221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Ellsworth AFB FamCamp (Military Camping Only) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (605) 385-6699
CGID8841

Ellsworth AFB FamCamp (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   9   10   7   8   9   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
Stayed here 3 weeks. Great place to tour all the Black Hills sights and the Badlands. They have a great pool and exercise equipment at the gym, nearby. Golf course below average. They are adding new pull-through sites. There will be 21 in all. We stayed in that area and the last several days heavy equipment at 6:30 am. The bathhouse and laundry are in the older section about 1000 ft from the pull-throughs. The woman who runs the park is super nice. Would be nice when you checked in if they let you know what county you're in due to many storm warnings in the area. Sun comes up at 5:15 AM. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
We stayed in the new section which does have pull through spaces. Nice campground. Older section has plenty of grass and space between the sites. New section doesn't have huge trees but having a pull-thru makes up for it. I should mention that we were there for the blizzard. It was quite an experience and my husband dug us out so we could go on our way. We also were there during the shut-down so the base didn't have normal services. But all-in-all I would recommend Ellsworth and we'll be back again w/o the snow! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
This is an excellent military campground. We were able to make reservations and the campground manager was friendly. Sites have a concrete parking pad with a picnic table and typical campground type grill. Utilities worked well and Verizon cell and broadband was also excellent. Nice Commissary and Exchange. Mini Mart and fuel station (with diesel) located right across from the campground. However, you can find lower diesel prices outside the base. Most sites were satellite friendly. This is not a place to deploy your awning though. It is very windy, even if you tie it down. You can enter at any gate that is open as we entered the main gate with no problem. There appear to be some homesteaders. We loved this place and will return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Great place to stay. Sites are level although the grass needed mowing while we were there. We stayed 8 days. Good location to stay if you're visiting Mt Rushmore and other tourist attractions. Camp host was very, very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
We enjoyed past visits here and were looking forward to a stay in the new area, which has long concrete pull-thrus. As opposed to the old area with paved interior roads and grassy sites, the new area for now at least, has gravel roads, and no shade or grass. Weeds have been allowed to grow unchecked and some are over 2' tall and have to be waded through to get to your entry door. Hopefully the sites will be landscaped when the rest of the construction is finished. No cable TV, but good broadcast and clear shot to the satellites. Verizon cell and aircard worked well, as did the park free Wi-Fi. A quiet base, Ellsworth has a good commissary and marginal BX, and provides security and a nice place to stay while visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
Nice park. Wi-Fi is very weak. Sites are concrete and level. Laundry is available. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Host was friendly and very accommodating. Wi-Fi was poor due to recent windstorm damages. I recommend this place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
This in an excellent military campground. Close to the access gates, with paved roads and pads, and some shady sites. Friendly and helpful hosts, good hookups, and convenient to the BX/Commissary. Rate is $20 with seventh night free. A popular place, get here early in the day if you want a site; they don't take reservations. Diesel at the nearby base service station was $.22 cheaper than the Flying J, and there was easy access to the pumps. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
What a nice park. Level sites, concrete pads, picnic tables, bbqs at each site. The camp hosts are incredible people. Wi-Fi is good, AT&T cell phone reception is good also. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Second time we stayed here. Great location for so many national parks/monuments and a host of other attractions and well located on the base near all the amenities (BX/Commissary/Fitness Ctr/gas station). Rate is less if your stay is over a week with one night free. Well maintained, good camp hosts, concrete slabs, not really close to your neighbor even if the camp is full. Definitely would stay here again in the future - wish they would accept reservations though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
We stayed one night in the overflow area. After sitting through a 10 minute briefing delivered by a very stressed camp host, who hammered the Base Commander's stance on safety and security ("watch out for the SPs, watch out for fires, watch out for hail, watch out for tornadoes" and so on) we were sent over the to overflow area in the hope we would get a regular site the next day. Interestingly, the overflow area backs right up to a very unsafe environment. An open field with 3-4 foot tall dry grass, which is a fire waiting to happen in that SD high wind environment. After that uptight briefing from the camp host and spending a night at the edge of hades known as Overflow, we were happy to get off Ellsworth the next day and find a campsite in south Rapid City at a cooler, much more relaxed campground that is closer to everything and only for $2 more a day. As a proud Air Force retiree, I will certainly stay at other military campgrounds in the future, but not Ellsworth AFB. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
We have stayed here before but this time they have a campground host which is a nice feature. That way you're not all over the base trying to check in. The campground is nicely maintained with a concrete slab, patio and picnic table along with a bar-b-q. We would definitely stay here again if ever in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
This is a FamCamp site restricted to military families. It is well maintained, convenient to base services with friendly staff and a good anchor location for visiting the Black Hills, the Badlands, and other sites in the area. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Nice place to stay if you have military privileges. Sites are well spaced apart, level concrete spaces, with grass all around, picnic table and BBQ at each site; very quiet. Laundry was clean and much cheaper than most parks. Good central location for visiting local tourist attractions. Friendly, helpful camp host. Availability is a first-come, first served basis -- no reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com