219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Rifle Gap State Park - Lakeview Loop was rated 9 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (970) 625-1607
CGID9001

Rifle Gap State Park - Lakeview Loop

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   7   4   10   9   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$24
Really pretty State Park and the Lakeview CG has some really nice views. Although there are no big trees in the CG many sites have large covered ramadas. I wouldn't hesitate to camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
Beautiful park. Clean, neat, well cared for. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Beautiful area, only about 5 or 6 miles from town. Campsites were large, not close together, many with beautiful views of the surrounding area or of the lake. Peaceful, relaxing area, clean, very well-kept. Restrooms were clean, well maintained; and showers are available with "quarters", but plenty of change machines available. Electric, sewer, and water hook ups all worked fine, but water wasn't very drinkable. We had plenty of bottled water, so it wasn't a problem. Also, note that we couldn't get any cell phone reception with AT&T, but we could drive 3 or so miles back into town and get reception just fine. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
This campground has wonderful flat, blacktop sites. We had full hookups. Very nice, seemingly new and clean restrooms. Only drawback is that there is no shade in this campground. The only shade available is in the tent only campground sites. We paid $21 with CO Aspen Leaf Pass (Senior). This would rate a 10 if there were shaded sites. Our site did have a shelter over the picnic table. If boating and fishing are what you are looking for, check this park out in the cooler months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Campground was adequate. The fee was not justified, however. There's a transaction fee to make reservations plus Colorado state park entrance fee that was $7 more per day. The lake was down, and park service can't help that or the fact that it's just dry and the drinking water is slightly tan and mineral-laden. We have a Colorado park pass, which must be glued to your front windshield. Permanently. We're from another state and will only use the pass for two weeks this year. But we're stuck with the blooming decal forever!!! Other states give card pass which must be accompanied by photo ID. That's a better method. I realize this practice is not the policy for Rifle St Park. Still, I would not return there . It was not even close to getting value for cost. I've stayed in three star hotels thru Priceline for same nightly rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
This is the cleanest campground we have ever stayed in, and we've stayed in hundreds. Mountain and lake view is awesome. Bathrooms and showers are nicer than most hotels. Tiled walls and floors, shiny sinks and faucets. Camp loop is paved and wide two-way driveway. Site pad is concrete and wide. Many (not all) site picnic tables have shade covers. Fine gravel surface around table is raked and smoothed after each site is vacated and made ready for the new arrival. No trash anywhere. Camp hosts greet you and are very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
The rate reflects the campsite plus the $7 daily park fee. If you have the annual Colorado State Parks pass, it's only $24. Lakeview loop was nicer than most commercial campgrounds we've been in. There's a nice mix of pull-throughs and back-ins, but they're all huge and easy to get into. The sites are spaced very widely providing plenty of privacy. Utilities worked great and are full hookups. Roads are new blacktop and pads are concrete. The camp host couple did a great job, even raking out the gravel around your picnic table. It looked like a manicured Zen garden when we backed into our site. No Wi-Fi, no TV reception, no cell phone, and no data reception this far back, so if that's a requirement be prepared to drive 10 minutes back into Rifle. Rifle golf course was just outside the park and is one of the prettiest courses you'll ever see. We loved it. Be sure you take the easy hike over the top of Rifle Falls. I know there were trout in the lake, and at Harvey's Gap as well, but didn't catch them. The lake at this park is a tiny reservoir, and if you can imagine, they allow water skiing on it. It's so small they should make it a "no motor" lake, but I guess the local ski boat dealer has some influence. We'd stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
This is probably one of the best Colorado state parks that I have visited. We used this park as our base camp for activities in the western part of the state. The park was very clean and was very modern (for Colorado state park standards) with 20/30/50 amp, water, and sewer hookups. Sites are level and concrete with a variety of pull through and back-in spots. Cell phone coverage is kind of spotty at best (at least with Verizon) which may be good or bad depending on whether or not you are trying to get away from it all. There is full cell phone signal down by the dam. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Open space campground on hill overlooking reservoir, mixture of pull through and back-in sites. Sites have level concrete pads and covered picnic tables. No cell phone coverage. Pretty views, lots of humming birds. Quiet. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
Ignore the GPS and take the Rifle Exit from I-70 to get to the park. Nice big pull through sites with concrete pads and good utility placement. Good views of the lake. Lake view sites are on the hill and the section is tiered, making biking a challenge. Lots of walking available. No shade. It was around 100 while we were there. Direct sun makes things uncomfortable. Don't count on over the air TV, phone service or internet. It's too far away from town and is surrounded by canyon walls. Lake was very low this year, but lots of boating anyway. Nice boat launch in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Actually, we were in the Cedar Loop, space 55, but the review is the same. A little difficult to get to, CR325 is pretty narrow and curvy. Excellent location though, terrific view, level spots that were well maintained (including covered picnic table). There were two drawbacks: power only (50A, no water, no sewer) but for an overnight this was no problem. Also the rates: $20 for camping, $10 to reserve a spot, and $7 a day vehicle fee. Even so, I am still rating it high because it is such a great parking spot. We'd come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
This is an immaculate campground in the Rockies next to a man-made lake. The volunteer staff are friendly and helpful. The setting is beautiful. The road to the campground is narrow and winding and although manageable, is certainly a drive you will want to take slowly, if you are 40 feet long, as we are, and with a toad. The camping fee mentioned above does not include the Colorado pass required ($7-9/ night or $70/year). We used this campground just for an overnight stay on our way East, but we like it so well we will stay several days on a return trip west. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
This is now our favorite campground, although there is a caveat emptor:This is the worst dead zone that we have seen for phone, text and Internet. The park did not have Wi-Fi so we were isolated which was nice but next time we will let people know we will be out of contact. Price includes the $7 day park access fee. Asphalt roads and concrete pads with sites that are not jammed together. Reservation system means you have to reserve at least three days in advance and if you are a walk-in you can only pay the walk-in days. We had a 50 amp full hookup site but the water pressure was a little low. We had a back-in site that had a view of the reservoir and the mountains and was long enough that our TV could park in the site also. Had good visibility for our DirecTV satellite dish to get good reception. We will stay here again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
One of the best parks we've visited in 4 years of full timing. Spotty cell service but we really didn't care. The area is amazing. The views are lovely. The staff was friendly and helpful. Sites are huge with lovely, large gravel patios and covered picnic tables. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
This is a very nice campground, the only reason why it wasn't rated a 10 was due to lack of trees. But the man-made shelter supplied plenty of shade. The spot (14) was in perfect condition on arrival, and no leveling was required. The views were excellent, and spacing between sites was more than adequate. The bathroom is quite a walk from the bottom of the campground, a path down the middle of the campground would resolve this. The showers were $1/minute. Lots of bugs down on the reservoir, but not much of an issue at this upper campground. We will be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Awesome campground except for no shade trees and even mid September it was hot. (Went inside and fired up the a/c @ 3pm.) Level clean spots. Some have shelter over a picnic table. Spot 34 had marginal cell service AT&T and Verizon. (I wasn't staying in 34, just found that it had service.) Showers were $1 for 4 minutes and very clean. Toilets clean too. Town of Rifle is nearby for groceries, etc. Very well kept campground, walked around and whole park. It seemed nice. The swim beach was a long ways to actual water which was muddy, not unexpected for September at a reservoir. Plan a side trip to see nearby Rifle Falls, you won't be disappointed, lots of water even in September. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
Another fine Colorado State Park. Large, level sites. We had a wonderful view of the lake and surrounding mountains from high up on the hill. Very clean/meticulous upkeep. Each site appears to be hand raked and spotless when we arrived. We couldn't get AT&T cell here but we could get marginal Verizon Air card service. DirectTv no problem. Good electric and water. Not crowded at all when we were here, many sites to choose from. A very relaxing and quiet location. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
We had a site on top of the hill with mountains behind us and reservoir down below. Concrete level pads, full hookups and extremely well kept. We did not use the showers, but did look at them. They are coin operated, so if you will need the facility, be prepared. Staff extremely friendly. Park well patrolled, so security is good. Some campers did not pick up after their dogs, but there are such idiots in all campgrounds. It's a beautiful State Park. There is no phone signal, nor TV, or Wi-Fi, but it's a great park. We paid $6.00/day, but then we live in Florida, so did not need an annual pass. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
We had a site on the very top of the hill, overlooking the lake from a distance and other persons at the park. The park was very well maintained for a state park. There were wonderful sites for tents, very private - very busy place while we were there. We would return here. Personnel were friendly. We didn't have a Colorado State park pass, so we paid $60 for a yearly pass, which was fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
This is a great state park. The sites are laid out with plenty of space on each side and at different angles so you never feel like you are too close to your neighbor. Level, concrete pads and full 50 amp hook-ups are a real plus. It is quiet and the lake and mountains provide beautiful views. We managed to get our Sprint mobile broadband to work, but the signal was very weak and would frequently drop out. Same with the phone. The roads into the park are dirt which can make the trip in and out very dusty. There is no shade and summer days can get very hot. Taking everything into account, it is a really nice campground, well-maintained and nicely laid out. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
Very Nice park! I would stay here more often if they had better cell service. I tried getting a booster added to my RV and truck. People there where very helpful and nice and knowledgeable about the area. I would recommenced this park but don't expect your cell phone to work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$22
A truly fantastic park! While there is no grass and flowering shrubs, the setting of the park is what appealed to us. We stayed here on our way to Fruita and on our return trip. The Lakeview section has full hook-ups, while other sections appear to have electric and water only. The sites are level concrete with grills, fire rings and picnic tables. Some tables are covered. the roads are gravel. The park is surrounded by mountains which make the setting spectacular. Due to this fact there is no cell phone reception which requires a 3 mile drive to get out of the mountains. The staff is friendly and helpful and there is a computer for campers use at the office. Beware of the CO state park fees on vehicles. We had to buy passes for the motorhome and towed car. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
We came here for the Labor Day Weekend. The site was very level so we just pull through and started setting up the trailer. The sites were all very clean and Park Rangers were constantly around checking on campers. Our site faced the lake and the view was awesome. The sites are not crowded and we were actually pretty far from our neighbor compared to other private campgrounds. We brought with us a hummingbird bird feeder and there were tons of them around this area. This campground is also great for fishing and for people that enjoys water activities. Our kids really enjoy fishing for crawfishes. The campground is really secluded but it is not that far from town if you need to go get some stuff from the grocery store. We will definitely come back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
We stayed in the new full hookups section. It was very nice. The two downsides were the pay showers and the walk to the lake. There other campsite loops right on the water. This one was further. It's the only one with full hookups though. Aside from the $22 a night rate, you have to pay $6 a day entry fee. If you want to be by the water there are other good campsites. This is pretty good if you want full hookups though. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com