206886 User submitted reviews online!!
North Carolina State Fairgrounds was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (919) 612-6767
CGID9022

North Carolina State Fairgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   10   9   8   8   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
We were happy with our stay here. The park is very large with hundreds of sites. It only fills up for the state fair. There is no shade and no real amenities. We liked it because it was very convenient to our family and every thing we wanted to do in Raleigh. There are not many campgrounds in Raleigh, and this one is the most centrally located. The park is extremely well maintained by the fairgrounds staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
We stayed here while attending a bluegrass music conference in Raleigh, so the rate might reflect a fee negotiated for conference attendees. The fairgrounds recently completed this phase of the campground with plans to double the size in the next few years. They also plan to add bath houses in the next year. Sites are level, stone pads. Interior roads are gravel, and plenty wide and easy to navigate. Wi-Fi signal was reasonably strong, even toward the back where we stayed. The back half of the sites have different water connections than the front half. We had an issue maintaining water pressure and ended up having to scab off the site next to us. Also, the electric went out numerous times during our week-long stay, which was a bit worrisome. They apologized for the interruption, and it always came back on soon, but still something they need to address. Campground locations in Raleigh are somewhat limited, so this seemed to be the best option for us. We'll certainly stay here again, hoping they can address the electrical and water issues. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Sites were mostly level, good utilities but no amenities such as tables, fire rings, bathhouse etc. It is centrally located to activities in the Raleigh/Cary area. For the price, it was adequate. You call the fairgrounds security office and they will take you to the site, collect the fees, etc. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
A hidden gem in Raleigh! If your passing through or planning on staying for a while, this is an excellent place to stay. You'll need a full service rig though as they have no bathrooms or shower houses. They have many hook ups / locations, however recommend staying in the newer location near the Horse center. Also, recommend calling security (number on web site) when you arrive and they can escort you back. Very reasonably priced for a full hook up, and centrally located to anything in Raleigh. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This is an ideal spot for a stay in Raleigh. Very easy access from I-440. We stayed in the new campground in the equestrian center area. Just call security at 919-612-6767 when you arrive and they will take you to in. Shade trees have been planted, but are not mature enough to provide much shade yet. Level sites, good 50amp service, water, and sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
I have stayed here many times. There are actually a few camping areas as part of the fairgrounds. The main fairground area has sites on the north side (Trinity Rd), northeast (Trinity Rd/Blue Ridge Rd), and west (Youth Center Drive) and behind James Hunt Horse Complex (Youth Center Dr). The Horse Complex sites are new and nice. The Trinity Rd sites are just a few along the fence (outside the fence) and you can pull-through. The west sites are inside the fence and fairly uneven but okay. The northeast corner is inside the fence and are pretty nice too. When you arrive find a spot and call the NC Fairgrounds security folks. The number is on the fence at the horse complex or you can wait until the security person comes around. As far as I know the Horse Complex is open 24hrs. The other area gates are locked late and you will enter and exit through the main gate on Blue Ridge Rd. The only major drawback about this place would be the dirt roads. The entrance to the Horse Complex on Youth Center Rd behind the Horse Complex. The Horse Complex has no bathrooms but the main fairground's bathrooms are located in the middle of the fairground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Sites are being remodeled by section, only back-in but there is room. We stayed in the section above the horses, no one was in the row across from us. If there had been, it would have been a struggle to back in and pull out. The grass had not grown in our section yet, the other was very nice and well maintained. Had water, electric, sewer; 4G on Sprint MiFi; Sprint cell service was good, no trees so satellite was excellent. Sworn Police Officers take care of the Park, assigning spots, parking people, collecting cash or check (only). No reservations, first come, first serve. Definitely call before going to check availability and ask what gate to go in. We had to turn around twice and the gate people had no idea how much room we needed to do so. Very quiet, close to restaurants & shopping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
We stayed in the newer area above the horse center. As others have stated, the area can be dusty and the sites could be more level. But it's fine for an overnight or if you need to be in Raleigh for other activities. More sites are being added to this area, about doubling its capacity when completed. A couple of points worth mentioning: 1) The entrance to this particular camping area is actually on Youth Center Road, I believe it was gate H7. The website gives the impression the entrance is H3 on Trinity Road, this is NOT correct. 2) Be aware that the fairgrounds are directly across the street from the NC State football stadium. You should find out if there is a home football game scheduled for the day of your arrival or departure. You don't want to be pulling in or out anywhere near kick off time or when the game is over. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
We stayed in a newer area near the horse stalls (but not too close) which is an open pasture. Roads are wide, gravel and pretty dusty, but controllable by traffic. Our site was level, 45' long, but not too wide with some gravel and grass. There are some un-level sites and no facilities other than the FH utilities in this section. Wi-Fi worked for me, but you will need an external adapter. There are about 40 sites, but like other Fair Grounds, hundreds of sites scattered around the grounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Very helpful staff. We called to get instructions, and they came out to guide us to the RV sites. We camped in the new section up on top of a hill. There are about 50 sites, all with good electric, water, and sewer. We like the area and the campgrounds. We camped here for 10 days We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
We stayed in the newer area by the horse arena. For $25 (we were told cash only) we got steady 50 amp service, water (pressure is very low) and sewer hook up. Most sites are extremely unlevel. We saw trailers and fifth wheels with their tongue on the ground and rear in the air trying to get level. Obviously whoever built/designed the area was not an RVer. The roads, made from large pieces of crushed rock, are very dusty. You need to be self-contained as there are no bathrooms/showers. No trees so satellite reception is good but it will be hot in the summer. There is no Wi-Fi signal available. Security personnel are nice, helpful and patrol the area frequently. There is absolutely nothing for kids (no playground, no pool, nothing) unless there is an event at the fairgrounds. No reservations available and this is a busy place on the weekends, so don’t expect to find a space available when there are big events. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
Stayed here two nights while exploring Raleigh. Had to hunt someone down for check in, but we discovered that someone is available at the phone number shown 24 hours a day, so you can check in any time you want. You call the phone number, they tell you to pick the site you want and they will come collect payment later. Cash or personal checks only. Great TV reception if you use an antenna. Great Verizon Air Card reception on 4G. Only bad thing is this is basically a parking lot with hookups. The hookups are side by side, if you take one side, the connections are on the correct side, but if you take the other side, the connections will be on the wrong side of your RV. Sites were not very level. But if you just want to explore Raleigh, this will work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
This park is located in Raleigh, NC, and is easy to access from I-40. There are several sections of RV parking on the NC State Fair grounds. We stayed in the new section near the horse center. The sites are good sized, fairly level, with a gravel base. This section is new and the grass was still pretty sparse. The Safety Office (located at gate 11) manages the park and collects fees (cash or check only); however, there are no reservations. We stayed here about 3 weeks, although permission is required for stays longer than one week and may not be possible during large events (especially the State Fair in the fall). The section we were in had about 50 spaces and while we were here the occupancy ranged from 3 to 20 RVs. Security is excellent since the Safety Officers patrol the park almost hourly. The officers were very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
The State Fairgrounds has recently opened a whole brand new camping area. It is on a hill behind the Horse Complex. This area is all 50 amp, full hookups with posts that light up at night all around the area. All sites are back in. It is a work in progress as they are planning on adding more sites. It is secure and patrolled 24-7. Sites are fairly level with gravel pads. New grass has been sown in between the campsites. We stayed here while some renovations were being done on our home and cannot say enough good things about it! The area is private and there is plenty of room to walk pets. Security promotes advertising of this area and would like to see more use of it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
For $25 per night, you get power, water, sewer, decent Wi-Fi (until somebody sets up beside you with their own and kills the fairground's signal), and the comfort of constantly-patrolling security officers who are incredibly nice. You also get choking dust, un-level sites, absolutely no room to put your awning out when there is an event going on, and no rules about leashing or picking up after dogs. If being in Raleigh is a necessity, as it often is for us, the NC State Fairgrounds is the best option in the area, but that’s not saying much. All 50-amp sites are extremely un-level. We spent one night teetering on stacks of leveling blocks at the “tanker lot” on the corner of Hillsboro and Youth Center Road. The next morning, we moved down to the Hunt Horse Complex where we had our pick of sites, but none of them were remotely level either. This place is run by the NC Department of Agriculture! Surely they have a spare tractor they could use to grade these sites! We’ll be back, but only because the only other full hookup choice in Raleigh, behind the Winnebago dealership, is even more un-level and feels really unsafe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
As previous reviews have said, the 50 amp sites are not level, expect to use leveling blocks in addition to your jacks. The road is dusty and there's no shade trees. The 30 amp sites are better, having some trees. Gate 11 on Blue Ridge Rd is always open, however the CG is all the way in the rear and hard to get to on weekends as events are ongoing. The gates off Hillsborough St and Youth Center drive are also usually open and easier to get to the CG. We have stayed here several times as it is a convenient place to stay if visiting the city or area. Self park and security will come around to collect the fees. Be careful with the fee sticker as they want to place it on your coach, even on the fiberglass or plastic, very hard to remove. They will let you put the fee receipt and sticker on the inside of your windshield if you ask. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
This park has very good electrical service. The 50 amp sites are not level and the pad area is not hard packed. Water pressure is low. This is definitely not a resort and not kid friendly. However, considering there are not any nice parks in the Raleigh area, it is a very good place to stay if you have people to see and places to go in the area. The location is very convenient. There are always events taking place in the fairgrounds that may be of interest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
Good for overnight stops or tail-gating for an NC State game. Safe and secure areas available for RV's: are flat and properly equipped. If it rains it is a mud-hole, but it dries out quickly. We are here for an extended stay out of need not want. State parks north and south are a better bet if you do not need to be close to town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
Very close to attractions in Raleigh and shows going on at fair grounds. Can get real muddy during wet weather. Would not recommend staying here for anything other than shows taking place at fairgrounds and you are going to attend or work show. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This is nothing special except for location. They are one of the few in Raleigh and they take good care of you. There is a Flea Market on Saturday and other events keep you occupied. The grounds are safe and a fun walk. Stay between gates 4 and 5 for some shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
There are full hook up sites available. I stayed here as part of a business trip. It is basically a place to park with hookups; there are no other amenities. When I was there a dog show was in progress in the Fair facilities and a new car show was leaving. I don't think there is an on site office. The grounds has a police force who collect fees and police the area. I called ahead and was told there was no problem getting a site, but the nights I was there the place was pretty full. You may want to check the activities calendar for the Fair. If I am working or have some activity in the Raleigh area I would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com