223219 User submitted reviews online!!
South Haven Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort (formerly South Ha was rated 8 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (269) 637-6153
CGID8872

South Haven Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort (formerly South Ha

Camp Information
Sites
121
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   4   6   6   10   8   10   7   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Clean, well maintained campground. Sites are level with gravel/dirt surface. Some grass. I can not give this campground more than a 3 rating because the roads are dirt and every time a car goes by there is a cloud of dust. The campground is in full sun with no trees. Camp sites are positioned east and west, so you have hot sun in the morning and hot sun in the evening. Campground is in a rural setting about 5 miles outside of South Haven. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Improvements coming along, but there is a lot lacking, especially shade. Much of the place was under construction. Mostly gravel and dirt, and level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We stayed at this campground first several years ago when it first opened. They are now expanding but we question the direction of the expansion. The new sites are only electric and water, not full hook-ups, and they are very close together. We were unable to get one of the few full hook-up sites for this stay. We were in the older section that has larger sites and are grassy. There is no shade in this campground and no indication that they plan for future shade (i.e. few trees planted). If you like campground sponsored activities, we don't participate in those, they do have a lot of them on a weekend. We had a large multifamily group camped near us which by nature creates a lot of noise. We questioned that they enforce their number-of-persons-per-site rule. The bathrooms, although newer, were not always kept clean during the time we were there. Wi-fi was minimally adequate. We may stay here again but only if we can get a full hook-up site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
This park is spending a lot of money to upgrade the park. They are in the middle of opening a new section. All access roads and sites are gravel and dusty but level. We stayed in the new section and there are zero trees and no sewer. I don't know about you but when I pay $27 for an overnight spot I expect full hookups. The roads are narrow and some of the turns are tight. If the park were to be full, or close to it, it would be very tight. The grass areas in the new section need a lot of growth before they will be usable for much. The park has lots of games setup for families. (Carpet ball, corn hole, disk golf, etc.) They have a pool that is under construction and looks like it will be nice when complete. There is cable in the new section but not in the old. I guess that makes up for not having sewer in the new section. This park is 4 miles off of the highway and is fine for an overnight stop. There's not much that would make me want to come back or stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
This is a newer park, and they are still in the process of expanding. While we were there they began construction on the pool. Everything is pristine. Clean restrooms and showers, nice store, cabins and tons of fun things for the kids. I can't wait to return another year to see their progress. In the meanwhile, expect a little construction noise. There is no off season in Michigan to do the work. It's either summer or snow. The trees will grow, and this will be one beautiful family spot. We paid $51 for a similar park last week, so it appears South Haven has adjusted their price to compensate. Owners and staff were very nice and helpful. Storm came up just as we were getting ready to leave. They told us not to worry about the checkout time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Had a full hookup pull-through site with easy access for our 31' Airstream. Showers and restrooms were very clean. No problems encountered. Would have been nice to have some shade but not a huge deal. I'm sure we'll camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We love this place. Easy in and out for big rigs, lots of room between spaces and the owners go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. Construction is underway for a huge new pool now too! This is a family friendly place with a bouncing pad for kids, bikes you can rent and a giant covered pavilion for gatherings. There's a large grassy field set up for frisby golf, or just grab a pitching wedge and practice your short game! We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
The older section has shade and established grass at your site. The new section is out in the open and the grass is not established. Bring outdoor rugs, Because the dirt tracks into your unit. They are adding lots of things for children to do to include a swimming pool for next year. They have a fenced dog run and a large grassy area where you can walk your dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Nice CG. The sites are spacious, and love how they "hide" the sewer hook ups. Not much to do if you have kids, since there is no pool. only about 4 other RV campers when we were there. I think they have 6 cabins, and 5 were booked. Nicest, cleanest bathrooms we have seen in a long time. We were tempted to use them even though we had full hookup. Wi-Fi is free, but spotty at best. Staff could have been a bit more friendly...nice, but not to talkative. Close to downtown South Haven. Small place, but looks like they have plans to expand...not sure if that will happen. We would camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
This is a quiet and peaceful park just a few miles from town. Very friendly family run operation. Newer facilities with well stocked supplies. Super clean bathrooms and showers. Pet friendly with lots of room for exercise. Good Verizon cell and data coverage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Very nice park, well maintained with excellent office staff. Restrooms were clean and showers very nice. The location in the country is handy to town with about a 5 minute drive. South Haven is a nice little harbor town on Lake Michigan with plenty of things to do.. The park has an expansion of planned pull throughs shown on their site map. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Nice campground cut out of the surrounding corn fields and blueberry patches. The park has planned phase 1 and phase 2 "expansions". Not sure what will happen to the park's ambiance and feeling of spaciousness once that happens. Our fairly level site was on the outer loop overlooking the pretty field where they will build one of the phases. I like it now; not sure if I would like it when it is bigger. Once (or if) they expand, they will need to upgrade the internal dirt roads and improve the drainage (during a heavy rain the road in front of the office has deep wide puddles). The park also needs to greatly improve their Wi-Fi: it barely worked and the office staff wasn't very helpful. The park is also close to the cute town of South Haven and beautiful Lake Michigan beach. Check out Sherman's Dairy Bar/Creamery on the way into town...the ice cream is WONDERFUL! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
A spotless campground! Was well maintained. Located in a country setting and quiet. Was a good distance from South Haven, no hassles driving to the town. Good central location for Saugatuck as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Bathrooms and showers were spotless. Grounds were clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Bathrooms were perfectly clean. Park has a very friendly host and a large playground. The only drawbacks were no pool and no shade. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We stayed here one night on our way elsewhere. We got in at about 8:30PM and they had us backing into site #1. Problem is that this site was next to where they were showing an outdoor movie and we were concerned about the noise level. When my wife went in to see if we could have another site that wasn't being used, the guy was quite surely, insisting that they didn't like to move people to different sites. Eventually his wife came in and we were able to go to a different site though by that time it was dark and more difficult setting up. But that was the only problem we had. Though there were no trees for shade, the bathrooms and showers were immaculate and once quiet time rolled around, it was indeed, quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Very nice campground and well kept up. We were here during the week and were the only ones here. Only negative is there is no pool for the kids, but you are not far from the beach so it's no big deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
We chose this campground because it is on the Kal-Haven bike trail. The trail goes both toward South Haven and Kalamazoo and there was easy access from the campground. It was a 5 mile ride into South Haven and Lake Michigan Beach. Owners were very friendly, has a well stocked store, grounds were well kept, bathrooms and showers exemplary. We used the wide open mowed field behind the campgrounds to play frisbee with our dogs. Once the trees mature, it will very nice and a 10. We would use the campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
This is the second time we have stayed here. The park is very clean. The restrooms and the showers were immaculate. My only complaint is that there was not a ton to do. The activities were spread out and there were not a lot of other campers here. After the playground got old, the kids were bored. It's a short trip into South Haven however, for restaurants, shopping and the beach. We really like the family that runs the park and are optimistic things will pick up as it matures. We will definitely camp here again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
This is a 2-year old campground so therefore there are no trees yet. The campground is very well kept and the managers are very friendly. I would rate it higher if they had cable TV. It's very big-rig accessable. The free Wi-Fi was very strong at our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This is a great campground. We were there for several days in a pull thru site. This campground is spotless. Bathrooms and showers are the best we have seen in a very long time. The location is convenient while at the same time being very peaceful. There are plenty of fun activities for the kids. This is a newer facility and is a work in progress. We look forward to staying there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$48
We just spent our first camping trip of the year here this weekend. We stayed on the "premium" site which includes a kid's cabin, a swing and a hammock. Although the weather was dicey, our family had a very nice time. The owners had plenty of activities planned for the kids and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. It is a new park and still has some growing in to do while the 2nd and 3rd phases are developed, but it is a great place to take a family. The camp store is well stocked and the restrooms and showers were immaculate. We will definitely go back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$65
This new park is clean, friendly and well located. You can ride your bike to a bike trail 1/4 of a mile away; 10 minutes to the beach; 10 minutes to shopping and dining in quaint downtown South Haven. The owners are very friendly and highly accommodating. Showers are single "rooms" used by both sexes, with a family shower available. Bathrooms were kept clean and well stocked. The grounds are clean, with only a few sites, as this is a new park readying itself to grow! No shade trees yet, but wide open starry skies at night. The only reason we didn't give it a 10-was there was no pool. But again you're right down the road from the Lake. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
We loved this brand new campground too. Easy in and out for big rigs (+38'). Super friendly, family owned RV park. The campground is clean & well manicured, nice playground for kids if needed. Future expansion plans will include a pool. Morning trash pick-up, open sky for satellite TV, a pig roast on Labor Day, close to downtown South haven. NOTE: If you want a pull through, stay to the RIGHT on the road, stop & walk to the office to register - otherwise you will have to back up a little to be pointed in the right direction! Best big rig spot: #21. We would happily stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We loved this campground! The owners and staff were all very nice, the campground is very clean, the bathrooms and showers were exceptional, they had a lot of activities for the kids, the playground was very nice, sites were good sized. It is in a great location, just minutes from downtown South Haven and the beach. We just can't say enough nice things about this campground! We are already planning our trip back in the fall and again next summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com