206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Chetek River Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (715) 924-2440
CGID8923

Chetek River Campground

Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   6   8   9   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
The jumping pillow is great for younger kids. A bit pricey for the use of it though. Overall a good place. Lots for kids to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
Family friendly. Bouncing pillow, playground. Polite operators. Only complaint is some playground equipment could use some updating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Chetek River campground is very popular, especially on weekends, and presents one of the most difficult entrances (and this is also their exit) and inside the park drive to your site that we have ever encountered. Get a little fast or not pay attention and you will very easily damage your rig. Check in time is 3PM because they allow campers a 2PM checkout. That’s strange, but this CG is mainly seasonal rigs. We asked for and received an on the river site and we were close to our neighbors on both sides but we were able to put out our slides & awnings on both sides. Leveling was a huge challenge and we ended up with both front wheels off the ground. All hook ups seem to be 30 amp with average water pressure and no sewer. Our Verizon cell gave us 3 bars but our NOAA weather radio just barely received a signal. The latter was of some concern as serious storms were predicted for the area. They offer the Passport America rate during the week. Otherwise, the rate is $32.00 per night and in our opinion, this CG is not worth that rate. This place is popular with families with kids so there were lots of kids but not a problem. Our roof mounted satellite dish locked on from our site but for most sites, forget the satellite dish. (many trees). Their free wi-fi was just so-so from but did work. The river is shallow and slow moving so there were plenty of mosquitoes after sunset. . This is an add-on park: $5.00/day for the jumping pillow, $3 for mini golf, $4/5 for pedal kart per ½ hr, $7.50 for tube trip on river, $.25 for 4 min shower, $2.00 per day if you use you use A/C: you get the picture. Downtown Chetek offers a couple of eateries and bars. We enjoyed a nice meal at Bob’s Grill and the Northlake Drive-In sells homemade root beer that is best enjoyed in a frosted glass. That said, we’ll be ready to move on after two days and would not return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Very nice place to visit if you have kids. Great playground and pool and nice mini golf course. They have a shuttle that will bring and pick you up from a tube trip down the river. Tubing was fun, but very weedy. Very friendly owners. This is one of those campgrounds were they bill everything (wood, ice, mini golf, etc.) to your site and you pay when you leave. Some people don't like that. We could care less. Only negative I can think of is that their dump station is located next to the pool. So if you happen to be staying past Sunday, you might want to wait to go swimming til late afternoon. We would go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
We liked this park. It was inexpensive, and in a good location for our needs. It's on the river, and the sites are large and shady. No sewer at our site, but for 2 nights, it worked out. Wi-Fi was good. Friendly staff. Kids area and pool, but not too crowded. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This campground is a very family friendly park with oodles for the kids to do. The mini-golf course got a well needed painting for this year, it had been a while. The restrooms are usually clean, but are still in need of a refresh. The park is plugging along, not seeing lots of improvements from year to year. It is still one of the best commercial parks in the area, no bar or "bad people" for your kids to stay away from...just plain old wholesome fun. Larger campers will have problems because of the trees and very narrow roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This campground is very family friendly: there is a jumpy pillow, mini-golf, shuffle board, a small in-ground pool, tri-cycle rentals (middle school age toys) and a game room. There is also canoe rentals and tubing, where they will take you to and pick you up from the nearby Red Cedar river. New this year is free Wi-Fi, which seems to cover pretty good in the center part of the park where we stayed twice now this year. The center section roads are well paved, perfect for roller blading. The restrooms and shower house are in the center section, porta pots on the extended areas, but the shower house is very basic. More than half of the campground are seasonals; however, transient campers are very welcome. You will find large units in here, but it is really tight getting around the park and into your site. The rates on the river are $30 a night, but they also get you with $2 AC charge per night (refundable if you don't use it) and any play things that they charge the kids for in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
This campground is extremely family friendly, there are tons of things for the kids to do here. Parents let their children run with the other kids all day long. Great access to the river for tubing and canoing. The sites are hard to get into with larger units, but you will see them all the time because it is worth it for the kids. The signs from the highway twiddle as you go, hang a right at the other campground and go another half mile to find the Chetek River campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com