215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Staysail RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (360) 279-4500
CGID8997

Staysail RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   5   8   8   10   9   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
This is a great park for a base to see all the area sights. They have made some changes for this year. They now have WiFi that works pretty well in sites 1 through 31, not as well on the other side. They are working on that issue. They have leveled and put new gravel in all sites. They now do reservations on about half the sites. They are putting in a kiosk for registration and credit card payment but it isn't operating as of this post. Big rig friendly, busy through the day in the park area but very quiet at night. Shopping and eating very close, within walking distance. All in all a great park for the cost. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
I have stayed at this park a number of times before and can only say it has not improved at all. In fact it is going downhill. Pads are gravel which are now mostly dirt. My pad had a number of potholes which filled with an overnight rain. I had to walk thru them to get to my car. Electricity is 30 amp, but very weak. I had only 103 volts most mornings causing my microwave to groan. The city spends no money on maintenance. Does not spend any of the revenue on the park, but it goes into the cities general Parks and Rec fund. And they are generating about $10,000 per month from the park. I sure wish there was a better park in the area. They say there are plans to add Wi-Fi and reservations next year. A work camper host is useless. I never saw him interacting with the guests. There were no handouts telling about the many amenities in Oak Harbor. A typical publicly run facility. There is no person or persons who have a vested interest it making the park what it could be - a jewel on Oak Harbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
This park has a lot of potential due to its location right on the bay. Yet, it is very run down. Sites are somewhat graveled and not that level. Not many sites adequate for rigs over 40 feet. And since the park is first come first served, this is a problem for big rigs not able to secure a site mid week. Grass between the sites is full of weeds. We were in the park for 5 nights and we didn't see anyone cleaning anything. Yes, it's cheap and in a beautiful location but the park itself needs work. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
We have stayed here before, a great park considering the cost. All sites are back-in but plenty of room to get around. Next to the city park and the bay, well kept park with a lot of daytime activity. Nights are quiet, a lot of shade. TV reception is somewhat limited via antenna, satellite may be limited in some sights because of the tree rows. Lots of shopping within walking and eating places also. We will stay here anytime we are in the area, my sister lives close by and we usually spend a couple weeks will traveling the northwest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
We have stayed here several times during the winter months, which means the weather can be a bit iffy. This is a first-come, first-get a site park in downtown Oak Harbor, WA and can be rather busy in the summer. It is part of a city park so there is usually a lot of public use. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$20
The city of Oak Harbor is certainly to be commended for providing this wonderful RV park near the heart of the city. We had planned on staying for two or three nights and ended up staying for nine nights. It is a great park for exploring this area, including taking the ferry over to Victoria from Anacortes. There are RV sites, some with sewer and some without and there are tent sites. The rate for full hookup is only $20 per night. It is 30 amp service. A prior reviewer complained about the power being weak but we certainly had no problem. We were there in the late fall and many of the sites had the water turned off, but they even use heating cables to have many of the sites open throughout the winter. When we were there there were only a couple of other RV's. The park is very close to the city but on a dead-end street so that it was very quite. Thankfully, they do not have a lot of bright street lights to destroy the night sky. The RV sites are right next to a great city park and the beginning of a short, but nice, hiking and biking trail. This is definitely a park that we will return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
This park is part of the city park system of the city of Oak Harbor. The actual rv parking area is not fancy but there are full hookups in good condition. There are also picnic tables for each site. The park is first come, first serve with self registration. You must pay by cash or check the very reasonable rate of $20.00 a day. The RV park adjoins a very well maintained city park on the bay. The grass is watered, green and well groomed. There is beach access and a boat ramp. There are also extensive paved walking trails along the harbor with many benches and picnic tables. There are several playgrounds as well as a swimming lagoon and many other amenities. The park is located near 2 large grocery stores and many shopping and dining opportunities. You can walk downtown and to the marina. We enjoyed our stay here so much that we wrote a thank you email to the mayor and park department. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Great little park. Payment can be cash or check (out of state checks are OK). An antenna works well on most sites. Easy to back into sites; we have a 40' rig and had no problems. It is first come first serve, we were here two weeks and it was only full the last weekend because it was the weekend before July 4th. This is a great base for seeing all the sights on the island and using any of the ferries. The City Park is used a lot by residents and it will seem busy during the day but it is very peaceful at night. We were visiting family in the area, it worked great, would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
This is a beautiful park along the water in Oak Harbor, WA. Shopping and restaurants all within easy walking distance. We have stayed here many times and never had a problem with power, believe that must have been a fluke with the previous posting. Sites are spacious enough, gravel and pretty darn level. All back-in sites. We backed in our site this visit and ended up perfectly level! Oak Harbor has new rules where they "close" the park at 10 pm to get rid of any vagrant problems and it has worked very well. Beautiful biking/walking paths. Two kiddie pools open in the summer months as well as a swim lagoon with lifeguards and paddle boat/kyak rentals. Beachcombing is great fun here as well as flying kites in the wide open spaces. Several playgrounds as well. This is a favorite that we will continue coming back to again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
We stayed 3 nights over the Presidents Day weekend. It was great - The park is a real gem, withing walking distance of town as well as the sea shore. The downside is the sites are on a first come bases so plan early. In the winter weather can be a bit of a problem. The park is located where it can received high winds. We were rocked to sleep one night. And. of course this is Western Washington so rain is usually in the forecast during the winter. We also discovered that the water is turned off for most of the sites during the winter, however the power and sewer appeared to be on throughout the park. By early evening nearly all sites that had water were occupied. We will definitely use this park again if the opportunity presents itself. Oak Harbor and the island are great places to visit any time of the year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
This is a nice little city owned and operated park about as close as you can get near the water. Located around the edge of their city park, this RV Park has enough room for slides and awnings. Not large sites but you’re not encroaching on your neighbor’s site or visa versa. Sites are back-ins, gravel and not perfectly level. We didn’t have any problems leveling out our motorhome. Site has a picnic table but no fire rings, hurrah! Located in the downtown area, it’s close to grocery stores, Wal-Mart (it’s not a Super Wal-Mart) and other businesses. First come, no reservations which is nice for those of us who aren’t on a schedule when we’re traveling. Good water, power (30 amp) and sewer. Someone commented on the power situation here and I’m sure it was during the big heat wave when the whole Pacific Northwest were having record highs. While we were here we experienced no power outages. Good cell and Aircard (Verizon) reception but almost impossible to get in our satellite TV due to the trees that surround the border of the park. You might be able to get reception near the entrance to the park (on your right) where you’ll see 2 rows of RV sites. We were in the row that is further from the entrance that borders along the other side of the park. Try the sites that are closest to the tent area. Nice walking path or bike path with views of the water. The bathroom/showers, we didn’t use so I can’t comment on them. Both the city park and the RV Park are very busy on the weekend and can be noisy, but during midweek it’s very quiet. We had an enjoyable 9 days here and will be back again when traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
I would like to have given the park a higher rating than a 6 but power is very unreliable. And 30 amp only. There were numerous power outages. This could be a really nice city park if the electricity were reliable. It is a short walk to the beach and at $20 it is a real bargain. I had planned to stay longer than 10 days but it is not fun resetting items caused by a power outage and worrying when the next outage would occur. I will only return if the electric situation is improved. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Nice Park close to the water and downtown Oak Harbor. The City Park is very nice and well maintained. The sites are all gravel so bring your patio rug. Fairly close together but plenty of room for slide outs. The location is great near the large city park, lots of room for the dog to walk, run or swim at the beach. We will go here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Beautiful park, clean and close to everything. Nice day trips from the park. Only note is it can be very windy.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This was our first visit and we will definitely return. Campground is owned & maintained by the City of Oak Harbor and sits directly beside the beautifully maintained, very large city park. The city park is many acres of water front property although you can't see the water from the campground. Campground is combo of gravel and paved. Although clean the actual sites are a bit close. This ISN'T a resort campground. Some have a small patch of grass between the sites but most do not. The big sell here is the amazing city park, with every park amenity imaginable. I understand that during the summer the park has all array of weekend activities. Big down side is that they don't take reservations as there is no on-site attendant, it's first come first serve. We have been told it can be very difficult to get a site during the summer months. It is my understanding that the $20 a night fee hasn't increased in many years and is the same price all year. This one is definitely worth the stay. A big thanks to the City of Oak Harbor for a lovely, affordable, maintained campground! There should be one in every city! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
City RV park located in the Oak Harbor City Park adjacent to the beach. 100 yard easy walk to the beach. 56 sites. No reservations. 30 consecutive days max stay. Check-out at Noon. Check-in anytime a site is available. Sites 1-19 and 44-56 are satellite friendly (DirecTV and DataStorm internet). Nicely maintained. Great July 4th city fireworks show. Tent sites available. Stayed three weeks. Never liked the old name of City Beach Trailer Camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Very clean, including showers and restrooms. Easy access to trails and waterfront. Two small "kiddie" pools in adjacent city park. Very pleasant stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com