223181 User submitted reviews online!!
Fish 'N Fry Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (605) 578-2150
CGID8929

Fish 'N Fry Campground

Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   9   8   9   10   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
This is an older facility, but clean and very helpful people. The owners are on site everyday and very helpful with information on the local area. Most sites are back-in with plenty of room and the staff/owner will help with all parking. The sites are level with hook ups to the rear so you may need additional hoses. There is no AT&T phone service and if the campground is full the WiFi can be very busy. The cafe has great food, and the fish deal is the best, catching your own fish at their pond and then having it cooked right on site or you can take the fish back to your site and cook. The small store is very well stocked with RV needs because the owners are also RVers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This campground has a lot of great things going for it but a few issues that made us rate it as we did. The host/owners are super friendly and helpful. Driving into and around the park was easy. You will drive a couple of steep hills on the way to the park. The sites are level and the location is beautiful. They laid out the campground where a lot of the campers are sharing a 50 amp power pole. This means one camper will get the 50 amps receptacle and the other has to use the 30 amps. The problem with doing this is the power pole is rated 50 amps so when both campers pull a lot of current the voltage drops. Our voltage dropped below 105 several times and would sometimes trip the breaker. The water pressure was good most of the time, but around 9 pm everyday, it dropped to a point where we couldn't take a shower in our rig. Just wait for about 30 minutes and the pressure will return. They charge extra for showers and also charge for the Wi-Fi. We purchased the Wi-Fi and it was very slow. There is no cable TV and we could only pickup one network channel over the air. We would probably stay here again if we could get a site where we didn't have to share the power pole. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
We recently spent a week in this lovely campground. The staff are very kind and friendly, it is pet friendly, and the park upkeep is immaculate. We enjoyed the short drive to Deadwood for gaming, peace & quiet of the campground, and friendliness of everyone. We did not fish, and did not have children with us to utilize some of the accommodations for the younger set. The pool was closed the one day I went to use it, but otherwise, it is a great vacation destination. I would highly recommend it to anyone with or without children. We would stay again when we return to Deadwood for vacation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
This was our second stay at Fish and Fry. We find the park to be clean and friendly. The owners and staff are very helpful. The spaces are large and easily accessible. If you don't care about satellite TV the sites under the trees are great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Nice little park outside of Deadwood. Area with water and electric is nicer than where full hook ups are. Parked is on lawn near a small stream. Odd little store and cafe, but the fried chicken is to die for. Fish in pond, but water doesn't look that clean. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Very friendly staff. Clean showers (25 cents for 7 minutes). Nice area. Our site was very close to our neighbors. There was approximately 3" between our slide and the neighbor's slide. No campfire was possible, as the fire ring was under a slide. We would stay here again, but would request a different site as they do have sites with more space. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
This is THE best campground in the Deadwood area by far! The owners go above and beyond to make sure your stay is comfortable, fun and relaxing. The park is located 5 miles from downtown Deadwood, so it is very quiet without traffic noise. Sites are level with grass. The only downside would be they have shared hookups, but it wasn't really a big problem. Owners keep the park and restrooms immaculate, and take pride of ownership. Owners run a great little store and restaurant on site, and the food is great! You can catch trout in their pond, and they will even fry it up for you, hence the name of the park, "Fish'N Fry Campground." Park is VERY kid friendly, and if you need cabins or a rental RV, they have that too! Park is also very pet friendly as well. Will definitely stay here the next time we're in the Black Hills area. We've stayed in a number of campgrounds in the Black Hills, and we love this one the best! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Like many of the other reviews say the staff at this campground are extremely friendly and helpful. We didn’t use the showers in the bathhouse but found them, the bathrooms and the laundry room spotless and well maintained. They claimed the coin showers are 7 minutes per $0.25 . Campground is next to the highway which surprisingly wasn’t bothersome at all. I would have given them a 10 but some of the sites are a bit close together so I’ll rate it a 9. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Staff in this park are among the most friendly and helpful folks we have come across is all our travels. We were led to our site and assisted with backing in, and hookups were explained. Sites are gravel and level. There is a stream that runs behind the park, and the owners have a stocked pond, and fishing is allowed without a license. There is a small swimming pool. Though wi-fi is advertised, there is a charge for it, which dropped my rating from a 10. It does work well, though. Don't follow your GPS in these hills; it is very confused! Look for the large sign about 2 miles from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Very nice campground. Kids really enjoyed staying here. People were VERY friendly! Store had most of what you need and also served breakfast and short order stuff on site. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This park has been in operation for perhaps 50 years, and when I was here for a few days, I visited with a lot of "regular" customers, who returned every year. A couple across from me came up every month from Nebraska, a pretty long haul, they loved the place. The camp has a great store and restaurant, with an indoor/outdoor bar, and they'll cook you up a burger or fry that trout you catch in the stream that runs right by the office. I'm already planning my 2012 trip, and plan to stay several days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Sites are VERY close together. The trout dinner for $4.95 is after you catch and pay for your trout at up to $1.00 per inch. Bath and showers were old, but cleaned as reasonably as can be expected. It was close to Deadwood, but there are many other campgrounds in the area. The owners were very friendly and helpful with WI-FI problems. Good place for an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
The campground is located along a pretty mountain stream but does have the highway on one side. Overall, traffic noise was not too bad even with the constant stream of logging trucks going by. My main issue was how tight everyone was packed in. I had a pull through site and they are entered back to back. I only had about 6" between my slide and the slide of the trailer behind me. The bathrooms were also a bit "rustic" and needed cleaning. Overall it was a good place to stay for a couple of days but I prefer something with a little more elbow room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$68
We stayed during the beginning of Sturgis, so it was really crowded. Campers were packed in tightly, but there was still enough room in our space to maneuver and back in. The showers were pay showers with an allotted time. The time was sufficient for a full shower, however there was no way to adjust the water temperature, so we ended up taking cool showers. The pool was nice and clean. Everyone was friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This is a friendly little campground with a good feel to it. It's a bit tight in some places for large rigs, but manageable with care, and the few pull-through spaces are side-by-side hook-ups and on the small side. The back-in spaces along the creek are mostly smaller and could be difficult to get into but the ones in the rest of the park generally have enough space to back in easily. The owners are friendly, always in evidence and helpful. There's a limited-menu restaurant with pretty good food. We didn't fish, but if you do and catch something they'll fry it for you: a nice touch and popular with kids. At high season and on weekends it's very crowded but everyone seems to be having a good time and it just adds to the friendly feeling. We liked it here and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
A delightful little gem of a campground. Clean and well kept. A fair amount of open sites good for satellite access, but surrounded by wonderful tall pine trees. Mix of site sizes with many being too small for rigs over 35' and not all are full hook-ups. There is a small cafe with a limited menu, but good food, on site. Also a pond stocked with trout you can fish for without a license, paying by the inch for what you catch. The cafe will even cook it for you. Small heated pool which was kept very clean. Only down side is the location 6 miles out of the town of Deadwood, on a road with many steep grades and some curves. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
We stopped here on the suggestion of friends and stayed three nights. The owners made you feel like long time friends. There are many local attractions that are very enjoyable. Their small restaurant has great food which made the stay even more enjoyable. most sites were back in but with ample room. Great place to stay while in the Black Hills We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
We have been in the South Dakota area for 8 days, staying here and there, a few miles away from each other visiting all the sites. This campground has been a pleasure to stay at. VERY beautiful, very clean and so comfortable. Wonderful ATV trails leaving right from the site. The owners are very nice people and friendly and helpful to answer questions. Our grandson caught fish and they cooked his dinner. Then he fished their stream and kept himself so entertained and he says this is the best campsite of the trip. The sites are close together, but we had great neighbors on both sides, so we just enjoyed making new friends. Would highly recommend it to anyone in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
This is with out a doubt one of the nicest and most friendly campgrounds we have ever stayed at. We intended to stay only 2 nights and ended up staying 5. The new owner was very willing to do whatever was needed to accommodate his guests, the staff was always available and friendly and to top it off, the cafe had good food. True, the sites are not as large as some parks, but come on your in a canyon! We took time to check out other RV parks in the area and we are sure glad we made the choice we did. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
I feel the same as the last, very positive, rating. We caught trout in their private lake they cooked it up & served us dinner for 70 cents an inch. We stayed by the stream with a nice little view. The owner was very cool. We can't wait to get back and say Hi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
We stayed at this campground for several days while visiting the Black Hills. I loved this facility and the people who work there are great. They often stopped by to chat. A beautiful little stream runs through the campground and some of the sites back up to it. Most of the sites are grassy and well shaded. The office/camp store is well stocked and they have a little lunch counter. It's also close to off-road trails. At night, you can clearly see the stars, smell the clean pine trees and hear the stream bubbling. But some of the guests that seemed like "regulars" were a bit rude and disregarded the rules and the comfort of their neighbors. Some were so loud at night after quiet hours that my husband had to get out of bed to ask them to quiet down. Other adult guests and their children walked/ran/played games through other's occupied sites. I saw clotheslines hanging from trees and very small unsupervised children driving ATVs around the campground. Another family failed to keep their dogs well-leashed, so their dog broke loose and attacked one of my dogs as we walked to the dog walk area. Everyone's okay, but it was very scary. It's so lovely there, I'd like to stay again, but I'm concerned that the rude guests could be a normal thing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
Sites are very close together. Only 12 pull throughs. If you have slides, you and your neighbors nearly touch. We had reservations for a lot with FHU but could not fit in the space. Our motorhome is 40' and wouldn't fit in most of their sites. They were advised of the length when we made the reservations. We were given another space with no sewer. Wi-Fi is contracted, not free. Showers are pay to use. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com