223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Mountain View Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (207) 422-6408
CGID9071

Mountain View Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   10   6   7   9   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
If you want to stay away from the crowds near Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor we would definitely recommend this campground. Although it is right next to US 1; it is a fairly quiet spot especially at night when the traffic dies down, but even the daytime traffic is tolerable and fairly light most times. We were in the "upper" area near the office which does not offer the great views that the "lower" camping area does, but we could still see the water and we had great WI-FI near the office. The sites are large, the owner offered very helpful instructions on where to eat and what to do in the area along with the "short cut" to Acadia. The only drawback to the park was the extra $3/day charge if you wanted to use A/C or electric heat despite the fact that you already are charged $2/night for 50 amp service, so if you want both 50 amp and A/C plan on spending $5/day extra. Over the air TV only found 2 channels and the reception was poor at that, no cable available here. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and all the great sites in the area and would return here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$100
We rented a cabin for a week which was very nice. It was a very warm week. The cabins do not have AC, but had fans. Normally, you would not need AC because it was an unusually warm week. During the day we would explore the Schoodic area and even headed north to Eastport and Lubec. This campground is in a perfect area, away from the Bar Harbor traffic. The CG owners told us about a shortcut to get to Bar Harbor which would bypass the Ellsworth traffic. It was a great week and we were pleased to return to a cool cabin due to the cool breeze off of the bay. We slept well. The cabins were very clean and cozy. TV reception was limited, but they did offer Wi-Fi. Do stop at Tracys for some great Lobster, seafood and ice cream. It is a short walk away. We would return to this place. Next time I will bring my RV as the Campground looked inviting and had stunning views of Mt Desert Island. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Beautiful view of Acadia National Park and Flanders Bay. This is a good location from which to explore Ellsworth, Schoodic Peninsula and Bar Harbor without being in the busy area of Bar Harbor. Big rigs are put in an upper, un-wooded area of the campground. Smaller rigs, trailers, and tents are right at waterfront. They charge an additional fee for use of air conditioning and 50 amp. The campground is pretty simple, but the view is lovely, even from the upper area. The owner was lovely, and very helpful. We would stay here again, definitely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Our second visit, a four night stay. About a 30 mile drive to Bar Harbor, well worth the drive. Lovely campground on the water, quiet, nicely maintained, pleasant amount of space between sites. Looking forward to another visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
The previous review told much of the story. Nice owners and great location if you prefer not to deal every day with the Bar Harbor crowd. You can put a kayak in here at the campground or go 1/4 mile down the road to a public access ramp for a bit larger boat. My only complaint here was the condition of the bathrooms/showers. The building is falling down and unkept. It was always filled with insects. It seems as if the owners either don't see the condition of this or don't care. Could have given it a 9 but just can't get past the bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
If you want a nice view site in the waterfront section, you will need to reserve far in advance, as there are only 4 pull throughs that can accommodate a bigger rig. Those are 30 amp only, with no sewer hookups. If you can get one, these are great for a class A pulled in forward toward the water, as you will have a sweeping view of the inlet. The waterfront is actually the end of a small inlet, Flander's Bay, that comes in off another larger inlet, Frenchman's Bay that is the one off of Bar Harbor. Flander's is actually quite a ways from the open ocean. Our site was one of 7 near the road that are "big rig" friendly with full hookup 50 amp, and sewer and is one of the only of the sites you can pull the Wi-Fi signal. We were in "G" site which is the furthest from busy Highway one. Wi-Fi is free (nice to find), strong and quick. The other hookup sites near the water are a mix of no electric, 110 outlet, and 30 amp with most having no sewer hookup. AT&T signal worked well here. Bathroom/shower facility is more like a fish camp style or late model outhouse with running water. Needs replaced badly, but was always clean. No laundry facilities here, and could have used them as this camp is very far from everything. Otherwise had a good stay, the owner is super helpful, and the drive down to the "secret" Acadia National Park on the opposite side of the inlet from the Bar Harbor tourist nightmare, is not to be missed. We would stay here again when in the area, but will hope for one of the waterfront pull throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
Nice small campground right on the water. Large level gravel sites with full hookups. Water / electric sites closer to ocean. Owner is super friendly and helpful. 40 minutes to Bar Harbor and Acadia, but an easy drive. Be sure to ask in the office for the shortcut. Very quiet with just a little road noise, I doubt you would hear any in the lower section. Reliable WiFi at site in the upper section. Great place for an overnight or a longer stay to see the sights. Check out 'Ruth and Wimpy's' up the road, nice place for dinner. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
Parked here late in the season in a big rig. Campground was mostly empty. 50 amp easy access as advertised. This is a spartan facility with very nice ocean views and an extremely friendly owner. Easy access for a limited number of big rigs. We were pleasantly surprised to find free Wi-Fi, which works well. It's a bit of a haul to Bar Harbor, but the area is beautiful and we haven't had to contend with either crowds or noisy neighbors. This probably isn't the place for small kids looking for lots to do, but if you are looking for solitude and a respectful friendly landlord, this is it. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
A nice alternative to the insanity of Bar Harbor. Very easy access for big rigs, the big boys can't set up next to the water but their sites include water, electric, and sewer. Nice and quiet, without a pool you forgo rugrats and unsmiling teenagers. This is the place for babyboomers who just want to camp out and take day trips. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
We moved to this park from Mainayr CG because of the issues we had with that park. The folks here were fantastic to deal with, accommodated our needs and were extremely friendly. The location of the CG was great for visiting area locations and the kids absolutley loved the access to the beach. We will definitely stay here next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Smaller campground,quiet area but still close to Acadia NP. Owners friendly and helpful. We stayed here last year. Just got back after 5 days there and are going back in August for 9 days. We love it We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com