214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Sugarite Canyon State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (575) 445-5607
CGID9028

Sugarite Canyon State Park

Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   7   5   9   8   6   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
Pretty compact area. Tight negotiating road to site for our 35 foot RV. Was one or two sites nearer road for large rigs. Stayed only one night and was fine. Probably would not go out of our way to stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$14
Sugarite Canyon is beautiful, though very hot in summer. Lake Maloya is stocked with trout and bass, and no motorboats are allowed except small electric motors. There is a self-guided walking trail through the remains of the old mining community just above the visitor center- very interesting. Lots of birds to see. The showers are probably more than a mile from the campground, so we didn't bother to go down there. Restrooms are pit toilets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$14
I stayed in the first campground (Alice Lake?) which could be an issue with rigs longer than my 24' View. Tight turns. I believe the next camp further into the canyon is more suited for the longer set-ups, but not sure. Few if any of the spots are spot on level. Pit toilets only. The showers are inconveniently located a mile and a half back down the road across from the visitor center. Camp host lady was friendly and came up with clip board in hand. Easy check in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
No showers and pit toilets. This is a decent state park and though the sites are not totally level, it did not take a lot to get level. Sites were big and with bushes all around very private. It would be hard to find a place where it is quieter than this. Beautiful scenery too. There are only a few sites with sewer and we took one which cost us $18 instead of $14 for sites with just water and sewer. Good fire pits and clean tables too. If you like to stay in the outdoors and enjoy yourself, this is a very good stopping spot. I don't happen to enjoy camping cheek to cheek with everyone and this fit my bill perfectly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
Small, cozy campground with nice and helpful hosts. We stayed in site #4 which in our view was the best in the park. Very private and spacious for our 36ft. The scenery is lovely this time of year and gets better with the changing fall colors. Some sites have sewer, but there is also a dump station. The water spigot at the site leaked when on so we just filled up the tank and disconnected. Not a big deal. Watch out for the high elevation (7000 ft) which can be hard on those with heart conditions. We got caught up in a cattle drive on NM-72 just outside the park which was a treat. Amazing area. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
Really super place, make sure you get to the Cauplin Volcano Monument via the byway. Make sure you get there early enough. Don't forget to hike the Sugarite Coal camp. That is a real eyeopener. We did spot a Big Horn on our way out. We would recommend this to all under 32 foot 5vers. Near the end of April, we woke up to some snow and temperatures below freezing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
We are big fans of NM state parks, but this one is, unfortunately, suffering from lack of maintenance. Terrible roads and sites (off level and very rutted), very poorly laid out sites that would be very crowded if the park was full (which we understand does get in the summertime. There is even an overflow parking lot with numbered sites for boondocking). There are nice, new toilets and showers down by the ranger station, but up at the campground, only a pit toilet and not terribly efficient dump station. (Nice note: there is aluminum can recycling.) Don't miss the trails up to the coal mine town, very interesting history. We won't stay here again, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$14
A beautiful spot, very inexpensive for a wooded campsite with electric and water. There are 2 campgrounds - the one down by the main road is Lake Alice and it offers electric and some spots with water. The ones up on the hill are reached by a somewhat rough dirt road. They are nice open spaces with views but I did not notice any hookups. No cell phone service (Yay!) but the park is close enough to Raton that we ran into town most mornings for breakfast and to check phone messages and e-mail. A perfect combination of wilderness and civilization! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$10
We really enjoyed the view from our campground site. The hummingbirds were awesome! We dry docked up in the canyon. The host was very nice, and the park was clean! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
We had a full hookup site. The only down size for us was no 50 amp but thank goodness it was cool and we didn't even have to use our AC. The park hosts are very friendly. My sister's family and two other families stayed at Gamble Oak Group site and it was very nice too. We would definably recommend this place...lots of birds, chipmunks, turkey, and other wildlife. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$4
Confirming this is a fine park. Great fishing, hiking, quiet, beautiful, 2 sites with full hookups when the hosts are gone. Downside: No cell coverage except one spot by the showers. Showers are a mile down the road. Only vault type restrooms at the Alice Campground but they are clean. Upside: fishing, quiet, friendly staff and hosts, mail service at the visitor center. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
This park is in beautiful mountain setting (elevation 7000') with a clear running stream, wildflowers and July nights getting down to 55 degrees. There are two fishing lakes full of trout. Many hiking trails are available from easy level to strenuous. Don't miss the guided hike on the Coal Camp Trail, where you will learn the fascinating history of the coal mining town (now a ghost town) that occupied this site during the first half of the 20th century. Few traces of the coal mining operation remain and none of them mar the beauty of this park. Sugarite is only 5 miles east of I-25, but seems a world away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com