219088 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Lanier Islands Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (678) 482-0332
CGID904

Lake Lanier Islands Campground

Camp Information
Sites
272
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   2   2   8   6   1   2   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
It disheartening that not much has changed at this campground since the last posting on this website almost a year ago. I had driven through this campground previously on trips to the water park and promised my self that I will never camp here. Unfortunately I had to change my decision because I planned to use the site to take my children to the water park and also witness the July 4th fireworks display at the beach area. So I thought I knew what to expect. Like the last two posts mentioned, the sites are not level at all. In fact, my RV experienced leakage because we couldn't secure a perfect level even though we went to town to obtain more planks to level the RV. The roads are not only narrow but really need major repairs because pots holes abound. It could be argued that the restrooms are not clean because they need urgent make over. Several of the camp sites don't make sense why they should be located where they are. If consideration was given, there should have been fewer sites to make room for roads or nature. My concern for this campground stems from the fact that the resort boasts a huge potential with so many fun activities around the campground. This site should be updated to attract more campers, especially those with children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2012
$43
This campground is awful and is in need of maintenance. They charge you an additional $10 resort fee to get in the gate, but I didn't feel like I was in a resort. The pads are gravel and are not level. The cross ties that were used to retain the gravel on the pads are wasting away and a lot of them are just missing. The site has no level area for the picnic table and most of them were still covered with trash from previous campers. We had beer bottles, ice bags, food cans and other misc items scattered around our site and in our fire pit, which is just a circle of rocks. The grill had not been cleaned. The ashes were piled up inside the grill and all around the base. The grill on the site next to us was lying on the ground. The whole post had fallen over. The beach area on our site and along the the other sites beside us was littered with beer bottles and more trash. The bath houses are over run by spiders and insects. The windows were completely covered by webs and dead insects. The walls in the showers were molding and the corners were covered in spider webs. The dump station is a tight squeeze for longer vehicles. The trees are growing up at the edge of the driveway and make it very difficult to get in to. There was trash all over the ground. It was not new trash. My overall experience in this campground was poor. The only bright spot is that the lake views are great and the premium sites are right on the water. The $43 a night fee plus the $10 gate fee makes this a $100 campsite for a weekend. We stay at other campgrounds on Lake Lanier for $60 a weekend that put this place to shame. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
My husband and I were quite disappointed with this campground. From the time he pulled into the camp area until the moment after he pulled away from the dump site on our way home he was not happy. The roads were a little tight for our 37ft camper, which was not that big of a deal, but the site was terribly unlevel. Even after doing the best he could, we still were leaning towards the front of the site and the lake. There were many tree roots exposed in the "pad" area along with ruts. The wood retaining wall that separated the pad from the hill to the lake was mostly deteriorated, with exposed rebar poking up. In fact, my 3 year old daughter was playing on the pad area, tripped and fell down, face first, inches from a piece of rebar that could have seriously injured her had she landed on it. We could never quite find a level place for the picnic table; drinks, food, etc. were always sliding off. As other reviewers have mentioned, the site was full of trash when we got there. Beer bottles, cigarette butts, even a tampon applicator. Then there was the bathhouse. Although we have a bathroom on board, with 4 kids and 2 adults we use the bath house as to not fill our grey water tank... The ladies room was so dirty my daughter walked in and then right back out. My husband reported that the men's room was full of mold, mildew growing on the walls, spiders, and racial slurs and other inappropriate content etched into the stalls. He also mentioned that only 2 out of 4 lights were functioning as well. After climbing the "steps" to the bath house, of which several were missing and others were in need of repair, all of my family members who had gone wished that they had not. The dump station was atrocious as well. It looked like it had not been cleaned all season. There was old trash (sun faded) scattered all about. Just very unkept, overall. We had high hopes for this experience, especially since this would have been a fun location for the kids during the waterpark season, but we will not return. The fees are $10/night more than other better maintained facilities plus there is the resort fee. This was just not worth the money. Had it been clean, and well kept I would have been OK with the price. Bottom line, this facility needs some serious TLC It was an absolute shame the condition this place was in. I will say though, that the office staff when booking was most helpful and very personable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Great place to get "back to nature!" We saw countless deer and enjoyed the quietness of the campground. Sites were spread apart, so not to be on top of your neighbor. Only some loops have a restroom facility ... be sure you know if your loop does! Would stay again! Camped on 82 and was happy, but would select another site next time. We picked out a few for future trips! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
This campground is located inside the Lake Lanier Islands resort area. It is an old rustic campground. The sites are not level and are mostly dirt and gravel. The sites are not very well maintained and most lake views are down a steep incline to get to the lake. The roads are very narrow within the campground and not maintained so there are many potholes and pavement breaks. The sites are very narrow and you may have difficulty with awnings and slides. However, with all the negatives we will be back. The campground host was very nice and met us within a few minutes of us pulling into our site. He was very helpful and was there to answer any of our questions. The full hookup site we were on was very private and we did not have to worry about traffic, boaters, or rude campers. We had a great time visiting the waterpark and hotel. A tip for the waterpark is that you only need to pay for a wristband if you are using the slides. All other areas of the waterpark like big beach and sunset cove is free. You can get in for free to go to the restaurants on the property. The restuarants at the waterpark are very well priced. The ones at the hotel are overpriced. The pool and pool deck at the hotel needed a good cleaning also. All in all we enjoyed our time at Lake Lanier Islands and will be back as long as we can reserve the few sites we liked! If you are a big rig or have multiple slides I would recommend the Shoal Creek campground that is also associated with Lake Lanier Islands. You can not get to it from the main gate but would be worth the extra drive if you need better larger sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
If you're not a party animal or boater, this is not the place to camp. The campground is very run down; beer bottles lying around camping area, picnic tables with trash left on top, boaters coming to beach area and leaving their trash, and not one ranger or security person ever came by site to our knowledge. We actually decided to leave after 1 night stay even though we paid for 3 nights. We left and camped the other 2 nights at another place. We would never recommend Lake Lanier Island Resort Campground to anyone! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Wow, gone down hill. great views of the lake, but not the most friendly staff in the world. I would say overwhelmed by the tasks or just didn't care. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$36
We stayed here for two nights while visiting family. Very nice wooded setting. We've heard horror stories about boat noise and low water levels, but maybe those were old issues because neither was a problem for us. We stayed at site 153, which was tucked back in a quiet corner. It's technically "lakefront", although the lake was a bit of a walk down a hill. The site itself had a bit of an odd layout, and it was tricky getting the trailer into the spot my wife wanted it in while dodging a large, above-ground sewer manhole. By the time we were in, we didn't have enough sewer hose to reach, given the layout, so we waited to dump until we left. Also, some previous visitor had stripped the threads on the water tap, so I had to use a manual transfer container to keep our water filled. Maintenance doesn't seem to be a massively high priority here. Technical issues aside, we very much enjoyed the setting. There was little light pollution, so we always had bright starry skies at night, and it was very quiet compared to other places we've stayed! The sites are far enough apart from one another, and there are few enough of them, that you don't get the "motorhome motel" feeling you get at some RV parks. A cold snap came through so we left early and headed south. The campground's policy is not to refund pre-paid days, but to "bank" them for 6 months - not that unusual. We'll be back later this year to use them, if we can. I'm rating this an 8/10. It's a great "outdoors" spot, especially if you like lakes and plan to get a lakefront site to fish from, or you bring a boat. It's a little on the rougher side if you're looking for more activities-driven camping, or you care a lot about having every hookup imaginable. For the price, we were very happy with the park - we've paid more for less. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
This campground was okay. All sites were dirt and gravel. All sites had shade. We were in site number 103. This site did not have sewer hookup even though others did. The bathroom and shower house was clean but old and worn like the entire campground. Our site and all others that we saw were flat and easy to get into. Lots of space for tow vehicle and guest vehicle. Every vehicle that entered Lake Lanier Islands must pay an $8.00 fee at the entry gate to the park. This was not included in the campground fee and not mentioned at time of reservation. Alcoholic beverages are allowed in the campground but no glass. It was nice to be close to the water park. We spent one day there. It was an extra fee but worth it. No coolers allowed through the gate to the water park. Go early to claim chairs and shade if you desire. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
Overall this is an O.K. campground. The first campsite we were given was so uneven and rough that we had to move. Once we found a level campsite everything worked fine. The showers were less than great. This campground is in need of updating. The girls at the front desk said Lake Lanier Islands will most likely close the campground down soon. They now own Shoal Creek, and they are going to put there efforts in to that CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Rate reflects Passport America and weekly rate. Very scenic and rustic park on the banks of Lake Lanier. No 50 amp available. We had a nice pull through spot in the trees. Satellite wouldn't work, and no cable, but were able to pull in 2 local channels. We arrived Memorial Day, and since then the park has been fairly empty. Sites are dirt and pine straw, and not all that level, but all in all, we liked it here, and I would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
This park was wonderful. But, no concrete pads and very few sites with a little gravel, most were dirt or pine needles. Some sites are better than others, some bigger, some more private, but most all will take some leveling. Lots of construction on the resort and the roadways, it is trying to be the "premier resort vacation spot in the southeast," but no construction around the campground. It takes about 5 minutes to get from the main resort gate to the campground and they have a one time 8 dollar fee to get past the main gate. The bath houses were clean, but needed cosmetic updating. Other than these few things the campground is very nice, the people were friendly and helpful, the views were spectacular, and the lake access was great. We would like to come back in the summertime so we can get in the lake and go to the water park (it looked fun). We used this campground to sitesee Atlanta and it was a short 20 - 30 minute drive in. We would definitely stay here again when were are in the Atlanta area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Very nice park. We had a spot right next to the lake. Our spot was level and clean. Had a grill and picnic table, and a path down to the lake where there was another picnic table. Some spots are more secluded than others. Very quite. Staff was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
We were in an end-site on top of the hill overlooking the lake. Our "yard" was huge with our own path cut through the woods to the lake. Cool breeze. The MOST private place we have camped (we are still new to RVing). I was surprised when we pulled through the gate, passing a water park and golf course. NOT what I was expecting, once we turned on the road to the campground, it was completely wooded and WAS what I was expecting. The lake sites are not so private (totally wooded, though) but if you have kids. We had the best site in the park, we looked! They have new links being added to the golf course so you drive by that mess but not to worry, the campground is pristine. We needed no leveling. The tall pines mixed with hardwoods made a clear forest floor. Nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
This is definitely a throw-back camp ground so be prepared to actually "camp". This is not the place for those that prefer concrete pads and shoulder to shoulder living. Big rigs will have challenges leveling and navigating; however once you are set up . . . it is simply glorious. Be absolutely certain that you speak with the manager about your rig and which site will accommodate you. We did fine in a Pace 36D but we took it really slow. Do not arrive after dark! There are no interior lights in the camp ground and sites can be hard to find. Plus, it is heavily wooded and you might scrape a tree. Interior roads are paved but narrow and twisting. Most sites are very private and all have a great view of the lake. Sites are blanketed in a natural carpet of pine needles. No trouble with hookups and water pressure is strong. If you enjoy rustic, "camping" campgrounds. This is perfect. Bring water craft and bikes! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
One of the worst campgrounds in the United States. We called ahead and asked about overhanging branches and were told there were none. Wrong! Our site was not big enough for a big rig and should have been designated for a pup tent. The utilities were on the wrong side of the coach! The interior roads could have been used for a motocross event and were too narrow. They charged you $8 just to come in the park. What a rip off. This park should be used for tents only and should actually be shut down. We will never come back. The lady at check in was one of the rudest people I have ever met. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
We stayed here 3 nights with another couple who were in their travel trailer. The campground has a lot of trees, large sites and nice views of the lake. The campsites could use a little upkeep, most just need new gravel put down. But other than that it was a very nice and quiet campground. We all enjoyed staying there and you can't beat the access to Lake Lanier with full hookups. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
We choose this campground based on the web site. It appeared lovely so we called ahead to make reservations and went in July 2005. We drove our camper from the Tri-Cities area of Tennessee. The site we were assigned didn't have a grill or picnic bench so we had to ask for reassignment. Many of the sites available were in similar condition. We found one that was acceptable so we set up. Much to our surprise, there were party boats on the lake that hook up and play blaring music beginning about 8am and go into the wee hours of the morning 2 to 3am. Apparently drunken young adults circled the campground endlessly hanging out of windows and screaming. It was terrible! The music was unbearable. We along with several other campers complained to the park authorities and were told this was a known party spot during the summer and there was nothing they could or would do about it. We stayed only 3 days of a planned week vacation. My husband and I have camped all over the east coast for more than 20 years. This is one park we would never visit again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$31
This campground is not very well maintained but could be with a little money for the sites that are very unlevel and the comfort stations that are very dirty with lots of small critters in them. The roads are very tight and not maintained and the dump station is not easy to navigate with anything bigger than a 24ft. TT. The only advantage to this campground is the 1/2 off ticket prices to the water park which is very nice. I would not stay here again but would stay at one of the COE parks that are located on the Lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$26
We stopped here to stay overnight on a return trip from the east coast. Although the entrance to the park certainly makes one get excited about what the campground must be like, it's a big let-down when you get there. The section we stayed in was nothing more than some dirt areas between the trees. It was difficult to get level. Many of the sites were covered with pine-needles and clearly had not been used in years. Although the lake and "tourist" stuff is there, we didn't stop there for all that. We just wanted a nice place to stay. The site certainly didn't fill that desire. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$30
The campground is part of the Resort. There is access to all facilities from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
On Lake Sidney Lanier, a large COE lake north of Atlanta (about 50 miles north). If you see any satellite views of GA on The Weather Channel, this is the lake that you see north of Atlanta. Campground is at a private water park and resort. Camping area is controlled access - $7.00 parking entrance fee for us for first day; was able to go/come thereafter without additional payment. Water Park is $12.50 ,I think. Very, Very kid friendly. We stayed on campsite that had direct access to lake, where we were able to anchor our boat overnight in sheltered cove. Lots are larger then most private resort lots - nearest camp site for us was 100 feet away. Heavily wooded, rolling hills. We are local, and use the lake a lot - it's huge! The campground is on South East area of lake, not too far from dam on East side. Easy from Interstate 985. Other resort amenities are - boat rental, (ski, houseboat, pontoon etc), resort hotel and restaurant. Rates $20 - $30 a night. Open all year. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2000
$26
Beautiful location - winding roads and hilly. Former COE CG. Many pull thrus with W/E overlooking huge lake. The resort itself has many amenities, hotels, golf, restaurants, marinas, water park etc but the campground needs updating. Sites need to be kept clean, leveled, and a little more gravel to mix with the red clay. No sewers and we found a number of sites that the remaining utilities are poorly located or distant. Some difficulty navigating a 40' 5th in the park and staff was not too knowledgeable. No clue which sites would handle a 40' 5th. Computerized check in does not allow for full timers that use similar mailing addresses. When they typed in our address, they kept insisting that we must be Mr/Mrs "X" and just couldn't seem to grasp the concept of mail forwarding. System won't take PMB #. Must have added 15 minutes to check in time to over ride system. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com