214822 User submitted reviews online!!
Castaways RV Resort & Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 90 user reviews. Phone: (410) 213-0097
CGID8849

Castaways RV Resort & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
372
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$111



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   10   7   9   10   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$111
Very nice campground but overpriced. Good Sam discounts not honored for less than week stays. We had spot 96 near bathhouse. Nice paved roads and gravel spots, but no shade trees. Wifi was spotty - strong signal but too many people connected. Bathrooms could really use an update. Showers were dirty at night. Water temps were NOT adjustable! Always HOT! Not refreshing when it's already warm out. Plus you had to keep pushing the knob for about 30 seconds worth of water. Very annoying. Pool was nice but small. Store was well stocked and had good food. Didn't use beach. Music was nice at tiki hut area, but sure glad I wasn't close enough to hear it all the time! Surprised to see a nice dog wash area but disappointed that it cost $5 to use. Golf carts were all over the place, but really unnecessary. I recommend this campground, but I will try to find a cheaper option next time I'm in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$95
Not a fan of the new concrete pads at the campsite. These are a nuisance and a hazard. The mud packed in around them made them worse. We had to back our camper up several feet to avoid the pad being right at our front door, which stretched our sewer hose to the limit. As we were camping with friends and all three of our sites had them, we were walking around them all weekend. We could not use the picnic table much because it was a giant reach to get to the table while avoiding the dirt surrounding them. We had to block the table from our dog at the campsite to keep him from getting into the dirt and tracking it into our camper. It might be better if they were flush with the ground. It's so annoying, that we may be searching for another campground, which would be sad, because we have been coming to Castaways since its opening, and it has been one of our favorite campsites. Not all campsites have the concrete pads, but we have been told that eventually they will. We also found it strange that a friend who wanted to camp with us at the last minute was told that the campground was completely booked. However, the entire weekend, the camp was barely at 25% capacity. There were only 2 other sites being used in our area besides our group all weekend. Disappointing. As stated before, we have stayed here frequently since their opening, and have always given a rating of 9-10, but for the reasons above, the best we can give is a 7 now. I believe they are now under corporate ownership, which may have something to do with the changes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$55
We have stayed here several times; however, this was the best. This campground is above a 10. Starting with the welcome center, the office staff is amazing. They couldn’t be nicer and more knowledgeable. They even have a concierge to help with dinner, golf, sightseeing, reservations, and suggestions of all types. They have a shuttle bus that will take you to Ocean City or Assateague Island. They both are a short distance away. The camp store is well supplied and the cafe has very good food they even deliver to your site. Our site was across from the store and swimming pool. It was easy to back in to and the utilities were top notch. The restrooms were the cleanest I have ever seen. Our dogs were spoiled more than usual with a very nice dog park, their very own dog beach. Unfortunatel, we were early in the season and couldn’t experience the Tiki bar with live music or the swimming pools, but I have before and was more than satisfied. We will return. In fact, we have made reservations to return this summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$90
This is our second camping trip, and absolutely loved staying at Castaways! Stayed in the Club Castaway's Section site 20B. The welcome center was very nice, and the staff could not be not more friendly! Had no trouble backing into our site. Hooks up were very easy and accessible. The site also has a spot to park a vehicle. This park is very dog friendly, with many dog related amenities. The Camp Store was well stocked and had a lot of useful items. We came early in the season so cannot speak of the pools, beach or Jackspot Tiki Bar since it was too cold and they were closed till next month. Lots of work was being done to update many features of the campground. Assateague Island was right across the bay, and we even saw one of the Wild Horses running along the island right from our site. This is definitely an RV Resort and not a campground, and will be back for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$159
Stayed in Cabin 6 during their Bluegrass Festival Weekend, which we attended as well. The cabin itself is clean, but somewhat small; think of a trailer but no wheels. The cabin had 2 bedrooms, the master bedroom is a decent size, and has a nice wall closet unit with plenty of storage. The second bedroom has only a bed in it, and does not have any room to even put your suitcase. The kitchen area is a full kitchen (minus the dishwasher - and also minus a dish drainer). The living room and dining room are combined, and small, and if you are generally not spending a lot of time in the cabin, it's fine. It has 2 small TVs, one in the living room, one in the master bedroom. The bathroom is normal size, with a tub/shower combo, and a decent storage area built into the wall. The hot water heater is small, as it ran out of hot water fast. My only complaint about this cabin is the location. There is a little road that goes around this cabin and into their overflow area. They used the overflow area to shuttle people and their cars before, during, and after the festival. This was non-stop traffic driving by the cabin throughout the entire weekend. The cabin was clean, and actually had toilet paper, but nothing else. Bring your own sheets, towels, dish rags, hand towels, and paper towels. Outside, there is a fire ring and a charcoal grill to use. The blue grass festival is nice. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$90
We stayed here on the holiday weekend and just loved it. All sites are level and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. You will not be disappointed here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$100
This is definitely a RESORT campground. Very clean throughout. The front office check in was easy and fast. Internet/smart phone checkout was easy, too. This place has everything from a store with nearly everything, golf cart rental, tiki bar, dog run, dog wash, dog beach, jet ski rental, snack bar, pool, activities, free shuttle bus etc. etc. We had planned on venturing out more, but the kids and adults were happy hanging at the campground. We'll definitely be back! Loved this place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$111
This campground is worth the money. We visit here often, and this is the only place we stay when we come to Ocean City. Full of amenities and activities. The sites are always clean. Stay here and enjoy the beach on the Sinepuxent Bay, or go to Ocean City or Assateague, both a short distance away. Shuttle service is available to Ocean City. The camp store is awesome, staff is very accommodating, upgrades are made it seems every time we visit. Cafe has great food available for pick up or delivery to your campsite. There is even a bar on the water with live music. Internet recently upgraded with option of free or for a small fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$65
Nice clean park. Roomy sites. Has pool that we thought seemed small and wished it was heated. Very dog friendly (has dog beach, dog park and dog wash station). Loved the bus shuttle to ocean city boardwalk! Has decent playground and beach area with a fishing pier. Also has decent snack/lunch stand. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$43
We always come here in the off season, and we LOVE it. Park has a great dog park, super clean showers and bathrooms, and level sites. Can imagine it gets crazy over the summer, but use the deals they have, and camp here in April! We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$59
I think this is the first 10 I've given. This park has everything and is well worth the price. We couldn't take advantage of the pools or tiki bar this time of year, but it didn't matter. This park has everything. Very friendly staff. Huge camp store with campers kitchen offering delicious foods (and free pancakes in the am). Extremely dog friendly. Playground, arcade, shuttle to the boardwalk. Everything you could ask for. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$71
We stay at this wonderful RV park several times a year since it is only 2 hours from home. I last reviewed it in 2010 and there have been upgrades -- a fence has been added at Bark Beach between the dog area and the "people" area of the beach, a good thing -- tends to keep the dogs together in one section -- and they have a ball! More rental cottages in the Island Oasis section were added this year. Front desk personnel get better every year -- kudos -- and the workers who help with so many things in the campground are always a pleasure. The Jackspot bar seems well received and many people have commented on the good food offered at the cafe. Happy to note that the pools are open much later in the season than other campgrounds -- this year closing about October 1. Dog owners seem religious about picking up after their pets, and the dog friendly policies of the campground are appreciated by everyone. We are just completing a two week fall stay. The rate of $71 per night is mitigated by the two free nights allowed per week at this time of the year. Already planning our 2013 visits. A great park, enjoy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$90
Waterfront says ocean, but it is not really ocean; it is the Sinepuxent Bay which dumps into the Atlantic Ocean and is adjacent to the Assateague National Seashore, which is oceanfront, but you can't see it. The park is very clean, plenty of bath houses and laundry rooms available. Service is excellent, especially the bar at the bay side beach, although it did seem to go downhill a little towards the end of the summer. There is a full service cafe on site that will deliver right to your campsite, or to the bar, free of charge. We used this service a lot throughout the summer. The cell phone service and WiFi capability is lacking, an amenity necessary when staying at an ocean resort town. We stayed here several weekends and one week throughout the season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$100
Our site had a fantastic water view and was easily accessible. The park itself is huge and packed, but very clean. Bathrooms, showers, all public areas were immaculate. There is so much to do here you really don't ever need to leave the park. They run a shuttle to the beach every hour, so you don't need to use your car if you don't want to. Staff, while very busy, always had a smile and were willing to help. If we could have stayed for a month we would have. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$88
It's all about the money here. This is a nice campground; you can read from previous reviews, everyone has nice comments. It previously was a dump ( Eagles Nest ), so the new owners have done a lot to improve the campground. However, each time I’ve visited the campground, it becomes more expensive. The staff and owners also seem to only care about making money. This past June, I arrived 45 min early, and had to pay $15.00 early arrival fee, which I found ridiculous since there wasn’t anyone previously in my site, nor did they take any time to clean the site or cut the grass. The nightly rate for this period was $88.00, plus the additional $15.00 seemed excessive. I inquired about camping at the end of September when they host a Blue Grass festival. They told me you can only make advanced reservations if you are buying a full 4 day festival ticket. If you are not buying a 4 day festival ticket, you can't make a reservation, and you have to wait until the night before you want to arrive, and call and see if they have a spot open. The campground itself is nice, but for the price they charge, I think you can do better. I personally only stay here because it is the closest campground to Ocean City. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Great campground, this park is the nearest to Ocean City. Located on the Bay beside the City Airport and what looks like a nice golf course. Sites are nice and big, only a couple sites that are not big rig friendly. Very well kept, nice and clean, restrooms and showers are also clean. Very busy in the summer months and without a reservation in those months you won't get a site. Off months are very quite and no problem getting a site. Our rate was with the early season special, stay 2 nights get 1 free, we stayed 5 nights. We come here often in the off seasons both Spring and Fall. Your within 10 minutes of the Ocean and Boardwalk, they have a shuttle that runs often in season. Rated at a 9 because no one is perfect, but they are close! We camped in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$49
Very nice to camp here during the low season because the rates are reasonable and they don't have a 3 night minimum. During peak season the rates can be $100+ and have 3 night minimums. Their engineering team needs to find a way to pave every site, like at DE Seashore State Park, in order to receive a rating of 10. They require a full one night deposit that is not refundable at all within 30 days. Private dog beach is what sets this park apart from others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$60
This was our first trip to this campground since it was renovated. Beautiful sites, nicely re-done and great staff. We stayed in the gated section we accommodates larger rigs and found it quite nice. We will be back before the end of the season for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$60
Absolutely loved this campground. Clean, staff was friendly and very helpful. We checked in very late, 12am, and a staff member on a golf cart drove us to our site, back in, and saw to it that we were okay with our site. Beautiful grounds, loved the dog beach/park! Plenty for all to do. This was a Halloween themed weekend, they had a costume contest and then the kids went trick or treating around the campsites. Many sites were decorated for Halloween as well. Store well stocked, the bathrooms were immaculate. Plenty of space at your site with a fire ring as well. Already made plans for the 4th of July week! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$70
Lovely campground in a great location. But very pricey, even in October. Unfortunately, we did lose the high-def cable stations while we were here, but in that it was our last night it was not a big deal. Our call to the office was returned and they apologized, saying the problem was with the service, not our site. People are very friendly and helpful. The woman at the front office even gave us a pass to Assateague National Park that someone had not used. Nice place to stay and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$80
We stayed at Castaways for 8 nights and enjoyed our stay. The staff was just ok, but the bartender at the beach bar was exceptional, great personality, very attentive. The sites were very nice, level and clean and the bathhouses were clean also. The only concern I have about this campground is reservations. We were told in July that the campground had very limited sites for our September request due to biker week in Ocean City Maryland. In reality, there were many open sites, but half way through our stay we had to change sites. The other issue was that some of the reservation people aren't aware of the site layout when it comes to slides. The site we were scheduled to be on had a large tree that would not allow slides to be opened, but the did give us another site. Castaways has a waiting list for the peak summer weeks, unfortunately, we were on the list for months and never received a call, although we were told that they regularly have cancellations. Again, we enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$78
We stayed at Castaways over a very busy Labor Day weekend. Check-in was very fast and efficient. The camp store was well-stocked and the personnel were very friendly. The camp store had a grill section which seemed to have a good selection of food. The beach and dog beach were great to have. The Tiki bar on the beach served special drinks with reasonable prices and nice music. The free shuttle buses to Ocean City and Assateague were a real asset. We stayed there Labor Day night after most people had left and we were impressed at how quickly the whole campground was picked up. We will definitely stay there again although it is a little pricey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$78
This campground is a true hidden gem! The campground is nestled against the bay and about 6 miles from Assateague. The sites were level and made of stone. Although it is a very open campground (really no trees for shade) you were not sitting on top of neighbor. The campground is a true resort, as once you are setup, there is no true need to drive again. You can take the shuttle to Ocean City, MD beaches, boardwalk, etc or just hang out at the campground, on the beach there, do some fishing or crabbing, or even have a drink at the Jackspot Bar on the beach. The best part about the campground is how dog friendly it is. There is a huge dog run for playing, a dog beach, and so many dog owners! The grounds were manicured and the facilities (including the bathrooms were very clean). We had friends with us who opted to use the showers at the bath house. They said the draw backs were- you could not adjust the hot/cold water and the pressure often forced the curtain to move and get their clothes wet. I walked down to one of the interior bath houses and saw water on the floor. They had fans in there trying to keep it dry, but they should look into installing adjustable temperature showers and maybe lower the pressure just a little or put in shower heads that can move so not to point at the curtain. I think they should get rid of the wooden benches in the shower stalls. Moister dark place (when lights are out) plus wood is not a good combination. I know the campground was taken over within the last year, so my guess is additional changes are on their way to continue to improve the resort. Overall it is a great place to spend a long weekend, a week, or if you are lucky enough the month. We are planning on returning next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$100
We had a site in Club Castaways which was waterfront. Although the section was full it was very peaceful and all campers were very mannerly and kept their dogs under control at all times. A great bay view and sunrise in the morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$90
This was our first time at Castaways and it won't be our last. We pulled up and the site (299) was a little tight for our 30' trailer but another camper came over before I even started to back into the site to assist. Next putting up our instant shade for the first time ever I had a different group of campers helping! People were great campground was great although there was a tree next to trailer keeping me from using awning (only negative). The sites are huge compared to some I've been too. They keep this campground clean picking up trash at site a number of times during the day; and this encourages the campers to keep it clean too. We had a blast!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$90
Castaways was a great place to camp. This was our first beach vacation with our trailer and we are so glad we chose Castaways. Sites were level and not far from hookups. Bathhouses were clean and taken care of. The general store on site had all things you could have forgotten. (I forgot a can opener and they had it there!) We really enjoyed our time here and will return next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$97
Our second time here and we can't wait to go back. We were here last in late September, so I was worried about the July crowds. No problem. With the campground basically full it was still awesome. We stay in the "Club Castaways" section which is bayfront and gated. Sites are large FH with separate paved site for tow, or just extra vehicle. Loved the new beach area, and my favorite "Seacreats" Jackspot bar on the beach. Felt like I was on an island paradise, sipping delicious frosty drinks watching boats and skiers go by, smelling and feeling the ocean breezes, then just strolled back to my campsite. Great campstore, free every 2 hour shuttles to OC, clean bathhouses. Nice pool, but no waterpark like thing like another popular nearby campground, so not as many "small" children. My children are teens so this place in perfect for all of us. Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$80
This was a fun CG. Sites were nice, although no shade. The waterfront/bay was nice. Several piers that you could crab or fish from. Power was good even though CG was packed, never an issue. We would go back. Lot's to do at the CG and surrounding areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$78
Beautiful park located midway between Ocean City, MD and Assateague Island which we like to go to for the beach. Park has nice level sites, some shaded, a small enclosed dog park, dog beach, watersports, beach area,etc. We have been here a few times since the renovations from the former Eagles Nest and are never disappointed. Our only suggestion would be to enforce the leash law. Some campers believe they have control of their pets and they really do not. We will continue to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$68
First off, we were here on a special they offer until May 15, 2011 in which if you stay during the week you pay for one night and get the next night free. So we actually paid $34.00 per night instead of $68.00. Great deal Castaways! This RV Resort is spectacular! The entire campground is very nice but the Club Castaways gated section is our favorite. We had a direct waterfront site (#12B) which was at the end of the row at the water. Nice roomy sites with a separate parking pad for your vehicle. Grassy sites with picnic table, fire ring and grill. Views of Assateague Island and Ocean City, MD. Very good cable and strong Wi-Fi. Water pressure was very good as well as electric current. I can't say a negative thing about this resort and yes it is a camping resort. I'm sure in the summer it is one very bust place but we were here the early part of May and it was peaceful and quiet. Excellent job Castaways and extremely friendly and out going staff at check-in. Made us feel very welcomed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$63
We spent Easter break at Castaways. This was our first time visiting the park. We reserved a spot in the Club Castaway section. This section is gated from the rest of the park. It has its' own swimming pool, bath house (which is also key coded for the club section only), water views, and paved sites. The bath house was very clean, the campground was clean and well taken care of. The camp store was nice and had the basic needs you would want. All in all, it is a nice family friendly resort! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$50
There is really nothing I could say bad about this campground. Spacious sites, very friendly and helpful staff, caters to dog owners, close to attractions and stocked campstore. We stayed on Dune Grass Lane, backed up to Eagles Nest Golf Course, great site. We were here with 5 kids ranging in age from 10-18 and all found things to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$49
We like this campground a lot. Enormous, sunny sites. Very nice facilities, though I dislike the timed showers. The park has a cute little beach on the sound and is fairly close to both Ocean City and Assateague Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$49
This is by far the best in the Ocean City area if you are looking for a campground that has full hookups. The sites are large, level and laid out for people that camp. Most sites are back-in sites but there is plenty of room for the biggest RVs. There really isn't a bad site in the park, there are a couple that have some trees that might limit a high RV. Bath houses are super and kept very clean. The staff has always been pleasant and helpful. This isn't the cheapest place to stay but if you want the best in the area, this is it. Even when the park is full the noise is low. In off season (which is when my wife and I go most of the time) the rates are great and you can get free nights for staying during the week. Plenty for the kids or grandkids to do and see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$47
We camped here in the off season and had a wonderful time. I think the sites are larger than average for a private park and the bath houses are modern and clean. Lots of Halloween activities and a carnival! We stayed in the Main Deck section and it was fine, but will try the Club Castaway section next time. Staff and other campers were very friendly. Roads are paved and there is room to maneuver any sized rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$88
It was expensive to stay in Club Castaways over Labor Day weekend, but well worth the money. The sites are spaced out enough so you are not on top of your neighbor, they are paved and level, and there are bath houses and a pool that only Club Castaways residents can use. There were never more than 8 people in the pool when we went and even though it was booked heavily for the weekend, the entire Club Castaways area was quiet. We were fortunate/unfortunate to be there during Hurricane Earle (a big non-event) and joined a hurricane party at one of their bars. They also have a Tiki bar on their beach which had karaoke or live entertainment most nights. Their store is well stocked and even has a little restaurant that has quite the varied menu. We enjoyed a pancake breakfast one morning and a fantastic sunrise every morning. It was also very cool to see the wild ponies on Assateague Island right across the bay romping and carrying on in the water. Of course they have a multi-tiered dock to observe the ponies and the sunrises. I do not have kids, but it seemed there was plenty to keep the them as well as the adults occupied. I did not use it, but they do have a shuttle bus that takes you to Ocean City or Assateague Island. They have redone this resort the right way and I will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$68
The sites are very close to another. Our campsite did have trees behind it, and there was trash all down in the tree line. Our campsite did have some trash on it as well. We did not use the pool, was always very crowded. The camp store was awesome, lots to offer, and we liked that they sold ice cream here too. Beach and pier access was great. We loved their tiki bar too. Our only complaint was the amount of golf carts! They are EVERYWHERE! Most of the drivers pay no attention to the road and the people walking on them. They also think they OWN the road. There should be some type of limit (or limited access for the golfcarts), because it was just awful! We liked that they had curb side trash pick up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$68
This was our first time at Castaway Resort. Actually, our first time camping. We are very happy with our choice. Bathrooms were close to all sites. There is water and electricity at all sites. The pool was great. There were a lot of families and everyone was quiet and respectful at night. We stayed in a tent on a larger RV site for just a few dollars more. It sure beat the $325 a night for a hotel at the ocean. They have a small beach right in the campground. It beat walking all the way through the sand to get to the water from the board walk. I could see someone staying there and never having to leave the resort. They have a deli, a store, laundry facilities, a small arcade, the beach, a pool, dog park, dog beach, a large playground, fishing, crabbing and they will even deliver wood to your site for a campfire. Even though I thought the resort itself was great, I do not recommend renting jet skis there. I made a reservation for a jet ski for an hour. My husband and I wanted to each go out individually for a half an hour, but when we got there they told us that we had to go out with an employee for the first 20 minutes and could not switch during our hour. They did not explain any of that when we made our reservation. All they wanted was my credit card number. When we decided to cancel, they demanded to charge my credit card FULL fee. They were very over priced to begin with at $80 per hour. They argued with me for at least 20 minutes before I gave up and just canceled my credit card so they could not charge me. Very unprofessional, but I would not let that stop me from enjoying the campground again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$56
This is not the first time we have stayed here. The grounds were very dirty when we arrived. Some trash sat in front of open sites for two days. All dumpsters were full. Dog park was very dirty with over filled trash and poo everywhere. By day three everything was clean and back to normal. I do not know if the 4th of July weekend was too much for them. Once everything was cleaned it stayed that way. Beach and pool were great. Will stay here again just not right after the 4th. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$99
Back again, nothings changed from last year, same dead trees on our campsite, same rude people, same stupid over priced Club area! But this is the only game in town, for now, that is close to Ocean City. When our granddaughter no longer wants to come to OC, then we will not be coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$68
It was our first stay here. We stayed five nights; thoroughly enjoyed it! Site # 177 is very spacious and level. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Food available day and evening including full 16" pizza cooked in their cafe. Restrooms were not cleaned as often as needed especially in the mornings when most frequently used, but for the most part were well cared-for. We booked another stay for August while we were there. My ONLY real complaint would be that the golf-carts they rent have LOUD RADIOS in them (the teens loved them, but I hated the thump, thump, thump of the bass as these carts joy-rode around), but did not make my stay any less enjoyable overall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Very cute park for your doggie! Nice place to get away and lots of activities! Lovely tiki bar, relax at a private beach! This is real nice! Going back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$85
We are new to camping and absolutely LOVE Castaways and how it truly caters to dog owners. The off leash dog park and dog beach are wonderful, complete with dog fountains and clean up stations. Well-behaved dogs are even allowed inside the store and on the pool deck (but not in the pool). We were a little surprised to find that other dog owners had not cleaned up after their dogs. Since this is bothersome for us and we want this campground to stay dog-friendly, we performed some extra clean up and for every one of our bags, we filled about 6-8 extras. Aside from the dog friendliness, we really like the location on the water, too. Our favorite sites are in Island Oasis. The kayak rental was convenient and lots of fun (we took the dogs on that too.) Our 7 year-old daughter enjoyed the pool, beach, and exploring on the sand bars, in addition to the Sun and Sands Club (meets 9-11am M-F during the season). The roads are nicely paved for easy bike and scooter riding. The pool is small but was never overly crowded (although I wish there was a life guard on duty). I will agree with another reviewer that the showers need some adjustment. The bathrooms were overall very clean, but the showers are so powerful that they spray outside the shower stalls and there is no way to contain the water so the bathroom floor gets pretty wet, as do your clothes if they aren't in just the right spot. Overall though, Castaways is an awesome campground and we have already made future reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$68
This was the best campground I have stayed at yet. Everything was clean. Roads were newly paved, sites were flat, level and had gravel. Staff was friendly and helpful. The deli was outstanding, as was the store. The campground has an excellent beach which is neat and clean. I have stayed at another park in the area before, and it is no comparison to Castaways. I have already booked my next trip back later this summer. Sites have plenty of room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$58
We are fortunate this campground is located close to home and only a 2 hour drive for a weekend getaway. We like the nicely paved Club Castaways section in spring and fall because it seems to cater more to us quiet "snowbird" types who don't have families, but that is just a matter of preference. Children are a joy and they are everywhere in the park having a wonderful time. A great little beach on property which gives a beautiful view of Assawoman Bay; also the "Bark Beach" area adjacent to the Island Oasis where family dogs can enjoy the beach area as well. Prices at the park go up dramatically in summer, as do golf rates at the nearby Eagles Landing course, which is challenging and beautiful. This is a great campground, enjoy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$47
This was our second outing in a new to us, Tent Trailer. This park was fabulous, with paved roads, well stocked store, miniature bay side beach (I hear there's a Tiki bar here now too). The fact that Assateague is only a 5 minute drive one direction and Ocean City is 10 minutes in the other direction is a perk that can't be beat! But with a campground this fantastic, the law of supply and demand will keep us from coming back frequently. The preseason rate of $47/night high, but manageable. In season rates will keep us out until next year. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$99
Our second time here. This is a great location. Rate of $100 per night because we had a 3rd adult in the motorhome, which is $12 per night extra per adult. We were not on the most expensive site since we did not have a waterfront site. It is very easy to spend over $100 per night, per site at this campground. Most dog friendly park: dog beach and dog run, dogs are allowed into the store too. The store had lots of foods and drinks and grills, but very little RV parts and accessories. We paid extra for a level, paved site. Not a concrete pad though, just asphalt. It's the closest 50 amp full-hookup campground to Ocean City. Staff is friendly, however it is next to impossible to reach someone on the phone once you are at the campground. Have to jump through lots of hoops on the automated phone system only to get a voicemail. Have to walk to office to ask any questions in person. Highly recommended for big rigs, very clean and very new campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$68
I highly recommend this campground. Everyone here is very friendly. The first time we stayed here they gave us a beach bag and treat bag for our dogs. We stayed here with my parents who camped in a cottage which they were very happy with. The front desk was very accommodating to get us a site close to the cottages. They even stopped by to see if we needed more firewood. They offer a ton of activities. If you can get a site in the club castaways section the view is wonderful. We walked around the entire campground and all the sites seem large. We will be going back a few more times this year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$52
This was a nice little trip to get our season started. Operations were not in full swing so all amenities were not available, but it was still nice. Plenty of room and a friendly staff to help. We will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
Strictly speaking, The Castaways is on a bay, not a river, but 'Bay' wasn't an option next to 'Waterfront sites available.' In addition to squeaky-clean bathrooms & showers, the laundry has TERRIFIC equipment. The staff is cheerful & eager to please, the grounds are NICELY kept. The store and the shuttle bus operate only on weekends this month, but get in full gear come Memorial Day. We booked for 4 days, fell in love with the park and stayed 9, had to move a couple of times, so rates varied -- total value excellent, as were Cable TV & Wi-Fi signals. We could see Assateague Island & the wild ponies from our site (w/ binoculars). There's a 'Bark Beach' and a 'Bark Park,' so this place gets a 5-paw rating from our two greyhounds! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
Very nice campground. Excellent views and the staff was extremely friendly. Majority of campground was recently redone or new. The bathrooms, store, main office were nicely done and well appointed. Stayed here during Easter weekend and there were plenty of activities hosted by the CG. Cable TV, Wi-Fi, and hook ups were excellent and trouble free. Only reason CG did not get a higher score was because the bathrooms were dirty. Sand, dirt and grass all found their way into the bathrooms and made a muddy mess. Showers did not drain well and caused the floors to be wet all of the time. Showers were strong and hot but overshot the show curtain causing again more wet floors. Placing stone around the entrance of the comfort station or even floor mats may help with keeping the bathrooms clean. This was opening weekend and were very eager to fix any issues that came up. I am sure by the time you read this, most of these issues should be taken care of. Great campground overall and we will definitely be back this summer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$93
Sites were a bit close together, but flat. We camped in the gated bay front area on the water, so bugs were a bit of an issue, but the view was spectacular. Bath houses are the most modern and beautiful we've seen, with blow dryers for each sink and TV's. Had large showers. The food at the store/grill was very good and reasonably priced. The fish sandwich was amazing! Only 2 miles from Ocean City and all the activities that offers. Shuttle buses are available. Plan to come back with our new 5th wheel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$86
A very nice park but quite pricey. That is why I can only give an overall rating of 9. We stayed in the Club Castaways section and had a nice view of the Sinepuxent Bay and Assateague Island. Sites are wide, are paved and have a nice pad off to the side for parking the truck or car but there was a drop off the RV pad onto the grass which made for a little tripping hazard when entering and exiting the RV. It would be nice if they could widen the pad to make a small patio next to the RV: it would help to justify the high price too. The park is very clean, well maintained and very dog friendly. Our black lab loved the doggy beach. We enjoyed ourselves and will probably return in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$83
A beautiful park. The sites are paved but not too much as to make you feel like you are in a parking lot. We stayed in the club castaways part and found it to be very quiet with all sites having at least a little view of the bay and the Atlantic. Water pressure is awesome and as this review proves the Wi-Fi works great. The price is a little steep for this little family however well worth the experience. We will definitely be back: maybe next week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$75
A very dog friendly campground. They have a fenced dog run and even a dog beach which is excellent. They have waste bags and a dog water fountain too. Dogs allowed into the campstore too. The most dog friendly campground I have ever been to. A copy of your pet's rabies certificate is required. New campground (totally remodeled): with an excellent location, very close to Ocean City. The campground provides it's own free shuttle service to and from Ocean City every 2 hours. Free shuttle service to Assateague too. Super friendly staff, experienced in campstore and also shuttle bus driver. We were in Site 3A: excellent quiet location away from crowds, shade trees, big-rig friendly and a newly graveled site. Problem is that the cable TV, sewer, electric, and water were ALL 40 feet away from our coach connection. The connections were the furthest we have ever experienced. Not sure who allowed connections to be placed so far away. We had to buy a 20ft sewer extension hose for our 20 ft sewer hose from a neighboring campground 1.5 miles away because the campstore here sold the basic hose, but not "both" end adaptors for the hose. We also did without cable because our cable TV line was only 25ft. Luckily our 50amp cable is 50 ft. long. To earn a 10: this campground needs to relocate the connections, and pour super level and flat concrete pads on all the sites. But the campground is good as is with the clean and awesome dog beach. I would return here and recommend this campground for Ocean City visitors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$83
We just returned from our first visit and we already booked for next year! This campground was clean, very friendly staff and great sites. We stayed in Clubcastaway. Loved the bus service to Ocean City, very convenient and the bus driver was very informative and friendly. He gave us tips and recommendations on where to go. We will be back to Castaways RV Resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$75
We just returned from our third stay: this campground keeps getting better and better. Friendly staff, enough room to move around and no crazy golf carts zooming through the campground. We took our two young grandchildren who were thrilled to catch and release starfish from the bay. As a matter of fact we didn't feel the need to actually go to the ocean this trip but stayed on their private beach area and watched the kayakers and kids wandering out to the sandbars. My only slight criticism would be: they need a few more activities for the kids. There didn't seem to be many planned activities at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$70
I really have mixed feelings on rating this park. Based on their website and other reviewers I expected the nicest campground “resort” I had been too. Lots of renovations have taken place however, the pool was way too small for the size of campground at least in the busy season, and some site locations/size are much better than others. Stay away from sites with walkways beside them. Based on the other campgrounds in the area this is by far the best choice. The sites in the club castaways section did have paved sites, (no paved sites in the regular area) a very small pool and a nice view of the bay. Good location: just a few miles from both Ocean City and Assateague Island (must see the beautiful Ocean Front National Park). Wi-Fi and cable TV worked fine all week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$83
A very nice campground. We stayed in the Club Castaways section that you need a keycard to get into. It has large level sites that are paved and a great view of the bay. Seems a bit on the pricey side though at $83 a night: but we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
This is a drive thru/walking review. We were impressed with this brand new RV park on Sinepuxent Bay. Sweeping ocean view sites in a gated portion of the park was new for us, the regular portion of the park with mostly back ins looked really nice as well. Park buildings including bath houses and office are impressive. The staff was courteous and professional. This is an excellent alternative to Frontiertown, nearly identical locale off Rt. 610 in Berlin. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$93
Our first visit here was wonderful. We had a large site in the keycard entry area for our trailer. The view onto the bay was lovely, the pool small but picturesque, the docks were great. Many kids were riding bikes, using nets off the docks. My grandkids 9 & 11 loved the sandy beach with sandbars for play, and their yellow lab loved the doggie beach and dog yard and friendliness. Bathroom was clean, really nice. Store was well stocked. We didn't even go into Ocean City, as we were only there 4 nights, and there was plenty to do on site. Really liked that the bus could have driven us into the OC area, and also to Assateque Island State Park. When I go back, I will take advantage of the kayak rental. They also have rental golf carts and cottages. Most of the sites are transient- NO ticky tacky! The cost was excessive, and I had to pay extra for the 11 year old, but it was really a lovely site, and it looks as if people with all these toys (trucks, RVs, motorcycles, boats, kayaks, golf carts) are willing to pay it. I know we will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$69
We stayed in the general park, and had an excellent stay. Our campsite was large and level. We were right by the office and the main road, but the area was still quiet. There are a large number of families with small children and dogs, however, the park was quiet. We camped with two small children, and there was a lot for them to do. The pool was small, but it was not usually overcrowded. The campstore was well stocked, and the bathrooms and laundry rooms were always clean when we used them. All of the roads were newly paved, and the park was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
This is a great campground. It has a beach and the dog is allowed to swim in it. It has the dog park. Very pet friendly. The camp store is nice and well stocked. The bathrooms and showers is clean. The RV sites is big. The only downsize is the Wi-Fi coverage. The signals at our site is very low and causes our connections to be lost. We will camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
Great campground! Roomy and level sites, clean bath houses, nice store and friendly people. It's big enough that though most all sites were occupied it still doesn't seem crowded. We stayed in the interior, our site was great, and you can walk/bike to the water easily. The only negative is the pool is really small for the size of the CG. We will definitely be back next year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$99
C/G was very nice. We stayed in the Castaway section which were premium sites near the bay with paved sites, paved parking space for your vehicle, BBQ and fire pit. Access card needed for use of restrooms and laundry room for those who were utilizing the Castaway area. Down fall was that the normal population was utilizing the private pool area for Castaway area campers. C/G provided many events and free bus transportation to Ocean City boardwalk. Store and deli was very convenient and well stocked. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I gave it an 8 as I was disappointed with the additional charges for each child/night. $8 per child per night! I found this to be excessive considering it is a family resort. Staying one week with 2 children runs you an additional $112 for the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$90
Great place for a family get away. Campground has been re-done. Sites are large and stoned. Roads are paved and staff is wonderful. We stayed in the back section where the sites are paved near the water. Jet ski rentals and boat rentals were nice. Everyone was very friendly. Nice large fenced in dog walk, great store with good food and drinks. Pools were nice. Bath houses were new. Can't wait to go back next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$75
We usually stay at Frontier Town when visiting OC but it was getting too crowded and too many golf carts so we decided to try out Castaways. All I can say is WOW! We stayed in the Island Oasis section on the water and what a view. Four fishing/crabbing piers, beach on the bay, big private sites, two pools, clean restrooms, friendly staff, close to OC reasonable prices in the camp store, and fully occupied campground but still didn't seem crowded. We were looking for negatives but couldn't find any. This is the first time we made reservation before leaving to come back. Highly recommend. Oh yea we caught more fish from the pier then we did paying high dollar for deep sea fishing in the ocean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
It is obvious that a great deal of work and money have gone into this campground in the past 2 years. The location is great. The campground is well on its way to being a great facility. However, the management is very poor. When we arrived there was someone in our site, and the management reacted very poorly. It took over an hour before they tried multiple numbers to contact the other campers. It was over 2.5 hours from the time that I informed the staff of this issue before we could move onto our site. They did nothing to compensate us for our very frustrating experience. I could, however, understand a single issue if that was actually the case. In the course of the weekend, I learned of many such issues. They are booking campers onto sites where they will not fit. They are taking reservations for sites for the following year, only to put rental cabins on them and not inform the people who have reserved the sites in advance. I have never been more conflicted than I am with this campground. The campground is a 9.5 with management that scores a 1. They are only surviving based on their location and overall availability of sites in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
Great location for spending time in Ocean City Maryland with only a short drive to get to the city. The owners have made some additions from last year to the location with a Great Hall which holds a camp store, arcade, and laundry room. They have also added cabins to the back of the grounds. The beach access is nice and is well maintained. It is not a large beach (no waves) but the best things are the sand bars just off the shore. The sand bars can easily be walked to or swam to by you, your dogs or kids at low tide. Once you are there you can find lots of ocean life swimming past your feet. The fenced in dog run has been improved with a lower lattice to help keep in the smaller dogs inside. There is a large field and a playground for the kids. We stayed in a normal site with full hook up but they do offer their club level with have a gated entrance, paved sites a grill, their own pool and I believe their own bath house… Not for me though… The grounds are not super busy and there are not a lot of golf cart. Assateague state park is across from the campground and the horses can be seen if they are on the beach that day. With the oc airport near by you can watch sky divers all day as they float back to the ground. They run busses to Assateague and Ocean City but we did not use these services. It was nice last year but it is even nicer this year. It will not be long before you need to book a year in advance in order to get a site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$75
We stayed in the Club Castaways section, which I assumed would be PRIVATE, but was not really?? The card access gate only restricts cars and rv's, and was easily by-passed by golf carts and bicycles, which meant we were on the tour route every nite. The bath houses also had card access, but were easily by-passed by the campers in other sections. So what you got was a larger lot and a lot of visitors? Found the other campers very rude as far as cutting thru sites and making a lot of noise. I again assumed that with the price of the sites I would have a little better choice of neighbors, not. Campfire and bar-b-que smoke prevented us from opening our windows at all during our stay. Don't get me wrong, this is a great campground and every possitive statement in other reviews were well deserved. I felt that the extra charge for teens was a little much as the two that were with us only used the beach one day and never used the exceptionally small pool or other activities as they were more interested with the activities at Ocean City. The charge should be made on pre-teens as they were the ones using all the campground amenities and activities? If we were going without children, I would probably have opted to stay at Island Resort in Newark MD., as it is a much quieter campground and just a little farther from Ocean City. All said, we will probably go back if our Grandaughter wants to go to the shore next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$90
This campground is super! We stayed in the Castaways section. The bathrooms and showers were clean every time we used them. We used them at various times throughout the day and never a mess! We also used bathrooms outside of the Castaways area and they were always clean as well. The laundromat was clean and well-kept also. They are very dog friendly with a great dog park area and swimming beach. The store was well-stocked and the cafe food was decent,but obviously on the high side of prices. There were plenty of activities for kids. They had transportation to the beach and Asseteague, although we did not use it. Sites are level and roomy, even in the section outside of Club Castaways. Staff was always very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$89
Wonderful family campground. We stayed in the Club Castaways section. Facilities are all new and very clean. Alot of things for children to do...swim, fly kites, ride bicycles, rent a kayak, catch starfish, etc. (all at the campground). Minutes from Ocean City and Assateague Island. We are already planning our trip next year to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$65
This Campground was by far top notch. They go far lengths to make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We thought the pricing was quite high at first but once we entered the campground we understood why. We were on the interior but bath houses and the beach were within a 2 minute walk along with the pool and store. They also have a bus that runs several times a day to go to Ocean City (10 minutes away). The bath houses are very clean and offer free hot showers. They also have laundry facilities at every bath house. Staff was always friendly and more than helpful. They are also very pet friendly for those who bring their dogs. The store is well stocked and the bay is beautiful. Once I got settled in I did not want to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$69
The campground is very clean even with the construction that is in progress. This park is new and sparkling clean. We were placed in the Club section and on the first row to the water. Very close to all of the sites in the area and the people were very helpful on directions and the info to see the area. We were in a 40 ft MH with no one across from us which made the back in space easy, but it was tight trying to keep off the grass. This is a great place We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$42
Nice campground. Looks like like a nice place to stay during the summer months. Was cold and windy when we were here and most activities were cancled. Already have reservations for the spring in Club Castaways. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$59
Our visit was only to be only 5 nights at first, but after the fourth night we opted for a sixth night stay. The reseption desk was very helpful in furthering our stay. As it turns out the site we were on was availible for another night. With more plans set to take place this fall, one of which is a new camp store and pavillon, we immediately choose to reserve a site for next year. All of the sites were wide and flat. My only complaint was the height of the sewer hookup. The sewer pipe came with a threaded coupling, which made it nice, but the pipe itself was almost eight inches out of the ground. It won't be a problem for those with a sewer hose support, but those with out will spend time walking the hose to empty it. My suggestion is to take plenty of wood blocks to raise the hose to a better drain level. The pool was a modest size but we never encountered a over flow of people, even at the busy times of the day. The temporary camp store was small but still complete with all that was needed. A privately owned jet ski rental business was right there by the fishing pier. The rates are very reasonable. Fishing from the pier was fun. Take you fishing poles with you. There are flounder in the area, and crabbing is an option as well. During low tide collecting live clams was an easy prospect. Access to the grounds were via Eagles Nest Road. The road has several sharp turns. Take you time. The regional airport next to the grounds was not an issue at all. In fact it made for some great pictures. Most of the flights were during the day. I could count on one hand the number of take offs during the evening. Anyone traveling south bond to Berlin from all points north. I would suggest exiting Route 113 onto Route 50 towards Ocean City. The turn right onto Route 611 to Eagles Nest Road. All in all our first experience at Castaways RV Resort was excellent. I highly suggest anyone not lucky enough to get a site and the popular Frontier Town campground, that you give this new and improved Castaways a look and reserve a spot for a stay. My guess is this campground will be a true gem in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$59
We were here for 4 nights with a group of all ages and everyone agreed we would come back. All of the facilities are brand new and very clean. The staff was very nice. The shuttle to the boardwalk was great with many trips throughout the day. Did not stay in VIP section and don't see a reason to spend an extra $10/night when none of them are truly "oceanfront" and no more than a handful of people can fit in their "private" pool. The only negatives are that there are almost no trees and the sun was unbearable by the end of the day and also that there are no speed limits set throughout the entire campground and a public road runs right through the middle of the pool and playground making any parent nervous. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$65
Loved it! Beautiful campground. Will definitely try this week to get reservations for next year. I'm pretty positive that once more people find out that this place has reopened and "revamped" it will be hard to get reservations. We were in the "gated" area with our own pool, bath-house and laundry room. Loved the Bay view and occasional sitings of wild ponies on Assateague Island. This campground has it's own beach and dog beach. I have two labs and they loved the water. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$59
Stayed four nights and had a very pleasant experience. Sites were quite adequate in size and level. Staff was very pleasant. Free shuttle bus to OC (11 minute ride in moderate traffic) was very convenient. Bathhouse very clean (should be since they're brand new!) Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$75
Camped for five nights here last week. Please note that the address on the brochure is not the location of the campground. Had a hard time finding this place, there is not an entry campground sign on the main road indicating where to turn. Campground is down a winding road (next to airport and golf course). Two pools both small; one of which I believe is a saltwater pool. Beach is small but you can walk out to sandbars in middle of bay: pretty neat. Wi-Fi signals are very poor. All in all, nothing special or luxurious about this place. If you have stayed in any Myrtle Beach campground, this place doesn't even come close to luxurious. Also, no night life or activities, pretty boring place, kids were pretty bored. The location is not bad, very close to the bridge to get to the OC boardwalk. I probably will try a different park next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$59
We camped here two previous years when it was Eagles Nest. It is evident this year that a lot of money was spent over the last year it upgrades. Good, wide paved roads, new pool (too small), new bathhouses, etc. However, we will not be back. We were told next year rates go to$79 in the regular section with a 7 night minimum. We've always stayed 4 nights. This might be fine for someone who chooses this for their week, which we don't. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$75
This was the old Eagles Nest Campground. Totally gutted and re-done. We were in the Club Castaways section which you pay more for as it has "extra" amenities like a pool for campers in that area only. That pool wasn't open yet, but was constructed and is ridiculously small. The sites in this area are large and paved with an additional paved area for the car. The main pool is brand new and very nice, but much too small for the size of the campground. The staff was so-so and didn't really see much of them. Not a lot of activities going on. They really just opened so I can't be too harsh in their rating. If they get their act together with some better planned activities, friendlier staff and perhaps add another pool, they will be a great campground. The bathrooms are very nice and were always clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$55
We camped here over Memorial Day weekend and had a fabulous time! Nice sized sites with covered picnic tables. Camp staff was very helpful. It looks like the grounds are being updated and the only drawback is the many sites of old, permanent trailers. Very close to the many activities in Ocean City and surrounding areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$41
The sites were very nice and roomy, and most had their own small pavilion type shelters, however, there were no picnic tables and fire rings available when we checked in and were told that a shipment of new tables would be arriving the next day. There was no shipment of new tables, we had to take one from another site that was empty. The bath houses are very old and need serious updating and get rather disgusting by mid-afternoon. They still have the old coin boxes for the showers and they fail to tell you which showers you have to pay for and which ones you do not. The coin showers by our site did not work the first 2 days we were there. The washers left rust stains on half of my laundry and when I complained they told me try some bleach. I rewashed the laundry and it still had rust stains on it, so they credited me one nights stay. The pool was nice and clean, but rather small for the size of the campground. This is a good campground for self-contained RVs as they do not need to rely on the campground facilities. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$52
We were scheduled to stay for three nights but left after just one. The only good thing I can say is it had a great view of the Chesapeake Bay. This campground is old, run down and not at all kept up with. The first night wasn't bad except for trying to get the camper backed in so that we could actually reach the electrical hook up, two campsites to every pole and the electrical pole is located in the center of the back of the site so unless you have an extra long cord or an extension cord you can forget it. But the real problems came the next morning. My daughter went to get a shower and after a really long time she returned with a horrible look on her face, she said Mom the bath house is so digusting. So when I left to bathe myself and my 6 year old I went to the other bath house further away. That one was also filthy. Mold/ stains/caked up stuff on the shower curtain, just plain gross and only had cold water. So we went back to the closer bath house, couldn't be any worse right??? Wrong...worse than the first it was so bad I took pictures to prove it. Now on to the last straw. My neighbor the day before was having electrical problems, the circuit kept popping and he didn't even have A/C on,the repair man came showed him where the circuit breaker box was (mounted on a tree a couple of sites down) and told him he wouldn't come out again, now our power decided to stop. So long food in the fridge. I went to the office. The woman could have cared less, said repair man was at lunch and he would be over when he was done. No apologies. The repair man finally showed up and said he didn't know what was wrong, new problem, he couldn't fix it and left. We packed up and left. Did get our neighbors phone numbers and found out that they weren't able to fix the problem until Wednesday and also the whole week they were there the bathrooms were never cleaned and certainly never power washed with bleach. Stopped at the office to ask for a refund and was told the manager was out, she was the only one authorized to give a refund. Finally one week later, after 3 phone calls and 3 emails, her response was no refund. She said her bath houses were power washed with bleach and they are stained by iron in the water and it was a easy electrical problem to fix if I had just stayed a while to find out. BEWARE don't stay here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$49
This campground is in a great location! Close to OC and Assateague. Our trailer site was spacious and we did not feel crowded. The only problem we had was the horrible water. Apparently they had recently redone the water lines in the campground and there was particles in the water that made us run out and buy bottled water. When we got home and changed the water filter it was full of iron deposits. Some of the tent sites were in an un-shaded area which looked awfully hot to us. You can see the ponies on Assateague from the beach of this campground. Will be going back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$55
Arrived at a fairly slow time in the summer season. Apparently, the park is under new management, and I have heard they are attempting to rehab the entire area. We shall see, it needs it in some areas. Check-in was easy, but they didn't take Discover Card, so it has to be Visa or Mastercard for payment, or cash. They charge extra if you have your A/C in your motorhome, which is ridiculous. I was fairly apprehensive about staying here. After paying for our deposit *which we would have forfeited if we cancelled* I saw the numerous bad reviews here. I didn't know what to expect and held my breath all the way to Maryland. It was a pleasant surprise, with only a few things to detract from a higher rating. First of all, they had some kind of crazy scheme where in order to use the pool or the beach, you had to wear a plastic/paper, non-removable band on your wrist. Great for a day in the museum, but lousy idea when you are staying for a week. Fortunately, they didn't enforce this rule, so the wristbands stayed put away. The sites (for motorhomes and travel trailers) were wide and well groomed. Plenty of space for a car. Nice to stay where you didn't feel like you were in your neighbor's lap. Nice amount of landscaping and trees. We paid for a bayside unit, and had a good view of the dock and bay, less than 100 feet away. The bay is perfect for kids, no waves and shallow. Crabbing was fun but fishing was an exercise in futility..not the campgrounds fault though. Pool was small, and we never used it due to it closing at 6pm. Only have 30 amp hookups from what I could tell, which is marginal for big rigs, forget running two a/c's in your big rig. Some campsites electricity are protected by fuses instead of circuit breakers. I was lucky. When the circuit breaker blew I just reset it. I was party to a controversy where another camper was complaining about them charging him to replace a fuse. 50 amp is the way to go, hopefully Eagle's nest upgrades soon. The TV cable was broken, and was not fixed despite a well-meaning attempt by the front office. I fixed a shoddy repair myself by bypassing it. It helps to be handy. Beach is small but nice. Dock is similarly small but in decent repair. Camp store has a lot of empty shelf space and sells very little food. Count on nearby grocery stores (5 minutes out) to stock up your shelves. The have the usual high markup on most items. The arcade needs upgrading soon. Old wood paneling and old asphalt tile with vintage air hockey and two pool tables. The video games are nowhere near state of the art, being about 20 years old in some cases. They work, but your kids won't be excited by them. Laundry facilities were acceptable, but a large percentage of the appliances were out of order. Cost 1.75 for a wash and 1.75 for a dry. That is reasonable, I thought. We normally stay in Frontier Town (about 3 miles away) but could not get in. This place was not in the same league, facility-wise, but I felt compared favorably in other areas. Frontier Town is much bigger, with ameneties like a water park and a cowboy theme park.. but Eagle's Nest was much quieter, with larger campsites (for Rv's anyway) and had the beach which FT did not. Definitely a toss up for me, anyway. I will be interested to see if they upgrade any of the utilities and buildings in the next year. I would stay here again, all things considered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
The worst campsite ever. Our campsite was literally on the side of the road, where cars drove past at over 35 mph and glaring headlights into your campsite and tent. Bathrooms were disgusting because they were cleaned maybe daily (you would think more often on Memorial Day weekend since it is a very busy weekend). Water for the showers was ICE cold and when you complained to management, they told each person a different story. It was either they didn't know that water was cold since no one complained, or they were working on it but were short-staffed on maintenance crew. We had 5 kids under the age of 8 that could not be bathed because the water was ice cold. The manager was very rude as well. This was our first and LAST trip there. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2004
$30
The meanest treatment we have ever received at a campground happened here. We used to spend a week at Eagles Nest each spring, before the season started. While the park was never crowded, we had always reserved one particular campsite which suited our needs and tastes the best. Last trip there, when I phoned to reserve it, the manager told me not only that he would not take a reservation out-of-season, but that if someone came before me and requested a campsite, he'd be sure to give them our favorite. I shrugged it off until we arrived there and found he'd done just that: there was one RV in that entire section of the park and it was on our preferred site. We didn't even bother to stop in the office and ask why. No way of knowing whether this person was the owner or a hired manager, but for certain we will never again stay at Eagle's Nest, nor have a good word to say about them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$36
Their was no privacy at all because everyone was right next to each other. We had a leaking pavilion and we reported it to the manager and they did not seem to care. The bathrooms and showers were always dirty and it seemed like they never cleaned them. We will never stay there again. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com