, we just left money in an envelope. I would not like to stay here again, but if I had to it would make do for a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
This park is just outside of town and right off the highway. There was no noticeable road noise in the area of the park we were in. It is an older, small park and all sites are back-in. We had someone in the office when we arrived and she was very helpful in giving some information on the local activities and directions to the national parks. The Passport rate is about all this park is worth in my opinion. Seems the very few rigs that are here for a season, are in spaces most others would not want. Seems most everyone we talked to are here for up to a week to see the area and then moving on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Manager friendly but campground run-down. Pet policies are not enforced, even after we complained - several dogs run off leash, bother other campers, aren't cleaned up after. Our last night here, after staying a week, we were advised by a man who appears to live here permanently that we were not to walk our dog on the grass - first time we heard of that policy. We always keep our dog on a leash and pick up her messes and here we're told this after stepping over other 'landmines'. We will never stay here again and do not recommend it at all, despite the convenience to Mesa Verde and town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$16
We stayed 2 nights. The cost was $16.00 for Passport America members. The management was not on site. We had to pick our own campsite. There was no one around to assist or answer questions. Sites were dirt and a bit muddy, but mostly level. The showers were clean but a little small. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$14
This is a small park with lots of trees. The sites are a little tight. Location to visit Mesa Verde is great. Road noise is not a problem here although you are on the main road to town. We camped here 2 nights in a 36 footer. Staff was helpful in assisting us to our site. The above rate represents the Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$28
Good location at the intersection of US 160 and Colorado 145. Close to WalMart and various restaurants. Monthly Rate $375.00 Could use cable and Internet to attract customers We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$14
Rate reflects Passport America rate. Normal rate $28 per night. Definitely an older park. Easy access in and out. All spaces back-in, and quite a few big rigs comfortably in their spaces. It appears that some of the spaces have newer power poles, but they are placing two sites on one pole which means that the right hand site will have to run your power cord under the rig to get to the power pole. If your cord is long enough, no problem. Good power and very good water pressure. No frills park. Below average restrooms, and laundry facility was just one washer and one dryer, but worked fine. Some road noise, and the closer you are located to the road, and if your on the left side of the park, the more chance that the 24 hour gas/convenience store on the other side of the fence will have some noise. Try to get on the right side as you enter, as it backs up to an empty field, and a little quieter. It's OK for an overnight or two, and if your able to get the Passport America rate, but if you're having to pay the full $28 then there are definitely better choices in Cortez. Park is convenient to restaurants and within a mile of Wal-Mart. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
We stayed here a week ($105 weekly rate) older park had good wi-fi it was a little run down but we didn't spend much time in the park as we were taking in all the sights in the area. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
We stayed using Passport America. Two nights at $13 and one at $26. Older ark and sites are not too level but can be dealt with. Actually I managed to get a level site. Not fancy but the right side of the park faces an open field so it's pretty quiet. Nice cottonwoods for shade and the satellite dish was ok. We were in site 37. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Basic simple park with no real amenities other than free wi-fi. About 30 years old and in need of attention. On the east edge of Cortez and convenient to town and Mesa Verde. It's an OK place to park -- and we ended up staying a week -- but it's no frills. Staff is very friendly and knows the area. Be sure to visit the new Anasazi Heritage Center in Dolores 10 miles north. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com