219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Riverside Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (570) 547-6289
CGID8967

Riverside Campground

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   5   8   4   6   3   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
Very nice place, well kept and constant maintenance was evident. Susquehanna river within walking distance with a boat ramp nearby for the canoe and kayak. Tavern on site with great burgers and other items; must-try appetizers. Will return again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Way overpriced. We paid $45 with AAA discount. It really could be a nice place with the river, but it had weeds everywhere and dirt roads that turned to mud. We were placed at a site with a large electrical tower and trash dump next to our picnic table. The campground should be called trailer park because it contained mostly young men who worked in the area. Positive:The lady at check in was very nice. Also we met a nice older couple who live there year round. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$48
Stopped here while taking the scenic route through central PA. The CG is pretty tight with lots of seasonals parking partly in the roads. Pool was good, our site (77) was grass, fairly wide and deep and didn't take too much to level. Train tracks about 400 yards away. Route into the CG is through an older town with narrow streets. It was OK for an overnight but doubt we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
A large group of us, a mix of about 20 adults and kids stayed here for 6-7 days the first week of August, on sites 2,3,5 and one of the cabins. Spots 2,3 and 5 are directly on the river, large and well-shaded spots. No sewer available on these, but at your request, they'll bring the 'honey wagon' by as often as you like. Water/electric worked well. The Wi-Fi was spotty and slow, but was available. There's a nice covered porch area by the office where coverage works much better. The access to the river was perfect, with nice views. Staff are friendly and very easy-going. The tavern attached to the office is well-run and clean with a separate room off the bar for families to dine. They have theme nights (wing night, taco night, poker night) which were fun. Site #5 has a full deck in front of the pad - very nice with the awning extended over it. One day we had six inches of rain, and for the most part, the areas we were in had good drainage. Pool was large and clean. Bathrooms were clean and well-maintained - yes, it'll cost you a quarter to start up the shower, but the duration of water you get is great, and come on - it's only a quarter. The folks staying in the cabin enjoyed it - very clean, plenty of sleeping room, nice little porch on the front. In all, a very good week at a nice campground, and you can walk into the small town of Montgomery. Pretty area. We're considering returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
We stayed here for a month and a half, and it was ok. Some of the office people are down right RUDE, while others are friendly and ready to help! My husband paid for a month and 2 weeks later the park was evacuated due to flooding and when my husband went to the office to get the rest of our money back they tried to say we owed money! My husband said NO, you owe me money and they said well how do you figure? His response was I paid $550 for a month and I have only been here two weeks! They still tried to argue, but couldn't come up with a reason we owed them money, finally they refunded us but only $120, which is ridiculous if we paid $550! Otherwise clean laundry facility and pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
This is the second time we camped here. I like the restaurant/lounge that is on the property which has music on the weekends. They added a nice deck out the back of the office where they had a blue grass band play. Also a gem mine where the kids can pan for fancy stones. The pool looked nice and clean. I like the campground and there were improvements from the first time I camped here. The seasonal camper families that I talked to, many from Texas told me they are here for months working on the gas lines. They were nice people. I did not use their showers but noticed they were coin operated. I would camp here again, we always find a lot to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Staying at this campground might have been a better experience if we had had a better site. Due to the Little League World Series, all campgrounds and hotels in the area had raised their prices, so there were no discounts and a higher price, which we accepted under circumstances. We were told when we called that we needed to pay in full, up front, before arriving, and with no refunds. We had to pay via charge card and there was an added 5% for using it. There was a $5 per day charge for our young grand daughter since she was the 3rd person in our motorhome. Once here, we were greeted with a rather unfriendly check-in. Then the site we were given, which had been described as a seasonal, nice, level, good sized, back out of the action site, was actually very small with a tree hanging over that made it difficult to get in and out. The site itself was very small and muddy and we sank in. The showers cost $ and the bathrooms were rarely clean or supplied. However, the pool seemed nice and there was free WiFi. The people here had no information on the World Series (but did have the added charge) and offered very little help about the area. It definitely was not the description we were given, or we would not have stayed here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
A nice campground. Looked like it had been a little muddy here. Stayed in the lower part with no problems getting in. Not busy while we were here but it sounded like during the little league world series, it could get very busy. We were visiting relatives while we were here and the time we spent was at night but it was very quiet. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
A small older campground right on the Susquehanna river. There is a nice town park aside of the campground with a playground, field area and skate board park, which is the number one draw for my two boys. The staff is nice, the pool is small but clean. We didn't use the restrooms here; they need to be updated. They have a lounge that is open to the public. It's not the ideal campground, but my boys enjoyed the location and we've had very nice people in the sites beside of us. We've stayed here two years in a row for Memorial Weekend and will most likely be back again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
Nice, quiet park - during the day. Some areas a little 'junked up' and unkempt, but can be overlooked. At night, however, the lounge is a popular local spot with loud music and lots of patrons leaving at closing time (1-2AM). We camped here in a 40+ foot motorhome - not easily accessible as a pull through site, but easy enough to back in as the pull-through sites were located adjacent to parking lot (for lounge). Would not recommend any other sites for big rigs due to road conditions in park (large 'dip' in road - sure to be a tail dragger for a large motorhome). For other vehicles, park is great with some sites having lovely view right on river. Seemed like a lot of seasonal campers. Lots of kids. Gravel/dirt roads - might be problems after heavy rains. Would probably not stay here again only because of lack of big rig accessibility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com