223476 User submitted reviews online!!
Bald Mountain Camping Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (706) 896-8896
CGID897

Bald Mountain Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
280
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   9   10   9   9   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
Besides agreeing with all of those who posted a 10 for this campground I would like to add that they give you support and help whenever needed. If our Wi-Fi didn't work properly it was fixed within a day. The same goes for the cable. They are very service orientated in this campground and are concerned about their guests' satisfaction. I stop here at least once a year for several months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Beautiful campground at the base of Brasstown Bald. Very clean and well kept. Nice pool, mini golf, and playground for the kids. They also offer pedal boats and canoes for rent to use on their small lake. Very gracious staff. We would definitely like to camp here again. Our rate was with Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
Excellent campground. Sites and roads are very clean. Very friendly staff and fast check-in. We're here with a motor home group. The pavilion is very large and clean. Lots to do in the area. They do a great job here in keeping this place up. One of the best places we've stayed. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
A spectacular park sitting in a beautiful location at the base of Georgia's tallest mountain, Brasstown Bald. Its a bit off the road near Hiawassee, but upon arrival one will find a very well developed RV park (more like an RV resort). Beautiful landscape, lakes and great amenities in a breathtaking mountain setting. We visited this trip in our truck camper as we were in the north Georgia region, and wanted to check this park out as a place to visit for a longer stay with our fifth wheel. We will definitely return as it met and exceeded our expectations. We only saw one shower/restroom facility located in the office complex and not the main shower/restroom building located elsewhere in the park. The office shower facility was not very attractive and we shied away from using it. There is a bit of a problem with pesky geese/duck droppings in the vicinity of the ponds so we had to watch our step. But the overall quality of the facility and its awesome location made it a pleasant place to be and a place we want to visit more frequently. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Our site overlooked the lake with Bald Mountain in the background. An awesome view. Large sites with picnic tables. Strong Wi-Fi. Clean laundry room. Office staff friendly and helpful. Paddle boats and kyake's available for the lake. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here so far. Ours has been a three-night stay in early October, over a weekend. Everyone has been so friendly. The staff at check-in were great and everyone here in the park waves and says “hello”. We reserved a lakeside pull through site. Very nice view of the lake and mountains. The fire rings by the lake are beautiful when everyone has them lit. It is in a good location to experience some of north Georgia’s best activities. We used the WiFi a lot during the stay. The signal was strong and we experienced no problems. There seemed to be a good mixture of sunny and shady spots throughout the park. Ours was not shaded but had the lakeside location. If anything, I would say that the sites are a bit crowded in a few areas. However, we had neighbors to both the left and right and the proximity did not bother us at all. The restrooms were clean but we did not use the shower facilities. In fact, there were many amenities which we did not use. From what we observed; however, all of the facilities were well maintained and clean. They do offer a number of family friendly amenities which means there are a good number of children about. One should expect the normal sounds and activities which come with a family park. While we do not have children ourselves, we did not find the noise inappropriate. Nothing out of the norm, just “happy” noises. Children riding bikes around the park, fishing in the lake, playing on the grounds, etc. The park prominently displays the rules and they seem to be followed for the most part. This park suited our style of camping well. It has been great to come back after a day of hiking and exploring to cookout beside the rig. We eat at the picnic table then take our chairs to the lakeside and enjoy a fire (and the fires of our neighbors). Because of its location near many areas of interest for us, I would safely say we will visit here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We stayed on a creek side site with other friends near by. Easy access and good signs marking the campground location. Friendly staff and nice facilities. We used the pool, ball field, fishing pond and putt putt golf and the kids loved them all. This facility is close to Helen (tubing) and many other recreational opportunities. I would give it a perfect rating if the laundry room had normal hours or was arranged for campers to use it when convenient. It's only open when office is open (days) and closes an hour before the office does. Most of our large gathering went to town to find a laundry mat. We will return and recommend to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
This park was highly recommended to us, since we wanted to come to the Hiawassee area. The reception was very friendly. We found it mostly seasonal, permanently parked RVs around the perimeter of this large park. It is attractive to families and rallies. There are plenty of activities for all ages. The showers and trash containers are inconvenient for short time parking. The laundry was centrally located and very clean. The creeks running through the park lend ambiance, but Bald Mountain is not our favorite kind of campground. We wouldn't plan to come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
This park has quickly become our favorite getaway. We always choose a lakeside pull-through. The managers and owners are on site and very helpful. We had a small water issue this last trip and were able to borrow a wet vac to help mop up the water. The park is clean,quiet, and peaceful. It's close enough to some great sites in the North Georgia Mountains, but remote enough to be quiet. The mountain veiw is fantastic. There is a pool, but we didn't use it. We are planning on a week long trip in the fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$17
We camped here for the month of April,which reflexes the nightly rate. It is a beautiful RV park in the area off the main road. It is real quiet, even when a rally of 50 came in.The grounds are always kept up nice and the restrooms and laundry are always clean. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. We would recommend Bald Mt Camping Resort to everyone who would like to stay in the northern Georgia mountains area. The town of Hiawassee has a real nice grocery store, and all the local stores and restaurants are just great. We definitely would return for another visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
VERY large park that is open only from April 1--November 1. We were told that the WI-FI had been improved; it was very fast. Phone service worked great and cable was provided. Some sites were shaded and some had no shade, especially some of the pull-through sites for bigger RVs. Lots of amenities, especially for families with children: fishing pond, nice playground, miniature golf, swimming pool, basketball court, volleyball net, and grassy baseball field to name a few. We stayed close to Halloween and the park staff had a costume contest for the kids. On the flip-side, if you prefer a less active environment and/or if you have a dog that goes nuts when kids on bikes zip by during a walk, this may not be the place for you. Some children were supervised, some not. Our space was space 40, a back-in, and it was not very deep so we had to angle our truck sideways in front of our trailer. Sites were such that trailers are lined up fairly close together with no landscaping in between; sorta like a huge gravel parking lot. Sites were not paved but interior roads were. The park is surrounded by hills, which is pretty, and has a stream running through on one side. I think the views from the fish pond side were better than where we were parked. There is a street that runs through the park that gives access to private homes. Restrooms were clean, and so was the laundry room. The laundry room had several units of washers/dryers all in working order at the time we used them. It was a short drive into nearby communities. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We have stayed at Bald Mountain Camping Resort four times in the last few years and thus far it is our favorite campground. The facilities are very clean, the grounds are kept clean, and the staff is very helpful. We have always been allowed to choose the exact site we want and the map posted on their website is fairly accurate. My only complaint is that the wifi is very week and sometimes non-existent. If you need wifi, this might not be the place for you or you might need a site very close to the office. We will be returning in Oct. 2012. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
Very nice park, we enjoyed our stay very much. Signage to the camp ground was a little misleading, but the effort was worth it. Very friendly people and lots of points of interest near by. Our pet loved it there as well as he is very social. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
We thoroughly enjoyed this campground! Playground, swimming pool, fishing, putt putt, paddle boats, game room...there was always something for the children to do. We camped in a pull-thru site around the lake which had no shade. The site was close enough to the lake, store, and putt putt that we could allow our kids a little freedom to do these things on their own since we could see them from our site. Only complaint is the ducks and geese around the lake, or what the ducks and geese left behind, you always had to be careful where you stepped. Not sure of the nightly rate. We paid a monthly rate of $430 plus electricity. Great campground!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$40
Great RV resort. We were here before the pool opened, but the playground and lake kept the kids busy. The only reason I didn't give this resort a 10 is the showers could have been a bit cleaner. Now in fairness, the park was not crowded at all and it was still very early in their season. We will be back for sure during the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
This is a large campground. They can handle a lot of people in this campground because the sites are super close together. The best sites are next to the lake. We were in a site beyond the ball field up in the woods near a bath house. The trail to the bathhouse went through our campsite. So, while we were sitting at the camp fire people would walk right through. Other than the close quarters, it was a nice campground. The sites had sewer hookups, fire ring, and cable. We will visit again if we can get one of the better sites on the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Had a great stay at Bald Mountain. We came in after hours and they had a packet of exactly where our campsite was and how to get to it. I was told when I made the reservation that it was shady which it was. I was on a waiting list. Campground called and was able to accommodate me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We were very very happy here. It was like we were in a private valley with the mountains surrounding us. Yet only about 7 miles from Hiawassee. Very friendly staff. We had a pull through, with a 34 ft motor home, a 20 ft trailer and there was still enough room to park behind the trailer which we did not have to unhook. We had our dogs with us and the dog run was very well maintained, a pleasant surprise. We were not fisherman but there were many people fishing in their private lake/pond. All in all it was a quiet peacefully park. We will stay here again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This park was wonderful! I would highly recommend it to everyone. We had a wonderful time in the Mountains. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Great park, beautiful location and friendly staff. Enjoyed our stay here very much. We will most probably be back. No charge for the pool - shuffleboard and mini-golf only required a deposit for equipment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
For families this is probably a good place to be. For seniors that want peace and quite, this is the worst place to be. Too may kids everywhere, bike almost run you over, too much noise. We paid for multiple nights, but left after the first night. There is a road that runs through the middle of this campground with traffic going thru all the time. Just not a place we would ever revisit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This is an absolutely perfect resort. The amenties are outstanding, the entire place is maintained very nicely. We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend, and found nothing to complain about. The park was completly full and we were able to sleep without bother in our tent, all the sites are clean with gravel and close hook ups. Weather staying in a tent or camper, everyone was treated the same, restrooms were checked/cleaned twice daily. Plenty to do with children my kids loved it. We found no issue with the road (mentioned in some reviews) which goes through the park, not alot of traffic and everyone is very alert of the resort activities and people crossing the road. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We are new to camping and haven't been to a lot of campgrounds yet, but my husband said, "This is the prettiest campground we've been to." This campground is in a gorgeous setting! There are streams running all through the campground and a beautiful lake. Yes, there are some "full timers" as others have said, but their sites are well kept and the people are friendly. Lots of fun things to do - we enjoyed shuffle board, miniature golf, swimming, and a concert at the bandstand and the girls couldn't wait to get to the good "old fashioned" playground that had teeter-totters and a merry-go-round (you never see those anymore)! Many sites back up to a large stream. Ours backed up to a small one and it kept the girls busy. My only complaints would be that they need more lounge chairs at the pool and the sites are close together. As others have stated there is a road that comes through the middle of the campground - we did not let our daughters ride on it without us. Most people driving on it go slow and are cautious but there are a few who don't. My recommendation is to stay on the same side of the road as the office. Then you can access everything by bicycle without going on the main road with exception to the playground and then you will need to cross the road. This is what we did - we were in sight 172. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
When I placed my reservation, there were no pull-through's available. Upon arrival, the owner had me park my car trailer in an open area close to our site. We loved the little stream next to our site, which was shaded, clean and level. Staff very friendly and the grounds were very well maintained. Did not use bath facilities, so cannot comment on them. We spent a week here. This is one campground I would return to and would highly recommend to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
First stay here, and it was pretty nice. Negatives were the WiFi that is intermittent, and the site we had, had a tree with several dead limbs. We had a pretty good storm the 2nd night and a 10' limb came down and put several holes in the awning and dented the tailgate of my truck. No true fault of the campground, more bad luck on my part. There is a lot of traffic through here with the county road and general traffic. As stated before there are a lot of permanent sites, and some look very dated and some are trashy looking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We booked for 4 nights but only stayed 2.The park does offer internet but it was very slow. The cable tv was great and so was the pool, but the putt putt was only available if you can get the equipment from the office that closes kind of early.There is a main road running thru the campground so you need to watch the kids crossing.The site we had was 220 which was nice, on the creek, but there are alot of permenant travel trailers,one of which was right next to us so the view was kind of bad and the bugs were terrible.The sites on the lake looked nice but there were not many trees.We won't be back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
The Park has a great feel! It is neat and clean and well maintained. The owners are working onsite and/or nearby most of the time. They are friendly, professional and accommodating. Pride of ownership is evident. There is plenty of room for walking and biking. It is a great central location for access to incredible outdoor recreation in the surrounding mountains. There are lots of family-friendly activities right on the property i.e., pool, mini golf, playground, basketball, paddle boats etc. It seems a great place for a perfect camping experience! We stayed for a month and were treated to azaleas, rhododendrons and tulips trees in bloom! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Bald Mountain was a great campground with awsome things to do with our kids. The sites were all fairly level and clean. Some smaller than others but very comfortable. We had guests join us for one night and they were very accepting of them for $5.00 each per night so a total of an extra $10.00 for the one night. The cable was wonderful for the kids and yes it rained so that kept them busy. The kids also played in the creek at the back of the site and had a wonderful time. We will be back time and time again I am sure. One of the best sites I have been to in the past 5 years. Fishing in the ponds is free for campers. The putt putt is free and also great for all ages. Sites are pea gravel. Many permanent residents but very nice and polite. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$31
This is a beautiful park. One of my favorite. The sites are nice and the ones on the stream are wonderful. Activities are planned during the summer week ends and the fall. I have stayed here many times and will continue to do so. You can not go wrong at this park. Suitable for larger rigs as well as tent campers. Very family friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
Park was big rig friendly with several sections to choose from. A couple of the sections were like gravel parking lots, with no room between sites. The main road intersected campground and the road was busy on the Sat we were there. We forgot to present our Good Sam card upon arrival and went back the next day and were told we should have presented it upon check in. The site we were in was very good with a view of the small lake, but was not clean. Check in and check out are the same time on literature, so be aware if checking in at the time since the previous camper might still be there. Overall, this was an OK park for us, but there are nicer in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Very nice campground, good people, camped by creek which was real nice, did not like all the road traffic and barking dogs from permanent residents, had to leave 4 days early because of the birth of a grandchild No Refunds are given so I suggest that if you think you might have an emergency that you pay daily. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
We loved this park, though it is 3-4 miles off the main road and up a mountainside. Most of the campground is level, as are the sites. Very family/pet friendly. We were by the stream, which was running and lovely to listen to. Wi-Fi did not reach to our RV, but available in the clubhouse. Nicely maintained, though the only dumpsters were not conveniently located. However, a nice experience and we would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
The campground was nice, however I was disappointed to see a local street going through the middle of the campground. This, in my opinion made it dangerous for those walking and riding bikes. There was a large volume of traffic during the early evening hours. There was only 1 trash bin which was very inconvenient for the size of the park. The landscaping could have been a little better, such as simply cutting the grass around the camping sites. I will not return due to the street and lack of any type of security. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
Overall, its a pretty good campground. We are spoiled to staying at Georgia State Parks, so a private campground was a bit of a change for us. The sites were only about 6 feet from each other, and there are numerous permanent residents in the campground. They have even put metal covers over them, built decks and landscaped around them. It seemed a bit like a trailer park. However, the scenery is beautiful! It is very kid friendly, having a pool, a lake to fish in, and a putt putt course. There is also a busy road running through the middle of the campground...which is hazardous to kids and adults. Happy Camping! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
The new owners have done a great job redoing the campground. The sites are level and big. We love to come to this park every year. We stayed the month of September 2006 and are planning to go back September 2007. We also make a quick trip in April for a few days. It's a well deserved 10! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
I got towed into this park after dark as I had a brake problem on my rv. The owner came out to greet meet me and told me he knew an rv repair man who showed up at nine the next morning. The campground is clean, all litter picked up on a daily basis, quiet and on a stocked lake with a river running through it. The office staff greets you with a smile and there is a small store with necessities and a book and video exchange in the large game room. You can rent a paddle boat or kayak for the lake or play mini golf. There is a volleyball net, and a swimming pool, although it's not yet opened. The wifi signal is great as is the cable signal. You can camp on a running stream or on the lake its your choice. The only thing this park is missing are scheduled activities but they may be coming soon under the new owners. You must have your pets on a leash here but there are several dogs from the local neighborhood running loose in the park but they don't seem to cause a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
This park is great, very relaxing and quiet, yet you can find alot to do. Holidays are fun, with dancing and a band at the bandstand. If I need wireless intenet, its there. If I want to fish, it's there. If my husband want to watch cable, it's there. If I need the help of the staff or manager, they are all there for us. The bathhouses are the cleanest I've ever seen. It is a perfect area for a great time. We all love it here, and will come back every summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Lots of permanent residents, more like a trailer park, not a resort. Needs work. Owners are not pleasant and please don't bother them when it is close to 6 pm, lock-down time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
We have stayed at this campground for several years every May for a motorcycle rally. The new owners are working miracles at this park. There are a lot of seasonal residents, but they are not intermingled with the regular campers. The new owners have strict requirements for the seasonal residents to keep neat and presentable sites. There are many big rig sites available. The bath houses are older, but kept clean and stocked. The owners have plans for total bath renovations. The park is a wonderful relaxing place. This is an excellent park for a staging area to enjoy Helen, Georgia, waterfalls, many state parks and the mountains in general. They are pet friendly and motorcycle friendly. The paved roads in the park are especially nice for keeping the dust down! Wonderful play areas for children. In the summer, they have many planned activities for the campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
Unfriendly staff, CG resembles a transient/migrant CG with semi permanent rig's. Far too many other much nicer CG's to pick from; won't go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2005
$24
They call it an RV resort but it's more like a trailer park. Lots of permanent residents in run down units with metal canopies over them. Some shaded sites but too many in full sun. Sites are also close together and in straight rows without much regard for asthetics. The new owners were very nice however and said they have plans to improve the park. I found the presence of so many permanent sites depressing and not in keeping with a campsite like experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2000
$16
The park is an older park and needs some repairs. There are two newer bath houses and the new owner is making repairs.The coin laundry is not sufficient for the number of campers. If the new owner continues the improvements it would be an 8 or 9 rating. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com