206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Tugaloo State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (706) 356-4362
CGID908

Tugaloo State Park

Camp Information
Sites
113
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   8   10   10   7   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
On Hartwell reservoir with South Carolina across the lake, the lake being the dammed up Chattooga river which shortly becomes the Savannah River. The lake side sites have a great lake view along the seawalls. More sites are further uphill among lots of trees. Some sites level, many sloped and irregular needing RV leveling. The bathhouse had very nice tiled floors, and white paneled walls and ceilings. A real negative are the paved CG roads with many sections badly tree root upheaved making a very lurching jarring stress on your RV. Be careful. Really needs road repair. Good for an overnight and for boaters. Give it a 8 for poor CG roads and unlevel sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
Very nice State run campground, sites are big, bathrooms clean, good showers, and dumpsters placed throughout the campground for easy removal of trash. Lake views are terrific. Staff is very friendly. Roads a bit bumpy. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Only drawback here is you can't get a site until you check in. You can't reserve a specific site. Some locals got here early and put a tent on a premium site to "hold" it and then brought in a giant 5th wheel at 10pm. They should not allow holding a place with a tent. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
The state park is situated on a peninsula and is quite large, however the campground itself is laid out so that it is somewhat crowded. Since some loops are on a hill-side, there are many sites which feature great views of the open water of beautiful lake Hartwell. Some roads are rough and sites can be small. On Memorial Day it was very busy, lots of kids. Good place to hike, excellent picnic area, activity field, swim beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Great park, great facilities. We love this campground. Family friendly, good fishing, lots of trees and shade, spacious sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
I am a big GA state park fan and am working my way around to all parks. We have about 10 left. Tugaloo was a nice park but extremely crowded. It caters more to tents and popups than to larger motorhomes. Most sites had cars sticking out all over the roadway and had large groups camping together. The lake is beautiful and the CG host was very friendly. After parking and getting hooked up, he and his wife drove up on their golf cart and suggested a site with a better view (right next to them). We took them up on it and moved. Overall I enjoyed this park but prefer some of the quieter GA state parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Park has lots of lake front spaces. Roads are narrow and in poor condition. Some spaces are very difficult to maneuver. Park staff including hosts were disinterested, so you are pretty much on you own to find a good spot which can be difficult because the park is quite spread out and not easy to drive through. 30amp service has low voltage and weak breakers. This is the first place we have kicked breakers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
We agree with compliments of other reviewers. Lovely lakeside state park; lake level is up, cable TV is working, TV antenna reception and Verizon signal are good. THE WATER PRESSURE AT OUR LAKESIDE SITE WAS 80 POUNDS WITH NO WARNING AT CHECK IN. Bring your pressure reducer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This is our 3rd stay here. Park was not as well kept as previous trips. Restrooms were not clean. The playing field needed to be mowed. Cable TV was not working. However, it is a very scenic campground on Lake Hartwell and one of the best in the area to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
This is a great park! We had a beautiful lake front site that was very private. Parts of the campground had campsites that were close together, but there are some sites that are more private. Hiking trails were nice. We only had to walk 3 sites down to hop on the 3.6 mile trail. The lake level was way down but still very beautiful. Host was very friendly. Campsites and bath houses were all very clean. No issues with security. We saw the host and DNR drive by several times checking on things. Nice amenities - playground, mini golf, horseshoes, volleyball, tennis, canoe rentals, hiking, beach. I would highly recommend this park and will definitely be staying here again! My kids, ages 7 and 11, both gave it a thumbs up as well. Happy Camping! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$20
This is a nice small park on Lake Hartwell. The bathrooms were clean but the sites are sometimes messy. I experienced a security problem - first time at a state park - and I think it could have been avoided if the Camphost was doing his job. I had left for a day trip, leaving my water hose hooked up and a foot mat to dry out from the rain. The camphost noticed a vehicle at my site (camphost site directly across from mine)and did not question (nor call a ranger) when he saw them walking around the area. The camphost then went over to my site AND REMOVED MY SITE TAG which clearly stated I had a reservation until 12/31/07 - two more days of camping left. When I asked him why he did this he said he thought I had left and then noted that I would have to travel in my motorhome since I don't have a toad and he should not have removed the tag. I noticed one of the other Georgia State Park campsite reviews noted an incident of stealing so I guess this is something common at their parks. It's a shame that this happens. Another camper decided to help himself to the wood I had at my site - although not technically stealing I guess but it is VERY rude. I think the camphost at this particular park is not performing his duties and is taking advantage of a free place to live - something that should be evaluated by the Park system. The lower rating is also reflective of the road conditions in the section - VERY buckled in areas that were difficult to get past without knocking the fillings out of your teeth, and the fact that that there are no sewers-only dump station. On the plus side, the park does have cable hookup, which is uncommon at state parks, and having access to local weather alerts (there were tornado warnings nearby) is a BIG plus. I would stay at the park again but with less sense of security. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$21
Nice State park, Note that 35' Rv/trailer is about the max. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
Very nice little state park. Unlike the previous reviewer from 2003, we found the park to be quite clean and in a good state of repair. They must have done some upgrading in the last few years. We live in Virginia and would definitely come back. Even in March, it was pretty crowded on the weekend; but, it wasn't too noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Scenic park just off I-85 at the GA/SC state line. Large lots with many waterfront options. Mini golf was closed this time of year. Quiet and clean with gravel on lots. Lots of bike trails. Showers needed cleaning. Overall, fun place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$17
One of the smaller Georgia state parks, but very popular for the boating crowd because it is on Lake Hartwell. We spent Labor Day weekend here and have mixed emotions about the place. Because of the popularity of the place, it has a "worn" feeling to it that we didn't notice at either Hard Labor Creek or FDR state parks. Water pressure was low, site maintenance wasn't very good (our picnic table was eaten up by termites and rot; half was unusable)and the restrooms, while clean, needed some maintenance. The biggest complaint was the constant drone of boat engines. We expected boat noise - the park is on the lake! - but it was worse than anticipated. If you are part of the boating crowd, it probably would not be a factor, but if you are looking for peace and tranquility - forget it!. Speaking to others we heard that the park is busy throughout the season with most of the sites occupied. The state park is small (under 400 acres) and in a very pretty location on a peninsula. The wife and I will give it another try, probably as a winter camping trip when boating will not be as big a noise factor. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com