218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Cowans Gap State Park, Aughwick CG was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (717) 485-3948
CGID8968

Cowans Gap State Park, Aughwick CG

Camp Information
Sites
224
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   7   7   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
We spent 3 days at this fabulous state park. No problem at all getting into the park with our 40' 5er. Most sites are short, but there a number of "big rig" sites that are easy to back into. Just check the website for availability. Very spacious as well. Very clean and well maintained with the exception of the dumpsters that desperately needed to be emptied, but it did not detract from our get away. Miles of trails to walk and a beautiful beach. It's electric only but there is a dump station available. Mostly 30 amp sites but a few 50 amp. Highly recommend this park!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$27
We've stayed at Cowans Gap many times and have reviewed it in the past. This was the first time we camped there this late in the season, though, and the experience had some significant differences from "in season" camping. Starting after Labor Day the number of available sites are reduced as some of the loops are closed. During our visit, the only sites open were the pet sites (1-30) and sites on the main road through the campground (31-74). The only restroom and shower house open was before entering the pet sites, right at the campground entrance and few spigots were working through the open area. That shower house is a considerable distance from sites outside of the pet area, which makes it difficult if you don't have your own facilities. Also surprising, and only discovered when we were leaving, was that the rinse hose at the dump station was turned off. If we had known that we wouldn't have dumped the remainder of our fresh water and would have been able to rinse the dump hose. We realize that, due to budget cuts, parks are continually looking for ways to reduce costs, but it would have been nice to have an additional shower house (or at least a restroom building) open over weekends and have water available at the dump station. Cowans Gap remains one of our favorite Pennsylvania state parks and the park and surrounding areas are beautiful. The towns and country roads throughout the area are well worth exploring. We'll be back in 2012 and beyond. We hope that we don't see more budget cutting in one of the very few areas that produce income for the parks! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
Only a very limited number of pet sites available. No water hookups. Very quiet. Clean restrooms & showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
Nice mountain top campsite with a beautiful lake and beach. We only spent the nite, but it looked like it was a pleasant getaway. A bit of a climb. If you are coming in from the west on Rt 30 they said it was safe to drive in on Aughwick road at the summit between Ft Loudon and McConnellsburg. We would have saved about 8 miles that way. We are ADA campers and they did not have non pet ADA site so we were forced to pay a premium (added pet fee) for an ADA site near a restroom. PA should look into this policy, they need to offer equal accommodations for ADA campers without charging premiums. Lower rating was only because of this issue, 10's otherwise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
I know that I should love all state parks, but this one just doesn't do it for me. There are only a few sites that take pets (30), there are only two loops (a & b), "A" loop has over 100 sties so you feel like you are camping on a road. The bath houses are out of date. There is no camp store. There are canoes, kayaks an small boats to rent on the 42 acre lake. There s a beach and a large picnic area which seems to be a popular weekend spot with the locals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This is a beautiful state park. The campground was very nice, our section was very quiet. We had a great shady site near the bathrooms. The bathrooms were clean and spacious and best of all private with real doors that locked! I did not go over to the bathhouse with the showers but I would imagine they are similar. There is a great beach for swimming with clean, soft and fluffy sand: perfect for building sand castles! The water in the lake was crystal clear. There are paddleboats and rowboats available for rental. There is a concession stand by the beach where camping supplies are available. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
This is a beautiful state park with a 40 acre lake with a nice sandy beach area. The sites were pretty level with enough room between you and your neighbor and was a great campground to be at for the opening day of trout. If you love camping at a state park then this would definitely be a place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
This park has now, after our first visit, moved to the top of the list among our favorite Pennsylvania State Parks. The layout of the campground is well thought out, with nice separation between sites, level gravel spurs, although some are fairly short, and decent shade on most sites throughout the day. The shower houses and restrooms appear to be recent construction and are clean, roomy and well lit. The 224 sites are spread through two campgrounds, with the Aughwick CG being the much larger. Quite a few electric sites are available along with a few pull-thru and some walk-in tent sites. We camped on site 117 and had more than enough room for our mid-sized tent camper, awning and 10x10 screen room, with the tow vehicle parked on the slope leading down to the road. Many sites on the inside of the loops have an incline leading up to the level pad while many outside sites have a steep drop-off behind the pad due to the hilly terrain of the campground loops. Pay attention to the site characteristics listed on the park's web site to make sure your camper will fit easily on the level pad. The park has a 40-some acre lake with two boat launches, a mooring area for campers, and a nice sandy beach. The lake was crystal clear -- we could see the bottom while swimming in six feet of water. There are a lot of well-marked trails through the park, a visitor center and a shower house/concession building at the beach. Buchanon's Birthplace State Park, a very small state park marking the place where President James Buchanon was born, is nearby and worth a visit. The scenery in the area, on the eastern edge of Pennsylvania's Allegheny Mountain region, is spectacular. We're already planning our next visit to Cowans Gap! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com