223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Old Federal COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (770) 967-6757
CGID888

Old Federal COE

Camp Information
Sites
83
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   8   8   8   9   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
We camped here at site 62. Very shaded, with a concrete pad and gravel picnic area and fire ring. Our site was lake-front, but we couldn't access the lake from our site due to a steep ledge. Some other campers on our loop (sites 62-75) had their boats tied up to their sites. There is a nice swimming area and beach very close to our loop and the bath house was about 100 yards away. The bath house was clean, and is your typical state park type of facility. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
This Corps Of Engineer (COE) park is one of the best on Lake Lanier. It is a favorable campground for the large RVs and motor homes because of the availability of 50 amp electric hookups. Also, because the layouts are spacious and nicely surrounded by the lake. Majority of the lops and sites have a very generous view of the lake. Even though it has a designated playground and swim area, there are several camp sites that have easy access to other swim areas. They even provided additional parking space at strategic parks of the campground for campers who arrive with more that one automobile. It is no wonder the campground was full the weekend of May 9th when we camped here, considering that the schools were still in session and the meteorologists had rain on their forecasts much of that weekend. TV and mobile phone reception are at their best here. The camp hosts are very nice folks. They graciously helped me with to contact a mobile RV repair guy when I intimated them that my A/C unit was broken. We will surely return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$16
Very beautiful park. Was in pull through (4) near lake although it is a steep incline to walk to the lake. Restrooms were very clean and staff very friendly. A nice peaceful stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$17
Typical of COE campgrounds. Old Federal is beautiful and laid out in fingers along the lake. Since check out is 3 pm, our "reserved" site was still occupied. We were directed to park at a sports complex several miles away, and we would be called when the site was vacated. We offered to take an alternative if one became available, but were denied. Just before 3pm we were called and proceeded to the gate. That is apparently the time campers can re-up, so the attendant was very busy. We didn't receive a map or any paperwork except the site tag. Our site was so lumpy we needed to park partially on the "patio" in order to become level. Showers were far away, so I didn't even check them. In spite of this, we would return for a short stay again or chose another park on this lovely lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
We were in a level/concrete site. Beware of sites which have not been renovated. Power fully upgraded 50amp. Great views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We stayed here for three days while visiting the Atlanta area. This park is beautiful and the setting is beautiful. It is right on the shores of Lake Lanier, the way it is laid out most, if not all sites, have lake views. There are no sewer sites but we still had such a wonderful stay. Each site has a patio area with picnic table and fire ring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
This COE CG has 4 or 5 of the best sites we've ever enjoyed. Some sites are (in our opinion) just dreadful. Full sun, no privacy and far from the lake. Some sites are just excellent due to good shade, fairly private and great lake views. Loop 64-75 offers stunning views of sunset. Water/electric only at all sites. A very busy CG during the summer months. A very nice CG due to sites, location and price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$16
Very nice (COE) park on Lake Lanier. Very well kept, sites were clean, many with shade and great view of the lake. Slight down side was the water was intermittently rusty. The staff at the fee booth were great and very helpful. Close to shopping in Gainesville. Fee reflects discount for the Senior Park Pass. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$13
What a gem. We really love Corps parks, especially with the senior discount. This one also had w/d at each rest room area. Had we stayed longer, would have used them. Loved seeing all the sailboats go past our spot each day. A little much of a drive each day to Atlanta to visit friends, but the inexpensive price more than paid for gas used. And nice wineries to the north make for a great day trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$13
One of the best kept secrets. Beautiful with water everywhere, tie your boat up at your campsite. Mostly shady spots with cool breezes. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This was our first time at a COE campground. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the facilities. The electric and water hookups looked new. The staff were very, very nice. We highly recommended it!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Site pads are mostly back in & not very wide, but most have a separate area for the fire ring/picnic table. We were in #29, great lake view & 20ft to water, lake is full. No playground equipment and only one dump site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$12
Nice big sites most being lakefront. The water is low in Lake Lanier so hard to get our kayak in the water. The drinking water was very brown even when using a filter so we resorted to only bottled water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$13
We really enjoyed this location. The COE really run a nice operation. The hosts were very helpful and added to our good review. All the sites are lake view with some better than others. The grounds and bathouses were well taken care of. All major retail stores are fairly close. I got 39 channels on my batwing antenna: amazing. This would be a ten if it had sewer hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This is a beautiful park with outstanding views from most sites. We had difficulty reserving a site (it apparently is very popular) so we ended up in one of the sites without any shade (97 degrees that weekend!). Site was level and very easy to back into. Restrooms were clean, but we did not use the showers. Campground hosts very friendly and helpful. Our kids had a great time at the beach and walking through the park. The dump station was very clean. This park is 10 minutes down the road from our house and we intend to be regulars! The addition of sewers would improve our rating to a 10. Many campers also brought watercraft, which were tied up to the shoreline. Very quiet; no problems with noise or bad behavior. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
We loved this campground. Every loop is on a different finger projecting into Lainier Lake. We had a grassy, partially shaded site with a level concrete pad, water, and 50 amps. The park is absolutely beautiful and is super to walk, bike, or kayak. We stayed two nights and would have liked to have stayed longer. If it had sewer at the site, we would have given it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
From everything we have read, we expected this to be the best since sliced bread. It was nice but nowhere near as nice as Fort Yargo in Winder or Chestnut Ridge (now closed) right down the road. I did not think the sites were private enough. The park was really clean and there are many nice views. The one big issue we had was that the showers did not have hot enough hot water. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
As a native Georgian and a camper in many parks in this state, Old Federal is the best campground in the state for the views. 95% of the sites have views of Lake Lanier. The only reason I did not give it a 10 is the bathrooms are sometimes not clean. Everything else is perfect. Most sites are wide enough apart to give you plenty of privacy. Old Federal is a great place to take a walk or a bike ride in the morning or dusk. This is a great place to stay for several days just to get away from it all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$22
We've stayed at this Corps of Engineers campground a number of times, and continue to be impressed. The campsites #64-74 on the peninsula have level concrete pads and are the best in the park. The gates lock at 10:30pm and don't reopen until 7:00am, so be aware if you are going out for dinner. If you do get locked out, there is good parking just outside the gate and the walk in to your campsite isn't bad. No alcohol allowed inside the park. Nice selection of sites - some with shade, some open. Campground hosts are friendly and eager that you have a good stay. The city of Gainesville is about 5 miles north of the campground and has ample shopping and restaurants. A major RV dealer is about 5 miles from the campground as well. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Corp of Engineers campground. Super nice! Boating, swimming, skiing on Lake Sydney Lanier, 50 miles North of Atlanta GA. Maximum stay is 14 days. Very popular, so it's best to reserve in advance during peak summer season. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com