223091 User submitted reviews online!!
Sawnee COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (770) 887-0592
CGID9119

Sawnee COE

Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   8   9   7   9   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is my family's favorable campground closer to our home, especially if we are able to secure reservation to one of the lakefront sites. If you do, you will have an abundant (three D) view of Lake Lanier. The lake level is so full this period that you can either fish from your site or swim right at your site. The restroom was rebuilt recently and is always clean. The couple on duty during our two separate stays are very friendly and helpful. The entire site is very clean and well taken care off. The only set back is the fact that you cannot access the campground within the hours of 10:30 pm and 7:30 am. The COE should consider installing a key pad so campers can enter and exit the campground after hours. We will surely continue to camp here for our short-term campings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Nice small campground. We camped on the point in site# 17. This area was very nice and shaded and even a breeze, but could not access the lake due to the seawall and fence. Many of the sites are backwards aka picnic table and sidewalk are behind camper-a little awkward, but manageable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
A smaller COE campground but still very nice with nicely spaces sites. A few sites are on the end of a peninsula and have amazing views. CG is very convenient to north Atlanta. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
We had our reservations made and confirmed January 1st, 2012 for our arrival in May 2012 for 11 days. The cost reflects Senior rates. Our friends also made their reservations at the same time, we were talking on the phone and online at the same time picking out our spots together. That is a great benefit to all people! Then COE people contacted us and had to change our site due to have the park renovated and our original site was not going to be RV sites any longer including our friend's site. So we had to coordinate again with the reservation people on the telephone and finally it worked out, we thought! When we arrived to Cumming a day early (we stayed at another place for one night), we decided to go check out our spot at the campground and it was just before closing around 9:30PM. The camp host, Winn, was so kind to help us and allow us to see our sites before closing time. When we looked at our new site, it was obviously way too small for our travel trailer and our truck. We immediately went back to the camp host and said there was no way we or our friend could ever fit in those two new spots! We are too big. All in all, everything worked out okay one night before our arrival because of Winn's personal attention to make things right. We even were able to take care of our friends and get them a spot for their much larger 5th wheel. While we were visiting the park for 11 days, that is when it was rescheduled (the second or third time) to redo the park with huge machinery to break up concrete and asphalt. Other machinery to make new roads to the new campsites. More machinery to lay the stinky and sticky asphalt down. The people working did a great job especially the asphalt guys, they took extra care when doing the asphalt around our rig and didn't, Did Not get any oil or asphalt onto our rig whatsoever! They had no control of the smell for a few days and that was unpleasant. I don't believe this park will be appropriately opened for travel trailers or 5th wheels since I believe they made it more accommodating for tent style camping. There was one launch open that I saw for boating on the lake. Now that they have redone the park at this specific loop, the Sawnee Campground, it will be beautiful for someone, but not us. We have a Travel Trailer and our friends have a 5th wheel. I would suggest to find another COE park on the other side of Lake Sydney Lanier to have a pleasant time. The most positive time was the Camp hosts. They made our visit a lot better! Camp hosts are very important and necessary. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Breathtaking views all around us! Beautiful lake for swimming and boating. Campground has a boat ramp and beach area. Clear and clean water to keep cool in. Marina close by (15 min drive) where we rented a boat at a reasonable price. Sites were large but not necessarily private. Big rigs will not make friends on the roads leading to the campground because the road is narrow and curvy. Plenty of room to navigate inside the park. No sewer or cable (these would have made my rating a 10). Clean restrooms. Did I mention the view? I'll be back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
They were rebuilding a restroom, so the main restroom was very crowded. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
Great park with fantastic views of the lake. Site was a pull-through. Lots of shade and a fun park for the kids with the lake right outside your door. Picnic spots for our site was under a tree and right by the lake was great. Staff was very nice and helpful. Bathrooms could use an update, but they are clean. We stayed a week and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$23
This is a very small campground on Lake Lanier. The views of the lake are incredible! The campground was quiet and a great place to walk, bike, and relax. We maintained cell service the entire time. The host was very nice and was seen quite often riding his bike through the campground checking on things. We will definitely be returning to Sawnee! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
Pretty little park on Lake Sidney Lanier. Sites were very level concrete and quite clean. The only reason I gave this corps park a low rating, which is unusual for me, is because the electricity was on the weak side. The voltage was around 107V with just the A/C and 12V system running. I could not run my fridge on shore power without the voltage dipping dangerously low. I would be even more concerned about this on a holiday weekend as the park was only about a quarter full when we were there. Sites 16 through 24 have very nice water views on both sides and easy water access. As usual for a corps park, the hosts were exceptionally nice. NOTE TO THOSE PASSING THROUGH TOWN: If you are heading south early the next morning, the gates do not open until 7 am, which puts you right in heavy Atlanta inbound traffic on GA-400 South. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com