219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Old Orchard Beach Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (207) 934-4477
CGID9067

Old Orchard Beach Campground

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$58



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   4   9   5   8   3   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$58
Stayed here 2 weeks. Nice clean park. Loved trolley service for only a buck. Liked the dog area--used it daily. Drawback was poor Wi-Fi; always had to go to office and tell them to reboot to get working again. They showed little concern. Laundromat was expensive. Staff weren't very friendly. That being said, we did like this park and hope to stay a month next year as family is close at a nearby RV resort. Hopefully correction to Wi-Fi will be made. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
Most of the park is devoted to seasonals. They have their own pool non-seasonals not allowed. The pool for the rest of us is located a very long hike from the campground area behind the office. Level, gravel sites with lots of grass in between. We were there over the Memorial Day weekend for 4 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Park is maintained very well and has many improvements. Park is divided into four sections. The first, upfront, is seasonal and rundown. This section is covered by trees but just does not look appealing. The next section is a nicely maintained park model area. They have their own pool. Next is the new Black Forest area which has nice 50 amp sites, most are back-in. The last area is a huge primitive camping area. We stayed in the Black Forest area. The spaces are gravel and fairly level although ours did go downhill significantly so I could see an issue for a motorhome. Also the site could have been a little longer to allow us to park our tow vehicle easily. Sites have ample spacing with grass/dirt in between. The Black Forest area is open but has large trees surrounding it so I was not able to use my satellite. They do have a good cable package. My issues with this park are four. If you say you have Wi-Fi then it should be available in the entire park. I was never able to connect. The primitive area is huge so if it fills up during the summer months I would think the park would be noisy and have issues with the pool and bathrooms. The pool is way down at the front of the park. A very long walk for those in the primitive area and Black Forest area. Lastly, if you need a restroom/shower, you are going to have to walk to find one. Plus if the park is full these restrooms could be very busy as there are not that many. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
First the good. The newer Black Forest upper area was roomy and relatively level. Small trees with forest all around and a heavily-wooded tenting area. Cable and water pressure OK. Gravel pads with some grass. You can take a trolley to the beach for $1 each way, which is good because parking at the beach is brutal and expensive. Free showers in clean bathhouses. There is an extremely nice playground and a large grassy area for dog play. And thereby ends the good. The bad: open air laundry room is expensive and machines only operate with cold water. Their brochure states that "Wi-Fi available in most areas of the park". Wrong. When it's working -- and that's not very often (I was only able to get on once in 7 days) - you can only get it near the office. Park is overpriced - at $55 you should get reliable internet and not have to drive up the road to McDonalds. No one in the office seems to be at all concerned about this. There are only a few pull throughs and they are up in the Black Forest area. The packed-in lower level looks like a low-rent trailer park with some rigs that don't look like they've been moved for years. The nicer pool is only for the park model owners in the area between the lower level and the upper Black Forest. The main pool is down on the road and it's extremely crowded at times. It appears that people come from outside to use the pool and they don't seem to police that. You can hear trains at night but they're not too bad. One of the biggest problems is the traffic on the road the park is on. It is very difficult to turn left out of the park or left into the park because there is almost constant traffic. It's extremely difficult to get out when pulling a large rig. Quiet hours start at 10:00 but aren't enforced. Some campers seemed to be having a "rebel-yell" competition at 12:05 a.m. one night and it took a while before someone came to enforce the quiet hours rule. We would definitely look into another park if we were back in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
We camped here after Labor Day and the "Big Rig" area was completely empty except for us. This section is relatively new and the owners appear to take pride in keeping it landscaped and neat. The sites are packed gravel and level. The Wi-Fi is limited to the office and laundry area. This area of Maine is great for exploring the various beaches nearby. Prices dropped in September. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$58
We stayed here for about 1 week and it was okay. The people behind us played their music loud but was made to turn it down at quiet time. My complaint was with the swimming pool, on the weekends anyone was allowed to come use the pool making it very crowded. People were making drinks and had beer on the outside of the fence. I don't believe we would stay here again. Also the office is not organized. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Very nice park. Big, lots to do. New "supersites" will be great once they mature with foliage etc, but are good sized and easy to access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$41
Ok so like most everyone else, I tried to get in to a campground I have been to before, no such luck. So I searched around and did not do my homework. We found OOB Campground on the net and booked it for the weekend in Mid August. I was very surprised to get a site in prime season. Everything was all set. Arrived on Friday did all my registration and as I am about to leave the office the attendant informs me that my 30' travel trailer might not fit! So we drive in and make the loop around. Lot of seasonal sites: odd glares and bad vibes from the campers we drove by. Make it to our site and just had enough room to back in to the fence to make it off the road. Stayed 2 nights total. Spent a total of 6 hours in the campground itself, sleeping and showering only. Very unfriendly to "outsiders." From the 2 or 3 people who did talk to us, the pool is a free for all. No monitoring of who is using it. People from off the street park in the front and just walk right in to the pool area and free load. Another issue about this place is the street access. The driveway is located at the end of I-195 and a merging traffic from Route 1. Was very difficult to get in and out with the volume of cars and the speed that they are traveling. I would NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$53
Had planned on three days but once we saw the campground we changed our plans. Lots of seasonal campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$41
Overall, an OK camping experience. Claim to be a "family" campground, but very unfriendly people working there. Also, very expensive as the rate applies to only two people, so all children are charged for. The pool is right next to the road and sites very close together, so there is definitely a lack of privacy. The bathrooms were very clean and always well taken care of. I have camped in another Old Orchard Beach campground, and we were not able to get a reservation, so ended up here. We will definitely try to get into the other campground next year. We don't want to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com