219883 User submitted reviews online!!
Sunset Lakes Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (800) 747-5253
CGID8857

Sunset Lakes Resort

Camp Information
Sites
310
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   5   10   10   8   8   5   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$65
Sunset Lakes is a destination RV park for families. It's pricey -- base rate is $50+/night. We paid more because our grandkids came and set up a tent. This park has tons of amenities like a large pool, multiple game rooms, horseshoes, tennis, basketball, canoes, paddleboats, license-free fishing, a nice mini golf course, organized activities on weekends, and more. Everything is included in the price. They had a great fireworks show on the 4th July. This place was packed for the holiday weekend and the kids had a blast! Sites vary from grassy w/e to concrete pad FHU. Negatives -- out-dated showers, wifi is not free, some sites are close together. ATT had a weak signal and Verizon had a strong signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$57
Very nice campground with paved roads, perfect for bike riding. We had a lakefront site on the main lake, very level and grassy. Electric was good. Large heated pool and nice mini golf. This year was our 4th year and we will be back again next year. Always a great and relaxing time. Access at back of campground to the Rock River and a dirt, bike/golf cart trail. Also boat launch access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$59
While I agree with other reviewers this campground has nice amenities, I would hardly call it a "resort." We stayed here for Labor Day weekend, and I wasn't sure if I was in a hillbilly trailer park, on the west side of Chicago, or somewhere in Mexico. Plenty of loud golf carts and ATV's, a crowded pool with lifeguards not paying attention, and campsites that are right on top of each other. We would definitely not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$54
This is one of the nicest RV resorts we've stayed in! Has everything we look for including plenty of room between level big rig sites, easy in/out, and tons of things for the kids to do. Their rates are steep but they discount for GS and everything is included including paddleboats, mini-golf, canoes, fishing, pool, and rec equipment. The mini-golf course was in good condition; a rarity among RV parks. There are activities for all age ranges. Some sites are heavily shaded while others give satellite access. The swimming pool was much larger than most parks and in excellent shape as well. We loved this RV park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Nice pull through for big rigs. A lot of stuff for kids. If you have to use the dump station on a busy weekend, get up early. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
Very nice campground with huge pool. Lots of space here with several fishing ponds. Would have rated this higher if it had a fenced in pet walk and more than 1 restroom facility which is co-located with the pool, camp store and grill, so you share it with all the visitors. Price is just an estimate. I can't recall what I paid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$10
We found this park due to our membership in RPI and enjoyed our three night stay there. The park is full of seasonal residents who have fixed up their sites. Generally speaking the remaining sites are level but somewhat small. If you have neighbors it will feel pretty crowded. There's a big pool and beautiful activity center and some pretty lakes for fishing. The place is surrounded by huge fields of corn and beans. Considering that this is Illinois, they are pleasant enough surroundings. Our rate is the RPI rate. We will stay there again when passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
Very nice campground but very expensive for short term campers. Very family friendly with some exquisite facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
I believe this campground to be a very nice one but I would like to make some suggestions; The entry to the park should be be better marked. It is too easy to miss the turn into the park office and end up on a dead end lot with 38' of RV and 20' of toad. The need to be very specific about what you require for a space and verify each point or you may end up with a site that is not a pull through and be forced to unhook your toad and regroup. The investment in the park made to facilities is probably the reason for the high rates. NO Wi-Fi available, No cable available, no sewer at our site and 30 amp not 50 amp service was $44. I would only come here again if I spoke with a RV knowledgeable person that could provide me with a site that met my request and all that after I had won a lottery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
Stayed here again for Labor Day weekend. It rained all day sat. The nice thing was on sun. The ground was dry, great drainage! We had a lakefront site. The campground is nice with all paved roads. Paddle boats and canoes were included in fee. Park is well taken care of. Due to the rain we found that the very small (for the size of the campground) game room needs to be bigger! We have reservations for next Labor Day already. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
We typically stay here once a year for the 4th of July weekend. They have a very nice fireworks display over the lake. The sites on the expansion area a bit larger and not so crowed as the sites up front. Lots of things to do. Planned activities for all ages. DJ on Saturday nights and movies in the large indoor hall. We spent Labor day this year as well. Rained a lot, but the resort made sure the kids had something to do. Clean, great food area for purchase, game room and awesome restrooms. We will always spend July 4th here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
This is a lovely park, with truly great people at check-in! Friendly, well-staffed, very organized. They have a great community hall, where many activities are organized - we participated in the Friday night all-you-can-eat fish fry and it was fantastic. Nice adult only book room too. The pool is splendid, with very competent young life guards. We saw one ask a family to leave, when the kids were out of hand. The showers and bathrooms are awful - so outdated. Feels creepy. Game room for kids. It's really geared toward families and is perfect for that. Too big for us and after a few days we moved on. Our $20 fee was through RPI. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
First the good: large park with lots of amenities, well maintained except see below. There is a very large pool, mini golf, arcade, etc. Now the BAD: There were MANY uncapped sewer hookups at near-by campsites. The stench made it nearly impossible to be outside at our campsite. The pool and store hours were only from noon - 8pm. This made it really hard to use the store and buy a golf ball needed for mini-golf. We expected generous pool hours like most campgrounds given the high rate. The hours were not posted on web site so we were surprised. They also allow day passes to the pool for non-campers. The internet is through a third party. It worked fine but only works for ONE computer at a time and is expensive ($5 per day). Finally, there is really only 1 lake plus a series of ditches with water. There is no swimming allowed in the lake. Fine if you like the quiet and want to stay in your camper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$59
After reading previous review, my family decided to come to this campground anyway. We totally loved it. The fish fry on Friday night was excellent! There is a lot to do. Once you pay for your site, everything in the park is free. Nice paved streets where you could ride a bike. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
While this isn't the worst park we have seen for the price, this was not what was represented in brochure, or over phone. We didn't actually stay: due to the area that they were going to put us was surrounded by trailers that were trashy, unkempt, smelled. The park itself was in disarray. While I understand that they have been dealing a lot of rain, it still doesn't excuse the appearance of park. We were told by manager on phone that we would be on a electricity included site, when we got here the manager said that he would not put us on that site, we would have to be on a metered site. We backtracked about 9 mile and went to the local KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$44
Very nice campground. Clean bathrooms in the clubhouse. Paddle boats, mini golf, pool, horse shoes, tennis courts and a clean playground included with the nightly fee, all a plus. Nice pool though it was not heated and did not have a solar cover. Friendly staff although the front desk did not know that they sold bait and we had to drive 20 minutes to the Mississippi River to get bait when it was at the park store. The campground was pretty empty while we were here, so was very quiet until Friday night when the permanent campers near the mini golf course arrived. They were quite loud and shouted profanity until 12:30am when we called the office. Staff responded quickly and quieted them down for us. Much appreciated! Kitchen staff was extremely slow with the Friday night fish fry. We waited over 30 minutes after we paid to receive our food. Otherwise was a very nice park. Would recommend and would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$19
Lady at front office (school teacher) was very friendly and informative of things to see and do. Park is located beside a beautiful lake with trees and plenty of ducks. Had a fitness room, pool, cafe & store. If you wanted to go into the pool after 5:00 pm you would have to hike back to the front gate for the key which would be quite a walk. We didn't want to unhitch our car so we decided not to swim. The cafe & store never opened the two partial days we were there which surprised us since we didn't leave until 11:00 am on a Friday. Sites are a bit old and hard to maneuver a big rig. Was hard to get out of site without hitting trees. All in all it was a OK park which would be best suited for midsize RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$10
This is a beautiful park. However, they should invest in a generator. There was a very severe thunderstorm on the last day we were here. It knocked out the electricity and because of that it did not pump water either. For the size of the park, a generator would be a good investment. Other than that, it is a good park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$64
This was a nice park for our family. My kids - ages 11, 10 and 6 had a great time playing in the pool, paddle-boating, and catching frogs/fish in the ponds on site. Our site had a concrete pad that was fairly level. The fire-ring was awful close to the front of the camper, but it ended up being OK. The club-house at this park is amazing. it includes the shower house, work out facilities, laundry, arcade, general store, coffee bar, snack bar, and large eating facility. All amenities are free (paddle boats, canoes, mini-golf), but you must bring your own ball for mini-golf - otherwise you can buy one on-site for a nominal fee. We would gladly come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
This park has nice level, paved sites with 50amp & sewer. Has good cell service and my mobile card worked well for my laptop (Verizon). Lots of trees, so we asked for a site where we could get satellite and still had shade. Has well kept grounds, remodeled club house, lots for kids and adults to do. We stayed here on Coast to Coast, and paid an extra $5 per night for 50 amp. A great park with friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$10
This is a very nice place. Had problems getting a satellite signal due to the trees. Park has very friendly staff. The sites are large and easy to get into. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$57
Very nice campground especially if you have kids. Lots were tight, but clean. Paddle boats and Canoes were free to use. Pool was clean, but not heated. Overall we will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We have been here twice this summer and both times we have been very happy. The first visit we had a site on the river. Beautiful! Our second trip this month was a pull through on a paved site. Paved sites are a little too close for our level of comfort but, they are still very nice and offer shade. Just a personal preference. They just renovated the main recreation building and it's wonderful. Adult work-out room, brand new showers and bathrooms, arcade area, general store, small diner and meeting area. The pool was also updated and very nice. The grounds are kept incredibly clean and staff has always been nice. Our kids love to catch fish and frogs in the many water areas. They also love the mini golf. There is plenty to do and you don't get nickled and dimed on everything like many of the other campgrounds we've been to. We really enjoy coming here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
Good: Campground was very nice and well kept. Our reserved site was water soaked so they moved us without any hassles. We had a waterfront campsite which was very nice and big. We enjoyed the free canoes and paddle boats. Bad: We've had a cooler than normal summer and the pool was too cold to enjoy. It was a big pool just too cold. Mini golf course was in need of attention. Men's shower could have been planned better in this new facility, no privacy or change area. We wish the store would have opened earlier on Friday, didn't open until 11 AM. Pool opens at noon daily. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$21
Stayed 2 nights at Passport rate after we showed desk clerk sheet we printed out from Passport America website listing their park. Not impressed by clerk's knowledge of check-in procedures or knowledge of campsites. We were placed in long-term, member area under trees in a very tight space for a 42' back-in. We parked truck in space next to us. We asked for open site of sky and did not get it so no satellite. AT&T reception 2G and slow. Park WiFi is $5/day extra. Although concrete parking pads, they were covered in tree debris and bottles/cans were strewn about. Sites needed mowing. Long-term sites very jumbled and no parking for owners' vehicles. Can't imagine what they do if park is ever full. Won't stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$65
This is a very nice campground. We had a waterfront site which was beautiful. All grass and no gravel! Paddle boats and canoes were included in the rate and were available whenever you want 8:00-8:00. Owner was very nice and escorted us to our site. The only reason I gave a 9 was that the pool was literally 65 deg.! it`s a small complaint, but if you are going to call yourself a resort then I don`t think a 75 deg. pool is out of the question. Otherwise I would recommend this place to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This is a very nice park that recently went from member only to public. The staff was pleasant to work with, and the sites were very nice. We enjoyed our stay and sort of wished we didn't have reservations somewhere further long after only 1 night. We would stay again and stay longer if in the vicinity again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
This is one of the best parks I've stayed in. Nice clean park with paved roads and super nice owners and manager. We had a 30 amp full hook-up site. I don't know if there are sites with 50 amp. We stayed one night at the RPI Rate and four nights with a rally. The owners and manager bent over backward to make us happy. If I had 50 amp I would have rated the park a ten. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$49
Total cost per night was $65.00. Family of six. Extra charge after the first four people. Fireworks were great! Paved roads, mini-golf, paddleboats, tennis, swimming pool all included in the price. Very nice campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com