206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Kosmo Village Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (804) 798-6689
CGID9115

Kosmo Village Campground

Camp Information
Sites
17
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   9   4   5   8   8   7   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
This is a very basic RV campground and very small. There are no amenities, except for WiFi which works well for casual surfing. The price per night at $35 per night was a bit more then it should be, but there are very few RV campgrounds near Richmond so you just have to go with it. There is water, electric, and sewer hookup. There is no cable TV, if that is your thing. It's nothing to look at. It is next door to a trailer park. The noise was not noticeable even though you are next to Highway 1. In fact, at night the highway is very empty which allows for good sleep. Would I recommend this park? Sure. Would we come back? Sure, for a day or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$26
Considering the scarcity of campgrounds in the Richmond area, this place was completely acceptable for our 8 night stay. The campground is not fancy, has no amenities but we found the staff to be friendly as well as the people in the adjacent mobile home community (walked our dog there several times). It is convenient for driving into Richmond and food, fuel and shopping centers are nearby. Yes it is on Hwy 1,but the traffic noise was very light at night and did not disturb us at all. We would stay here again for a trip to Richmond. Rate reflects the "Kosmo Club" discount. Be sure to check that out if you'll be staying more than two nights. It's a $5 per night discount for up to 14 nights per year, for a fee of $10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
This campground is great for a stopover while traveling. It’s a mile or two off of I-95, about 12 miles north of Richmond. There are only 17 sites here just off of Route 1, with 11 of them being pull-throughs. Behind the campground is the mobile home park, also Kosmo Village. There are no bathroom/shower facilities and no one at the office. We made a reservation by phone, and a traffic cone was left in our site marking it as reserved. If you drive in, there is an area to fill out an envelope with info and drop into a slot with your cash. The sites are gravel & level. I didn’t need to unhitch because the pull-through was plenty long. Received several on-air TV stations with the use of antennae. The only negatives are that it’s very close to Route 1 where the traffic is 24/7 and there was a very bright parking lot light which shown into our bedroom. No tents allowed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Very small campground with no amenities. Site was level and campground is suitable for an overnight stay. We stayed on our way North for 1 night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
It is always a challenge to find RV parks in Virginia, and Richmond is no exception. We chose Kosmo Village as it was closest to our family and not outrageously priced. The office is in a small concrete building. You enter into a tiny room with a doctor-office like window. The front desk personnel promptly opens the window though. They were courteous and prompt. The RV site was very long, gravel, and pretty level. The hookups worked fine. The WII-FI did not work so fine. We ordered WI-FI extenders while we we there to be able to use the connection. It is very noisy due to the proximity to Route 1and the traffic from the trailer park next door. There are no amenities other than a few picnic tables scattered around. It's not in the best part of town but not the worst either. I'm not sure if we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
We got the senior discount and for the price this is a nice campground.The Wi-Fi worked well and it's an easy in and out not far from I-95. Other than no cable TV, for an overnight stay would use it again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
Nothing fancy. Got the senior rate for being over 60. Wi-Fi worked well. Highway noise was no big deal. Long sites sort of level. Had to move a table. No fire-ring. No shade. No big complaints for the rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$25
Agree with the Oct 11 review completely. We've come here for 2 weeks at Christmas for the past 4 or 5 years and see some of the same rigs also visiting family. We've never had anything stolen or an incident of any kind. Office staff is great. We used to stay at the one on I-95 but the price was absurd and the staff rude. (That was 4 years ago. Price is still absurd. Don't know about the staff.) Much better value here and perfect as a base to visit family. There used to be some ugly, decrepit, full-time rigs but they have all been evicted in the last few months. For years there was a poor chap that wandered around all the time: harmless but would talk your ears off. He's been evicted also. Price is with the $5 lifetime Kosmo "membership." I had to check "no" to clean baths etc., because there are none. Wi-Fi is excellent. Big rig accessible gas station across from the CG. Propane available at the RV place behind the gas station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This is an urban campground, satisfactory for a place to stay while visiting the Northern Richmond area. The utilities all work, the gravel campsites are level, and there is little traffic noise during the night (much quieter than traffic noise in campgrounds by I-95, which is about a mile or so to the East). This is a bare-bones campground, with no laundry, restrooms or showers. The grounds are well kept-up, with the grass mowed. We paid $5 to become a member with the privilege of staying at the Kisno Village Campground for $25/night for up to two weeks a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This is one of those places that is just a stop over for the night only. No frills, just a place to sleep. I would agree don't leave anything around that you would not miss. I would stay here again just for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
It is no more than a parking lot with mostly homesteaders and no amenities -- okay for an overnight stay. I would be very careful leaving anything of value outside your RV if you leave the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Great overnight stop. Has large pull through sites and is quiet. Reasonable cost. Just 2 miles from Exit 89. Good 50 amp service. We will use again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
Nice park with no amenities. It is outside a mobile home park and sits next to U.S. Highway 1. We were a few sites away from the highway and didn't notice much road noise. Sewer hookups are at the far rear of the sites, requiring more than a 10 foot hose for many rigs. Sewer hookups were about 8 inches above the ground level, making it difficult to get a downhill run for drainage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Not a destination by itself, but for just passing through or working, it's ideal. Easy to get in and out (we have a 35' 5'ver), convenient to food stores and shopping: Ashland is about 2 miles up the road. Close to an Outdoor World, as well. Has a small playground for kids. No trees means easy Dish reception. Downside would be the road noise and weak water pressure. But we'll go back again next time through. Be careful w/GPS. It's on Washington Hwy, not OLD Washington Hwy! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
This is just a place to park with electric, water and sewer hookups. Since we were visiting family in the area that's all we needed. But be aware there are no picnic tables, no shade, no showers, no separation between short term users and long term residents, and no security. It is convenient to Richmond and I-95. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
This park is just that, a place to park, so from that standpoint it's good. We had a site next to the highway so we did get some road noise. The sites are pretty close together but large enough to open your awning, etc. When visiting the Richmond area this place is relatively convenient and we will use it again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
This is a tough park to rate, at least for us. We wanted just overnight and it was okay, site level, not much road noise, but rather seedy. There are no facilites so you must be self contained which we are. I guess it served the purpose for a stop over, but I'd never want to stay there for more than an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
There are no shower/restrooms. Sites were level. I was just looking for somewhere to stay overnight, and this campground provides that and nothing more. Reception was very friendly. Wi-Fi was surprisingly good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Very handy park for the Richmond, VA area. Park is just off US 1 but it is a fairly quite area. Good access to shopping about a mile south of the park. Several long pull thru sites. We stayed 6 nights and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com