223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Rock Ridge Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (252) 291-4477
CGID8966

Rock Ridge Campground

Camp Information
Sites
67
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   5   6   9   10   8   5   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
Easy access, and good signs on the way. Very rustic campground. All hookups were adequate, the water spigots are below the ground in a hole. Beware that for every two campsites, the hookups are on the same posts, therefore each camper pulls in different. And you will be facing your neighbor. Very awkward. As you and your neighbor sits under the awning, you seem like you are camping with them. Weird. The pool was nice but dirty. Every day we took our fishing minnow net and skimmed the pool and got all the bugs out before we went swimming. Typical run down campground. The owner is extremely nice and doesn't put up with rowdy, noisy people. He accommodated every request we had. The internet was very reliable. It was a good place to spend the night, but not an extended stay destination. If you have a visitor to visit, they will be banned from the pool, I guess liability issue? The campground needs a lot of work. We would possibly stay again if we needed a place to sleep, but not stay long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
Easy access off I-95. They made us feel welcome and guided us to our spot, which was level. Nice pool on premise. Spots were shaded which interfered with satellite TV reception, but kept them cooler. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
This is a very rustic campground in the middle of a farming neighborhood. The owner was very friendly and helped me hook up which was necessary because the water hookup was in a hole about 6 inches below the surface and it was full of muddy water. He used a cup to bail it out and then hooked up my water hose. I'll have to do it myself tomorrow morning since it's raining hard now and the hole is bound to fill up again. We are camped in an adequate pull-through site on a muddy pad. All the interior roads are muddy and rutted. The pool is closed and doesn't have much water in it. This place is fine for an overnight stop, but I wouldn't stay here again if it was raining. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
Actually located about 10 miles south of Sims, N.C. off I-95 at Rock Ridge, but with excellent signs leading to campground. Very friendly owner. Campground mostly long stayers. Overnight (we were in a camper van and the only overnight) put in a close together 10 site mostly dirt area. The bathhouse had had better days and was not clean thought not filthy; needed a good clean up. The nearby pond was pretty, but ducks had left heavy loads of droppings up the pier walk way. Advertised as having ostrich. One stalked about on an adjacent pasture. Small playground for children, and a nice pool that a worker was cleaning up. OK for an overnight, but owner's attention to cleaning up is needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
Nice small campground in a beautiful country setting. Sites are long and wide. Easy maneuvering on interior roads. Staff very friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi is OK when only a couple of sites are using it, but comes to a virtual standstill when more than five sites are on-line. We would certainly stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$28
After our alternator belt repair, we decided to take the nearest campground. Rocky Ridge turned out to be a gem. A short drive off the highway, and a greeting from an emu, lead us into the campground. The gentleman at the desk was extremely helpful with getting us hooked up in the dark, to our water and sewer. We were able to use our computer with free Wi-Fi. We had to leave early before the sun to get home, but the park was very quiet and I would definitely go back for a longer visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
Very quiet campground and the owners go out of their way to be sure things are ok. The pool is great, shade trees and I think the tobacco barns add to the rustic feeling of the campground. We attended 2 Mudcats games in Zebulon and the owner showed us a shortcut: only around 15 minutes travel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
We stayed here 1 night while traveling to Florida on I95. There was easy access off interstate. It has friendly staff and is inexpensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
Large, rustic park in a quiet, attractive area with lots of big shade trees. All sites are unpaved, which is not a negative for me. Very pet friendly - many nice areas to walk dogs. Hosts were *very* friendly and helpful. Only markdown from me is due to poor state of restrooms and showers. Although they tried to keep them clean, they are much too dinghy to properly maintain. Poorly lit. Wife was afraid to spend much time in showers for fear of things falling down from the multitude of spiderwebs in the unprotected rafters above. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
If you like rustic locations, you'll like this little park. Beautiful, shady location in the oak trees. It's dusty w/gravel and grass -- no pavement. Amenities are old, but functional. Shower was older & rougher than in some state parks, but it had plenty of hot water. We have relatives right nearby and will stay here again. Very nice people run this place and care about your having a positive experience. Duck pond, ostrich, geese etc. are fun to watch. Some long-term guests are working locally and staying here. It's VERY quiet at night, yet still close to the freeway and city shopping in Wilson. Wi-Fi works fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$21
This is a great overnight stop while traveling. Very friendly owners and gave us an escort to site. Fairly level sites (very little leveling on one side). Great Wi-Fi and about 15 over the air TV channels. The only problem we had was a weak 30 amp breaker. They switched us over to a 50 amp plug for only $2.00 more. We would stop here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
The distant church chimes adds to the ambiance of this quiet, country campground. The friendly hosts reiterates the family style camping. We stayed over the Labor Day weekend and the campground was almost empty. The kids did get to meet other children and when not at the 9 ft pool, were playing on the playground. A pond with an accessible island allows for some fresh water fishing. The bath houses could use some fresh paint and fixup, but did not warrant me to reduce my rating. Sites are pull throughs with many shade trees. This could cause some leveling problems with exposed roots, however, we were able to pull in and park without adding any levelers. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing atmosphere in which to camp, then check this place out. Access from hwy 95 is extremely convenient and allows for campers traveling from north to south (or vice versa) to experience a little country town and some southern hospitality. Thankfully, I live close enough so that we can come by a few times a year and will do so again starting next summer. Our only complaint is that we did not find this place until our last camping trip this year. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
We spent 5 nights in this park while we visited family. The park is a good choice for the overnighter, easy to get to, quiet and clean. Negatives first. The pool was closed due to the time of year. The pond on the property was low. That had to be expected with the drought. The washrooms/toilet facilities were, while not dirty, at least dingy. They could use, at the minimum, a coat of paint. Both the showers and the toilet facilities were very small, almost claustrophobic. They were certainly built for people smaller than me. We had low water pressure and needed to change our water filter when we left. Positives. It is very easy to get to this campground from I-95. Rural atmosphere with pastures including cattle and ostrich next door. There are ducks and geese in and around the pond. There is no cable TV but good TV reception, somewhere around 25 channels, both standard and high definition. The host was friendly. The park was close to one of the larger outlet malls and to the JR discount store. I would not want to spend a lot of time at this campground if I had to use the shower/toilet facilities all the time. Also, I would be careful about the campground water supply. I am not certain that their water clogged my filter but am suspicious as the filter was white when I was setting up and chocolate when tearing down. Still, even with the negatives, it's a good place to overnight or spend a couple of days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$21
We had site #37 which was a W/E pull-through site. We did not need sewer as we were only stopping one night, but it was available. Most sites are shady though the ones next to the office are not. Most sites not level as it is a dirt driveway you park on. There is a dump station available. The pool was nice it was 9 ft deep a fact my spouse appreciated being so tall. There is a small laundry next to the pool area. We were not given a campground map and the rules were posted on the side of the office. There is a small playground/picnic/baseball area nest to office. We enjoyed the park like atmosphere. There is a lake with bridges to cross to a small island. Plenty of ducks to feed as well as cows and an ostrich on property. There is no wi-fi but for one night it wasn't important to us. There was no cable but we did get about eleven TV stations in the area. We talked to a local woman who had a pool access pass who used to live there while building her house, and she told us the owner runs a tight ship and believes in enforcing the rules. The grounds were clean and everyone we met seemed friendly. Owner led us to our pull-through to show us where everything was. Great for a quick stop if you are going up I-95 as it is only about 2 miles from from main road and very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com