223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Minden - NACO was rated 6 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (530) 656-2700
CGID9018

Lake Minden - NACO

Camp Information
Sites
162
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   7   4   8   8   8   8   1   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$5
Rate was a member rate. This campground is all about the lake and on any given day there are several people fishing and swimming. The other draw is nearby Sacramento. Downtown is about 30 minutes away and the airport is even closer. There are two primary campgrounds. One is the old, original campground. It is tight with, basically, two RVs sharing a spot big enough to be one small campsite. Not only are the conditions crowded, but several rental cabins have been put on the spots nearest the lake. This section, right by the entry has not one, but two activity buildings, a weekend restaurant, mini-golf, has full hookup sites, and a laundry. There are also signs posted everywhere that electrical voltage is low in that section. The other RV campground is on the far corner of the property (there are also a couple of tenting areas). This campground is the mirror reverse of the other campground. There are no amenities aside from the restrooms. The sites are somewhat larger, they are only water/electric, and the electric works fine (although it is also only 30 amps). Coming and going from this area of the campground is a bit tedious because the road is one way around the lake and the speed limit is 5 mph. That may not sound like much but after a while it gets tiresome to creep in and out for every trip. We had a full scale Verizon 4G cell and data signal. The campground is surrounded by walnut groves and farmland and for years the lake has been a draw to folks wanting to get out of the city. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$1
Small enclosed lake with swimming area. Sewer hookups in A section, but only available on alternate days at specific times. Low voltage in A section. About 20 miles from Sacramento. Good Verizon phone & data. Good over the air TV. Level gravel sites. Price is for TTN members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$1
The back row and side of D Section are now mostly blocked off for annual sites. The other sites in D are large, level, gravel pads with grass in between. W/E only but Section A has full hookups. The lake is big enough for kayaking, has a swim beach and fishing docks. The coin operated laundry is tiny, only 4 washers and maybe 4-6 dryers in a small room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$1
This is a Thousand Trails park hence the $1 charge. We have been coming here for several years. With Encore taking over TT this park has really slipped. The trees nee trimming to allow satellite TV access, grass around pads is tall, actually lost water line in the tall grass. No longer has a gate guard. Registration process is a fiasco. It seems that since Encore took over numerous people have been laid off and service has really gone down hill. Even though we can stay here for free we will be looking for another place the next time thru. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$1
Prior evaluation was correct for most part; the $15 for pumping is for 1 visit. The staff is not always friendly. This park is going through a transition from being owned by TT to being owned by Equity Lifestyles, BUT there is no one on site that can explain what that means to TT owners. AT&T is very spotty. We might return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$1
TTN rate. NO SEWER and one dump station is closed makes inconvenient. Staff was friendly and helpful and the CG is in pretty good shape overall. A CG septic pumper makes the rounds by appointment Tuesday and Friday $15 to pump 3 tanks. The lake is an unusual shade of green but folks were swimming during the Memorial Day weekend. CG permit is required for fishing. All the interior roads are packed gravel and sites are back-in with plenty of room. Most sites do have shade trees. Nearest stores and services are Yuba City and Marysville about 17 miles. Some sites near the office/store are restricted length and width and very tight. There are several tent sites in two separate sections near the lake. Our wi-fi booster pulled in a 4-6 bar 3G connection and a strong cell phone signal. This is a great CG, quiet and well maintained with lots of grass and we will return when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
There are a few sites with sewer but they are really close together and so few of them they are always taken. We stayed in a section where no sewer and the sites had more room and some shade depending on the time of day. They do have honey wagon service twice a week for a fee. Restrooms and showers were clean. It was a very quiet and peaceful stay. We loved walking the 1.5 miles around the lake each evening and watching the wildlife. Rate is Thousand Trails member rate. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$5
Whenever we are in the Sacramento area we stay here, being members of Thousand Trails. The only drawback to us is the lack of sewer. They do offer a honey wagon, but it's $12 dollars. Grandson loves the kids park and play area. Fishing in the lake is fun for him too. Power is 30 amps and OK, water pressure is fine. Internet is a little rough. AT&T is spotty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
We will never ever return and we will let everyone we come in contact with to avoid this as a vacation destination. Terrible experience with the staff as well as the accommodations and misrepresentation of the site itself. The so called play grounds are unkempt and unsafe, the lake is terrible, and we were told full hook up's, Not so. We felt unwelcome and were treated like we were bothering the guy at the gate. I think we were. Awful, awful place. Don't waste your time or money going here. We already posted all of this on F/B and will continue to warn campers.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
Not many positives about this 1000 Trails Preserve. One of the rangers should retire, quit, or get fired, very grumpy old man. Only limited sewers available in the A section which is assigned by the rangers because they are so small. Most rigs overlapped each other by about 5 feet in the rear. Sewer could only be dumped on even or odd days and if you left the sewer line down you would be in trouble. Large open sites in non sewer section were very adequate, but full of sticker burrs. Could use some weed killer to get rid of these. The park is constantly watering, however they charge you for washing truck or trailer, rip off. They also charge $5.00 to receive a UPS or Fed Ex package. Ranger said that was company wide: WRONG, we have stayed about 150 days in 1000 Trails this year and it is not a Company policy. What is Co policy is that each park may do what they must to increase revenue to keep the park open, so they nickel dime us to pieces. This park serves breakfast cooked in the back of their store: No thank you very much. This is deifinitely a rural park as it is in the middle of nowhere. Honey wagon service costs $15 and available twice a week. They have a dilapidated barn that used to house animals, now just an eyesore as it is not being kept up and a sign is posted that says keep out. Fishing is allowed and they will gladly sell you a fishing license and bait, what they don't tell you is that they feed the fish every morning. Not much fish being caught here. Also the lake is so cloudy, not sure if I would siwm in it, let alone eat anything out of it. All in all, not the best experience I have had at a 1000 Trails Preserve. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$32
We were invited to this TT/NACO park as guests for a group rally. We receive calls from TT regularly encouraging us to join up, so we were interested in checking things out. And, we don't think we'll be joining anytime soon. We get the feeling this place used to be an awesome park. These days it looks tired and overdue for a facelift. One of TT's selling points is that every park is gated and well patrolled. The "hut" where our group met was burglarized one night. When our group reported the theft, the staff admitted that there is an ungated, unpatrolled entry to the park. So much for security! Bathrooms are clean, wifi is spotty at best in Section D. The staff was not at all welcoming to these guests who could have become members, but won't after this visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$15
A big family resort with lake and many activities. Only a few of the sites are full hookups, most big rigs opted for "D" area, no sewer but plenty of room. Dump sites were available when needed, and a honey wagon would service your RV also. A quiet place about 25 minutes from Sacramento. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$1
We went to Lake Minden, in Nicolaus, CA in late July. This is a membership park. It was quiet and pretty and safe. We enjoyed ourselves immensely. Our 5 year old had a blast. It has a small man-made lake, paddleboats for rent, swimming, fishing, etc. They also have some Pico Laser sailboats for rent, but you have to know how to rig them yourself. (We do.). There are two swimming beaches on the lake, and sand has been brought in to make a nice bottom at the beaches. The water is very cloudy, due to the clay bottom on the man made lake, but we went swimming anyway and enjoyed it. The lake water is supplied from huge wells pumping 24 hours per day. The lake is stocked with fish, and we saw some huge fish being caught. The facilities were very clean and well cared for. Bathrooms were clean and checked 4-5 times throughout the day. Simple breakfasts and grilled lunches are available at the store 7 days a week for a couple of hours. The lodges had working pool tables, fooz ball, puzzles, etc. There were flat screen TVs in both the family and adult lodges; there was a second TV in the family lodge for kids video and DVD playing. There is no pool. Swimming is in the lake, and you have to watch your kids carefully. Lake Minden use to be a working farm. It's surrounded by fields. The preserve used to operate a petting barn but not this year, so there aren't any resident donkeys goats, pigs, hens, etc. The Merlot grapes were almost ripe. The fruit trees still have a month to go. There's plenty of green grass, since they can use the water for irrigation. It's very close to Sacramento, so Verizon cell coverage was perfect and we even got broadband on our air card. We got about 10 channels of clear digital TV with our converter; only about 3 channels on analog. My hubby was happy he could watch golf. We stayed in section D, on the far side of the lake, since the sites are bigger, prettier and there's more breezes. There are water and electricity, but no sewer hookup in D. There is a dump station in D. Section A is closer to the lodges, store, rental units and docks. Section A is full hookup, but there is a schedule for which days you can dump tanks because the system gets over-taxed. I think you get either Mon-Wed-Fri or Tue-Th-Sat for emptying tanks in A section. There are lots of restaurants within a 15-20 minute drive, on highway 99, so I didn't have to cook dinner every night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com