214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Utah Lake State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (801) 375-0731
CGID8846

Utah Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
71
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   5   10   7   6   7   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
We had a pull-through site with water and electric. Blacktop sites and roads. Nice big sites picnic tables with canopies. Nice views of the lake and some mountains. The lake is pretty big. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
We shared a two-site space with family. There was more than enough room for both vehicles - a 40' motorhome and a pickup/camper. As others have noted, be prepared for the bugs. Our screened-in bug tent fit right under the site's picnic table canopy allowing us to sit outside during the day and evening and enjoy our meals - bugless! Campground host (a full-time RVer like us) was very friendly and stopped by to notify us of problems and fixes with the water system. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
As others have mentioned, the bugs here can be pretty intense. We enjoyed our stay here. The sites are well spaced, and it was very quiet during the week. Lots of opportunities for boating and water activities. Our Verizon MiFi has worked well here. The scenery in this campground is outstanding with the lake and mountains. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
We were inundated by a variety of large winged bugs on our overnight stay. Perhaps the nearness of the lake is what causes this. Staff at gate was friendly as was camp host just across from our site. Showers needed a thorough cleaning and small trash pick up. Only a few sites have tree shade (and only in the afternoon)although every site has a picnic table under a ramada. Appears to be mainly geared for folks enjoying the water sports on the lake. We would be hard pressed to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
This is a nice State Park with paved roads and sites. Most sites are long enough for big RV's. We had a spot on the lake, which was nice. It is close to the city, but with very little noise. Great place to relax for a few days. No problem with services and the dump is easy to get to when you leave. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
This was an okay stop for a couple nights, but it seems like budget cuts may have taken their toll on this park. Trash dumpster was left to overflow for two days. Ranger presence was very limited. Mosquitos were a problem which is to be expected this close to a shallow lake. Not everything was negative. All sites were well spaced with plenty of privacy and all utilities worked well. No cable or Wi-Fi was available but we had plenty of on air TV channels. We may or may not stay here again on future visits. It depends on the season and what other options are available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Sites are well spaced. No shade. When we were here, there were very few sites taken. There was no grass but lots of cut weeds. Toilet was fairly clean but could have been better. We had expected to be able to see the lake and had expected lots of grass. Wrong. High water plants blocked an view of the water. We were going to stay 4 days but stayed 2 as we had prepaid. Would only stay here again if we could not get in any place else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Sites are big and easy to get into. Lots to do in the park. There is construction on Route 15 right now though so you might want to check with the park about how to get there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
We stayed in site A10. Cons: this site had a covered picnic area but the way the sun hit, there was absolutely no shade from noon til sundown. It's a bit of a hike to get to the beach. The worst part are the bugs. Even if there was shade in the afternoon and evening, the bugs make staying outside impossible. Pros: easy pull through, semi private, price per night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$23
I was disappointed that the lake only had a small 'beach' area - the rest is rocks and the park is adjacent to the boat ramps. Quiet at night and the ranger presence was always there, although no-one ever checked us in or asked for our permit. Office was always closed. Very convenient to Provo - just a few miles down the road. As is usual for a state park - no sewer hookups but one is conveniently located at the entrance to the RV area. Was here 4 days which was probably just perfect. The dogs loved exploring the park area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Nice, large, paved lots - typical of a state campground. 30 amp breaker tripped early several times when the hot sun was on the power pedestal. Showers in loop A only. Showers have no temp control. Was scalding hot one day, but OK the next. Loop B men room lights were out of service. Front gate was not manned during all hours - suspect they may be understaffed. Beach was not bad, but more litter than you would expect in a State park. Nice park, but could use some TLC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Small campground on shore of Utah Lake outside of Provo. Extremely quiet with good spacing between sites. Good place for big rigs. Showers were not particularly in good shape. Would stay here again. Satellite and TV reception was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Nice "warm up" weekend site. Good in spring and fall, a bit hot in summer. Fair bit of boat launch traffic and in warmer weather day use traffic. Close to town for those last minute items. Clean, open, affordable We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Nice quiet state park with free showers on Utah Lake. It was a nice place to let the labrador go for a swim. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Overnight stay, mosquitoes were waiting. Lake is above normal levels with some camp sites breeding ground for the pests along with an odor. Moved sites to the only one with afternoon shade b08. Hosts were helpful. Showers only at loop a. Mosquitoes waiting in restroom too. Lakeside campground seemed to have more shade than here. Did not plan on fishing as it was an overnight on way to idaho and yellowstone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
This is a nice little state park campground with large sites. There are paved pads with a covered picnic area. The bathrooms were clean and well kept. However, there is currently a HUGE mosquito problem. Don't camp here without DEET repellent and even then you will still get bit. We camped here for four nights and are all itching. The beach area is currently flooded and inaccessible. If you don't have a boat there isn't much to do. Very nice flat biking area though. However, bring flat repair stuff because there are little thorns around that can cause havoc on your tires. Over all a fun trip but wish the mosquito swarms weren't there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
It is a nice State Park with a small roofed area for outdoor eating at each site. The roof antenna pulled in several local tv stations. The evenings are cool near the water on very hot days. It needs more trees for shade and privacy at each site. I would stay again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This state park is located about four miles from the freeway. We stayed in Loop B. Each site has a picnic table and metal shade awning. The pull throughs were all too short for our 32 foot fifth wheel. The back-in spots varied in length and width but you should be able to find a spot that could accommodate almost any size RV. The sites and roads were paved. The single-loop road was a bit narrow but do-able. We stayed here mid-week and there were only about 12 sites being used in both loops. Therefore electric was good but I can’t say how it would be when the park was filled. There are only two showers for the entire park which is not enough if it were filled. They were clean but lacked ventilation. Verizon air card and phone worked well here on Broadband access. There was no camp host on duty. The park was OK but it seemed to be a little rundown. With no camp host present, there appeared to be lack of maintenance during our stay. There is no day-use fee like some states charge in addition to the camping fee. The midge bugs were out in force during our stay. Bring repellent. We might stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Stayed here during a weekday and had no reservations. Park was about 1/3 full, but you would probably need reservations on a weekend during the summer months. Park has little shade. A number of sites would accommodate larger rigs. Roads and pads are asphalt with covered picnic table. Easy access to the park from I-15. A good place for spending a night or two while in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
Average state park, right along the marsh bordering (freshwater) Utah Lake. No beach or lakefront access, but park has large marina and boat launches in another area. Can be very windy. Near an airport, but far enough away that light air traffic won’t bother you. Widely-spaced paved sites with all paved roads. No sewer connections, use dump station on your way out. No shade trees at all. Nice paved picnic area at each site, with table, BBQ, and large steel canopy to keep the rain/sun off. Acceptable bathrooms and showers, but only one per 30-site loop. Bath building in B loop not open May 2010, but supposed to be open by June. No Wi-Fi, phone or cable. Save the Internet reservation fees during the winter months and for weekday stays in April and May. We stayed Sunday and Monday nights, and the camp was only 10 percent full. April and May weekends are another matter, the campground host says, with the camp about 80 percent full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Widely spaced sites with no trees, but each site has a covered picnic table. Roads and pads are asphalt and are long enough for larger rigs. We had no problem with our 38' MH and toad. Restrooms and showers were clean, maybe the previous poster was just there on a bad day, or Utah State Parks read their review. The Park host was quite friendly and was around to collect, saving us from going back out to the entrance to deposit our envelope and payment. Allow washing of your RV, which needed done when a wind storm blew through. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
The camp sites are good, large, widely spaced. Broadband internet and satellite TV were great here. But we have used pit toilets that were cleaner. Two days into our stay, the restrooms were power washed, but they were so dirty to begin with, that didn't help a lot. They didn't even empty the trash in one after they washed it. The showers were OK after the power wash. There was a lot of litter that had not been picked up. This makes us leery of going to another Utah State Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
Nice state park with wide spacing between sites that are paved and flat. Covered picnic table was a plus. Antenna pulled-in local channels. Park is close to all the stores. It was very quiet when we were here and only about 30% occupied. Great spot to walk or ride a bike. We spent an extra night just to relax. Spent 3 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
Adequate spacing and flat sites. Quiet except for a very occasional plane from the nearby small airport. If there is a nature trail for the birds, we were not able to find it - not well marked. Lots of mosquitoes! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
This is the place to stay if you are in the area for 2-3 nights. The price is right and it is quiet. There were maybe 2-3 other campers the whole time we were there. Mosquitoes are bad at night so close up early but the days are fine. Spots have 30 amp service and water there was a dump station on the way out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
It has nice pull through, large sites. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
A very nice State Park covieniently located just off I-15. It was a quick stop for us while traveling north but they have a very nice marina and other facilities for boaters. We will stay again next time through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This is a great base for exploring Utah, and conveniently located off I-15. There's not a lot of shade trees, but each site comes with a covered patio. the views of the mountains are excellent and the small marina is within the park. There's a very nice bike trail that goes clear to town. Quiet except for the small aircraft training facility adjacent to the park. You'll here those during the daytime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
This is a very good state park and is convenient to the freeway and Provo. The sites are very adequate. We used a pull through with our 38 ft MH and tow. The campground filled after 5:00 PM. It was quiet except for the birds and frogs which we really enjoyed. We used it for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
A nice park to stop for a couple of nights. All sites have fire pits. Bring your own wood. Hookups very easy. There is a dump station by the entrance. Most sites would be a tight squeeze for 40 foot or larger. A very quiet campground with strong Verizon cell phone signal. Camping World, Cabelas and Harley store are just up the interstate a few miles. Our gps did not like this location for some reason. It lead us on a wild goose chase to find a Cracker Barrel. The Camp Host was very helpful and an asset to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Super convenient at only 5 miles off of I-15, Utah Lake State park is a terrific value for an overnight stop or even a stay over. There are 55 RV sites, mostly pull through and limited to 40' RVs. The park features a large marina along the 96,000 acre lake which is known to be a pretty good spot for catfish and other fish. For us it has always been about the convenience since Provo makes a handy stopping point when traversing Utah from top to bottom, or vice versa. Nice to pull in and refresh before or after facing the notorious Salt Lake City freeway traffic. Sites are level, have a small shelter and easy access to hookups. Plenty of room to walk about, visit the marina and stretch the legs. A bit of noise from the adjacent Provo airport but it's not that busy an airport so no big deal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This was a nice State Park with beautiful views of the mountains. Sites were level and roomy. There were no extra amenities, but for the price, it was a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com